Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Allerthorpe Lakeland Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Pocklington > Allerthorpe Lakeland Park Reviews

Allerthorpe Lakeland Park
Melbourne Rd
Allerthorpe
Pocklington
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO42 4RL
Tel: 01759 301444
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 35
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 15 Reviews
                8/10 from 15 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  15 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Montesa 34 reviews from this member

Visited the newly opened touring area in mid August 2018. Assured on phone that the far end of Touring site pitches were peaceful (for a middle aged couple + dog) and near the popular Fishing Lake (as I do like to fish). Note to Reception that at present this is really a Family Activity Partying & BBQ'ing type Campsite, albeit with a new area, that is very popular at weekends mainly with Tenting younger adult groups & children. A quiet Touring site it is not.

Arrived midweek, requested full payment at busy communal reception (it's not cheap !). The new Touring area access is on the left before reception, chaotic car park so best park up on the road prior.

The Caravan & Motorhome Touring area just adjoins the stated Tent field but in fact its just a free for all as to pitch choices, ehu use, unit numbers and distances.

New Toilet block with fairly plain simple campsite style facilities. Toilets & CDP blockages twice during stay.

Very very busy main lake with families and lots going on. Pleasant wildlife lake and walks for dogs. Un-kept Day Ticket Fishing lake (summer 2018) requires input as had overgrown banks & no formal pegs just muddy hollows, they do mow the path around it but that's all. An odd visitor was fishing to pass an hour. Over the road to Conifer Lakes for Anglers as it's in a different league. Seasonal regulars who fish very disappointed now that owners are letting the fishing lake go.

During our stay by the Friday evening the new Touring area (and the tent field) became packed out with families and various younger groups all mainly sleeping in assorted Tents. 4 Tents + 4 cars shared the next pitch to us ! Didnt notice any monitoring of the large groups, chaotic pitching, parking and their partying. We had an un-pleasant weekend as did others. We chose not to speak out to any of the various large groups. Reception & owners were very in-different to comment. Come Sunday night most had gone and thankfully for us peace returned.

For a younger family with kids or perhaps a Tent family with Grandparents in their own Caravan adjoining then this site will keep you entertained and suit you.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Karlywarlykarl 3 reviews from this member

Excellent time at this site visited this site around five times. Owners of this site very helpful as are all the staff. Toilets and shower block always clean. Lovely walks around the lake and plenty to do on the lake my son/daughter and I like kayaking and windsurfing. Pocklington is just a five minute drive which is handy for supermarkets and to walk round. Lovely large playground for children to play in my six year old loved it. Will definitely be returning.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dinx 11 reviews from this member

Just returned from this site stayed for the august bank holiday friday - monday, found the site no problem on entering reception pay ten pounds for electronic fob for gate had a bit of problem finding the post that operates the barrier as its set back which means as I was alone in car had to get out open gate rush in car and hope barrier did not come down before getting van through. Nice flat level gravel pitches, water and electric post just to rear of pitch. It is mainly static tourers on the park but we were a party of five vans all parked beside each other. Only fault I found toilet facilities male/female all in same wooden hut only two toilets each and one shower each not enough for size of site although they were kept clean, wash up facilities in same hut. The play park and lake facilities we used and all enjoyed, nice walks around the lakes and visits to the on site collection of animals. No on site shop and no shop in walking distance a bit of drawback if there for longer stay cafe on site sells pop and ice cream.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bigbird245 18 reviews from this member

We went with another family and arrived late (7pm) we managed to squeeze through the entrance as one of the main gates was locked, only to encounter another barrier. There seem to be a high volume of seasonal pitches and kindly one of the families there found the site Manager.

He was very pleasant but we were shocked at the 30! deposit for the barrier card. Once we got in, we were escorted to the bottom end and sited next to a log cabin. We were asked to be mindful of them as they pay a lot in site fees and this is their home.

We noticed there were three pitches hidden away in the straw/grass to which was at the bottom end. We had electric hook up and the taps were close-by.

There was an embankment at the rear of us which our 10 & 11 year olds treat like a slide and there was a sandpit which our friends 4 & 6 year olds enjoyed. We did have to remove the copious amounts of rabbit droppings first.

We enjoyed watching the people windsurfing and boating on the lake but owing to them being quite far to the other side, we took a paddle and were ordered out for 'frightening the wildlife!' we returned to the sandpit and stayed there, dragging our chairs etc there as the grass near our pitches was too long and sharp by your legs to sit within.

We hardly saw anyone whilst we were there, it has a very quiet atmosphere. It is handy for us at only 15 mins from home but at 22 per night is quite expensive for what you get.

There was a shower/loo block with one of each for male and female being more or less in front of the log cabins and was adequate, the base of the shower is pot and very slippery but my main concern was the water was very, very hot! You had no way of controlling the heat and we couldn't find anyone on site to tell once the surf shack/cafe was closed.

When we returned the barrier key on our departure we were ignored by the cafe staff, when I finally got her attention I was barked at and found the ladies quite rude!

I have since learnt that the site is up for sale which explains the unkempt grass on the pitches and the lack of care in the shower temperature and overall appearance of the site. If you are looking to come here, please bear this in mind.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Linnij 5 reviews from this member

Our second visit here. This year our children are 15 months and nearly 4yr and they hada fab time walking round the 2 lakes, feeding the fish and playing in the play area. There was plenty of room to run around by the tent. Everyone on the campsite, mainly seasonal caravanners, were very friendly.

Facilities were spotless, cleaned at least 3 times a day. Showers are on the hot side though.

Only 5 min drive to sainsbury and the local town of Pocklington.Though, apart from supermarket, we had no need to leave the site.

We love this site and will be back.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Thegassman 3 reviews from this member

Just had the best weekend camp ever, the site was stunning, well kept, very friendly and clean. The kids loved the lake and water sports which we didn't think were too pricey. They are opening a course fishing lake in the future which will enhance the site even more.

Even with the glorious weather this weekend it was not busy on the tent field so plenty of space to run around. We cannot wait to go again.

Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cjhowell 8 reviews from this member

We had a good time here in October. My husband and 10-yr-old son went sailing on the first day, which they greatly enjoyed despite DS capsizing! However, once you get the measure of the sailing dinghies the excitement palls. We went to the National Railway Museum the next day and around York which was great. The site seemed to be almost entirely occupied by seasonal pitches with few inhabitants at the time so it was very quiet. Lovely and clean but perhaps a bit too twee for our taste. The electricity cut out several times despite us not running high-use items (only a v small kettle and heater running on only 1kW. The lights in the toilet and washing facilities are on sensors and a timer so if you stay too long at night you get plunged into darkness, so don't take the paper to read while sitting in state! This was especially irritating when washing up as the sensor could not detect I was in there so the lights always went off halfway through washing up and I had to leave the sink and walk to the door to reactivate them. Staff very helpful and the cakes in the coffee shop are yummy. The walks around the lake are nice but only take about 5 minutes to do.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Linnij 5 reviews from this member

Lovely campsite. Our 2 very young children (3yr and 5 months old) had plenty of space. The 3yr old loved the walk round the lake and watching the fish. Facilities clean and well looked after. Had a treat in the cafe and food was gorgeous and very friendly (and child friendly) environment. Short drive into Pocklington and to Supermarkets. Will definitely come again.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Beaton 5 reviews from this member

Just come back from a weekend at this site and was very pleased with all the facilities & staff; wonderful hot shower (bit too hot for our son!) the whole place was clean, plenty of space for children to enjoy themselves, electric didn't trip & lake facilities were a huge hit with lovely little walks around it. We didn't hear any road noise! The cafe smelt & looked good but we didn't use it, however someone in our group said they came hear for coffee stops & would recommend it.

My only complaint is no facility for tents to have electric hook-up so we were put on a caravan pitch with a small area of grass which meant half our tent was on gravel - not very good for the ground sheet or tent pegs! I did pass these comments on to the staff & was told it is something they are looking into. There are electric pitches with slightly more grass but was told you need to book early for these!

We hope to come back soon with friends & would recommend a stay here. :O)

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Robsosm867 6 reviews from this member

We stayed here the middle of June a tent pitch with electric which turned out to be a caravan pitch.

But this was not a problem due to there is a large piece of grass behind the pitch which out tent fit on.

The electric supply never tripped once.

There is road noise which is loud but if you where over next to the lake this could not be heard.

The shower has to be one of the best I have used so far in all the camping I have done very powerful and hot.

There is a lack of showers/ toilets / sinks at this site and would not like to be there if it was busy. As one sink and shower on a field of tents could be a bit problematic. But there are two more showers which the lake uses as changing rooms which are left open, but where not very clean.

The lake is lovely and has a nice walk around it.

Would go again due but not when it was really busy.

Previous     15 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Pocklington      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 16/01 to 19/01, Event City
Over 200 exhibitors with all the new 2020 models and biggest ever selection of accessories. Plus win tickets! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3135 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

Amazing daily prizes and a grand Christmas Day Star Prize - Coming Soon!

Register for a Reminder