Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Haughton House Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Alford > Haughton House Holiday Park Reviews

Haughton House Holiday Park
Montgarrie Road
Alford
Aberdeenshire   (Browse area)
AB33 8NA
Tel: 01975 562107
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 140
Open: 25th March To October 27th

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 48 Reviews
                8/10 from 48 Reviews

Photos (5)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  48 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: October 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Fiona99 1 review from this member

 This is an absolutely fabulous campsite located within a sprawling country park.

Perfect for anyone wanting a quiet site close to nature, for families with free range kids. With walking, fishing, golf on the doorstep.

Ok its not a glamping site but idyllic for those who can cope with basic amenities. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Eddikev123 1 review from this member

 Let me start with the positives, itís not far from Aberdeen and pitches are hard standing, very hard standing ( bent 4 rock pegs). Tent area looks lovely but no electric and some of the grounds are lovely. There is a very large childís playground just 2 mins from the park and well maintained. The very small town of Alford is a is only a 10 minute walk, there is a convenience CO-OP and a larger CO-OP which is well stocked.

Now for the negatives: The pitches are over grown with grass and weeds, toilets are in need of some major revamping, water areas in need of repair, no water or waste hook up at the pitches, struggled to find a waste water disposal point. 170 pitches for a large part empty.

All this for the princely sum of £28. 50 a night and not much has changed in 15 years and wonít be returning.

Watch where you are pitched, the trees are heavily overgrown and you will never see the light of day either, Be warned! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Thebunch 2 reviews from this member

 Visited here for a night and wasnít disappointed. Really friendly staff and great area for us as a party of 8. Really great dog walking area. Facilities were excellent. Nice playing area for the kids which is a must. Friendly campers too. Nice hot showers and brilliant wash facilities for camping. Will definitely be coming back here again! 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Daizee554 15 reviews from this member

 What a fantastic campsite.

Perfect for families as it has a lovely playpark by the camping area and a massive public park about 50 yards away.

The caravan pitches are massive and you can choose where you would like to pitch up yourself.

The caravan park is also great if your wanting a quite holiday as it's in magnificent woodland.

There is a train from the caravan park that takes you to the transport museum every half hour, my children loved it. I loved this place so much I going to be taking a seasonal pitch.

Only advice I would give is the reception needs to be manned more often as whenever I wanted to speak to someone or ask for information it seemed to be shut. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Danabhadri 9 reviews from this member

 The site was very quiet when we were there only a handful of the 140 pitches were occupied. The staff were great but seemed to be seriously overworked, the office was closed any time we went to it but if contacted by mobile a very helpful staff member was there promptly. We tried in vain to get info about the local transport museum but no tourist information was available on site (first time I have experienced a site that doesn't advertise all the local attractions). We asked and got verbal instructions about how to find the museum;- it is amazing;one of the highlights of our trip; - just as well a friend had told us about it.

The toilet facilities were good and clean at all times but that is hardly surprising as only 3 or 4 units were using them. The outside of the toilet blocks were a bit tired with peeling paint.

The site is situated within a country park so the dog walking facilities were bar none.

We had an enjoyable stay but I'm not sure if I would have liked it when the site was busy. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Suzy walker 4 reviews from this member

 Large campsite with lots of room for kids to explore safely. Lovely nature walk beside the river Dee.

Children's play park was very well equipped compared to others I have visited.

Shower block was dated but clean. Closed for an hour a day for a thorough clean which was annoying if we got our timings wrong, but reassuring that time was set aside to clean properly.

When checking in, the gentleman was very helpful and gave us info on local sites to visit. Gave us a choice of where to camp.

Amazing fish and chip shop in Alford and local shops meant we didn't have to go far for supplies.

Will definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lorna1979 5 reviews from this member

 We stayed at Haughton House Holiday Park for two nights. We were shown where the camping area is on the site map and told we could pick our spot. The camping area is a large walled garden with beautiful green grass and a few trees. It is very well maintained and really has a lovely peaceful feel about it. The children's play area is right beside it which is an added bonus.

The toilets were good, no complaints at all and a nice dish washing area outside so we could wash the dishes together (how romantic!).

We had quite a lot of rain on our first day so found a nice hotel to shelter in, in the town called Haughton Arms Hotel. Our 3 year old was allowed in the bar area which was nice and quiet and served reasonable food at a great price.

We would definitely return to this site and would recommend it to others. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Fiona W 182 reviews from this member

 This site gets the prize for the most welcoming reception of our week's holiday - very helpful and friendly staff. We loved our time here, the adjacent Country Park was ideal for good dog walks, we never went the same way twice. There's a motorhome point for draining the grey water and topping up the clean water tank. The showers were a bit tepid, but free -the toilet block lights are activated by movement, and the sensor is out of sight when you're in the showers so the lights went off: luckily there are plenty of windows. The leaves were still off the trees, and it may be more shady in summer. We're so keen to come back that we timed how long it took to get home, for next time. Loads of places to visit within an easy drive, such as Huntly Castle (Historic Scotland) and many National Trust for Scotland properties. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sasha0306 1 review from this member

 First visited this site a couple of years ago, just after the new owner took over. Seemingly there were a load of new ideas and updates going to the site as it was a bit neglected by the local council. Well it's now 2 years later and I would say the condition of the site has deteriorated immensely. We visit around 3 times a year for anything up to a fortnight. No new toilet block, no hot water in the laundry for a whole season (we were told it's in the process of being repaired/ updated) The whole site looked un-kept and tired. Loads of empty pitches in the static area (I reckon they moved away, as some of the caravans looked quite new) No wardens going around when you needed them, dogs running loose and hedges uncut and overgrown. No digital TV, no wifi (a must nowadays)Very, very disappointed as I used to love going here every year. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: SJM1985 1 review from this member

 Stayed at Haughton Caravan Park last weekend. Lovely time away.

Site is very nice and quiet. Pitch size good, only thing is hard ground to put up awnings, we managed but took a little time, even bent 1 of the hard standing pegs. Wardens friendly and helpful. Plenty toilets and the showers are good. Close to Aberdeen for a shopping spree!

Would definitely go back again. 


Previous     48 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Haughton House Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Haughton House Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Haughton House Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Alford      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Aberdeenshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 28/06
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3798 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020