Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Haughton House Holiday Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Site Reviews

Haughton House Holiday Park
Montgarrie Road
Alford
Aberdeenshire   (Browse area)
AB33 8NA
Tel: 01975 562107
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 140
Open: 25th March To October 27th

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 46 Reviews
                8/10 from 46 Reviews

Photos (5)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  46 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Thebunch 2 reviews from this member

Visited here for a night and wasn’t disappointed. Really friendly staff and great area for us as a party of 8. Really great dog walking area. Facilities were excellent. Nice playing area for the kids which is a must. Friendly campers too. Nice hot showers and brilliant wash facilities for camping. Will definitely be coming back here again!

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Daizee554 14 reviews from this member

What a fantastic campsite.

Perfect for families as it has a lovely playpark by the camping area and a massive public park about 50 yards away.

The caravan pitches are massive and you can choose where you would like to pitch up yourself.

The caravan park is also great if your wanting a quite holiday as it's in magnificent woodland.

There is a train from the caravan park that takes you to the transport museum every half hour, my children loved it. I loved this place so much I going to be taking a seasonal pitch.

Only advice I would give is the reception needs to be manned more often as whenever I wanted to speak to someone or ask for information it seemed to be shut.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Danabhadri 9 reviews from this member

The site was very quiet when we were there only a handful of the 140 pitches were occupied. The staff were great but seemed to be seriously overworked, the office was closed any time we went to it but if contacted by mobile a very helpful staff member was there promptly. We tried in vain to get info about the local transport museum but no tourist information was available on site (first time I have experienced a site that doesn't advertise all the local attractions). We asked and got verbal instructions about how to find the museum;- it is amazing;one of the highlights of our trip; - just as well a friend had told us about it.

The toilet facilities were good and clean at all times but that is hardly surprising as only 3 or 4 units were using them. The outside of the toilet blocks were a bit tired with peeling paint.

The site is situated within a country park so the dog walking facilities were bar none.

We had an enjoyable stay but I'm not sure if I would have liked it when the site was busy.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Suzy walker 4 reviews from this member

Large campsite with lots of room for kids to explore safely. Lovely nature walk beside the river Dee.

Children's play park was very well equipped compared to others I have visited.

Shower block was dated but clean. Closed for an hour a day for a thorough clean which was annoying if we got our timings wrong, but reassuring that time was set aside to clean properly.

When checking in, the gentleman was very helpful and gave us info on local sites to visit. Gave us a choice of where to camp.

Amazing fish and chip shop in Alford and local shops meant we didn't have to go far for supplies.

Will definitely be back.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lorna1979 5 reviews from this member

We stayed at Haughton House Holiday Park for two nights. We were shown where the camping area is on the site map and told we could pick our spot. The camping area is a large walled garden with beautiful green grass and a few trees. It is very well maintained and really has a lovely peaceful feel about it. The children's play area is right beside it which is an added bonus.

The toilets were good, no complaints at all and a nice dish washing area outside so we could wash the dishes together (how romantic!).

We had quite a lot of rain on our first day so found a nice hotel to shelter in, in the town called Haughton Arms Hotel. Our 3 year old was allowed in the bar area which was nice and quiet and served reasonable food at a great price.

We would definitely return to this site and would recommend it to others.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Fiona W 175 reviews from this member

This site gets the prize for the most welcoming reception of our week's holiday - very helpful and friendly staff. We loved our time here, the adjacent Country Park was ideal for good dog walks, we never went the same way twice. There's a motorhome point for draining the grey water and topping up the clean water tank. The showers were a bit tepid, but free -the toilet block lights are activated by movement, and the sensor is out of sight when you're in the showers so the lights went off: luckily there are plenty of windows. The leaves were still off the trees, and it may be more shady in summer. We're so keen to come back that we timed how long it took to get home, for next time. Loads of places to visit within an easy drive, such as Huntly Castle (Historic Scotland) and many National Trust for Scotland properties.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sasha0306 1 review from this member

First visited this site a couple of years ago, just after the new owner took over. Seemingly there were a load of new ideas and updates going to the site as it was a bit neglected by the local council. Well it's now 2 years later and I would say the condition of the site has deteriorated immensely. We visit around 3 times a year for anything up to a fortnight. No new toilet block, no hot water in the laundry for a whole season (we were told it's in the process of being repaired/ updated) The whole site looked un-kept and tired. Loads of empty pitches in the static area (I reckon they moved away, as some of the caravans looked quite new) No wardens going around when you needed them, dogs running loose and hedges uncut and overgrown. No digital TV, no wifi (a must nowadays)Very, very disappointed as I used to love going here every year.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: SJM1985 1 review from this member

Stayed at Haughton Caravan Park last weekend. Lovely time away.

Site is very nice and quiet. Pitch size good, only thing is hard ground to put up awnings, we managed but took a little time, even bent 1 of the hard standing pegs. Wardens friendly and helpful. Plenty toilets and the showers are good. Close to Aberdeen for a shopping spree!

Would definitely go back again.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Chestnuts 22 reviews from this member

Good site toilets and showers were clean, the showers gave a very good pressure of water. Downside was the fact you had to use a code to get in the toilet block, but most of the time you didn't need it as the door would be open. Lovely walks around site and into the village. Supermarket was close by also. We played golf at Alford which is a lovely course in very good condition, it is just up the road from the camp site.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Speaker12 11 reviews from this member

A very nice site, the tent area is in a walled garden which provided good shelter from the windy conditions that prevailed during my stay. The site is just outside of Alford, a small village with a few shops and a transport museum.

The wardens were helpful and booking was simple. The site was quite busy at the weekend so booking is advisable I think.

Site facilities are ok with plenty of loos and showers. There are also plenty of play areas and a mini-golf course. It's not too far to Aberdeen and there are plenty of other places to visit too including several castles. A walk up Mither Tap from the Bennachie visitor centre is recommended.

The only downside to the site is that it seems to attract lots of families who don't have volume controls on their voices - don't stay here if you are wanting somewhere quiet!

Previous     46 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Aberdeenshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2790 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019