Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Municipal Camping De Joigny

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Burgundy > Joigny > Municipal Camping De Joigny > Reviews

Municipal Camping De Joigny
68 Quai D Epizy
Joigny
Burgundy   (Browse area)
89300
Tel: 0033 03 86 62 07 55
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 65
Open: 01/04/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 9 Reviews
                10/10 from 9 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sigri 14 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from 9 days on this municipal site. It is in a quiet location well tucked away. There are 41 pitches individually hedged and of varying sizes from huge to adequate. We were shown several we could choose by the warden on arrival. He spoke very good English. Electric and water is located in modern station pod things. For some pitches you may require a long lead to have a choice in how you pitch. There a few season pitches allocated by retired French pensioner. The site is used by overnighters but others also staying longer. The site was never near capacity during our stay. The toilet facilities are excellent, enough showers and toilets etc as well as inside washing up and clothes washing sinks. The gates are locked between 22. 00 and 8. 00. The warden did occasional evenings, the one whilst we were their was unobtrusive and the paella looked amazing. We also had a live band and dancing one evening but was all over and packed away by 21. 30.

There are lovely walks from the site as well as good cycling opportunities, along the river and the canal. The main town was walkable too but a long way if you wanted to carry shopping back other than bread. It is very pretty to explore on foot, there are a few marked walks to follow. There is an inter marche with 24hr fuel over the bridge the other side of town, they are also rebuilding Lidl which unfortunately not reopening till October.

We had a lovely chillttastic time at this site and would highly recommend to anyone who loves doing very little and enjoys peace and quiet. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Wp1234 13 reviews from this member

 Stayed here to visit the town and other bits in the area. The site has some very big pitches so not cramped at all. , you might need a long EHU cable on Saturday some ( 35 mts )The warden speaks very good English and is very welcoming. WCs clean and functional but take your own loo roll. WiFi is free just ask for the code.

Cycling to the pretty town is about 1 mile then about o. 5 mile uphill.

I'm told that out of season this site is a favourite for the retired French Motorhomes.

Overall would stay again. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Anglais 9 reviews from this member

 Stayed there 5 nights in June in what has been the worst weather for years. The site had only just opened again after flooding so some pitches were still unavailable. However, we had some good weather which allowed us to enjoy the site and area.

Reception was friendly and helpful with madame apologising that not all pitches were open. Pitches are private and a nice size, 'les sanitaires' modern, very clean, with civilised hot water control in the showers (no pressing a button every few seconds to keep the flow going). There was no shop or bread service available at that time.

The walk to town is pleasant alongside the river, the covered market was a little disappointing in the range of goods available and we thought expensive. There is commercial zone on the opposite side of the river, with a huge Intermarché, Aldi and others on the same site. The area provides great dog walking opportunities whether along the river or the canal which run on either side of the site.

We enjoyed our stay and will probably return later in the year. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tom + Sarah 6 reviews from this member

 A lovely, tiny site, extremely private with large hedges around each of the huge plots. Choice of sun or shade. You can't see the river from the site but you can hear it was as it goes over the weir! Mainly French retirees on the site and a friendly vibe. Some activities put on / advertised by the owners e. G. Pizza night, strolls, visit to the market etc. Toilet facilities really good - modern and clean (bring your own loo roll). Daily visits by a bakery van and freezer and wifi all available.

You get to the town of Joingy by a half hour (max) stroll down the river. The town is full of amazing medieval buildings but aside from that was quite sleepy when we were there with not that much to do. There is a swimming pool further along into the modern part of the town (probably a drive rather than a walk) which you get a free entrance to and was a great way to cool off. Blokes - you need the small, tight type of swimming shorts or do as I did and brave some speedos. !

We had some great excursions to the caves near Arcy-sur-Cure - quite a long drive but some amazing prehistoric cave art to see - and to the Caves de Bailly, where you can find out about and taste their local bubbly underground in an old quarry. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Derekcbr 82 reviews from this member

 You know when you find somewhere really special you seem to want to tell everyone and before long everybody wants to be there and so the place looses it's charm so. If you've not been here don't bother it's an awful place! For those who have been here isn't it just a fabulous site! The pitches are surrounded by well kept hedges which keep you private, they are flat and level, mostly on grass and can be said to be a little small but we found them ok. The fascilities are excellent and the guy at reception is really helpful. Great walks along the canal or river for you and the dog and we paid about 12 euros a night with EHU. There is a large fenced off area for the kids to play with crazy golf and a volley/beech ball court. A wonderful site close to a charming town. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Badger54 19 reviews from this member

 This really is a great little campsite, and one of the nicest I have come across. We have just returned from spending 3 nights and will certainly return next year. The site has 40 pitches, all with 10 amp electric (old style french 2-pin socket) and water supply and even the smallest pitch is bigger than many I have stayed on elsewhere. The toilet/shower block is modern and spotless and also houses the washing-up and laundry facilities. The showers were good and hot and had loads of water pressure.

The site also has a games field of about 2 acres with volleyball court and petanque area, and even has concrete washing poles with permanent lines strung up. Outside the shower block is an area with picnic tables and from the look of the photos in the office the couple who run the site organise BBQ's here in the summer. The town is about a 15 minute walk away along the river, and there are other walks along the river right next to the campsite. The site office also has a small shop for essentials and the bread van visits every morning at 9. 30 ( you don't need to order the day before). Free Wi-fi is available, and I was able to pick up the signal from our MH.

This is not an all singing and dancing site, but is everything that a good municipal site should be. Finally the thing that really makes this site stand out - - 2 adults, a dog, our MH, and electric hook-up, 8. 15 euros a night! 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Bl03 12 reviews from this member

 Just returned from this lovely site! We intended staying for one night but ended up staying four instead! I agree with the other reviews. When we stayed, the last week in May there was one other camper so obviously the facilities were fabulous as they were so under used! The couple running the site were so friendly and very helpful. There is a large area for sports at the end of the site with table tennis, volleyball, crazy golf etc.

The fees were very reasonable, 14 euros for a family of four and electric included. We have paid far more for facilities half as good!

Well signed on approach but signs ran out when we reached the river! As you approach the river turn right over small bridge and the site is on the right. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Motorhometrips 22 reviews from this member

 J'adore les camping municipals and this is an absolute superb example. It starts as soon as you drive down the banks of the river Yonne to its entrance, an idyllic setting. You are met by a friendly face and as long as you avoid the sacred lunch hour or two you are welcome at any tme. Pay your 8 euros(cash only) and a bit for taxe de sejour and take any pitch, totally relaxed. I went back to check the amperage of the site because I thought she had got the price wrong and had not included the electricity, oh yes she had and also I forgot to mention that they also provided free wi fi. Facilities absolutely superb, new and spotless and also a dedicated motorhome service point. Bread van comes around in the morning and everyone stops and passes the time of day. I am sorry you just do not get this on the bigger more impersonal commercial sites and at this price, why use an aire. Many pitches are surrounded by hedges. The historic medieval town centre is a short walk away and a visit to the tourist office provides you with a self guided walk, there are numerous restaurants and local shops. There are also some good walks behind the campsite and along the riverfront. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Rabbitboy 26 reviews from this member

 What a gem of a municipal site!
Was advised to find a pitch and sort out fees in the morning.
Electric hook-up, 2 adults and a child - 9 euros 7 centimes.
Brand new beautifully clean toilet block. Spacious pitches with hedges.
Bread van arrived on site in the morning.
A lovely stopover by the river. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Municipal Camping De Joigny child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Municipal Camping De Joigny?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Municipal Camping De Joigny dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Joigny      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Burgundy

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3489 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement