Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Castel Les Criques De Porteils

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Languedoc Roussillon > Argeles Sur Mer > Castel Les Criques De Porteils Reviews

Castel Les Criques De Porteils
Rd 114 Corniche De Collioure
Argeles Sur Mer
Languedoc Roussillon   (Browse area)
66700
Tel: 0033 04 68 81 12 73
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 206
Open: 29/03/2021 to 25/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 15 Reviews
                8/10 from 15 Reviews

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf On Site   Tennis On Site 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  15 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 12 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Junglesim 13 reviews from this member

 This is quite possibly the best campsite we as a family have pitched up at. For a site on the coast the pitch sizes were substantial. The site has two sides sloping down from a central flat ridge. One side, under lush green trees, provides spectacular views of the Pyrénées.

Normally, if you were allocated a pitch with such a view you would be over the moon, however on the other side of the central ridge, it was like a completely different place, as every pitch has virtual unobstructed spectacular views of the Mediterranean in all its glory. In all cases, the ground is hard and dusty so make sure you bring rock pegs and various brushes for sweeping etc.

The site in general is extremely peaceful, with a choice of three private beaches and an attractive and very comfortable spa-like pool area. Despite being in the eye of the Coronavirus storm the site was at capacity. The site manager Laurent, who is a local chap and lovely to speak with said the site was as busy as ever as an increase in French campers had more than made up for a loss of foreign visitors.

Even so, the camp never felt busy and no areas felt crowded, which suited us tremendously, as did the absence of any organised evening entertainment and any other sources of potential excess on-site noise. There were always loungers available around the pool and the private beaches never contained more than an handful of people, which is in massive contrast to the local public beaches which were unpleasantly jam-packed. We never had to wait for shower or a toilet or a washing up or laundry space.

The best private beach, which was magnificent, was about 20 yards down some steps from our pitch. Our morning ritual on getting out of bed would be to go straight down to the then deserted beach and dive straight into the warm sea and splashing around before walking back up and rinsing off in the outdoor shower looking out onto sea below.

The rest of the day was mostly spent reading and relaxing with a bit more swimming. For most of the time there the sea was like a mill pond and the lack of disturbance lent for awesome snorkelling with clear views of the fish which were plentiful. The free trial of instructed paddle boarding was also good, we spent a good few hours out there, mostly in the water as, for more me at least, it was harder than it looks. The walk along the headland to Collioure is also worth doing as is a wander around the town itself.

The grounds were impeccable maintained, which gardeners and ground staff working all day long. The main entrance area would not look out of place in a 5 star hotel in the Caribbean. The on site restaurant was reasonable priced, costing no more than other restaurants in Collioure or Racou, with the food being of good quality. We tried the Moule and the sea-food pasta, but was tempted with, I kid you not, in this very sophisticated French campsite, 'Real Blackpool Fish and Chips'.

The toilets were very clean and practical but were showing their age but not enough to let the side down. The other downside was that BBQs were not permitted but that was made up for with the weekly site BBQ, were you bring along what you want to eat, and the site's team will cook it for you and bring it to your table and provide free wine and soft drinks to wash it down with.

Laurent is on call walking around introducing himself, recommending local restaurants, vineyards, day trips etc. So that you know, as nobody tells you, alongside your food, bring plates and cutlery.

As I mentioned don't forget your hard rock pegs nor your suite of mozzie repellants, sweeping brush and most importantly your snoring apparatus, and you'll have a great time. Next up for us a farmer's field in Sussex complete with tap and a shovel, which we are equally looking forward to. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Kittiwake 15 reviews from this member

 Spent a week at this site mid July.

It's situated between Collioure and Argeles both pleasant but very different towns. We accessed both by bike from the campsite.

The campsite is well presented with a very professional welcome on arrival. We had one of the terraced sea facing pitches - stunning view to wake up to every morning. Washblocks clean and adequate. Separate male and female facilities with some mixed.

Nice (smallish) pool complex with a couple of slides. Shop - well stocked & not too expensive.

Some low key activities (yoga, stand up paddle etc) and a nice kids club. Not much in the way of evening entertainment. Park area with zip wire.

What makes this site is the 3 private coves - pebble beach (bring the river shoes!), fantastic snorkelling, few waves. Perhaps not ideal for toddlers but great for older kids who have outgrown flat sandy beaches.

Site is quite hilly and certainly gave us a good work out on our bikes!

We did sea kayaking around the coves but other wise were happy relaxing and enjoying the beach and the pool.

Very mixed nationality wise which we liked.

Had a meal in the campsite restaurant which was pricey but good quality. We also ate out at Cactus Bleu in the nearby village of Racou which was excellent.

The only negative was we felt perhaps the site lacked a buzz. There's no centre point as such with the shop & pool together, beach somewhere else and restaurant somewhere else. We noticed this but it didn't bother us.

We will return next year. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jacfrosty 12 reviews from this member

 We stayed here last June/July for 14 nights. Beautiful area and very nice campsite. We had a pitch near the 'old sanitaires'.

We had to park our car 2 pitches from our pitch and access our pitch across these other 2 pitches and people from the other 2 pitches adjoining ours could access the lavatories by crossing out pitch.

This was not a problem as we mostly had the 3 pitches to ourselves and when other people were there we had enjoyed their company. The view was beautiful.

The restaurant and bar were good. Pools a bit small but perfectly adequate. We were unable to use the site beaches as no dogs allowed, but outside the campsite there were 2 beaches on either side that were dog friendly.

Collioure is perfect. Argeles less so. We had a lovely summer holiday here. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: DougieA 10 reviews from this member

 We booked this on a tour of France/Spain mainly as it's part of the same Castells group as Anse du Brick in Cherbourg and we thought Anse was well worth its star rating, so hoped this would be as good, if rather expensive, choice too.

We did have a sea view pitch premium pitch but any thoughts of lazy evenings with a nice view were lost to the famous wind which blew for the 5 days we were there. You need to hold on to your wine/beer glass even if it's full when outside and several sat dishes went awol.

Walks into resorts on either side are a OK but a bit long in summer heat for some, and are over rough ground in parts, with a few steep sections occasionally. Now to the negative points - we were shown to our pitch by a man in a buggy and given a set of keys then left to puzzle out where our elec feed was.

Eventually, we worked out that in a shed was a long lead that I had to unroll and climb over the back of four other units (asking in several languages if it was OK ) in our row to plug it in. The surface of the pitch was rough sand with weeds and had obviously suffered from storm damage as a large area was newly laid and not too well done (most of it held water as soon as it rained again giving us our own little pool).

The restaurant was OK as long as you think of it as a cafe and don't expect Gordon Ramsay to appear. The pool area in my view is way too small for the size of the place and must be crammed in August. We had a dog with us and found a nice doggie beach in La racou on the way to Argeles - as for the little private beaches on site, we did try snorkelling there but found the sea populated by many jellyfish so beat a hasty retreat.

Overall, I don’t think it is a five star site and it is very expensive (I think the premium pitch we had was not far off 100 Euros for 3 people a dog and a motorhome in August) and I would not be rushing back. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Bridie 102 reviews from this member

 It's been 6 years since we stayed here. In that time the site has grown and in our view it has become more impersonal. There are more mobile homes and lodges now.

The staff were helpful. The shop was very handy and the staff there were friendly. We walked over the cliffs to Collioure which is a lovely if strenuous walk! We swam in the sea from the little cove.

Our pitch had lovely views of the sea and across to Argeles. We only stayed two nights as the weather changed. 18 euros with ACSI in June. Sanitaires are clean. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hotpotatoes247 2 reviews from this member

 Restored our faith in camping - France

We camped at Camping Les Criques De Porteils as a family in August 2013, wow it was idyllic!

Camping Les Criques De Porteils is perfectly situated on the cliff tops near Collioure, where you can awaken your senses with a breath taking mountain or sea view.

Some reviews for Camping Les Criques are unnecessarily negative i. E. ‘snobbish’ this being in regard to washing lines not allowed to be used - we didn’t experience any of this, in fact, to set the scene, we suffered the misfortune of staying in Argelès-sur-Mer, which was not our cup-o-tea due to the commercialisation of that area, whereas Camping Les Criques ticked all the right boxes for our perfect site in touch with nature.

The staff went out of their way to help us when we explained our situation as we wanted to move from Argelès-sur-Mer to Camping Les Criques De Porteils. Camping Les Criques unfortunately didn’t have any availability on that day but, as promised, they contacted us early the following morning with pitch availability. Moving to Camping Les Criques was an easy and certainly the best decision we made during our holiday!

Restful, with a relaxed quiet pace and friendly helpful staff with an excellent knowledge of the English language - what more could you want!

Our terraced camping pitch was huge and we had the delight of waking each morning to a Mountain View and wildlife in plenty. The steep climb to the wash block every morning seemed all worthwhile when, turning around, we were rewarded with a picturesque view of the mountains, then at the cliff top we were presented with a sea view! Breath-taking again, wow!

We were only planning to stay five days, however, after day one we decided to lengthen our stay to eight days, after all this was the site we should have booked all along. Unfortunately, as we have mentioned before, some Trip advisor reviews do not accurately reflect the true intention of the well-mannered nature of this site, had we ignored these reviews we could have enjoyed a far longer stay on this naturel, site!

We strongly recommend you stay at Camping Les Criques De Porteils and experience this wonderful site for yourself, within a few days you’ll feel like you’ve have been holiday for far longer because it’s so peaceful and relaxing!

The site enjoys its own private beaches, accessed by three flights of steps, the beaches were beautiful and our daughter loved to constantly snorkel amongst the fish! Swimming was a delight although please note the beaches are shingle and pebbles with no sand. The coves are full of character and interest whilst being able to soak up the sun rays!

Security was taken very seriously at this site; especially at night when clearly the night watch was constantly checking everyone was safe and quiet.

We can’t comment on the restaurant although the take way, which was cooked by the same chef, was the best ever, and reasonably priced. The on-site shop was very well stocked, the staff always friendly and helpful (hello Sarah) and willing to trade English language speaking for French speaking! A great testament to a genuine French hospitality!

The pool was adequately sized and always clean and life-guard attended. Like most holiday destinations the sun beds are always in short supply and pre-booked with towels! This didn’t stop us enjoying the fabulous double pool and grabbing sun beds as they became available! One of the pools (I guess this year’s addition) boasted spa arrangements including a Jacuzzi.

All in all, Camping Les Criques De Porteils restored our faith in camping in France and again a heartfelt thanks to all the staff for making our stay very welcoming and pleasant. We will certainly return very soon! 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: T6NYY 10 reviews from this member

 Unlike the previous reviewers comments, we've returned from a 10 night stay and had a wonderful time at this great campsite.

The weather was glorious with only one windy day.

Upon arrival, the check in was very efficient and welcoming with lots of advice given on the facilities and surrounding areas.

Prior to booking, we had done some research and we made sure the pitch we booked had room for the car (some pitches don't, so you may need to lug your gear some way, so be warned!) During the booking process the site sent us a map so we knew where our pitch was before we got there. Our pitch was right on the edge of the site directly overlooking the Mediterranean, just wonderful and a nice quiet pitch also.

The on site shop is excellent, very well stocked and the obligatory croissants in the morning are very fresh and tasty. Prices are a little high but I guess you'd expect that.

We ate in the restaurant one evening, it was very busy and the food was good. They have certainly improved their overall service here, the menu choices were very good and plenty to choose from.

The shower blocks are spotlessly clean with lots of hot water. One of the shower blocks appears to be 'unisex' and the other seems to be split into male and female, even after 10 days we were still not sure! A few more signs might be useful.

The rubbish / recycling bins are located near the main entrance which was a short trek in the car with a big bag of rubbish. I guess they do that to ensure there are no unpleasant smells wafting around nearby pitches.

There are 2 small swimming pools with sun loungers nearby, along with tennis courts, ping pong tables, boules and some outdoor gym equipment. The handy on site laundry was very useful also.

There is access via 3 set of steps down to the very small pebble beaches, these are nice but sun bathing space is limited.

The nearby town of Collioure is truly beautiful and well worth a visit. Parking is in short supply at weekends although you can walk along the coastal path from the campsite in about 45 minutes.

All in all, this is a beautiful campsite, very well run and maintained. Do your homework first and you won't be disappointed. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Beeny 4 reviews from this member

 There are too many 'downsides' to this campsite for me to rate it highly. If you are lucky enough to get good weather, and if you are lucky enough to get a sea-view pitch, and if you don't mind a long hike with all your camping kit as the parking is away from the tents, and if you don't mind lukewarm showers, then you will love this place.

As it was for us, we parked our car on the terrace and proceeded to lug our tent and kit to the pitch in a very high wind (the dreaded 'Tramontaine' which blows for 3-9 days). Our neighbours, offering to help us, said they had never been as frightened on a campsite. Once pitched, we were unable to sit out and enjoy BBQs, picnics or a glass of wine overlooking the Med due to the sandblasting effects of the aforementioned wind. After two days of this we gave in and moved off to the Dordogne.

It's not the campsite's fault that the weather can be so variable, but I just wanted others to be aware that after a long journey down through France, your pitch by the sea might not be the idyll you thought it was going to be. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lizzie 46 reviews from this member

 The location and views are the best part of this campsite. Although the views will depend on your pitch - we had a fantastic view of the sea from our pitch and were very near to one of the sets of steps going down to the little private coves.

However, other pitches did not seem to be very generous in size,lacked any privacy at all and did not have the view we had.

Responding to comments left by others - we found the staff at reception to be friendly and professional. The shop is the best stocked campsite shop we have come across in France although prices were a bit more than supermarkets which is to be expected. The shower blocks etc are kept in very good order and there seemed to be plenty of them even although the site was full. The restaurant was good, though perhaps a little under staffed.

The town of collioure is really lovely and well worth spending time in. There is a car park on the edge of town which means you have a very steep walk down to the beach/shops/restaurant - but worth it. Alternatively it is about 30 mins walk from the site.

The downside for us was that we found it very noisy. The music from Argeles carried across the bay and disturbed our sleep until 4am each night. We did get some ear plugs in the end which helped a bit. After a very fierce storm, the dusty dry pitches did turn into a bit of a mud bath but I suppose that is to be expected. Also, our pitch being right at the bottom with the best views meant it was quite a hike to the showers etc. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lizsleigh 4 reviews from this member

 A campsite with such potential!

The stunning views, beautiful private beaches and close locality to local villages and the mountains are undisputed.

The toilet and shower blocks are immaculate and kept continually clean by hard working ground staff, as are the grounds and pitches.

There are a few areas that the site still needs to improve however.

The reception staff, as documented by other visiters, are frustrating to deal with. On arrival we were quickly met and started our registration, however, the staff member helping us then become distracted by everything, and anyone else who was in the office and we were left waiting for a long time to finish registering. Giving the reception the benefit of the doubt, I went back the next day to enquire about a fridge locker, again I was seen to quickly, but was still waiting 30 minutes later to be told that none were free!.We did not visit reception again!

Again as documented by others the restaurant and takeaway is of a poor quality and the shop is limited and (is there a theme here?) you que for 20 minutes to get your bread in the morning!

It does have beautiful views overlooking the med, however we were unfortunate enough to have a mountain side pitch, which have NO shade and are near the train line. The pitches vary greatly in size, shade and views and I recommend to ensure you have a sea view pitch, as you pay the same price for all pitches. 


Previous     15 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Castel Les Criques De Porteils child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Castel Les Criques De Porteils have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Castel Les Criques De Porteils?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Castel Les Criques De Porteils dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Argeles Sur Mer      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Languedoc Roussillon

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1869 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement