Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Domaine De Massereau

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Languedoc Roussillon > Sommieres > Domaine De Massereau Reviews

Domaine De Massereau
1990 Route D Aubais
Sommieres
Languedoc Roussillon   (Browse area)
30250
Tel: 0033 04 66 53 11 20
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 89
Open: 06/04/2021 to 02/11/2021
           06/04/2022 to 02/11/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 18 Reviews
                8/10 from 18 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  18 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: MCavan75 20 reviews from this member

 We spent 11 nights here at the height of the season. We had a great holiday but did have mixed feelings about the site. Overall the site is very attractive and the location is fantastic being so close to the lovely town of Sommieres. Clearly we were there at the busiest time of year but it was shame that you could not go out for a meal without booking several days ahead in the town, we prefer to be more spontaneous on holiday. This is a big site and as other people have commented it does lack the personal touch, I have no idea who the owner was! Staff are polite and efficient but their focus is on the site facilities rather than sharing knowledge of the local area. On our day of arrival we were told that the restaurant was fully booked and our only option for dinner was to order pizza as all restaurants in town would be booked. So we duly rushed to order pizza then headed into Sommieres for an explore - only to find there was a big food and wine festival in the main square with food stalls aplenty. We felt frustrated that reception had not been aware of this or thought to tell us about it. The pool area is really lovely with the lower pool being particularly lovely as it is surrounded by trees and is heated. The site was dominated by British families when we were there and for us we felt disappointed that we didn't, t feel we were in France until we left the site. The area is stunning and we enjoyed fantastic days out in every direction - baux de Provence and Arles, Grau de roi and Aigues mortes, St Guihelm le desert are all beautiful and we also enjoyed catching the tram into Montpellier from Odysseum. Back to the site this was the most expensive we have ever stayed on and yet he facilities did not match those of others we have stayed at, the showers were okay but there was no handsoap which made me wonder about hygiene around the site. Our children thought this was disgusting! Our pitch was the very smallest on the site, our caravan and awning literally filled the pitch and our car had to be squeezed across the opening, I had given the dimensions of our outfit when booking so was disappointed to be so squeezed in. So in summary, is is a good site but not excellent and the area scored more points for us than the campsite. We would return to the area but choose a smaller, more personal site with hand soap! 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Lbarkas 84 reviews from this member

 We stayed a week but in hindsight a few days were enough for us. - good for families, not that we would stay in the peak season out of choice. Our pitch was large enough but very uneven in places with trees, roots and leaf litter, not to mention dark, but I guess in the heat of summer the shade might be welcome. Just the one 'sanitaire' block which might prove a trek for those at the extreme reaches of the site, but our pitch was very close. Despite the 5* rating, we have experienced better sites. Used the restaurant once. Food was tasty but the portions huge - I just had a main course and left some of that. Staff were very friendly and most spoke good English to make up for my poor French. Visited Sommieres twice -. Once on market day - once on Monday when the shops are closed, but suited us for exploring and a good lunch. Walked along the cycle track beside the site which was pleasant. Unlikely to use again as we prefer smaller sites, preferably owner managed for a more personal experience. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Adam T0356 1 review from this member

 We have camped for many years and have suffered, as we all do, with the variable british weather if you choose to stay this side of the channel.

After many disappointing damp weeks of camping we decided to start chasing the sun and headed to the south of france in the hope of having a blue skied holiday.

This site is absolutely worth investing in the 13 hours to get there from Calais. We had an absolutely fantastic 10 days at the site. The pitches are really roomy and are shaded by trees which is a godsend given that it was 30 degree plus for most of the time we were there.

The site has one toilet block which is immaculate and was in easy reach of our pitch.

I would suggest that taking a cycle is wise as it does make life much easier getting around when you need to round up the kids for supper or bedtime.

The pools (2) are perfect and there are a number of slides which our kids loved.

We ate in the restaurant once and it was superb value for money - 20 euro per head for a three course meal - the portions were huge and cooked really well.

There is plenty to do around the site, including a disused railway line which runs through the site and is now being used as a cycle path which runs for 20kms or so. Brilliant for those who enjoy a bit of cycling.

We also went kayaking & the french equivalent of GoApe which are on the sites doorstep and are great value for money.

All in all and great site and we are looking to book again which speaks for itself. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Berriow 53 reviews from this member

 It's interesting for us to come here as it's quite a different, and more expensive site, than we would normally visit.

We ourselves have a very pleasant, large, shady touring pitch, but some of the others are far from ideal - not in shape, not in position (hemmed in between statics) and not in location. Some for instance are a long, long way from the single toilet block, and all are far too far from Reception, bottle bank and rubbish bins - you need a bike for that, or you go by car.

Some of the on site cabins and chalets are large and roomy, but others are small, mean, badly designed and poky. It's a very mixed bag once again.

There are good play areas for little children, and water slides in the pool, but most of the clientele at the moment (early July) are elderly British and Dutch - there are very few children here.

The restaurant is an attractive chunky rustic design, better than any camp site restaurant we have ever seen, and the teams of charming, attentive waitresses are delightful, but the huge helpings of poorly cooked food are frankly gross. A mixed grill was an enormous plate of over cooked beef, pork, duck, sausages, and everything else they could find. On a scale that would make an obese American blanch. The need to think of quality rather than sheer quantity. This is not French style. In fact the catering isn't style at all.

So we as first timers here find it all a very patchy operation in so many ways. We think it will appeal to the unadventurous traveller who is willing to pay big money for a camp site which is quiet, safe and secure, but it's not somewhere that will draw us back. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tricia tosh 5 reviews from this member

 Good site with good sized shady pitches mixed in between the chalets/caravans. We stayed in late August- 2 adults and 1 10 year old girl, in a large family tent.

Not sure what makes it a 5* site compared to 4* Castel sites though.

Reception was polite and efficient, shop was useful for emergencies but very expensive so use the supermarkets which are only a short drive away.

Restaurant was also expensive but excellent quality food whilst the takeaway was standard French takeaway fayre.

Shower, toilets and washing facilities are of a good standard and always clean. Plenty of them too.

The 2 pools were great however the fact that there was a gate between them meant it was awkward and also too many people reserved the insufficient loungers and this wasn't controlled by staff, this might be a bit tricky if you have more than one child and have to keep swapping between pools. The one without the slide was much calmer

You can take the wine tour and buy wine but note this has to be booked in advance and is not actually on the site but across the road.

Sommieres is the closest town which is about a 25 min walk down the cycle path. Take a torch if going out at night as there are no lights.

Night time market was lovely and had a great atmosphere and there is a good selection of bars and restaurants.

Sete is fantastic particularly the water jousting at the end of August.

It seems like people come to this site year after year as you see people wandering around trying to look at your pitch/chalet to book for next year. Also although some people recommend a bike because it is a large pitch this really is not necessary and the amount of children biking around can be a bit irritating. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tez-Heidi 4 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a 3 week stay here. It was very lovely. Very well kept and clean site. Regularly cleaned toilets and showers(which were plenty warm enough). Excellent playground facilities. Swimming pool and slides were very much enjoyed by my children and their father! The local town of sommieres is really quite beautiful and only 1. 4km away. The site attaches to the cycle route which is perfect. Lots of people cycling/roller skating/jogging or just walking no cars and no dog poo(although the occasional horse manure). There is so much to do on the surrounding area stunning towns to walk around/Kayaking and canoeing/horse riding/Go Ape(tree climbing)/lakes to swim in. A totally wonderful holiday many people return to this site year on year definitely need to book quite far in advance if you hope to stay here. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Flipy 9 reviews from this member

 A great Castels site near sommieres.

We enjoyed our stay here as there is so much to do in the surrounding area. We saw the local bull run, canoeing on the river the bike track runs past the site and you can go all the way to nimmes, 45 mins for the big sandy beaches etc.

We had a large pitch, but would recommend asking for a pitch away from the toiled blocks. The pool did get very busy which was a downside for us.

We went on the wine tour and were invited to pick the grapes for a new wine which involved getting up at 6am and picking till 12, but the children loved it! they rode in the tailor and got to see first hand how the wine was pressed. We had a lovely lunch with the family as a celebration which made our holiday. All in all I would recommend this site and the region, although we joined it with a week at the beach as I guess it would be too far to keep driving to the beaches and sitting in traffic jams! 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Chinster1957 33 reviews from this member

 Part of the Castels chain, Domaine de Massereau is a 5-star site situated in the Languedoc Roussillon region in the south of France midway between Nimes and Montpellier. It is a relatively easy (albeit rather long) journey from Calais as most of the travelling is on good motorways. For the final part of the journey take exit 26 on the A9 autoroute and follow the directions to Sommieres. The campsite will then be on your right about 2kms before the town.

DdM has an unusual layout in that it is split into two parts by a long distance cycling/walking path (the ďVoie VerteĒ) which runs for 22kms between Sommieres and Nimes. The two parts of the site are joined by a rather narrow stone bridge. The campsite is also part of a much larger estate, with an olive grove to the north and the familyís vineyard to the south.

The first building you will see on arrival is the site reception. Here you will receive a code for the barrier, a map showing your pitch, and a really informative booklet explaining all the facilities of the site and also giving ideas for trips out. On leaving reception you pass through the security barrier and into the first half of the site. On the left of the road here is the recycling area and general waste bins. To the right they have bikes for hire (apply at reception).

Follow the site road to the first T junction. In front of you is the Sports Field with various obstacles in a circuit for you to enjoy. The mini golf is also in this area. I have to say that in the 3 weeks that we were here we never saw either of these facilities being used (probably because they are on the opposite side of the site to the pitches). The mini golf was actually looking a little bit neglected. To the right of this junction at the far end is a building they use for the Childrenís Club. Again, it is a long way from the actual pitching area, but it does mean the kids can have some fun without disturbing anyone. To the left of the junction is the stone bridge that leads over the cycle path to the main part of the campsite.

Once across the stone bridge you are now in the main part of the campsite. This area is also split into two distinct parts with the pitches situated to your right and the main campsite buildings to your left.

There are around 120 pitches on DdM. Approximately half of these are being used for chalets and static vans (12 are owned by Eurocamp/Keycamp). The rest are used for touring units. There are three types of touring pitch. Firstly Premium which, in addition to electricity and water, have features like patio furniture, a fridge and free wifi (there are only 2 or 3 of these).

The rest of the pitches are classed either as caravan pitches or camping pitches. Both types have electricity and a water point. Iím not really sure what the difference is as all units seem to be able to use all pitch types. Possibly the caravan pitches have better access but, if that is the case, it is not obvious. We have a caravan and we managed to pitch on one of their camping pitches quite easily (with a motor mover).

Most of the pitches are a good size Ė some are enormous Ė but some do have trees in awkward places. These, of course, add plenty of shade to the pitch but will be more difficult to access. They also give the site a bit of character.

There is one toilet block placed just off centre towards the back of the site where most of the touring pitches are situated. It is a reasonable size for the size of the site. All facilities are unisex. Cubicles containing sinks are along one side, toilets on another side, showers and showers with sinks are on a third side.

The showers work by push button but the temperature can also be adjusted. Washing up sinks and the launderette are also at this point. All facilities are kept clean. The main disappointment here is with the toilets which do not have seats. They are clean and do have a sanitizer spray dispenser in each one for cleaning the rim but I think a 5-star site really should have toilets with seats.

If I had to be really picky, then I would also say that the paths around the block have been designed to look good rather than be functional as there are places where they are not wide enough and donít follow the natural route that most users would want to follow.

All the other buildings are located together away from the pitches. The restaurant, bar/takeaway, shop and games room are in fact one building. The shop is air conditioned and stocks basic essentials. It is quite small but DdM is quite a small site so it is adequate.

Unfortunately it shares staff with the bar and when there is only one person working waiting to pay can be a problem. The best thing is that it sells the DdM wine. We really enjoyed the Cazelet White while we were here. If you buy it in the 3l bags it works out at about half price Ė great value. The site does a free tour of their wine cave 2 or 3 times a week so if you fancy trying all their wines its worth booking a place on one (at reception).

Apart from drinks and takeaway food, the bar/takeaway is also the place to get your bread in the morning (you have to pre-order it the day before). You can also buy access to the wifi here (as well as from reception). The wifi is supposed to be site wide. We were on one of the pitches at the far end of the site. We always got a signal but some days it would work ok, and others it was a real pain. Wifi reception at the bar, though, always worked perfectly.

The restaurant is outside but under cover. It serves pizzas and other meals. Beware, the portions are enormous. The melon starter (usually a safe option) has to be seen to be believed: a family of four would struggle to finish it. Iím all for value for money but the restaurant would be much better if the portions were considerably smaller.

Next to the restaurant is the play area which includes trampolines, table tennis and other items to play on. The swimming pools are also here. One of them is rectangular and heated to 28 degrees. The other (the fun pool with slides) isnít heated but is still a good temperature. The pools do not look as large in real life as they do in the brochure but they are more than adequate for the size of the site.

There is plenty to do in the area. If you enjoy walking you can buy a map from reception for 5 euros which shows a selection of local walks. If you like history then Nimes and the Pont du Gard are reasonably close. The walled town of Aigues-Mortes is also worth a visit.

The closest beach is probably La Grande Motte which is about 35 minutes away Ė an unusual place with odd looking buildings. If you fancy visiting a cave then La Grotte Demoiselles is a good day out (beware the route using sat nav is not for the faint hearted as it goes up some small mountain roads).

Another good day out is Sete which is a very picturesque town. There is a great park here at the top of Mont St. Clair which has fantastic views over the town and the Thau Bassin. It is the perfect place for a picnic.

Prior to coming to DdM I was a bit concerned that I may have made a big mistake Ė the reviews on here are quite a mixed bag. Some people think that its the best site theyíve ever been to while others really seem to hate the place saying its barely worth 3 stars.

We were here for three weeks and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Itís not without its faults but these are all pretty minor. I think it should be remembered that this is still a relatively new enterprise Ė eight years ago it didnít even exist. Iím sure that it can only get better in the future.

If you fancy a holiday in this area then I would say give DdM a chance. I have no doubt that it meets all the criteria of a 5-star site. Is it any better than a 4-star site? Probably not, but thatís not the siteís fault, thatís more a problem with the French rating system which (in my opinion) didnít need to add a 5-star category. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Jsflipflop 5 reviews from this member

 'Emplacement grand confort' we were promised as we parted with almost 24 euros for the night in September. Very disappointing pitch, but it wasn't the only one, as we had a good look around the site. Lucky we have only a small campervan because with a bit of jigging about, we managed to get level, despite large tree roots everywhere which made even walking in flipflops a bit of a challenge! Indeed, with trees very close together, each pitch was 'divided' into two. Tricky with a car and caravan or a larger motorhome. Shop. Basic & unattended, restaurant. Not bad, but not great either. We were overcharged, our own fault for not checking the bill. The worst aspect however was the toilet/shower block. The bins which are situated between the toilets and showers (small flaps behind toilets to put paper, etc. in) cannot have been emptied for over a week as some cubicles had sanitary waste overflowing on the floors and in the showers and/or sticking out of the flap itself! It has been marketed as a 5* site. It doesn't merit more than 3* in my opinion. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: New2camping5 6 reviews from this member

 We stayed for 2 weeks last August and we've booked again for this year, we thought it was a wonderful site.

The pitches have tall trees which provide shade but there's no problem finding a sunny patch on your pitch too. The staff are friendly and helpful. The small shop offers the essentials and there are several large supermarkets in nearby Sommieres, which is a nice town. It has a weekly market, but we didn't visit it.

The washrooms area is kept clean and we rarely had to queue for a shower and never for a toilet. They are modern and hygienic. There's also a few washing machines (payable) and 3 sinks for washing clothes in. Next to the washrooms are the washing up sinks, again regularly cleaned.

It's quite a trek to get rid of your rubbish, as there's one refuse area, beautifully kept, but tucked away on the site.

The site is adjacent to an old railway track, now converted into a trail, it is tarmacked and is well used for runners, skaters, walkers and cyclists. It runs to ? Nimes I think. We loved this and used it a lot. There's picnic tables along the route.

We visited a beach nearby 'Grand Mot' I think it was called, large sandy beach, very shallow slope with a warm lagoon area at the right hand side - excellent for kids. It had a carousel.

The weather was around 27 - 30 each day and sunny, with one rainy day (but warm rain, not English rain!).

Pool complex great, we were always able to get a sunbed. The kids loved the slides as well as splashing about in the water. The restaurant was good quality and we ate out twice. The campsite is also a vineyard and they sell the wine there too, the Viognier is out of this world and I want some more! I went on the vineyard tour which was interesting.

We hired a fridge and gas bbq for the 2 weeks and also I hired a bike for a few days.

The kids didn't use the playpark, it was a bit out of the way for them from the camping, as it was near the restaurant & shop & pool complex. However they enjoyed it when we ate in the restaurant. It's got no sides so it's like eating outside, in between courses the kids could just get down and run off to the play area with their new little mates. There was a clubhouse up by the campsite office where they did kids club activities and some discos. Personally I thought it would have been more fun if these were in an area where parents could sit and have a beer and watch, and maybe join in, ha I love that 'chocolate' song!

Good mix of nationalities with plenty of Brits for the kids as well as Dutch, German & French of course. Everyone very friendly. Quiet when you wanted it to be, after 11 everyone was sleeping.  


Previous     18 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Domaine De Massereau child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Domaine De Massereau have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Domaine De Massereau?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Domaine De Massereau dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Sommieres      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Languedoc Roussillon

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5303 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement