Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Castel Domaine De La Paille Basse

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Midi - Pyrenees > Souillac > Castel Domaine De La Paille Basse Reviews

Castel Domaine De La Paille Basse
La Paille Basse
Souillac
Midi - Pyrenees   (Browse area)
46200
Tel: +33 05 65 37 85 48
    Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 289
Open: 07/04 To 15/09

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 8 Reviews
                7/10 from 8 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf 5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports 10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Jsparkes201148 24 reviews from this member

Long winding road from main road, signs on the way saying “nearly there”, ” keep going you’re doing well”.

Friendly welcome at reception.

Site was VERY quiet, just half a dozen other units. Given choice of pitches near reception, all very generous in size. Didn’t use the pools / barb/ restaurants

Pools looked very good.

Had a ride around the site on my bike.

Access to some of the cabins down steep slopes.

Phone signal weak, poor 3G, when I asked about wifi I was told it only worked in reception/ bar area. However, my Motorhome WiFi picked up the wifi no problem even from about 80m.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Travelinglight 6 reviews from this member

This is a large site and is situated in woodland. There is a long winding approach road. There are mobile homes and camping pitches. Good facilities for families. We unfortunately were allocated a pitch on the hillside in the woods. We booked through CCC club so pitch was large but inappropriate site for large caravan. The clutch was burning out trying to get up the hill to the pitch. No signs at ends of roads with pitch numbers. Given map and found a concrete number in ground on pitch. Roads to these pitches dirt and gravel. Few days later another family towing a caravan to pitch next to ours had same problem. Continually had dead acorns from oak trees falling on roof so kept waking us up. Toilet block good. Showers in another block. Rubbish bins right down near entrance so had to drive or long walk. Chemical toilet point near reception so also a trek. Music from club loud and can be heard quite a way from there. They go quiet about 11.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cora Flange 3 reviews from this member

Arrived here from the South of France (a 3 night stop-over). Had a choice of pitches, as many people had already left (late Aug). Pool was great (although had a rule that under 12s had to be accompanied by an adult at all times. A pain as our kids (13, 11, 8) can swim very well. We actually ignored this rule!

Restaurant looked lovely, although kids wouldn't like the choice, so chose to have take-away pizza and frites instead. These were great value and yummy.

Toilets and showers were almost like hotel standard - very clean and bright. Rare for camping. Evening entertainment was very good for the kids and everyone seemed to get involved.

Drive up to the campsite was a 1st gear job, as it really is at the top of the hill. SatNav was useless and sent us to a field. All good fun. Recommend this site and may return.

If you do go, go canoeing from Pinsac and have a swim in the river. Beautiful!

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: 622billy 3 reviews from this member

Our second visit to Domaine La Paille Basse, the first at the height of the season. This is a site geared up for couples, families and youngsters.

It was very busy and the pitch for our family tent was a bit on the small side. We booked a pitch with electric hook-up, unfortunately the electricity point was some metres away and necessitated borrowing an extension from the campsite. It was no problem though and we were soon up and running.

Having a 7 year old with us meant we needed a good pool and facilities and this site has it all. 3 pools, the main one being a decent size.

The site also boasts a good flume / toboggan which is near the main pool and very good. Poolside does get pretty crowded on a hot day, of which we had many.

Toilet and shower facilities are excellent, well maintained and kept to a high standard of cleanliness. We have no complaints here whatsoever.

Also the camp shop, bar and restaurant are also of a high standard and the campsite office is open from 8. 30am to 8. 00pm - English spoken throughout.

This is a great base to explore the region with lovely towns such as Souillac and Sarlat within a reasonable distance and some wonrfull villages and countywide. Highly recommended.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Helibore 1 review from this member

We visited with a tent and two children in July this year. The site was in quite a remote location, but very pretty with good facilities. The pitches were on the small side, but well shaded. A more open and spacious area existed at the far end of the site, which seemed to mainly house British caravans. This did however seem a much less crowded and attractive part of the site, probably the original pitches dating back to the 1970's.

The bar, shop and restaurant all provided reasonable choice in nice surroundings and there was also a take-away facility offering ok-ish pizza's, rotisserie chickens and chips.

There were 3 pools and a waterslide which the children loved, but sadly the pools were unheated which made them unusable on cooler days.

Childrens clubs and entertainments were fun each evening and there is also a small farm.

Wasps were a constant pest whilst we were there. However, this is not the fault of the site.

The staff were friendly and helpful at all times, very professional. I would return, but at a different time of year to avoid the wasps and also ask for one of the bigger pitches.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Markpd999 6 reviews from this member

This site is in a great place to tour the Dordogne.

With Easy Access to Souillac,Dom,Sarlat,and Beynac.

The site itself has good Toilets and Showers Hookups are available and a good on site shop, a great pool with slides for the adults and kids.

But being in amongst the trees the pitches are very hard and bare you need to use Nail Pegs and a good Mallet as normal pegs just bend.

The on site Restaurant was disappointing and quite expensive I'd give it a miss.

But we did find on the outskirts of Souillac a restaurant on the river Called Le Chapeau Melon with great food.

Must do's in the area are a canoe ride down the dordogne and a visit to the caves at Padirac with a boatride through the underground caves.

Would go again.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Bridie 97 reviews from this member

Arrived in rain so may have affected how we felt. Site seemed a bit run down, over large and sprawling. Not many people there, due probably to weather, but rather a run down feel. Not particularly welcoming.

Had to find our own way to facilities etc. Pool was clean and had wonderful views. Toilet and shower facilities clean. Seemed to lack a central hub to it all. Wouldn't go back again

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Sjray 9 reviews from this member

Stayed here the last week of May 2008 during the UK school holidays. We rented a static home directly from them for 6 of us (2 adults, 3 kids (10,11,17) and nanny).

The camp was basically empty with only a few caravans and no tents. I believe it only opened at the start of May for the season. The shop and restaurant were on limited opening hours but long enough for us. The main town, Souillac is about 10 minutes drive away and has restaurants, bars, shops, market and petrol station (Casino)

I must say the toilet/washing facilities were excellent; they looked liked they were new for the season.

We spent sometime exploring local towns and markets (Sarlett, Domme, Martel etc). The Dordogne was closed for canoeing as the heavy rainfall had caused it to rise to an unsafe level and made it fast flowing.

There were very few children around the camp and on the days when the sun came out, the pool had no more than a dozen people lounging. In fact, our children had the water slide to themselves and were able to go down as many times as they wanted which they thoroughly enjoyed.

I'm told that during July/August, this placed is extremely popular with Brits and is heaving.

If you want a bit of peace and quiet with nice facilities, I would recommend it at this time of year.


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Midi - Pyrenees

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2573 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019