Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Castel Le Chateau De Leychoisier

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Limousin > Bonnac La Cote > Castel Le Chateau De Leychoisier Reviews

Castel Le Chateau De Leychoisier
1 Route De Leychoisier
Bonnac La Cote
Limousin   (Browse area)
87270
Tel: +33 05 55 39 93 43
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 80
Open: 15/04/2022 to 20/09/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 19 Reviews
                8/10 from 19 Reviews

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  19 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ironned 34 reviews from this member

 Had read a negative review or to so was a bit anxious about this one, but it is utterly charming in the quirky les castels way, with a feel of faded grandeur.

Handy for Limoges it is situated off a quiet lane and the chateau is jaw-droppingly gorgeous. We got a friendly welcome from a gentleman I believe to be the owner. It had that ‘end of season’ feel and a lot of people seemed to be one nighters like us, but don’t let that put you off.

There’s lots of shade in the parkland camping area, water and EHU close at hand to most pitches, which are large. The gardens and grounds are lovely for a stroll, although any thoughts of an early morning walk in the local countryside were curtailed by the locked gate until 8. 30 am !

Nice to see the deer in the adjacent paddock, which seem suspiciously tame ! There’s a lovely pool and the adjacent barn serves as bar and games room, there’s a bit of play equipment and rather dilapidated tennis and volleyball courts.

The sanitaires seem to attract the most criticism from reviewers; they are a bit antiquated and broadly unisex, but I had lovely hot showers after my swim and the next morning.

The restaurant was closing the day after we stayed, but we enjoyed a nice meal outside in a small lawned area - it’s generally local delicacies plus steaks and although not cheap, very tasty.

You’d need to pop to the next village if you want bread or croissants for the morning; not sure if this is different in high season. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Delboyarapaho 5 reviews from this member

 As others have said this site is a little remote, particularly if in a motorhome but that doesn't detract from how lovely this site is. Set in the lovely grounds of a chateau (not open for visitors), and among mature trees most pitches (on a very slight slope) have good access to shade, whilst still offering plenty of sun. Plenty of water and drainage points.

Amenities were good & clean and the site had a nice restaurant although we didn't get an opportunity to eat there.

The pool area is lovely and just what is needed after a long day in the sun

Very good site and staff very helpful and friendly 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Derekcbr 79 reviews from this member

 Really good site. Mostly used as a one night stop over but in magnificent grounds. Good level pitches with large grounds to explore. Fishing lake is quite a walk but very peaceful. Caught a couple of roach and saw snake swimming past. Brilliant. Toilet block good with plenty of hot water. Not much to see in the area so can quite understand why it seems to be a one nighter. Good uncovered swimming pool and good restaurant. Recommended. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ruggerman 21 reviews from this member

 Arrived for a night stopover after an exhausting drive down (gale force winds all the way). Site was fairly empty but still given specific pitch under trees despite having a large unit. The toilet &shower areas were kept clean but are a bit dated compared to other castel sites we've stayed at. We made use of the restaurant and enjoyed the meal. There is a big but to follow, the cost was €40 for a night but we also were charged a further €10 for the temerity of actually prebooking! Nice as the site could have been we will definitely not be returning! 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JiLLIan 16 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for a couple of nights so we could visit Oradour du Glane. The site is lovely and so are the staff. Nothing was too much trouble for them. The restaurant was lovely with great food. There is a lovely walk around the site and down to the lake, very secluded. Lots of peace and quiet. Toilet block just right no problems. We are going back this year. We didn't get enough of such an amazing site and it's beautiful people. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Junik53 9 reviews from this member

 Just an updated review on this lovely campsite, still going strong and as lovely as ever. The setting is second to none and the grounds and gardens of the chateaux are open to all. At the opposite end to the chateaux is a fenced off area that has deer in it and they are fairly tame so you can get close for photos.

The pitches are spacious and have electric hook ups, you can choose your pitch and some of the pitches are slightly sloping, but most only need a little levelling. Shower block is a little small for number of pitches, so this is where you may like to use your own shower and loo. The pool on site is small but at least they have one, great for kids, also a small playground for young kids. Resturant on site you have to book at reception and you can also order bread and croissants. Staff are very pleasant and speak fluent English, We use this site as a stopover on way to Spain but make a point of having a week here on return journey.

Site is close to Limoges and all it has to offer, and is with in a short drive to hypermarkets

All in all a very pleasant and usefull site 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Frances1 3 reviews from this member

 We are a couple in our fifities and used this site for a one-night stopover on the way to and from Spain in July.

It's a very pleasant and relaxing site and if there had been better swimmimg facilities we would have been tempted to stay for a few nights more, but the weather was scorching, the swimming pool is very small and the lake is sadly no longer used for swimming - that would have made all the difference.

It's only a few minutes from the motorway so makes a convenient stopover.

The staff were welcoming and helpful and we were allowed to choose our own pitch. The site is dotted with trees and there are varying degrees of shade available, from almost none to lots. The pitches were a reasonable size but, as someone else has pointed out, you may need a long lead for EHU.

We thought that the site has quite a spacious feel to it so I'm surprised that some other reviewers found the opposite - maybe more of the grounds have been opened up since then?

The grounds are well-tended and attractive to stroll around and contribute to the general relaxed ambiance.

The loos and showers were clean enough but not very plentiful (I think about 4 each for men and women, in rows opposite each other inside a unisex block) and if the site were full there would probably be queues at peak times. I had to wait a while for a morning shower and the site was nowhere near full capacity.

The showers weren't very powerful and the hot water ran out so it was only tepid. On the plus side, the cubicles were fairly roomy and there was space to hang stuff without it getting soaked.

We didn't eat in the restaurant but it looked as if other people were enjoying their food and the garden setting was pleasant and charming.

I would definitely stay here again for a stopover and, if the weather were as hot as last year and the owner revived the lake swimmimg, we would probably stay for another couple of nights simply for the quality feel, the friendliness and tranquillity. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: TheGrocer 5 reviews from this member

 A great welcome by the owner always makes a difference. The site is easy to access and flat but does lack shade in many places. Good swimming pool and play area for children. Plenty of safe walks nearby for dogs etc.

In season the price is a little steep and the site can be busy, but pitches are well spaced out. Toilet block was clean and modern. The site did appear to have a high turnover of vans, but this should not be a bother to staying longer 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Catlover174 24 reviews from this member

 We used this site for a one night stop on our way to the Dordogne and it was good for that purpose. I wouldn't choose to stay any longer. Due to the high turnover rate it lacks atmosphere. The British owner however was very welcoming and helpful. The children enjoyed a nice swim in the outdoor pool and there was a playground for them. The pitches were a reasonable size but the site itself didn't feel very spacious - I'm not sure how many pitches the site has, but they all seemed to be in one small area. The grounds of the chateau are not used for camping at all, although it seems you are free to walk round them.

I can't comment on them but there was a restaurant and takeaway food available. Likewise I can't comment on anything in the surrounding area, but the site was well located, close to the motorway for a stop over. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nik L 3 reviews from this member

 Stopped here for one night on way back from Spain. The site was signposted from the motorway but the signs for the entrance to the site could have been a lot bigger. On arrival we were told we could choose a pitch and there did seem to be a fair few available. There was a small swimming pool and free tennis courts. The chateau in the grounds was very pretty and the whole site was well kept and peaceful. Would definitely recommend for an overnight stop or a little longer if you want to explore the area. Only gripe would be the price. At 50 euros a night its a bit steep but would still return. 


Previous     19 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Castel Le Chateau De Leychoisier child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Castel Le Chateau De Leychoisier have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Castel Le Chateau De Leychoisier?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Castel Le Chateau De Leychoisier dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bonnac La Cote      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Limousin

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1930 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement