Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping Les Gorges Du Chambon

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Poitou-Charentes > Eymouthiers > Camping Les Gorges Du Chambon Reviews

Camping Les Gorges Du Chambon
Le Chambon
Eymouthiers
Poitou-Charentes   (Browse area)
16220
Tel: +33 05 45 70 71 70
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 120
Open: 20/04 To 15/09

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 18 Reviews
                9/10 from 18 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  18 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Anton36 8 reviews from this member

 I could not disagree more with the last poor review. This excellent campsite has recently been taken over by the Yelloh Village group. There is a very good swimming pool to which the new owners have added three separate water slides. The pitches are shaped in a circle around the sanitary block. The small inner circle of pitches are ACSI pitches at 100-120 sqm for in Euro 19 in 2018, the next ring out are Euro 21 and are 150-180sqm and the final outer ring at Euro 23 are 200-240sqm. We found that there was plenty of room on these pitches and we were not crowded at any time in our 2 week stay. In the low season there is a heated or warmed shower room which is really good on a chilly morning. The only downside is that the grey waste disposal is 200m down the hill. As a result, most touring caravans used a bucket and emptied it into the chemique twice a day rather than into the hedges of which there are very few. Yelloh Village are very aware of this short coming and plan to provide a grey water drainage point by the sanitary block over the winter. This an excellent site that we would recommend but you must expect to drive 45 minutes to get to any of the tourist attraction. However, there are plenty of walks form the campsite and in the close surrounding area. We enjoyed several of them including visiting the small beach. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lidds0 34 reviews from this member

 We went out of our way to visit this site due to other glowing reviews. What we found didn't quite live up to the hype, sadly.

On arrival (In the rain) we were informed only the first area of pitches (which are set out on a 'hub' around the sanitaires) was being used. Pitches are 3 deep and separated by a tree in each corner, with the grass dug out to a spades width to denote pitch boundaries. These formed little moats, due to the recent downpour.

On this area of pitches we were told only the inside ring of pitches were available on ACSI (€19. 00 per night) and a supplement payable for the middle or outer pitches. Subsequently, most of the inner pitches were occupied (rather bizarre, on an almost empty campsite in low season, to see caravans parked in such close proximity).

If it gets full in high season, this pitching arrangement would resemble a tin of sardines! One or two caravans were pitched on the middle row, meaning that those behind looked straight onto the back of the caravan in front. One person got round this potential problem by pitching with his caravan rear against the boundary 'moats and awning facing the sanitary block! Worst pitching arrangement we've ever seen!

There are 2 x sanitaires on the site and both are out the arc! Most cubicles were locked during our visit with just 4 toilets available and these were grim: dark cubicles (undercover but not actually inside the buulding), dated sanitaryware with plastic cisterns. The steps to the heated shower room were in need of repair. The hand wash basin for the 4 toilets in use was next to the urinals, so less than ideal. In a word: awful!

The second pitching area (which was not in use at time of our visit in early June) was much nicer but this is where most of the pre-pitched tents and cabins are situated. There are some large pitches here (but sloping), some with gazebo structures and many with good views over beautiful countryside.

There's a track down and alongside the river. Their website boasts a beach area but we couldn't find it, so possibly they clear an area by the river, closer to high season? The river was high and with a strong current when we were there.

There's a couple of small pools on the site. Nothing special about them and I wonder how they'd cope with a full site of campers.

The saving grace of this site is the lovely countryside setting of the lower part. It's pleasant to walk around and down to the river (despite the grass being long and the track being muddy, when we were there).

There's an Intermarche in nearby Montbrun (tip - buy bread and cakes etc in the village patisserie, it's much better).

Would we return to this site? No. It's a bit off the beaten-track for an overnight stay and not nice enough to spend much longer there. If they got rid of the awful pitching circle and renewed the sanitaires, I might answer differently. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sparrowlegs77 26 reviews from this member

 We were met with a warm welcome when we checked into this site and offered the upgrade to a larger pitch for 5 Euros per night which we took. The site is well laid out and all of the facilities are easy to get to. The toilets are cleaned between 7am and 9:30am which seems an odd time of the day to do it to me, but they are always clean and plenty of them. We did not eat at the restaurant, but the food smelt good. The site is an excellent base for exploring the area with Angouleme, La Rochefaucauld and Montbron not being far away. Montbron has a choice of 2 supermarkets, fuel and other services. The site is approx 3km off the main road and easy to get to. Unfortunately we did not see this site at it's best as it constantly rained for the 5 nights we were here. It is a lovely quiet site although this may change during the main holidays/high season. All of the staff were helpful and friendly, there is a shop selling the essentials, a bar, cycle hire and in the high season there are canoe tours I believe. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Archerypete03 7 reviews from this member

 We looked at many sites in the same area but this site ticked more boxes for us. We were greeted by very friendly staff and shown several pitches that were available. The pitches are all large and many are shaded but on most you will need to use levelling blocks. As has been said the toilet blocks are a bit dated but I have seen a lot worse. The Restaurant has a good menu and also does takeaways. The pool area is very good for all ages, mini golf, tennis are FREE. The Acsi book states low season ends on the 4th July but site info say's the 1st so that did cause some problems but the staff were very helpful in sorting it out. Lots of info on site about places to visit for all tastes and ages. We would use this site again and can recommend it in LOW season if you like Peace and Quiet. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Barsar 46 reviews from this member

 We chose to stay here because it was in an area we have never visited before and it was a Castels site.

Location

The site is well located for visiting Limoges, Brantome, Oradour sur Glane and Piegut. Lovely area with rolling hills.

Reception

There was a warm welcome from the owner upon arrival. Check in was easy and we were allowed to select our own pitch. Staff speak very good English and are very helpful. In addition to information about walks in the area you can also borrow a very thick ring binder with lots of information, in English, about the area, nature, shopping etc. A great idea.

Pitches

The pitches are marked and most quite large. We stayed at the back of the site in the ‘calm area’. Pitches here are huge. Some families erected several tents. The grounds are extremely well maintained, eg cut grass and pruned hedges. Wherever you go you will not feel hemmed in. It feels a bit like a caravan club site.

Sanitary Facilities

There are two blocks. We were located near the older block which to be honest needs to be completely refurbished but… it was reasonably clean and serviceable.

Shop

There is a small shop selling the basics including fresh baguettes and pastries every morning.

Pool

There is a medium swimming pool which has plenty of sun beds and was kept very clean and tidy.

Eating

The on-site restaurant has a good menu and the quality of the food is good.

WiFi

Free wifi access around the patio area near reception.

Animations

There were activities for children most days, but these were low key. During the high season there are evening events including a small market and a barbecue with a live group.

Other Stuff

There’s a large children’s playground plus a games field.

Summary

We loved this site. I understand that the present owner took over the site quite recently. From reading other reviews the previous owners were quite popular. Well the new owners seem to be maintaining the quality. Not perhaps as outgoing as the previous owners but they seem to be making improvements. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ascsbe 9 reviews from this member

 Stayed at the site for about the fifth time for 14 nights during Sept. This site is one of our favourites in France and for those wanting a quiet low season holiday I can't think of many better places. No dogs either was a bonus. The site changed hands in April this year and although the new owners have had little time to make any changes it will be very interesting to see what happens. The former site owner and Henk were great at making you feel welcome and although Henk is still there we noticed a different feel about the site. Time will tell and I will watch their website with interest. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Daz69 1 review from this member

 We had great weather during our 10 days at Les Gorges Du Chambon, arriving in 38 degrees and never seeing less than 25. Jacques was maybe the happiest owner I've come across in all the French sites I've stayed at and although there had been a mistake with our initial pitch allocation he went out of his way to put it right.

The pitch we were on backed onto the woods leading down to the river and as a result gave us loads of room, although my 20m electric cable only just reached the outlet (no 2 pin converter needed). I've seen newer / better toilet blocks at other Castels sites but they were very clean and perfectly adequate with toilet roll and seats although I frequently had to wait for a toilet to be free. It may well be the quietest french site I've stayed at with nothing but owls after 10pm.

Onsite takeaway was ok and the one time we walked down to the entertainment the atmosphere was great. The english speaking reception had loads of information and ideas for activities but the wifi is only available by the reception area and although cheap (1 euro for 1 hour) I found it to be very slow to the point of being unusable.

Tennis etc was free with rackets to borrow in reception, the pool was small and simple but the kids loved it and as mentioned by prevous reviewers the nearby St Estephe lake is great with free kayaks. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Martin1010 14 reviews from this member

 We visited Gorges Du Chambon during August 2012, and which was our first trip abroad with our caravan, having bought it last year. We travelled from Dunkirk in one day and took 11 hours with breaks but was “doable” given the superior standard of the French Roads and rest areas. I was a bit bothered as I discovered that we had booked to travel on what was known as a “Black Saturday” which is when all the French take to the road. As a result I took a different route to that suggested by the Via Michelin site and went via Rouen and Le Man which added an hour but apparently can save up to 4 hours getting stuck around Paris. I could hardly believe that there seemed so few cars on the road and we had a smooth journey down. Watch the Sat Nav for the last leg of the journey if coming from the North and it is better to go to Angouleme and out along the N141 rather than cut the corner off.

The site was really well laid out with decent size pitches. We had a 7 metre caravan, full awning and still had plenty of room for the car and a good seating area. Most pitches had shade but a few were fairly exposed, although they are the minority. The site is surrounded by trees. We found that the majority of people were actually in tents, either their own or very robust ones supplied by the site. The main nationalities were British and Dutch. It was extremely peaceful but with plenty for the children to do. Swimming pool, table tennis, trampoline in the play area, tennis, beach volleyball (for the adults as well).

There is a small shop on site which sells the essentials. You can order bread and croissants for the following day. There were some evening activities, all very tasteful. The evening BBQ was preceded by a market selling local produce which set up alongside the main buildings which sold all sorts including Veg and condiments etc. The BBQ itself we thought was somewhat poor serving chicken legs and chips. There was a local group singing afterwards (reminiscent of a 1960’s band on Heartbeat) The restaurant was OK but the food was somewhat limited. Vegetables were rarely served and any dish usually was accompanied by lettuce. They did do takeaway pizza which was popular but had to be ordered in advance.

Plenty of showers available although the hot water was hit and miss at times. They were spotlessly clean which seemed an on-going task during the day. There is the main river which passes through the bottom of the site and which they have created a small sandy area. Very popular with the kids to cycle down and have a dip. Another reason for picking the area was the temperate climate. Most of the time the temp was around 28-34 degrees and which cooled off really nicely on an evening. We did experience a few days whereby it hit 40 degrees but this was apparently completely exceptional.

Outside of the site there is a local Intermarche (supermarket) in Montbron which was fairly well stocked and was open 7 days a week. Beware of supermarkets elsewhere which closed on Saturday lunch for the weekend! There are a number of lakes nearby which have got beaches created with lakeside cafes. Lake Lavoud was excellent where you can sunbathe and swim, as well as get shade in a wooded area. There was a water sports and riding centre on the other side of the lake. A smaller version can be found at Saint-Mathieu.

The Chocolaterie Letuffe located at Trois Palis was worth a visit. An old world shop and mini production facility at the rear where the chocolates are handmade. They do a free visit and you are taken around and given the long history of the place with tasters by the staff who have all been there for 20 plus years There was a fantastic local street market at Pigout on a Wednesday morning. It was only on for the morning but the size of it defied belief stretching the whole length of the town with full size fridges in the street stocked with fish and meat.

A lot of people we chatted to had been visiting Les Castel sites for years and tended to stick with them. There seemed to be a consensus that Gorges Du Chambon was one of the best. All of the staff were really helpful and couldn’t do enough. Well worth a visit 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Odyssean 3 reviews from this member

 Like other reviewers I almost don't want to share this place with you. In short after many years of camping I am tempted to say that this is the benchmark of what a great campsite should aim for.

The owner simply could not have been any more welcoming or helpful and obviously really loves what he does. He gave us a great pitch and came up to check on us once we were setup to ensure we were happy.

There are a large choice of pitch sizes and locations depending on what you like. The toilets and wash areas were exemplary and seemed to be cleaned many times per day.

The kids loved the pool and we made good use of the tennis courts. There are some great walks and cycles nearby and even decent river if you like canoeing (as we do).

Fresh bread is delivered to the shop each morning and can be booked. The staff were excellent to the extent that our 11 year old wanted to cycle down each morning on her own to practice her French.

The site was extremely popular with Dutch and French campers with only a few others from the UK. Personally we prefer this.

There were activities organised for the kids each day plus a few for adults, such as a trek to look for wild mushrooms.

Despite all these opportunities the whole set was quiet and friendly and there was no noise after about 10pm.

All in all an absolutely brilliant site and a real testament to a wonderful owner. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: J.okane 7 reviews from this member

 Reception make you feel welcome and provide adequate information about site. We were given a print-out of available pitches & asked to let them know which we selected. Site itself picturesque with nice restaurant & small shop along with reception office forming courtyard with seated area as well as bar. Toilet blocks were ample and clean. The herb-garden with 'Help yourself' sign was a nice touch. Restaurant served up very nice meal, but not inexpensive. Daresay you can't really expect both. One minus point for us was sloping pitches made levelling difficult. Otherwise, would not hesitate to return if in area. 


Previous     18 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Camping Les Gorges Du Chambon child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Camping Les Gorges Du Chambon have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping Les Gorges Du Chambon?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Camping Les Gorges Du Chambon dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Eymouthiers      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Poitou-Charentes

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1298 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement