Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping De La Plage

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Brittany > La Trinite Sur Mer > Camping De La Plage Reviews

Camping De La Plage
Plage De Kervillen
40 Bis Rue De Kervourden
La Trinite Sur Mer
Brittany   (Browse area)
56470
Tel: 0033297557328
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 195
Open: May 5th - September 22th

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 34 Reviews
                9/10 from 34 Reviews

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach On Site   Watersports 1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  34 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 12 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pixie_Hez 48 reviews from this member

We stayed at Camping de la Plage for 12 nights in June/July 2019. The site entrance is very narrow and there is no arrivals area so remember to park on the road outside and then check in before driving onto the site.

The site roads are very narrow in some places but we managed to get our 7. 5m caravan safely to our pitch. However, there was absolutely no way we could reverse the caravan onto the pitch because of the tight roadway and trees and bushes so thank goodness for the motor mover. I would say that if you haven’t got a motor mover, getting a caravan onto a pitch here would be nearly impossible.

The pitch we were allocated was very sloping both from front to back and also from side to side and was a strange triangular shape. We ended up with the caravan across one corner of the pitch as it was the only way we could get it level. I would recommend some sort of levelling ramps/device which we would usually have but managed to break on a previous site!

Our pitch was quite large so even with the weird angle of pitching, there was still plenty of room for our awning and the car but the pitches on site vary greatly in size so make sure you tell them if you need a big pitch. We had a walk through the neighbouring campsite ‘camping de la Baie’ which is owned by the same family and shares the same bar/restaurant/grocery store and it seemed to have more large, flat pitches and would definitely be best for a twin axle caravan.

There are two shower blocks. The one near us was good with toilets in a separate building and showers and sinks and a dishwashing area in/outside a separate building alongside. This was kept very clean and was perfectly adequate with plenty of really hot water. There was also an excellent laundry room with washing machines and dryers which was handy as we were away for over 4 weeks so needed to do some laundry mid holiday.

There is a lovely coastal path walk into La Trinite sur Mer which takes about 30 minutes. You walk down through the sister site ‘la Baie’ and out their back gate and then 2 minutes takes you to the coastal path along the bay. The town is nice with a great Friday market and lots of little restaurants and a great ice cream shop! It is a popular marina town so there are lot of boats and people to watch!

The wider area has lots to see and we enjoyed a number of good days out, the best of which was a boat trip round the Gulf of Morbihan (I would highly recommend it). We also really enjoyed market day in Auray which is the largest French market we have ever seen and we also found Vannes a really interesting town with Roman and medieval influences. If you want to stay around the site there is a very small pool which was OK but if it was busy would be exceeding cramped!

The site is right on a beach but we weren’t convinced about the cleanliness of the beach. It didn’t smell great on a few days when we were there and it made me a bit wary about swimming in the sea after a bad experience we had a few years ago in the Vendee when we were both very ill after swimming in the sea.

We decided to give swimming in the sea a miss but enjoyed a paddle. There was a blue flag beach about a 10 minute drive away in Carnac which seemed much better.

The site and its sister site next door both share a bar and restaurant and small grocery shop which does all the usual morning bread and pastries as well as some essentials. The restaurant was very nice and it was lovely to sit on the terrace in the evening with a drink, looking out over the sea. If you need more groceries there are a number of supermarkets within about 20 minutes drive. We went to the big E Leclerc in Auray twice and stocked up with groceries and well priced diesel. There is an Intermarche a bit closer to the site as well which is good.

My one major issue with this part of our holiday and the main reason we would not return to this area again has nothing to do with the site itself. I would have no problem returning to the site on a more carefully chosen pitch, however, the mosquitoes in the area are dreadful! Before we chose to come here we looked on google earth and saw that there were some marshes in the area so we asked on a number of forums about mosquitoes in the area.

Everyone who replied to us said they hadn’t noticed any mosquitoes but they must have been very lucky as we were eaten alive. My husband is rarely bothered by them but even he got several big itchy bites. I ended up having to go out and buy extra strong repellant and assorted mosquito killing plug ins etc to keep them at bay but even then I got a lot of bites, even with DEET.

This resulted in me having to take antihistamines which make me feel drowsy and spoiled that part of our holiday a bit. I think it was particularly bad when we were there as there had been several weeks of rain in May and early June which must have created the perfect breeding environment for mosquitoes.

Then the sun arrived and they were out in force! If you are going to the area, I would strongly recommend a good insect repellant and not just in the evenings as we seemed to get most of our bites in the afternoons which was weird.

However, that said, if you don’t mind the mosquitoes then it is a nice site with friendly and helpful staff and very good facilities.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kgilman 2 reviews from this member

We stayed here in peak season with two young children. What a great site. So close to the beautiful beach and a lovely warm pool. I really can't fault the area.

Good shower blocks with plentiful hot water.

Nice walk to Trinite sur Mer but maybe a bit far for young children. Great walks all along the coast.

The only bad point was the noise on some nights. There is no curfew enforced that I could see which means if you're in a tent you may not get to sleep for quite some time. We were next to two cabins where there were two groups of people who obviously knew each other and were quite noisy. And walking around the site after 11pm there were still some pretty noisy people. Having said that I would visit again but would take extra ear plugs for the kids.
via mobile

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Becboz 23 reviews from this member

We were recommended this lovely site so rang them the day before we travelled up from the Vendee. The site is run by a lovely family & the two delightful young men (brothers) who are usually on reception were more than helpful to accommodate our 7.54 metre touring caravan. They offered us a choice of pitches but access to some even with a mover was tight. We settled on a large pitch near some sanitaires. It was a fab pitch, flat & spacious. There were 2 toilet/shower blocks both with separate make & female sections, always very clean. There was a television room showing World Cup football games. The bar & shop was a short walk away & it also served the sister site La Baie. The restaurant was very good with fab views over the bay. Fresh bread & croissants could be bought at the shop without the need to pre-order. There was also a take away at the side of the shop where you could buy pizzas, chips etc. The site was very peaceful while we were there so great sleep quality! The best thing for us about this site was the 3 minute walk from locking the van to being on a lovely beach with safe swimming area in clear blue sea. We didn't use the on site pool as prefer beaches & sea. The quaint town of Le Trinite sur mer was about a 15 minute walk away. There was good cycling in the area, with an easy cycle ride to Carnac & it's legendary stones. I do have to say that access in & out of the site is tight so please take care. On approach the site for us was on the right which meant we couldn't swing in under the arch so we just went slightly further along the road to a mini roundabout so as to approach on the opposite side of the road. Then on exit, with the van on just watch the rear end on the stone pillars - fine if you are aware & take it steady!

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ammdkids 22 reviews from this member

We stayed here for just over two weeks starting at the end of July. This was a great site. It was clean and well kept. The toilets were plentiful and spotless with lovely showers. The pool was warm and the slides fun. It was great to be able to be straight on the beach through a little path and there were a few activities that the kids joined in with.

It was about a 20 min walk to the village- Trinite sur mer but there was also a free bus outside the site. There was no bar on site but one just across the beach where we had a nice coffee but the drinks and meals were expensive. We hired a canoe one day for only 10euros and canoed into the village.

If we decide to return to the area one year I would definitely stay here again.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: J + J 18 reviews from this member

The entrance is tight and you advised to park opposite while you book in and are told of the one way system and site exit which is by the beach. Booking in was painless as the guy on reception speaks four languages. The roads on the site are narrow hence a one way system. The pool has limited opening time due to complaints by the local residents about noise. The beach is sandy with rock pools at low tide, and with a cordoned off swimming area (with life guards) it is just across the dune from the exit gate. There is a bar; restaurant, shop and bakers just down the road get there early for the croissants. The showers and toilets were always clean with plenty of hot water; there is a laundrette in the centre shower block. Our tent pitch was a bit on the small side compared to some others but we still got the large tent and car on with no problem, Wi-Fi is limited so didn’t bother, EHU is the normal three pin caravan plug. Bike and canoe hire is provided at reasonable price. La Trinite Sur Mer is a nice little town with café’s shops restaurants and a Carefour City (express) which is about 40 minute walk the short way or nearly an hour via the coast path or free on the shuttle bus-details provided at reception. The best supermarket is Super you in Carnac about four kilometres away they also sell fuel.

The standing stones at Carnac are worth a visit but don’t expect any info on them as we could not find any! The stones are fenced off to protect them but at times you are able to walk round them with a tour guide or winter! There is just a large new shop selling books post cards etc. They stretch for about four kilometres which you can walk or drive (there are parking places). The museum of prehistory in Carnac is OK but the English guide book a bit disjointed but it does not mention the standing stones, which is strange as we thought it would.

Vannes is a must on market day foodie heaven but you’re in France!, or just to visit the old walled town with its timber framed buildings. The old quay looks good but no time to look. There is a good cheese shop which I was looking forward to visiting but it was closed when we arrived – would be open later.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Suzi1971 14 reviews from this member

Recently returned from a fabulous 10 night stay at this campsite in our motorhome. Entrance to site is tight with nowhere for arrivals so we blocked the way for a bit until booked in. Roads on site are narrow and get your bearings before driving as you don't want to have to reverse if towing or in a motorhome! We stayed in a spacious pitch with a hedge boundary and some trees for shade. Real mixture of nationalities - British, German, Belgian, Swiss, Irish and French - all rubbing along nicely together. Our German neighbours had been coming to the same site for the past 25 years and an English family for the past 9 years. Communal BBQ area if you want to charcoal BBQ. Two toilet blocks with endless hot water. Never closed for cleaning and kept reasonably clean and supplied with necessities. The beauty of the site is in the location - literally across the sand dunes to the beach. Fab sandy beach and clear blue sea. Good cycling and walking straight from site. Free shuttle bus to the town if you need to use it. The town has a pretty harbour and caters for water activities well. Small Carrefour in the centre and a larger Super you on the way to Carnac. Hiring a canoe was cheap and good fun! Definitely recommend this site.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Speedy1256 3 reviews from this member

Great site in high season not in low season as there is nothing going on, the shop and bar is to far to walk late at night and at that time of the year other times it would be ok if you are a beach person then this is the site for you but for me it was to quiet. I enjoyed the walk by the beach into town and the sea views are fantastic. If I was going again I would stay at its sister site which is right beside the bar and restaurant. Would prefer Grand Metarie myself the next time I am over this way. Overall if you like a quiet site by the beach go late in august/Sept the evenings where quiet cold but this was not the sites fault. The site is very tight to get around with a big caravan etc. Toilets etc where very clean and new looking water was hot.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Leoba 3 reviews from this member

I've been going to Camping de la Plage for over 30 years and am not the only one! I went as kid and have been back a couple of times now with my own children. Book in advance and choose your pitch.

We go for the proximity to the beach really. The sand is perfect for modelling and making castles; the sunsets are spectacular. The site is friendly, spotlessly clean, great kids activities in season. We use the shop at the top for bread and emergency basics and the nearby supermarkets (Super you in Carnac Plage and the big Intermarche at Crach) for main shopping.

La Trinite and Carnac are both within walking distance. Great castles at Suscinio and Elven. Megaliths everywhere

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Medsec 3 reviews from this member

Went with friends as it was our first visit abroad with the caravan. Pleasant journey from Plymouth to Roscoff then roughly a 4 hour drive to the campsite. The entrance to the campsite is quite tight so we drove in from the other way. Very tight little roads within the campsite with lots of kids on bikes darting out in front of you. The pitches we had chosen from the online map were adequate. There was only room for your caravan and awùning with the car squeezed in. Definitely no road parking here!

The pitch had a big kerb to get over which was a bit of a manoeuvre. Luckily we had bought a new air awning which just fitted onto the pitch, then it was the road with no room to spare. It would have been another matter if we'd had the old awning with guy ropes! Nowhere to fasten them. This was probably just the size of our pitch as other ones we saw appeared to be a tad larger. The facilities were very good. Swimming pool etc for the kids although right by the entrance to the site. Excellent toilets and showers. Launderette and washing up sinks for both dishes and clothes. The site is packed tightly but nevertheless was great for the beach which was a few steps away from the exit to the site. Large sandy beach but if you're not a lover of seaweed, then this will be a disappointment to you. It is covered in the stuff. Other than that, it is a lovely beach. You can walk around the coastline to a smaller secluded beach. This can also be reached by road in a few minutes. There is a lovely pine forest there too with a decent sized car park.

Just up the road a very short walk is a shop, a bakery, restaurant and a takeaway. It is nice to sit and have a beer on the terrace of the restaurant whilst watching the sun go down.

Trinitie sure Mer is pretty with eating places and bars. There is a free shuttle bus that takes you there from just across the road from the campsite entrance. Beware tho, the last bus back is around 7. 30pm and we were told at reception that a taxi will not bring you back as it is not worth their while!

Carnac is worth a visit. Nice town and there is a Super you and a Lidl. Cheap fuel at Super you too.

The exit from the site is a bit of a mare. We were very close to this and some people just managed to scrape through. However one poor German took the corner too wide and hit his back end on the gate, cracking the back panel of his caravan. We have a single axle caravan towed by a land rover disco and managed to get out with a bit of room to spare. Twin axles would struggle but I believe if they ask at reception, they can exit via the entrance.

If your music is too loud after 10. 30 you are asked to turn it down. The back gates are locked after 10pm but you have a pass code to use on the small gate.

In my opinion, the pitch we had would have been more suited to a motor home or tent. Other pitches looked much larger. I enjoyed my holiday here and thought the facilities were excellent. I would not return though as I did not like the narrowness of the access roads within the site or the entrance and exits. If you have a tent, this site would be great. Indeed there are Euro tents here for hire.

As for my first time abroad with the caravan. I loved it!

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: ClaireMike21 40 reviews from this member

Site is a little tight but we got to pick our pitch, they do vary in size, each has a water tap and elec was nearby. It's a one way system so you leave through the entrance by the beach.

The pool looked a bit small but had a separate water slide. Lots of kids activities on. They also included a trip to a go ape type thingy.

Just steps and you are on a beautiful beach, that's why you would pick this site, turn left and walk to the restaurant/bar right on the beach, adjoining it is the shop for your breakfast etc.

The petit train picks up from the site once a week to see the carnac stones, but you can catch it in the town and then you get 2 tickets so you can get off at the stones museum and also at carnac beach, the trains run every 20 mins.

There's a path to town but we cycled the main route about 5 mins on bikes, we also cycled to carnac on cycle path most of the way.

Very nice and would return, the town has quite a few places to eat and loads of boats.

Previous     34 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Brittany

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3066 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019