Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping De La Plage

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Brittany > La Trinite Sur Mer > Camping De La Plage > Reviews

Camping De La Plage
Plage De Kervillen
40 Bis Rue De Kervourden
La Trinite Sur Mer
Brittany   (Browse area)
56470
Tel: 0033297557328
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 187
Open: 07/05/2022 to 18/09/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 37 Reviews
                9/10 from 37 Reviews

Photos (22)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  37 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2022 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 21 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: T6NYY 11 reviews from this member

 Third visit to this fabulous site and had a wonderful 3 weeks there. The location of this site is right next to the beach, my 3 dogs loved their early morning swims in the sea. The beach is fabulous, clean and shallows out gently.

The site is nice and compact, the roads around the site are a little narrow in places so would recommend larger caravans do a 'pitch reccie' first.

All the facilities were nice and clean, with plenty of hot water in the showers.

Staff on reception were really helpful and polite.

Nearby bar / restaurant had some great views over the beach, beers were a tad pricey at 8 - 9 Euros for a large beer.

Next to the bar / restaurant is a small bakery for croissants and baguettes in the morning, there is also an excellent little takeaway too that did some excellent pizza's.

All in all, can't fault this little site, just superb and will be booking to go back in 2023.

Five stars from me. 


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Chrisandsandra 63 reviews from this member

 Returned to this site for the second year running.

It was just as good as my last review though this time we requested a specific pitch and were not disappointed. We booked in advance and were still given the ACSI price.

The restaurant seems to have changed hands but is just as good as ever though they no longer do a selection of tapas.

This time we went on the Petite Train which goes from the campsite on Sunday evenings for a tour of Trinite sue Mer, Carnac and the standing stones which was very enjoyable. 


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Chrisandsandra 63 reviews from this member

 Lovely site with direct access to a large beach.

Access is a bit tight so agree that it's best to park outside and sign in (there are spaces across the road from the entrance). Vehicle access is not permitted 10. 30pm and 8am.

This is a family run site that has been operated by the same family for over 60 years. The reception is open from 9am to 7. 30pm (7am in low season) and the site is supervised 24 hours a day. We had a wonderful welcome by very competent and genial staff who showed us to our pitch.

We booked the site by e-mail and got a very swift reply. Although they are not listed as an ASCI Camping Card site we were asked when booking of we were members, which we are, and were charged the ACSI rate for their sister site.

The pitches vary in size and shape. Our pitch (73) was quite large with EHU, water and grey water drainage but could have been a challenge with a larger motorhome. It was pretty falt and we didn't need levelling blocks, though other pitches nearby were using them. You are asked the size of your unit when you book to allocate an appropriate pitch and there is a site map at https://en. Camping-plage. Com/plan-of-campsite, pa2. Html. Pitches feel private as they all have hedges/vegetation on 3 sides.

The facilities are situated in two complexes towards the reception end of the site. They contained ladies and gents wcs, plenty of showers, washing up sinks, laundry sinks, accessible wc and shower and chemical toilet point. All facilities were plentiful and clean with lots of hot water. Proper laundry facilities are also available for a charge.

The pool complex with a heated pool and a paddling pool was quite small and very underused while we were there as most families headed for the beach but we got the impression that even in high season it was well supervised and pool games not allowed.

It looked as if there were organised events for children during high season but they were closed while we were there.

Access to the beach is via a gate at the bottom of the site through the dunes. The beach is a large crescent with rock pools and was well used. The sunsets while we were there were divine.

There is no shop on site but just along the beach path from the bottom of the site there is a small shop and cafe that sells bread and essentials. Next to that there is a popular bar restaurant with both indoor seats and outside terraces.

It's very popular with both those staying on La Plage and it's sister site La Baie as well as locals and other visitors so booking is recommended if you want to eat. We ate there twice as well as spending some lovely afternoons just having a quiet drink. They sell local beers and the food was excellent. They also do tapas if you don't want a full meal.

All in all we loved this site for it's ambiance, relaxed feeling and situation and will happily return in the future. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 12 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pixie_Hez 86 reviews from this member

 We stayed at Camping de la Plage for 12 nights in June/July 2019. The site entrance is very narrow and there is no arrivals area so remember to park on the road outside and then check in before driving onto the site.

The site roads are very narrow in some places but we managed to get our 7. 5m caravan safely to our pitch. However, there was absolutely no way we could reverse the caravan onto the pitch because of the tight roadway and trees and bushes so thank goodness for the motor mover. I would say that if you haven’t got a motor mover, getting a caravan onto a pitch here would be nearly impossible.

The pitch we were allocated was very sloping both from front to back and also from side to side and was a strange triangular shape. We ended up with the caravan across one corner of the pitch as it was the only way we could get it level. I would recommend some sort of levelling ramps/device which we would usually have but managed to break on a previous site!

Our pitch was quite large so even with the weird angle of pitching, there was still plenty of room for our awning and the car but the pitches on site vary greatly in size so make sure you tell them if you need a big pitch. We had a walk through the neighbouring campsite ‘camping de la Baie’ which is owned by the same family and shares the same bar/restaurant/grocery store and it seemed to have more large, flat pitches and would definitely be best for a twin axle caravan.

There are two shower blocks. The one near us was good with toilets in a separate building and showers and sinks and a dishwashing area in/outside a separate building alongside. This was kept very clean and was perfectly adequate with plenty of really hot water. There was also an excellent laundry room with washing machines and dryers which was handy as we were away for over 4 weeks so needed to do some laundry mid holiday.

There is a lovely coastal path walk into La Trinite sur Mer which takes about 30 minutes. You walk down through the sister site ‘la Baie’ and out their back gate and then 2 minutes takes you to the coastal path along the bay. The town is nice with a great Friday market and lots of little restaurants and a great ice cream shop! It is a popular marina town so there are lot of boats and people to watch!

The wider area has lots to see and we enjoyed a number of good days out, the best of which was a boat trip round the Gulf of Morbihan (I would highly recommend it). We also really enjoyed market day in Auray which is the largest French market we have ever seen and we also found Vannes a really interesting town with Roman and medieval influences. If you want to stay around the site there is a very small pool which was OK but if it was busy would be exceeding cramped!

The site is right on a beach but we weren’t convinced about the cleanliness of the beach. It didn’t smell great on a few days when we were there and it made me a bit wary about swimming in the sea after a bad experience we had a few years ago in the Vendee when we were both very ill after swimming in the sea.

We decided to give swimming in the sea a miss but enjoyed a paddle. There was a blue flag beach about a 10 minute drive away in Carnac which seemed much better.

The site and its sister site next door both share a bar and restaurant and small grocery shop which does all the usual morning bread and pastries as well as some essentials. The restaurant was very nice and it was lovely to sit on the terrace in the evening with a drink, looking out over the sea. If you need more groceries there are a number of supermarkets within about 20 minutes drive. We went to the big E Leclerc in Auray twice and stocked up with groceries and well priced diesel. There is an Intermarche a bit closer to the site as well which is good.

My one major issue with this part of our holiday and the main reason we would not return to this area again has nothing to do with the site itself. I would have no problem returning to the site on a more carefully chosen pitch, however, the mosquitoes in the area are dreadful! Before we chose to come here we looked on google earth and saw that there were some marshes in the area so we asked on a number of forums about mosquitoes in the area.

Everyone who replied to us said they hadn’t noticed any mosquitoes but they must have been very lucky as we were eaten alive. My husband is rarely bothered by them but even he got several big itchy bites. I ended up having to go out and buy extra strong repellant and assorted mosquito killing plug ins etc to keep them at bay but even then I got a lot of bites, even with DEET.

This resulted in me having to take antihistamines which make me feel drowsy and spoiled that part of our holiday a bit. I think it was particularly bad when we were there as there had been several weeks of rain in May and early June which must have created the perfect breeding environment for mosquitoes.

Then the sun arrived and they were out in force! If you are going to the area, I would strongly recommend a good insect repellant and not just in the evenings as we seemed to get most of our bites in the afternoons which was weird.

However, that said, if you don’t mind the mosquitoes then it is a nice site with friendly and helpful staff and very good facilities. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kgilman 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed here in peak season with two young children. What a great site. So close to the beautiful beach and a lovely warm pool. I really can't fault the area.

Good shower blocks with plentiful hot water.

Nice walk to Trinite sur Mer but maybe a bit far for young children. Great walks all along the coast.

The only bad point was the noise on some nights. There is no curfew enforced that I could see which means if you're in a tent you may not get to sleep for quite some time. We were next to two cabins where there were two groups of people who obviously knew each other and were quite noisy. And walking around the site after 11pm there were still some pretty noisy people. Having said that I would visit again but would take extra ear plugs for the kids. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Becboz 23 reviews from this member

 We were recommended this lovely site so rang them the day before we travelled up from the Vendee. The site is run by a lovely family & the two delightful young men (brothers) who are usually on reception were more than helpful to accommodate our 7.54 metre touring caravan. They offered us a choice of pitches but access to some even with a mover was tight. We settled on a large pitch near some sanitaires. It was a fab pitch, flat & spacious. There were 2 toilet/shower blocks both with separate make & female sections, always very clean. There was a television room showing World Cup football games. The bar & shop was a short walk away & it also served the sister site La Baie. The restaurant was very good with fab views over the bay. Fresh bread & croissants could be bought at the shop without the need to pre-order. There was also a take away at the side of the shop where you could buy pizzas, chips etc. The site was very peaceful while we were there so great sleep quality! The best thing for us about this site was the 3 minute walk from locking the van to being on a lovely beach with safe swimming area in clear blue sea. We didn't use the on site pool as prefer beaches & sea. The quaint town of Le Trinite sur mer was about a 15 minute walk away. There was good cycling in the area, with an easy cycle ride to Carnac & it's legendary stones. I do have to say that access in & out of the site is tight so please take care. On approach the site for us was on the right which meant we couldn't swing in under the arch so we just went slightly further along the road to a mini roundabout so as to approach on the opposite side of the road. Then on exit, with the van on just watch the rear end on the stone pillars - fine if you are aware & take it steady! 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Ammdkids 26 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for just over two weeks starting at the end of July. This was a great site. It was clean and well kept. The toilets were plentiful and spotless with lovely showers. The pool was warm and the slides fun. It was great to be able to be straight on the beach through a little path and there were a few activities that the kids joined in with.

It was about a 20 min walk to the village- Trinite sur mer but there was also a free bus outside the site. There was no bar on site but one just across the beach where we had a nice coffee but the drinks and meals were expensive. We hired a canoe one day for only 10euros and canoed into the village.

If we decide to return to the area one year I would definitely stay here again. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: J + J 21 reviews from this member

 The entrance is tight and you advised to park opposite while you book in and are told of the one way system and site exit which is by the beach. Booking in was painless as the guy on reception speaks four languages. The roads on the site are narrow hence a one way system. The pool has limited opening time due to complaints by the local residents about noise. The beach is sandy with rock pools at low tide, and with a cordoned off swimming area (with life guards) it is just across the dune from the exit gate. There is a bar; restaurant, shop and bakers just down the road get there early for the croissants. The showers and toilets were always clean with plenty of hot water; there is a laundrette in the centre shower block. Our tent pitch was a bit on the small side compared to some others but we still got the large tent and car on with no problem, Wi-Fi is limited so didn’t bother, EHU is the normal three pin caravan plug. Bike and canoe hire is provided at reasonable price. La Trinite Sur Mer is a nice little town with café’s shops restaurants and a Carefour City (express) which is about 40 minute walk the short way or nearly an hour via the coast path or free on the shuttle bus-details provided at reception. The best supermarket is Super you in Carnac about four kilometres away they also sell fuel.

The standing stones at Carnac are worth a visit but don’t expect any info on them as we could not find any! The stones are fenced off to protect them but at times you are able to walk round them with a tour guide or winter! There is just a large new shop selling books post cards etc. They stretch for about four kilometres which you can walk or drive (there are parking places). The museum of prehistory in Carnac is OK but the English guide book a bit disjointed but it does not mention the standing stones, which is strange as we thought it would.

Vannes is a must on market day foodie heaven but you’re in France!, or just to visit the old walled town with its timber framed buildings. The old quay looks good but no time to look. There is a good cheese shop which I was looking forward to visiting but it was closed when we arrived – would be open later. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Suzi1971 15 reviews from this member

 Recently returned from a fabulous 10 night stay at this campsite in our motorhome. Entrance to site is tight with nowhere for arrivals so we blocked the way for a bit until booked in. Roads on site are narrow and get your bearings before driving as you don't want to have to reverse if towing or in a motorhome! We stayed in a spacious pitch with a hedge boundary and some trees for shade. Real mixture of nationalities - British, German, Belgian, Swiss, Irish and French - all rubbing along nicely together. Our German neighbours had been coming to the same site for the past 25 years and an English family for the past 9 years. Communal BBQ area if you want to charcoal BBQ. Two toilet blocks with endless hot water. Never closed for cleaning and kept reasonably clean and supplied with necessities. The beauty of the site is in the location - literally across the sand dunes to the beach. Fab sandy beach and clear blue sea. Good cycling and walking straight from site. Free shuttle bus to the town if you need to use it. The town has a pretty harbour and caters for water activities well. Small Carrefour in the centre and a larger Super you on the way to Carnac. Hiring a canoe was cheap and good fun! Definitely recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Speedy1256 3 reviews from this member

 Great site in high season not in low season as there is nothing going on, the shop and bar is to far to walk late at night and at that time of the year other times it would be ok if you are a beach person then this is the site for you but for me it was to quiet. I enjoyed the walk by the beach into town and the sea views are fantastic. If I was going again I would stay at its sister site which is right beside the bar and restaurant. Would prefer Grand Metarie myself the next time I am over this way. Overall if you like a quiet site by the beach go late in august/Sept the evenings where quiet cold but this was not the sites fault. The site is very tight to get around with a big caravan etc. Toilets etc where very clean and new looking water was hot. 


Previous     37 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Camping De La Plage child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Camping De La Plage have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping De La Plage?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Camping De La Plage dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near La Trinite Sur Mer      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Brittany

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2987 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement