Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Tweedside Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Borders > Peebles > Tweedside Caravan Park > Reviews

Tweedside Caravan Park
Montgomery Street
Innerleithen
Peebles
Borders   (Browse area)
EH44 6JS
Tel: 01896 831271
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 20
Open: 01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 24 Reviews
                8/10 from 24 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  24 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Paulr6 1 review from this member

 Great site, very friendly staff.

Great for the mountain biking in the local area.

Highly recommended.

Been a few times now and I will be back for sure. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Tichki 1 review from this member

 Very well situated for mountain biking, fishing, pony riding.

We were doing a 10k cross country in Peebles, we had two, three year old girls and an eleven year old boy to keep amused.

Made to feel welcome in the Tow bar.

Streets leading to entrance a bit tight due to parked cars.

Friendly staff. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: AbiM 1 review from this member

 It was a lovely week of warm dry weather when we came to stay and we enjoyed our stay. Welcomed at the reception but otherwise left to our own devices.

Toilet block has a key. Great walks near the river via a little gate at the back of the site. Short stroll into Innerleithen with lots of cafes and a co-op.

From the village a good 3/4 mile walk up through Pirn Woods to a viewpoint over the town. Great countryside further afield in all directions.

The campsite feels nice because it accepts tents (people on bikes with camping gear) as well as caravans and motorhomes.

Took a shower in the afternoon and it was good warm water. Shower lasted for ages so no worries there. The only downside is that some of the washbasins either were missing plugs or had plugs but no plug chains - you just have to choose a good sink! Just needs a bit of maintenance.

Interesting that the site has its own bar, with pool table etc. We didn't go in it though. One evening it looked quiet, another evening it looked busy! 


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Sylvia 1 review from this member

 We were a party of three adults and two young children of 4 years and 6 years. What we liked was that we could pitch the tent right next to the campervan on the camping field.

The area was safe enough for the two children to cycle a short distance alone to the play area which they loved. The whole atmosphere was friendly and folks looked out for each other so we felt the children were safe.

The complex was much bigger than we thought, with an incredibly huge camping area. This meant it was a bit noisy but did quieten down at 11pm as requested in the rules, although the strong smell of numerous BBQ's hung constantly in the air.

Although it was extremely busy, the toilets remained reasonably clean with enough toilet paper, and the various rubbish bins on the camping field were regularly emptied.

The carry out food facility was ok but quite expensive and we did not eat at the restaurant although the choices looked nice and varied.

However, for the basic facilities on the camping field, the price was on the expensive side. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Eckmac 2 reviews from this member

 Bog fest. Mud everywhere. Minimal sized hardstanding pitches only accessed over the grass. Couldn't use showers as floor covered in mud and no mop.

No assistance in pitch location consequently unit stuck in mud. Next day another unit pitched up nearby and also stuck in mud. Pulled out by tractor and unit damaged as dragged through hedge.

Site roads a disgrace, like a poorly maintained farm track. No attempt at covid precaution. Toilet block lighting on a timer regardless of ambient light and shower area really dark. Washing up area in gents lighting not working. Staff friendly enough but looks like every penny is a prisoner.

Will not be back although a good location. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Crazyplace 5 reviews from this member

 Site was easy to find, staff not overly friendly, no info on bins, facilities available etc. Very little obvious covid precautions taken. Pitches small, if you are in a big caravan or tag axle MH you may struggle at busy times.

Showers were £1 which I thought was a bit much as it wasn't the cheapest site. Toilets clean and functional, one wash up sink in the entrance to toilets through a locked door needing 2 hands to operate!

Lots of statics which were empty poss due to covid but if all full I imagine there would be a lot of noise. A basic functional site ideally suited as a base for cycling or walking.

Brilliant geographically due to instant access to cycle path to peebles, (and the other direction) glentress and river fishing via back of site. Endless walking and cycling possibilities, not far from Galashiels a much bigger town. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Walking boot 5 reviews from this member

 The site itself was good: toilets were clean, the fishing was fab, walks were peaceful, and showers were hot! Great local facilities, and peebles is just a short drive away.
The issue we found were there were a lot of duke of edinburgh groups which we were not informed of, and these too stayed on the camping field. Some of the groups were fine, courteous, polite, quiet and respectful: others not so much: screaming, shouting: falling into the tent playing rugby: so if you stay round this time, do check this prior to booking! Also, it appeared as though a couple of the static caravan residents found this annoying, and they tried to drowned it out with loud music. Not great when you want a quiet break: after all tents are not sound proof!
That being said, the site is great for touring, but do check for the groups! We will in future! 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Danabhadri 9 reviews from this member

 In general this site was a bit rough and ready. Grass could have done with a cut, pitches were small, and positioned in a way that some would have been a challenge for big units, not a problem for us with a 5 metre campervan. A popular site it got quite busy at the weekend. Toilets were simple but clean. Site is on the banks of the river tweed on a cycle track so great for cycling and walking. There is a nice looking play area for children. It is a 15 minute walk to shops through a housing estate. The on site pub served great pub grub, nothing fancy, steak pie, fish and chips Mac and cheese but beautifully cooked and tasty. At £16 per night it was good value. I would go back. 


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Spiritburner 21 reviews from this member

 We have used & reviewed this site before. This time we took a grass tent pitch with hookup. Again we were impressed with this site & found toilets & showers even cleaner than in the past. Even with the site being busy due to a nearby major MTB race & participants using the site rather than roughing it at the basic race venue.

Hook up is paid for with pre-paid cards to the value of £1. We used nearly £4 worth using a fan heater over 2 evenings. Overnight & morning, small LED light & coolbox.

If eating out in Innerleithen I highly recommend the No:1 cafe down near the Co-op. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Forsyth 1 review from this member

 We have just left after three weekends stay. We were able to store the caravan during the week for only £10 which was ideal.

We have only had our caravan for a year and have been to various sites some with fully serviced pitches. This site is by far our favourite so far. We are actually considering getting a permit. Even though they don't offer fully services pitches the excellent price of £16/night with electricity makes up for that. The facilities are well kept and clean. There is also an on site bar 'Tow Bar ' which serves a good pint and food.

The site is set in a stunning location next to the river amongst the hills. The best thing about this site is the clientèle it attracts, everyone is super friendly unlike some sites we've been too. It's only a short walk into Innerleithen which has a great coffee shops and restaurants. Peebles and glentress are also very accessible as there is a cycle path that is far away from the road following the river. Takes you direct to both ( about 6 miles each way ).

I'm struggling to see how people have left anything but positive reviews for this site. I think some people can not be pleased. For example glentress charge £24/night for caravans, so unless you want to have 8 showers a day this site is way better value for money. Also I'm confused by the comments re washing dishes in the toilet facilities. These facilities are merely under the same roof in a separate room to the toilets and showers. We have never been bothered by any noise however I guess this could happen at any site.

Thanks for a wonderful stay, we will be back.

The Forsyths ! 


Previous     24 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Tweedside Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Tweedside Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Tweedside Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Peebles      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Borders

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3876 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement