Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Camping L Escale

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Rhone-Alpes > Le Grand Bornard > Camping L Escale Reviews

Camping L Escale
Le Grand Bornard
Le Grand Bornard
Rhone-Alpes   (Browse area)
74450
Tel: 0033 4 50 02 20 69
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: January To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 11 Reviews
                9/10 from 11 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Camelsoutback 20 reviews from this member

A very easy campsite to find, almost in the town of Grand Bornand, 10 min walk to get the morning bread (opens at 6:30 am). The site does do bread but only in peak season.

The services are excellent, unisex very clean and well laid out in one location. The electric points are 6amp and are a bit suspicious but worked. There is a very good tourist office in town who will supply you with all the details you need for walking, sightseeing in the area.

The walks from the town are lovely and child friendly. It is about a 45 min drive into Annecy which is well worth a day trip, there too the tourist is very helpful. Would love to go back there again for the walking.

Date of Visit: December 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Cliveyfossil 2 reviews from this member

Have been here twice before with car/caravan April 2012 and again April 2013 basically because they are geared up for 'Ski Camping'. Only reason not returned until now is I was diagnosed with serious illness December 2014 so had to cancel February 2015 booking.

Arrived here 22nd December and as always, warm welcome, check in & information, discount cards etc provided swiftly. Shown to pitch very quickly and as I noted in my booking I now have a trailer for my mobility scooter the selected pitch was ideal.

Only issue this visit is the electric hook up tripped out quite a lot which was a surprise as never been an issue before. Motorhome service point very clean and tidy and easily accessible.

Pool, bar/restaurant as before and very good.

This year they have installed new toilet/shower facilities (replacing an old block) which are top notch & very clean/warm.

As other reviewers have said the village of Le Grand Bornand is a few minutes stroll away and has an excellent array of cafés, bars, restaurants, shops, butchers, bakers, tabac etc.

As I now use a mobility scooter there were lots of smiles in the village on Christmas Day when everyone saw my scooter fully kitted with 'SNOW CHAINS' but I was determined snow wouldn't stop me. Unfortunately we haven't had a single snowflake yet but heyho such is life. Hope to see some before we leave on 2nd January.

Access to ski areas is very easy with the free shuttle bus directly outside the campsite. The skating rink, 5 mins walk is very good and discounted with campsite card. Ski hire if needed is discounted by 20% at Gerard Sports with card again.

Intermarche' is less than a 10 minute drive away and La Clusaz and Chinaillon (ample parking) are about the same distance if you want a change of scenery.

Free wifi is vastly improved and was available on our pitch. You may be guessing that I would highly recommend this site and you'd be right. In fact we arrive back here again February 13th 2016 and hope by that time the site and area will be buried in snow!

Yes maybe site is a little expensive but not overly so in my opinion.

Date of Visit: December 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Cleagarr 9 reviews from this member

Spent a week here and, although expensive for the facilities etc available, thoroughly enjoyed it.

The site itself is easy to reach and allows access to the Alps without trekking too far up and is along good roads - just up from the village where the site is located (Le Grand Bornand) you are confronted with windy roads, big drops to one side and hairpin bends - we used the local (free with cards from the site) bus service to get up these to the next village.

On site there was a drying room and games room with pool (2Euros a go!) and table tennis and also a coupe of old arcade games/pin ball machines. There is also an outdoor (closed in winter) pool and indoor pool. The indoor pool is fine, though the baby pool was too shallow for our kids (4, 6 and 8) whereas the big pool had no shallow end so was a bit much for them. This is fine but worth knowing - pack armbands etc. The toilet/shower block in the main field is dated but was fully functional and kept very warm and clean whilst we were there which was perfect.

The staff were fabulous - my wife had an abscess in her mouth and the warden booked an appointment at the dentist for her on the same day; she came and found us when she had booked it, gave directions etc. The treatment at the dentist was also excellent! When it snowed very heavily on our last two days the site was cleared really well and when we said we were leaving the digger came and made a path for us to get out - the rest of the roads in the are were pretty clear and we felt very safe driving down the mountains.

As I said previously the site is expensive but, we think, worth it; if not just for the site itself then everything else that is available in the area. Over Christmas week there was so much going on that the village itself felt like an all-inclusive holiday village - there were games, music instruments, concerts and other things going on all the time that were all free - including mulled wine, pancakes, pine syrup lollies and much more. Obviously it is a place that relies heavily on tourism but we were amazed how easy it all was and that everything continued throughout Sundays and Christmas day - all the shops were open etc.

All around were amazing views and walks, a forest rope course, ice rink, cable cars and many other things to do even without snow. When the snow came the place became truly magical. We will look to return again next Christmas as we and our kids had a great time.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Martin1010 14 reviews from this member

Travelled to L’Escale for the first 2 weeks in August 2013. We had booked the SP pitch and were glad as some of the other pitches were rather “snug”, although no more than some other continental sites. The SP pitch was supposed to be fully serviced but in reality there was one waste shared between 4 pitches and was about 18 inches above ground level. Fortunately the other units were not bothered to use it and in fact, all of the caravan pitches had water and waste on site so it is a but misleading thinking you are paying extra for a fully serviced pitch The site itself is lovely and well kept. Very quiet and the kids congregated in the games room which was rather basic but popular due to the free wi-fi. There is a large green area in the middle of the site which was a popular venue for kids football each evening with a few British/other European V France matches which were very competitive but in good humour. The scenery is amazing and the cable car is well worth a trip and following on for the second stage for the ski lift is a must where you can see the Paragliders lifting off and land just above the L’escale site. There is also a Go-Ape type equivalent which is probably more adventurous and the instructors don’t remain with you after the initial instruction so be prepared. The Mer-du-Glace was really excellent for a visit. Annecy old town was nice but getting parked was a complete nightmare so go early and only go for the official car parks otherwise you get blocked in. We also had a day at the Lac du Bourget which had a lovely municipal beach which had a small entry fee. Had diving boards, lifeguard and an excellent café at reasonable prices. The temperature was between 23-30 degrees but cooled of significantly on a night so a fleece was sometimes required but made for very comfortable sleeping. Whilst the Euro zone is generally expensive, be prepared for some exorbitant prices. We paid 14 Euro for a salad compared with 6-7 last year in Limousin/Dordogne. A larger beer was 7 Euros. We didn’t try the restaurant on site but the take away pizza was ok for the day we arrived

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Durhamwasp 11 reviews from this member

Absolutely unbeatable campsite! Fantastic sized pitches, really clean and good facilities, amazing swimming pool that is great for all weathers and only 2mins from the town centre.

Made for families with kids, as campsite roads are extremely quiet and kids facilities are great. Also good for adults looking to hike or cycle.

Some nice villages in the area that can be easily accessed by bus, and also Annecy nearby.

Cant recommend it enough, very friendly and great value.

Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: ClaireMike21 40 reviews from this member

Our first trip away skiing with 3 kids was a great success due to this site. On arrival it was a bit slushy on our pitch so on the next day we parked up on the top of the site that seemed to be a bit better and less people there.

We used the showers etc in by the pool, they were better than the ones in the main campsite.

Pool was a bit on the cold side for the kids but they still went in, a little games room with table tennis, table footballl and some pay for arcade games. Good helpful staff. Bus stops just outside at the roundabout to take you to the ski lifts, you can hire your stuff in the shop at base of lift.

Village was picture postcard with lovely places to eat and a market day.

2 min walk from site is the ice skating rink, you are given a discount for this at campsite.

Good drying rooms where we would leave our ski where everyday.

Tourist information in the village booked us up with an english speaking ski instructor. All very easy he would met us at the top of the ski lifts.

First time skiing and loved it and the site, will be back again.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rstorrie1 8 reviews from this member

Lovely site, pitches could be better. On arrival we were met by a charming lady who escorted us to our pitch. The pitch was slightly lower than the road and as a spectacular thunderstorm arrived that night proved to flood.

I felt sorry for the 4 youngsters in a tent next to us they even tried digging a moat round their tent without much luck. I managed to get the awning up after two days and thankfully no more rain.

A walk to the end of the village and you can get the ski lift up Le Chat 2100 meters and watch the paragliders set up their gear before launching themselves of the mountain.

The kids did not rate the pool on site, our youngest came back all scratched, the pool was finished in a rather rough concrete and was like pumice stone. Luckily for them there was a good municipal pool 5 minute walk from the site and you get 50% discount with the card from the reception.

The municipal pool are very strict on swimwear, no shorts at all. There is a machine there that sells trunks and bathing costumes for a reasonable 8 euros.

Bands played in the town square at regular intervals during our stay, mainly 60's music and in English.

Between 08:00 and 09:30 baguettes etc can be bought outside the reception, there's free wifi next to the reception as well.

There is a large Intermarché in the next town Saint Jean de Sixt.

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jennyr50 8 reviews from this member

An absolute delight of a site! We stayed for 10 days at the beginning of September. Surrounded by mountains just sitting outside the tent looking at the view was enough some days.

Site was very quiet and we had a choice of pitches. Just got our Outwell Montana 6 plus extension on. As stated previously ground not just stony but rocky. Rock pegs are a must! No pitch very far from washing up block but toilets/showers a bit further away.

Site well looked after with very friendly owners. Toilet block always very clean and the indoor pool was very welcome as it can be a bit chilly in September. Restaurant excellent.

Close proximity to the village a definite plus. Good selection of shops, bars and restaurants and views everywhere you look.

So much to do and see in the area. Every grade of walking, climbing and numerous other outdoor activities. Scenery is some of the best we have seen in the Alps. Nearby Annecy a lovely town to visit with its canals and lakeside setting. Geneva is also close enough for a day trip.

Altogether we had a wonderful holiday and it is a site we shall definitely return to in the future.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Caroline123 4 reviews from this member

Well organised site

Pitch size very small - if you have an awning / large tent-definitely request and pay for a larger pitch

Our pitch was on compressed gravel making getting awning pegs interesting !

Also we were there 3rd week in August and there was a big festival on in the town -an annual event which makes the camp site full to capacity- great fun if you want to be involved but probably best avoided if you don't want to be a part of it.

Expect the evenings to be rather cool because you are in the mountains.

Lots of great walking and VTT (mountain biking) routes in the area if you are interested. A must do hike would be The Tete Du Parmelan - overlooking Annecy.

Annecy very busy and quite confusing to drive around.

Gorges Du Fier make a good day trip

Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Snowy747 5 reviews from this member

This site is half an hour or so out of Annecy up in the mountains. The scenery all around is spectacular and within minutes you can be on a mountain road with terrific walks on your doorstep. The nearby village is just a short walk away for early morning croissants otherwise a bakery van delivers first thing.

Pitch size was disappointing, ours appeared to have been shuffled along and consequently the water and waste for ours and the next door pitch were slap bang in the middle of our pitch and not on the border!

The site was full to capacity in June because of the installation of static vans on the rally site. The rally had been placed on the touring pitches and numbered some 40 units. The loo blocks are mixed gender and the loo paper is at the entrance, not in the cubicles. Very, er, quaint. They are quite old but were kept clean.

There is a lovely restaurant on site and you can order food to take away. The pool is clean and well maintained but shallow so you can't really swim very well in it, but lovely for cooling off when the sun shines.

It does get cold in the evenings being in the mountains and beware the storms that race up the valley and last for hours some afternoons. The hail stones have to be seen to be believed!

Wi fi was reliable and cheap, around 10 euros a week. I would go back to this site but with camping cheques next time, as at £18 odd a night for a tent with EHU in June I thought it quite expensive.

Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Le Grand Bornard      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Rhone-Alpes

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans – plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4558 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019