Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Tan Llan Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Pwllheli > Tan Llan Caravan Site Reviews

Tan Llan Caravan Site
Tudweiliog
Nefyn
Pwllheli
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL53 8AQ
Tel: 01758 770486
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 25
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 34 Reviews
                8/10 from 34 Reviews

Photos (12)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   Wild Swimming 1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  34 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Padmanchester 3 reviews from this member

Camped for 3 nights second May bank holiday. My second visit to this site. Always found it very welcoming and the football pitch in the centre brings the children and dads together. Our son was invited to join in before we had pitched the tent.

Facilities good and kept clean. Plenty of soap/hand towels/toilet roll if that's your thing. Showers 50p tokens and one was enough for anyone. I had no issue paying for a shower as the site costs were more than reasonable. There was a washing machine and a freezer to cool blocks/store food.

Plenty of room allocated for tent and we took up offer of a fire pit with wood supplied.

Sea views to the front with amazing sunsets and to the side rolling fields stretching out to the mountains. Peaceful and tranquil with the twittering of birds and bleating of sheep prevailing

Local shop and pub in village which is 2 mins walk and mini market 5 mins drive in Morfa Nefyn.

Local area and beaches must be up there with the best Britain has to offer.

We were advised on booking what the charges would be and can only say that it was great value. I would return again without hesitation.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Per41pp 1 review from this member

Sloping, exposed site with good sea views.

Friendly welcome from lady owner who spent time making sure our van was sited level.

Electric supply trips out at around 5 amps, so care required. 50p required for shower.

Didn't make booking personally, so was a bit shocked when leaving to be asked for £21. 50 per night for 2 nights mid-week off-peak after the August Bank Holiday, for 2 adults, no dog or awning.

There are no clues to this level of charges on their website or elsewhere on the web, so be warned!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Thekellys 3 reviews from this member

We camped on this site for 9 nights with electrical hook up - 2 adults, 2 children and our dog. We also had additional adults and children visitors staying a few nights. The view from our pitch was fabulous over rolling countryside and the sea in the distance.

On arrival there was no welcome or reception signage so we chose our pitch. We were quoted over the telephone by the owner, the total cost. On the arrival day on three separate occasions we tried to settle our bill, but was told it could be done later. At the end of the week on settling there was additional charges for wastage and for our dog, not quoted when booked or on their website or advised to us on arrival. The website needs updating with additional charges.

The owner did advise the electricity supply was poor. In over 10 years of camping we have never experienced such poor supply, constant tripping throughout the day, turning off even our small fridge to boil our kettle.

The ladies washing facilities was poorly designed. There were only two toilets for the whole site and three showers. Worst still, the toilet/shower/sink were in one room, so when showers were been taken there was no availability to use the toilet/sink separately, often waiting 20 minutes at the busy times.

At a premium rate of 50p per usage the push button showers were set at one temperature and were unable to be adjusted for hot or cold water. We purchased several tokens in advance.

Soap dispensers ran out and took days for replacement and the paper towel bins were not emptied when full. Worth mentioning the mens facilities had separate toilets, showers and sink area.

After reading the positive reviews to this site we were disappointed with the facilities as mentioned so would not recommend it.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Johnny B 11 reviews from this member

What a brilliant site.

The site has about 3 or 4 fields none of which are very far from either water or toilet facilities. The toilets where very clean and looked like very nice. There were 2 gents showers (not sure of the women's toilets) which use tokens & 1 would do a good shower or 2 for a really hot scrub! The showers are push button which I 'spose might be a problem for some. The pots area always had plenty of hot water and we never had to wait to use them. They have full recycling on site & we noticed they and blue crates for you pitch so that you can pre-separate your cans, bottles & cardboard.

The village, Tudweiliog, is a easy 5mins walk away with a post office/general store & a pub The Lion Hotel. They did meals and a good selection off draught beers. We didn't eat but the beer was nice and they accept families.

The owner couldn't of been a better host. One of the numpties with us took a knackered air-bed & she lent him a proper mattress to sleep on. We were able to have camp fires and pits were dug on request but always a safe distance (5m) from any tent.

They had a set of goals (5 a side size) with nets on site so all the lads with us were well catered for. Lots of others were making use of these as well. All of our lads made a point of saying how good it was to have goals & nets up.

The beach is a 20 minute walk and is a very nice bay for swimming in on a hot day. You can drive there but there was very little car parking. To get there turn right out of the site & then first left and follow the road. The road was quiet'ish but there are some car using it so watch little kids if you're walking.

We'll definitely be going back which is the best sign of a good site.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Welshgriff 1 review from this member

Would highly recommend, very welcoming and very friendly site, fab facilities, hook ups, toilet and shower and waste facilities. About a 5 min walk to the local pub and post office and a good 10 mins to TOwyn beach were you can join up with the coastal path. Delyth (site owner) and Beth(daughter)couldn't do enough for us and are full of good local knowledge!

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MDTaylor 1 review from this member

Visited just before Easter with two kids for two nights in a tent with no electric. Had a great time overall and I would recommend this campsite.

Shower and toilet blocks appear to have been updated since some of the other reviews have been written.

The mens facilities were great and spotlessly clean, there were three toilets and two shower rooms. Showers were token operated, tokens were 50p each and lasted long enough to have a decent shower.

The womens facilities were good too, there were two rooms with a shower and toilet, and one with just a shower. The only downside I saw was that one of the shower/toilet rooms was closed between 7am-10am, leaving only one shower/toilet room and one shower room. This meant that even though the campsite was quite empty I had to sit and wait twenty minutes for the toilet as the only toilet was occupied. I think that maybe in summer when it is busier this could be a problem, there may be big queues?

There is a coin operated (20p) plug socket in the one ladies shower room, I only used 40p to straighten my hair so that was good. I would suggest to the owners to maybe have additional sockets in the other two toilets though because on our second morning somebody was in the shower room and took quite a while so I was unable to use the socket.

We had our own fire pit at night and logs were provided at really good cost, we got a lot more for our money than we would had we taken our own.

There is a football net on the field we pitched our tent in, the kids had fun playing as we brought our own ball, frisbee etc. There is a swing set but it was a bit rusty so the kids didn't want to play on it as it hurt their hands, I'd suggest taking some gloves and then that wouldn't be a problem.

There is a lovely beach just down the road, we had fun flying kites down there.

We were told there was a village shop but despite trying we really couldn't find it so we drove ten minutes out of the village to an off license. We needed cash and there was no ATM at the shop but they did give us cashback with a £7. 50 minimum spend.

We didn't go to any pubs but we did notice quite a few really lovely looking pubs in the area, with nice outdoor areas / play grounds etc.

Overall had a great time and will definitely return. The owners were really nice and helpful!

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pepsi77 1 review from this member

Fab little campsite. We had an amazing stay here. The owners are lovely. The toilets and showers are fine.

The field is fab with the goalposts on there, our kids had a ball. All the children played nicely and I was a little worried on the first night that it would be noisy after I put my 4 & 5 year old to bed but as soon as it went dark most kids went to their tents.

The fire pits looked brill, we didn't have one as after the kids had been playing football most of the day they were definitely ready for sleep as soon as it went dark.

The Lion is a fab little pub and the food is gorgeous.

For the beach we drove into Aberdaron. As we had friends staying there.

We will be back next year and will definitely be having a campfire.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bigbluebagger 1 review from this member

The good lady & I have just returned from our first bank holiday stay at Tan Llan. We knew we were onto a winner the minute we pulled in. Not only were we squeezed in very late, but made instantly welcome by the owners. Who went out of their way to accommodate us away from the busier pitches. James will dig you a fresh fire pit & supply wood at a very reasonable fee. Great views out to sea & a very relaxed feel to the whole site. Nice & clean recently refitted toilets & showers. Children's play area & football field with goals to keep the kiddies occupied. The site has a fairly strict recycling policy & this was nice to see as the area is close to pristine. There is a well stocked village store & a cracking food pub (The Lion, complete with friendly locals & staff) within a short walk up the road. Nice clean beaches just a 10-15 minute walk & close to the Welsh coast road. This is a biker friendly site & it's a nice ride to get there & even better leaving through Snowdonia national park. This is a fairly basic site, but that is why we were so impressed. If you want to get away from the busier areas then Tan Llan is for you too. Thanks guys & keep up the good work. We'll see you again:)

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dibdibdob65 1 review from this member

Just stayed here for the first time and what can we say. Found it on this website read the reviews thought we would give it a try. WHAT A GEM WE FOUND. Got a warm welcome when we arrived (2 families) James and Delyth (the owners) are fantastic they will do anything for you nothing is any bother day or night don, t know when they sleep as they are always about The pitches are great plenty of room and the fire pits (which James digs out) are fantastic. The facilities are very clean and tidy and lovely hot water plenty of space for the kids to play lovely beaches and close to a very handy post office which sells everything the village pub is great to. The site is a great base to roam the surrounding area which is just fantastic lots to do and see. The weather was fantastic (so lucky) site a bit windy at times but this did not effect us. Cant wait to go back we recommend this site to all.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Vetpracman 4 reviews from this member

This was our third visit to Tan Y Llan and yet again 100% satisfaction. They have done a lot of work around the site and it really is hard to find fault with location and facilities. Even though we knew our way around, there's new signage everywhere. The toilet and shower blocks have been smartened up and are clean and tidy. The biggest draw has to be the warmest of welcomes from them and nothing is too much trouble for them. We simply cannot see the point of going anywhere else when you have so much of Abersoch area to see from this wonderful base. You can park the car and leave it alone if needs be and take a ten minute walk to the beach. The local Tudweilliog post office is five mins away and sells anything you may have forgotten and the Lion Pub down the road is fantastic for quality ales and food and very sensible prices. Another great few days and rest assured we will be back.

Previous     34 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4428 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019