Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping La Grenouillere

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Loire Valley > Suevres > Camping La Grenouillere Reviews

Camping La Grenouillere
Chateau De La Grenouillere
Suevres
Loire Valley   (Browse area)
41500
Tel: 0033 2 54 87 80 37
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 275
Open: 04/11 To 09/09

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 13 Reviews
                6/10 from 13 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  13 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: ClaireMike21 40 reviews from this member

Stopped of here for 2 days as it was 40 degrees and we wanted a big pool. It's a great site, acis ran well into July the 18th I think so fab price. We were put in the 'orchard' type pitches, which is bottom right looking at their map with just 5 other vans. Maybe this helped make our stay as the pitches were very big. The rest of campers seemed to be sent top right. This maybe why their reviews were not as favourable as I think you may hear train noise up there. The pools were lovely, a great one for small kids with a slide and mushroom fountain thingy, an indoor heated one and a large outdoor normal type pool. The bar overlooks the pool or has a courtyard to sit in. The lake was full of carp with people fishing. The showers were good and clean, washing machine etc. Takeaway open, shop opens until 12 only and had nothing in the fridge section but a big supermarket 4 mins cycle up the road. Straight flat road but a little busy. We ate in the restaurant the food was very good however service a bit haphazard eg meal came quickly before the drinks had arrived. I think this is more the fact that there isn't enough waiters for the busy times, however it wasn't a big issue as the food was very good standard. On the day we were leaving they were having a circus type event come. Wifi was 2 euros a day I think but worked well, I think it's free in the bar area. We only really went here to use the pool as of the heat wave but very glad we did. As it's a castel site I guess it's expensive when acsi finishes but if going in early July it looks like all facilities are open so well worth the money just stop at supermarket and get what food you want beforehand.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Grahamandsam 13 reviews from this member

I agree with previous reviews- very disappointed with this campsite, whilst being good for stopover as it is close to autoroute we arrived to find the restaurant and take away closed- also found that similar to other castel sites, no soap provided in the toilet facilities- probably won, t use this again

We were disappointed to have been charged full high season rates to arrive and find all facilities had closed, a view reflected by many others whist we were there

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Davegatland 6 reviews from this member

Disappointed with this site. It is a little run-down and, whilst I would agree with other reviewers that it is well placed for the Autoroute, as a stand-alone campsite it leaves much to be desired. We were there in late June but found the restaurant closed, very limited menu at the on-site take-away and only one of three toilet blocks open. Pitches are all grass, most with hook-up and water, but most were very muddy and poorly drained. The nearby town of Mer is pleasant and Blois, about 12 miles to the west, is a good cultural and shopping centre. I probably use this site again but only for an overnight stopover.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Darby1963 6 reviews from this member

What a pleasant, lovely stop off site, very clean, and neatly laid out, large pitches, and well set out, indoor and outdoor pool.

we used this site as a stop off en route to valras plage on the med, and what a pleasant experience it was,

Used the same site on our return journey. Little shop on site, but not very adequate for size of site, lovely little bar area, and a superu, approx 2 mins away.

Would definitely use this site again.

Pitches do seem to be segregated into what country you come from, ie English altogether, Danish on their own side etc.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kitcat 10 reviews from this member

Disappointed with this site. Area itself quite good for motorway but not especially pretty and nothing to draw me in. Reception well organised upon arrival. However, in general the staff seemed disinterested, and not attentive. There was a very pricey shop, bar and take away and nothing was in my view very good quality. Shop not stocked well and seemed like they had given up stocking it as it was nearing end of season? Bar area a bit tacky in my view although you can sit and look at the pool area which is quite nice. Pool area very well supervised but to my surprise - not clean. Both inside and outside area and looks quite nice with plenty of loungers. Pitch was okay given it was a basic one but still pricey. Some shade and big enough for a big tent, water to hand. Atmosphere very commercial although there were clearly repeat visitors - not me. Its hard to say what didn't work but it felt like there was lots of structures to make it work (rules and signs everywhere) but not the staff 'buy in'? The lake which runs through it was pretty swampy and I wouldn't wish to sit next to it to be honest.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: BazzyD 2 reviews from this member

We were attracted to this site due to its central location in the Loire Valley. We had driven down from a site near Paris (Caravanning Des 4 Vents), which was fantastic. Needless to say we were very dissappointed with Le Chateau De La Grenouillere.

The pitches were not very big and gave very little privacy between them. Our pitch was in an old orchard and there was apples and pears everywhere, we were concerned about wasps, but this didn't actually cause us any problems.

The electrics were a fair way from the pitch and limited our parking of the camper van.

Our children (2 and 5) really liked the play area in the middle of the site and the pool area looked very good, but was apprently very cold in the outdoor sections.

Facilities were clean and modern but shower controls difficult.

Although we booked 4 nights we only stayed the two as our sleep was so disturbed by the nearby road and rail tracks, it was similar to sleeping at Santa Pod on raceday.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Bigmig 1 review from this member

Moving around the Loire area we booked into La Gren for the pool and chance to meet others for our teenage daughter. We just turned up and met with friendly but rather unhelpful choices of pitch - clearly because we would not commit to a stay of longer than 2 nights. Issued with a pitch we went to check it out. Not impressed, very bare/muddy and dark. My wife looked around and found many other pitches available but when challenged we were only offered a couple of others which were not much better. We opted for a busy small corner pitch used as a cut through for the toilet block 4m away. Had we not been a bit tired we would have left.

Our presence, and perhaps overly jolly 'bonjours' to everyone cutting through did ultimately deter this, but it was not restful.

Facilities were clean and modern but shower controls difficult.

Although we booked 2 nights we only stayed the one and got a refund for the unused night - which was no problem.

Being on a fast main road it is difficult to get out on foot or bike without at least half a mile of fast traffic. There are some minor roads off but the immediate countryside is agricultural and boring. You need to cross the loire to access the better scenery and chataux.

Overall perhaps ok if you have younger kids to keep occupied and like a less French holiday experience, but quite expensive/poor value if you are not going to max out on the facilities on offer.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wakshane 3 reviews from this member

We stayed here as a one night stopover coming from the Dordogne.

These are subjective impressions; corporate feel with extensive lists of rules (highlights included 'do not wear sun cream in the pool' and 'do not put rubbish in the bin' (we paraphrase of course, but you get the picture).

The staff seemed to be young one-season only staff who stood around in groups, eg smoking outside the back of the pizzeria. They seemed to have a fairly uncaring and unhelpful attitude.

The Pizzeria takeaway was extortionately priced. We paid 48 euros for a family meal, which wasn't very nice, and was prepared by an unkempt gentleman.

All the staff looked generally unkempt.

Our son found a dead rodent in the swimming pool (may have been a rat), and this was left by the side of the pool for some time, until staff were prompted to move it.

We had an early start in the morning, but there was no water available (toilets, showers etc) before we left at 7am. Although the water features in the pools seemed to have been going all night.

The site generally felt a bit rough around the edges and certainly didn't match with our expectations, based on the lovely photographs on their website.

The small site shop was both expensive, and had almost bare shelves.

On the plus side, we had a sizeable (albeit out of the way) pitch, the Chateaux looked lovely, and we received a warm welcome at reception. Our 2 young sons played happily in the pools for hours (until the rodent incident) and enjoyed the on site circus very much.

Unfortunately our experience has completely put us off the Castels brand.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Livpiv 6 reviews from this member

We have just spent the May half term at this site, teacher in party! You can choose a pitch in the wooded, garden or orchard area. We chose the orchard and the pitch size was good, hedged for a bit of privacy.
Toilet block offering good clean facilities with hot showers and a separate area for families. Washing machines and ironing facilities also available. There are play areas for the children and a games room for the older ones.
The restaurant offers a takeaway service. The bar was opened from 3 - 9pm, maybe opening hours will be extended in high season. Fishing is available around the moat. The chateau on site, is in the process of being refurbished so not able to look around it.
Bikes are available to hire from reception. The swimming pools are great, slides, shoots and a jacuzzi, one indoor swimming pool.
The site is well located for walks, Mer is the nearest village with a supermarket and further along a square with local shops and a market on thursdays. The river is a short drive away and the many chateaux within easy reach. This site is ideal for a complete stay or stopover enroute to the south.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Socks42 1 review from this member

Well positioned site with easy access from motorway. It is next to a busy road/railway line so noise can be heard most times of the day.

Campsite divided into 3 areas - one each side of the access road to the site and 1 behind the chateau. We stayed in the area to the right hand side of the access road which has fair-sized pitches but with the larger tents, there wasn't much spare room. This part of the site doesn't have it's own wash block/play area which meant crossing the road each time you wanted to use the facilities which was a bit awkward as I have a 5yr old. We also had problems with no hot water in the block for a couple of days.

Swimming pools were OK albeit rather cold even the indoor 'heated' one. The site has a shop/pizzeria/restaurant/takeaway. Shop was fine, tried the restaurant on the first night and it was reasonable. Found the staff to be not terribly helpful which is unusual for a Castels site.

On the whole, a reasonable site but I don't think I will be rushing back

Previous     13 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Suevres      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Loire Valley

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5504 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019