Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Chateau Camping Le Colombier

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Normandy > Moyaux > Chateau Camping Le Colombier Reviews

Chateau Camping Le Colombier
Le Val
Moyaux
Normandy   (Browse area)
14590
Tel: +33 02 31 63 63 08
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 180
Open: April To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 22 Reviews
                8/10 from 22 Reviews

Photos (8)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  22 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: HertsCamper 10 reviews from this member

We used Camping Le Colombier as an overnight stop on our way from Calais to the West coast. In addition to location, I chose it based on the website pictures and description and wasn't disappointed, it is a great site in a lovely setting. Unfortunately it was wet when we were there, so we didn't use the pool, but it is as nice as the website pictures suggest.

The site is essentially in the middle of nowhere! The nearby towns are quite small and aren't walking distance.

We use a small overnight tent and try to unpack as little as possible so the on site creperie was ideal, serving a range of crepe and salads with vegetarian and kids options as well. There is a little shop on site, from which we could buy the obligatory pastries and bread in the morning.

The site is flat, with decent sized pitches. The washrooms were clean and not too busy (although the site wasn't full). We didn't use electricity, but it looked like standard UK style hook-ups positioned at the end of each row, so make sure you have a decent length cable (40 metres at least I would guess).

The staff were all very friendly and helpful, and although I spoke in French, I heard other people speaking in English, so I think most of the staff speak good English.

They have a lot of entertainments - playground, mini-golf, bouncy castle, games room etc, and I gather equipment such as clubs for mini-golf is mostly available free from reception. The night time entertainment was a big campfire the night we were there which quite a few people braved despite the rain, but the site was really very quiet.

I would definitely use this site as a stopover again, and if I were planning a longer stay in the region I would definitely consider it because it is a well equipped, clean site in a lovely setting, with plenty for the kids to do on site. I would, however, want to investigate local supermarkets because it is in the middle of the countryside and I'm not sure my arteries could cope with the delicious full cream filled crepe every night :-)

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Perryx4 4 reviews from this member

We stayed at this site for 3 nights with our two children (11 and 14) on our way to a longer stay in Brittany. Overall, we thought this site was amazing. There was so much to do!

Good things.

The pitches were generous in size and well maintained.

The toilets were plentiful and clean.

As I said, there is so much to do on site: table-tennis, hard court football and basketball, grass pitch, walking the grounds, tennis, large swimming pool, crazy golf, inflatable castle, tv room and all for free within the price. They seem to have occasional concerts and a magician visiting, although we missed these with only being there three nights.

The layout of the site with the chateau and bar is beautiful. It has a well kept but at the same time rustic feel to it.

The reception staff were helpful and polite - very good english spoken.

The small shop on site sells fresh bread and croissants. Other supplies were limited, but the supermarket is only 10 minutes away (remember that it closes 12 to 2. 30 though).

The nearest town (Cormielles) had a lovely street market selling all kinds of produce.

Not so good things.

The electric hook-up for our pitch was too far for my 20 metre cable, but we were able to easily borrow an extension from the reception for a 20 euro deposit.

If I was being picky I would say that the tennis court needs re-surfacing. There were plenty of 'lets' played for balls that bounced unusually on the broken surface.

Can't think of anything else. We were only there for three nights so didn't have a chance to try everything and not sure whether there was enough to do in the immediate area for a longer stay, but to be honest - there is plenty on site to keep you occupied.

So overall we would definitely recommend this site to those who are looking for a stop off on their way south or those looking for something longer. We may well use it again for the former.

Finally, I also wanted to mention the help that the owners gave us when I stupidly left my phone in the wash block before leaving the site. Didn't realise until we were several hundred kilometres away, but a quick phonecall to them and they located it straight away and posted it on to our next campsite within a couple of days. I offered to pay postage but they refused. Generous and efficient!

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kate w 49 reviews from this member

We stayed overnight here on our way home from Brittany. We were met by a very polite young man at reception and were given a good sized, flat pitch (23) marked by a small tree in each corner. Pitches are in rows.

There is an on site shop selling the basics, a takeaway for chips, sausage, chicken, steak etc. (steak and chips 8 euro). Lovely sized (25m x 10m), heated swimming pool that has a ledge around the deep end at about chest height so even non confident swimmers can edge their way round to the shallow end (there's no steps into the shallow end). There's mini golf, table tennis, football pitch and some play equipment for small children.

There are no static caravans on site, just the odd 'rent a tent'. Pitches are well kept, turnings into rows would perhaps be a little sharp for long caravans.

Toilet and shower facilities were clean, well looked after with plenty for use. Didn't notice any queueing. With lots of dish washing sinks in an area between the ladies and gents sides.

The site is lovely and quiet as it is a way off the road. There is a lovely chateau with I believe a restaurant inside. They had a classical music concert out on the lawn in the late afternoon we were there.

It is quite expensive (47 euro for 3 of us) but we would usually use Le Brevedent a few miles away which is a similar price but this is far and away a better site, with much larger pitches and much quieter, with a nice mix of nationalities on site. We will definitely stay again when we need a stopover on our way home.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: LJB70 17 reviews from this member

We stayed here to break up our journey from La Rochelle.

Do not rely on sat nav and especially do NOT use the lat & long coordinates given by the caravan club.

Anyhow, once we had found the site, wow its lovely!

We were given a huge pitch ( number 40 ), pitches are defined by apple trees.

Be aware of the small low fences that mark the roads, they are rather tight for a large outfit!

Some pitches require a french adaptor for EHU ours was the usual.

Swimming pool amazing, set in the walled garden, as beautiful as the pictures!

Pot wash facilities ok, plentiful hot water, showers quite powerful, hot, and easily adjusted for heat!. Toilets clean and plentiful loo roll. Not the smartest I have been in but clean and functional.

We didn't use the Bar or Creperie, but did have fresh croissant & pain au chocolat every morning from the Epicierie, very reasonable and the cider they sell is not only very reasonable but very nice as well!

Plenty of activities for children, ping pong, crazy golf, a football pitch, bouncy castle, and huge recreation room, all free of charge. Unusually!

Unlike a previous poster we found English widely spoken.

All in all a fabulous site and we will definitely return, we had a great 4 night stay, even though the weather wasn't great!

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sunshinetours 18 reviews from this member

Lovely rural site with Chateau and fab heated outdoor pool set in formal gardens.

Pitches vary in sizes and can be tightish access for longer units. Apple tree at each 4 corners of pitch.

Sanitary and washing up facilities clean and functional and good hot showers.

Mini golf, tennis, volleyball, play park and great pool, games room and tv room and bouncy castle all good and free for the kids.

Takeaway expensive and food OK, bar and occassional restaurant on site also.

Great for a stopover and will probably go back for en 'extended stopover' next time as lovely area as well

Really lovely setting

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Smegely 10 reviews from this member

We came here in 2010, and I liked it then. It's still lovely. I love it, but my children would like somewhere with water slides.

Peaceful but has plenty of facilities.

Outdoor swimming pool, no water slides or anything fancy, but surrounded by formal hedgerows and cobbled paving, because you're in the grounds of a small chateau. Crazy golf, bouncy castle and a pleasant play area.

Small on site shop, which sells essentials, including fresh baguettes every morning.

You camp between apple trees in an orchard (this is Calvados country after all). Can be quite wet in this part of France, but the ground seems to drain well. You're quite a way from any busy roads, so it's really quiet.

Toilets and showers etc are a bit scruffy, but clean and have proper loo seats.

Hot water is plentiful. You can put your ice blocks in the site freezer, no charge.

The on site Creperie is quite nice too, but be aware that many staff speak almost no English.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Uk02261 1 review from this member

Excellent rural site.

A very relaxed, calm and friendly site set in the Normandy countryside. We used initially as a stopover from Calias to Brittany, but enjoyed it so much we stayed here again on our way back.

Reasonable size grass plots marked by trees of differing maturity on each corner. In the grounds of a large country house with very pleasant manicured gardens. The highlight is the large pool in the heart of the garden. Also enough to keep kids busy with crazy golf, climbing frames, and playground.

Very quiet but also good four star facilities - ok shop, clean toilet blocks, very friendly reception. There is a pleasant creperie and bar, although as someone stated before 9Euro for a crepe is a bit steep.

The surrounding area is quite countryside. Cycling is excellent. Cormeilles is very pleasant small town with bars and restaurants, and the Busnel calvados distillery is excellent (owned by Pernod Ricard) with a good visitor's centre and tours. Moyaux is 1. 5 miles away - pretty but not much there from what I could see.

Site is very popular with the Dutch.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bogbrush 2 reviews from this member

Stayed 4 nights here and we were really impressed. Having read some previous reviews which say its good but. (kids don't get on with others, washing hanging on trees???) All I can say is the facilities are kept in good order, plenty of hot water, pool excellent, setting superb, all sports free. The bar is in a beautiful octagonal folly with a library inside and the kids rooms were great with setees and tvs etc. The town of Moyeaux is acouple of miles up the road(very nice) and the nearest supermarket is in Columbiere. A gem of a site. Better than the castel site up the road!

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: John and Jill 1 review from this member

Have just returned from a 2 week holiday with our 2 small dogs. Without a doubt this is one of the best sites we have visited and can't praise the site highly enough. It is set in an orchard and the pitches are amongst the apple trees and the setting is delightful. The toilet facilities are equal to some other 5 star sites we have visited in the past.

On a personal note, despite the facility of drying lines being available near the laundry, some people were hanging washing lines between trees heavily festooned with clothing, towels etc. This was the only complaint, if you want a peaceful site in a beautiful area and yet with all attractions of the area within easy reach this is without doubt a site to be visited and enjoyed.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Aitch3071 7 reviews from this member

We used this site as a one night stop over on our way to Brittany. We were allocated a pitch between 2 apples trees which was plenty big enough for our small van.

Toilets had a French rustic charm but were clean and segregated by gender.

The surroundings are stunning with everything housed in original buildings keeping the old charm of the place intact. The swimming pool is set in a formal garden in front of the beautiful chateau.

A regular pool without slides and no real shallow end for toddlers but they seemed to manage.

There seemed plenty of play equipment spread around the site and a very comfortable TV lounge which we used to watch the Olympics with other campers from other European countries.

There is a formal restaurant in the chateau or as we used, the creperie which is in a summer house next to the pool. The food was good but the 2 young ladies, one cooking and one serving, had their work cut out and meant that service was slow but hey we were on holiday!

This site is on my list to use again and I would definitely recommend it.

Previous     22 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Normandy

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5560 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019