Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping La Citadelle

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Loire Valley > Loches > Camping La Citadelle Reviews

Camping La Citadelle
Av Aristide Briand
Loches
Loire Valley   (Browse area)
37600
Tel: 0033 02 47 59 05 91
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: March To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 31 Reviews
                8/10 from 31 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  31 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Stvee 1 review from this member

We’re a family of 4 (2 teenagers) and stayed for a week in August. The site is quiet and relaxed and has a nice feel. We enjoyed the pools, especially the gentle morning aqua gym, and family orientated water polo - everyone had a smile on their face. There was music on a couple of evening - one of the bands, a duet, was blooming fab. The town of Loches is a short stroll away. Loches has been around for a thousand years, a small town but full of great buildings.

We stayed in a chalet this year but if I get my way we’ll return next year with our tent.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tracy+Charlie 14 reviews from this member

Stayed on a Grand Comfort pitch, very big with partial shade. The ordinary pitches were smaller but still a good size but very shady. Pools and slide excellent. Short walk into Loches which is a beautiful town.

Showers and toilets a bit dated but always clean. Toilet seats and paper provided but no hand washing facilities or soap next to toilets, so you have to walk to shower block to wash hands - but still no soap. Would definitely stay again but probably just for a 2 or 3 night stopover rather than a whole week.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Becboz 23 reviews from this member

So we came back in June! See my previous review from last October - site was very quiet in early June so we got a pick of pitches which were in beautiful condition. The sanitaires are a bit dark & dated although there are a couple of newer showers. No bar or food facilities were open during our 8 night stay. Bread could be ordered at reception. The site was very peaceful & relaxing. The pool complex was very clean with a new slide addition for this season. It did say in the Acsi book that book 7 nights but pay for 6, however we were there for 8 nights & I did ask if we got one free night but got a curt 'no' from Gilles the owner so not sure why, maybe as we were on a comfort pitch?

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Parlourbarn 22 reviews from this member

I agree with the previous contributors, an excellent site. The pitches are of varying size, you can pay for bigger fully serviced ones although there is generally less shade on those. The swimming pools are immaculate, unfortunately the restaurant doesn't open until July, as is the case so often in France! 10 minutes walk to Loches, big market Wednesday and Saturday. Highly recommended.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jaiash 21 reviews from this member

Very pleasant and spacious site. Choose your pitch carefully (if possible) especially if you want some sun. Toilets and showers were always clean with ample hot water. Showers are quite spacious. Reception has English speakers and they are very helpful - they also let you speak French to them if you want to try! The town itself is a 15 minute walk and has several decent restaurants nd a variety of shops plus a decent market and places to visit ( la Citadelle).

It's best to approach via the ring road heading to the south of the town towards Leclerc supermarket and turn left for the town central that roundabout - the site is on the right in about half a mile or so. We encountered a British outfit which had followed satnav and needed up approaching a low bridge.

Handily placed for day trips - Amboise - parc Leonardo da Vinci ( VERY interesting) and Chenonceaux.

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Becboz 23 reviews from this member

What a gem of a site, so glad we decided on a few days here when travelling back to Caen from the South. Very easy to find but access it off the main D road that skirts the town. We arrived on 3 October & it was closing on the 6th so we had just 3 nights here & consequently it was very quiet so great choice of pitches. Reception team very friendly with good English spoken. There was a small shop where bread & croissants could be ordered. We opted to pay 3 euros extra on top of the €18 Acsi rate to get a grand comfort pitch. This was mainly to have a large open pitch but you also got fresh water & grey water disposal points on your pitch. We had a good look round at the other pitches & there was a good choice of shady or open pitches - all were well cut & good condition grass surfaces. Only 1 wash/toilet block was still open out of the 3 but that was more than adequate for the few people staying on site. The toilets were mixed but the showers separate male & female with toilet paper provided. The pool area was lovely, the outdoor pool a little chilly but the indoor one lovely for a swim. The whole site is kept very neat & tidy right through to the end of the season. The site was very peaceful & quiet especially at night. The town of Loches is wonderful & the market on the Wednesday was fab with a real buzz about town. If you ask at reception they will give you a discount wrist band for some restaurants & the chateau. A site that we want to revisit in the summer months to get the long summer evenings!

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: JoannaLesley 38 reviews from this member

We stopped here for 5 nights on our way home. This is a large site, much favoured by Brits, especially those looking for a night or two to break the journey. There are some serviced pitches available and some with cabins containing private facilities. The site has quite a lot of statics and tourers are sited in a number of areas across the site.

There are several sanitary blocks. The one nearest to us was small and could be stretched at busy times. It had seats and loo paper in the loos. One cubicle in the ladies' had both shower and hand basin. Reception staff very friendly and some English spoken. Small shop incl ice creams and bread. Take away meals are available from the snack bar by the pools. We chose a shady site for the dogs and then the weather turned damp and cool. However, we stuck with it.

Wi Fi was quite expensive and not very reliable (at least on our pitch - no 63).

There is a small dog walking area on site - signed as a dog toilet area. However, we found that it was heavily soiled with dog mess and a real hazard after dark. We found good dog walking in a country park just a few hundred yards from the site.

It was also a fairly short walk along a little river into the little medieval town. The huge citadel on the hill can be seen from the campsite.

The reception staff were very helpful and arranged for our dogs to be seen by a local vet before going home.

ACSI site. We paid 102. 50 euros for 5 nights.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tdad 1 review from this member

We spent 13 nights on this site in June last year. At a time when the Loire region experienced the worst flooding for 140 years. Despite the fact that the site is very close to a river it didn't get flooded! The weather was pretty cloudy for about half of our stay, but we still had a great time.

We booked one of their 'Gold' pitches, so we had our own little cabin/shed on the pitch which housed a loo, basin with cold running water, a full-sized fridge, and plenty of storage room for our camping kit boxes plus the kit supplied by the site ie. 2 sunloungers, a very good quality sun parasol, full sized outdoor table + 4 chairs, and a barbeque! The 'shed is lockable so it was great to be able to store kit when we went out for the day.

The site was lovely, quiet when we were there in June, the restaurant wasn't open so can't comment on that. The sanitary blocks were spotlessly clean, as was the lovely swimming pool. The site staff were helpful, and you could buy bread, milk and a good selection of local wines from the shop in reception.

Loche itself is an absolute delight, and really is an easy level walk of about 10-15 minutes from the site. It has lots of interesting historical buildings, loads of cafes and restaurants, super shops. But by far and away what we appreciated the most were the fabulous markets on Wednesday and Saturday. The amazing variety of wonderful local produce available took your breath away. The vegetables, cheeses, meat, bread, wines and other delicacies were displayed in ways that were a feast for all the senses, and that was before you got to taste them! We couldn't recommend a vist more highly.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Campintent 18 reviews from this member

We stayed here for two nights on the way home. It is a well-equipped site within easy walking distance of the medieval town of Loches, a largely undiscovered and beautiful little town which the tourists seem to have overlooked, but an absolute gem not to be missed. We cancelled plans to visit one of the more famous chateaux to spend the day exploring Loches and we’re glad we did.

The campsite itself is fitted out to a very high standard, but lacks any atmosphere. The standard pitches are arranged in groups of eight in hedged enclosures and lack any privacy. The restaurant/snack bar adjoins the swimming pool and serves mostly pizzas, with a few salads and various things with chips. The high-domed terrace roof is very echoey and we had to compete with the noise and a prodigious number of smokers, which didn’t make for a relaxing meal after a very long and tiring drive to get there. One plus-point is the well-stocked E. Leclerc on the south side of town. Overall, a good spot for a short break en route to somewhere better, but overpriced and charging a cheeky €20 booking fee.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Bridie 99 reviews from this member

This was a site we return to regularly. We like the fact that it's an easy walk into the fascinating town of Loches, and the views of the citadel are brilliant from the site. Reception closes from 12. 15 to 2. 00 and the gate is down so you have to wait at the entrance but it does mean you can walk the site and decide where you'd like to be! The sanitaires are always clean, with piped music! The pool is the warmest we've yet found in France! It's an ACSI site in June. We will be back.

Previous     31 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Loches      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Loire Valley

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth £100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4454 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019