Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Welsummer Camping

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Kent > Harrietsham > Welsummer Camping Reviews

Welsummer Camping
Chalk House
Lenham Rd,
Harrietsham
Kent   (Browse area)
ME17 1NQ
Tel: 01622 843051
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 20
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 57 Reviews
                8/10 from 57 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  57 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Whimp 4 reviews from this member

 We arrived on the 29th to be met by the owners who were very friendly and helpful. This is a lovely site set between woodland and field pitches. Apparently, according to others, they thought our pitch was perfect and so did we. The parking place was away from the pitches, but carts are provided for people to use, if they wish. Sturdy barrows that can carry the heaviest of your gear.

Fire pits are provided for all the pitches we saw and many people were using these to cook their food on. Some having barbecue type wire grills to support the pans, others with 3 legged trellis over the fire. Fire pits are easy to get on with, as long as you know how to use one. They need a good flow of air under them, so they need to be cleaned out, but when lit with plenty of kindling, you can expect a reasonably good fire.

We pitched our tent, then pitched a canopy between the trees to act as a small cooking area and shelter away from the tent, which was also a nice shelter in the evening with a light suspended from the shelter.

The other people on the site were very friendly, to stop and have a chat with, but equally they left you alone unless you invited them to chat.

There is a kitchen where they do make bread to order, plus sell drinks as well, together with a small shop to buy some simple supplies.

The toilets are clean and there are showers, however the water was cold. Apparently the people that were vacating the pitch we were to occupy, when we arrived early, stated that the showers were never warm. I don't know if this was because you had to ask for the heating to be turned on or not, but we didn't bother with showers and apparently neither did they.

This is a child friendly site, with kids running around being kids, lots of laughter, smiling faces and fun in the woods and, for the most part, kept away from the pitches, although some were rather boisterous, both boys and girls.

It rained heavily on the night of the 30th, great claps of thunder and blinding lightening, with sheets of rain driving down. Morning came along with more rain and a soggy packing away time. We did wonder why there were liberal amounts of straw, strewn around, but after the rain, this became quite self apparent, given there was no grass in the woods, just hard packed earth. This straw helped stopped the ground becoming muddy. However we were packing away, we were greeted by one of the owners walking around the camp site offering cups of tea for everyone

This was very welcome, as a pick me up, after the packing away in the rain. A lovely thought and very much appreciated.

I am actually reluctant to give only a 9 for site facilities, as they had everything I and my partner needed and apparently no one else on the site was actually worried about this.

Would we go back there again, 10 out of 10 and an absolute yes. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Firelight 1 review from this member

 My husband and I visited Welsummer this weekend for my birthday. We camped for 2 nights and could have stayed longer if it wasn't for hungry cats at home.

We booked a small pitch in the woods with a fire pit and it was perfect for us. Nice sized, well maintained pitch. The site is run by a husband and wife team and they were brilliant.

We got set up and settled in for a night by the fire. Wood is a fiver and they also sell kindling for 2 or a log and kindling bag for 7. The wood is excellent and burns beautifully.

Toilets and showers are lovely and rustic and as long as you get up early enough you'll get a reasonably warm shower. The shop selling local juice and eggs is a wonderful touch. They also have a kitchen for anyone after a home cooked quick fix. The hours of the shop and kitchen are a little varied but they have a bell you can press and they will come down to help you anytime you need. They also run a B & B at the house so they are busy with both throughout the day.

The pitches are well spread out and you do feel like you are in the wilderness especially in the forest pitches. The meadow pitches are perfect for families with large tents and lots of stuff. The cost per night is on the steeper side of most sites at 20 per night but you really do get a little slice of paradise for that. The local walks start from the boarder of the site and take you through farms and orchards. We stumpled across an amazing little pub called the Pepper Box with real ale on tap. Great for those that want a little walk back into civilization.

Several people on various sites have mentioned the noise from the road. Honestly we could hardly hear it even during the quietest part of the day. All we heard was birdsong, wind through the trees and children laughing. It was bliss.

The nights are filled with hooting owls and the pop and crackle of the campfires.

We loved our visit so much we will be returning again very soon. This place is a gem. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: HammondsKent 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for a long weekend when the owners managed to fit us into a new woodland pitch they're creating on the site. We have boys aged 7 and 10 and they loved the freedom to roam the woods and big field without there being too many other tents to not be able to find us again!

The field pitches are quite cosy but the whole atmosphere and feel of the place is very warm with so many quaint touches we really love the place. Some would probably say the toilet facilities are on the edge of 'shabby-chic' but we feel it's just rustic.

The reception shed sells many useful items as well as up-cycled bits of camping equipment if you've forgotten anything. They also have a small selection of useful books to borrow and a map for local walks. The little cafe they run at certain times is also a bonus with homemade ice creams, fairy cakes and muffins as well as decent coffee. The owners are also super friendly and you feel they really put their heart and soul into the place.

We did a lovely walk to one of the pubs (1. 5hrs each way with the kids) but to be honest the food at the pub wasn't that great. They do have a garden and play area for the kids but didn't feel it was really worth the walk! There are other pubs but we were advised they weren't really very child friendly. Will try another pub next time.

The site is in a very quiet spot off a very quiet road so you don't hear any noise from that road. What you do hear, and granted this is only in the dead of night, is the traffic on the M20. Perhaps it was the wind direction but we did hear it every night and it bugged me to the extent I used my ear plugs - I am sensitive to noise so this probably won't annoy 95% of people!

The only other thing we didn't like was the (granted inevitable) noisy small groups who arrive, spend hours erecting the tent they drag out for 'weekends away from the city' and let their children run around like maniacs while they crack open the vino. Until gone 11pm. The owners did go and speak to them but this did little once they had left. Fortunately by the second night everyone was so knackered from a late night followed by an early morning that the kids were actually in bed by about 9pm and we had a very pleasant evening by the fire.

We've booked again for later this year and it's definitely our favourite site. And will be hoping for more considerate campers next time. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sallybunny 1 review from this member

 Our one night at Welsummer Camping was wonderful - a very warm reception from the owners, a very well looked after campsite and a relaxed atmosphere. There were only us and one other small group on site.

The site is located on country lanes and is easy to find from Harrietsham. It's in a very quiet location with only occasional road noise from the lanes. The ground is high and seemed pretty dry and like it has good drainage and I wouldn't think it would get very wet very easily.

We took two small tents so we could camp in the woodland. It seems the pitches are fairly spaced out with trees between so I don't think you'd feel crowded at all when it's busy. The fire pit was built right in the centre and there was cleared space for four small tents around it. There were also very lovely looking pitches on grass outside the woodland for larger tents, also with firepits. There is a large field with two bell tents in, and I think more camping space but I couldn't see any firepits there.

Facilities are basic and clean. The only problem I could see is that there are only two toilets in the ladies and one shares a cubicle with the shower. Be prepared for a wait at busy times.

There is a small shop which is currently being moved so I can't comment on this. A shelter is currently being built from their own wood which will provide relief from either rain or sun!

We live quite locally and are already planning our next trip so it really is a great site. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: CJKoolCat1 1 review from this member

 This site is a little gem. A lovely location, away from it all. I had a pitch in the Woodland area, which was cozy although the weather was a little damp.

A warm welcome from the Hosts (Laura and Med), awaits.

Campfires are allowed in firepits provided - Logs for sale on site, along with a small selection of homemade produce.

Facilities were basic but clean and tidy - a couple of loos, showers and wash basins (for ladies - I assume the same for the fellas?). Plus, communal washing-up and small recycling area.

Overall, a lovely eco/essentic friendly family site for solo's and families alike.

Although I only spent a couple of nights here I would definitely be returning. A resounding thumbs up from me! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ponies78 2 reviews from this member

 Another fantastic visit. Only people on the campsite for our two night stay, with two small tents and a gazebo. Three adults and a dog in tow. Just a Short walk only crossing over roads to the local dog friendly pub, The Pepperbox.

Facilities basic but comfortable. Washing up area, showers and toilets.

Fabulous. Ready to book up an autumn stay. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ponies78 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed for two nights in the woods, with two small tents. Thursday night we were the only site occupants! Fabulous, quiet location, I would never have guessed the lane was so close. Walked to the local, the pepperbox, it's worth looking at a map as we strayed and found ourselves on a dangerously busy road. There is a better off road way!

Facilities were very basic, but that's why we chose the site, we weren't bothered.

Friday saw a clutch of families arrive, children using the woods as a playground. Which is fine but a little intrusive, especially early in the morning!

So lovely to be able to light a real campfire.

My dog was also welcome at the site and the pub!

Planning my next trip. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: KhawarM 1 review from this member

 We went three families, Had very good experience/entertainment, good location, and very well manage by the owners.

From now we all families have plan to go again in next summer, It seems to me this is the best place to releive stress.

There are very limited shops but bit expensive and To make sure to have enough food stock.

There is castle near by, but bit expensive.

I strongly recommend to visit this place, good place for kids

Khawar Mahmood 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dandjan 2 reviews from this member

 We had an enjoyable 4-night stay at Welsummer Camping in July 2013. This is a lovely site hidden away in the Kent countryside with a relaxed atmosphere and huge pitches.

The owners have worked hard to create a unique site which manages to capture the spirit of wild camping with facilities for log fires and pitches in the woods. The campsite will appeal to people looking to get away from it all. There are some excellent walks from the site to local pubs and we spent most of our time exploring National Trust properties nearby and nature reserves on the North Downs. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jonglew 4 reviews from this member

 We only stayed at this camp site for one night (planned - we didn't leave early) and were extremely pleased with it. The site owners were very friendly and obviously took a lot of time and trouble over the homely aspects of the site. Open fires were allowed, cars not permitted onto the green areas, which wasn't a problem as it was only a short distance from the track to the camping areas. The toilet and shower block, whilst not being the most modern, were more than adequate. This is quite a remote site, no shops etc within walking distance, but we walked the mile to the local pub for a meal in the evening ok. A pleasant site that we would stay at again if in the area. 


Previous     57 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Welsummer Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Welsummer Camping?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Welsummer Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Harrietsham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Kent

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4360 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement