Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Coed Helen Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon > Coed Helen Holiday Park Reviews

Coed Helen Holiday Park
Coed Helen
Menai Strait
Caernarfon
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL54 5RS
Tel: 01286 672852
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 0
Open: 1st March Until 31st October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 16 Reviews
                8/10 from 16 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  16 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Stocky13 23 reviews from this member

The location is good, site kept tidy

The pitch sizes are good

The showers are awful water only warm you have got 15 seconds then have to press the tap again, they are not cleaned to a good standard, managers should try to use these facilities themselves, sure they wouldn't like them.

The recycling is kept tidy.

For £28 per night you would expect better.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lisam7409 8 reviews from this member

We visited spring bank so was obviously quite busy. Pitches were a bit close together and unfortunately our tent was badly damaged due to badly behaved children cycling through the tents and having no respect for anybody else on the site. Fortunately they left on the Monday and the site was more pleasant. The site is in a great location for exploring North Wales. Short walk into Caernarfon although you need to be careful as its a narrow road with no pavement. Great location for kids crabbing. There is a restaurant on site which is a little pricey for a campsite but think is mainly aimed at the lovely statics on site. But was a nice treat before we came home. Unfortunately campers also aren't allowed access to the swimming pool which was disappointing. Not sure if will return or not.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Massa 11 reviews from this member

Although this site is only a 45 mins drive from home we come here a couple of times every year as it is convenient to the town and ideal for a short break if you don't feel like driving very far. the site is well maintained but the toilet block could do with updating. one thing that scares me is the siting of a convector heater right below the hand drier in the gents toilets so I take a towel with me to dry my hands. All in all a nice site which I would recommend.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: George-Mildred 4 reviews from this member

We have returned from a long bank holiday weekend at Coed Helen. We chose this site as friends have a static on site. I believe that since other reviews from last year, the site has been taken over by a new company. Tents/tourers are apparently not allowed access to the pool now - only static guests, which seems a little unfair considering the PPN. There is a field at the end for ball games etc. Away from your unit, which we liked. That said it was quiet both day and night (no road noise at night) a great location for walking into town of an evening, as long as you are back before 11pm when the foot bridge by the castle closes, then it is a long walk or a taxi ride back. In all fairness the only negative is the shower block still needs a revamp, it was clean and tidy though. Pot washing was outside round the back of shower block, but partly undercover. Didn't use the restaurant, but used by the locals so presume must be good, checked menu it seemed reasonably priced. Would we go back - yes due to its location for town/mountains.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Belle 18 reviews from this member

This was our second visit this year the first being April, how it had changed the warden was not the same person as our first visit he was so helpful and never left the site always busy keeping it neat and tidy. We saw the new warden maybe once or twice there was nobody there to direct us to our pitch so we just chose our own, you have to walk through the statistics to get to reception and leave £5 deposit for the toilets key which are in need of a revamp the showers are small and the water runs cold in the middle of a shower the rail for the shower curtain was rusty

There is a nice walk into Caernarfon just 5 minutes down the hill I doubt very much we will return

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Trewsie 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from a six night stay with my family, in a tenting and touring caravan group. The site had a large static contingent, an American style diner restaurant, a child's play area and an outdoor heated pool. This is a large site, predominated by statics and with one field for campers, tourers and seasonal. My sister chose this site for the child friendly facilities. The campsite has a very relaxed feel: not much direction when pitching up so we were able to pitch as a family group. Lovely walk into Caernarfon and beautiful mountain range views.

The shower and toilet block for camping and touring was not as I would've liked it; the showers were very oddly constructed raised boxes, stud walls and, as a result, rather small for ladies topping 5' and not brilliantly clean, I'm afraid. They seemed in need of a redesign and a freshen up: tiled, with a drain and a shower squeegee, not a mop and bucket!

It was rather noisy at night, as mentioned by a previous reviewer. We had a nice enough week but if I'm honest, it wasn't my kind of site (I prefer smaller, no statics etc) but would definitely appeal to families.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Smoggydunc 7 reviews from this member

There is no doubt this site is beautifully kept- grass is cut every day, litter picked up, toilets clean, showers hot and the pool fantastic- the warden simply never stops working. Anyone with young children wanting to use the site as a base to explore the countryside and local attractions will love this site- rather expensive at £27 a night for a very basic tent but I suppose if you want the niceties of camping you have to accept that you need to pay for them. The location is perfect- lovely walks to Caernafron and along the Menai Strait and also lovely sunsets. Tesco Extra is just down the road for any essentials and also Paddy’s Bar and the shop are a nice addition - the pool is also superb. However in my humble opinion there is a downside, if you just want to just sit and relax and unwind near your tent you will struggle to come to terms with the noise. There is simply too much going on especially with so many caravans and tents in one small field. It maybe just my age but I just wanted to relax and enjoy the scenery but I soon realised that could never happen. Dont get me wrong it is a lovely site but simply not for me. So to conclude if you want a site with everything you need and beautifully kept and to use as a base for exploring North Wales then this is definitely the site for you- however if you want to sit and relax, sun bathe, enjoy the scenery, sit outside your tent having a BBQ after 10. 00pm and sleep past 7am then this site is definitely not for you.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Suzi1971 15 reviews from this member

Come back early from our booked stay on the site for a few reasons.

Firstly the location is great to access Carnarfon which is why I chose it so that is a positive. However our impressions of the site itself are not so good. On arrival we went to the touring field as directed on our instructions but no one their to greet/welcome us. Eventually someone called down from one of the big statics to say warden was out for the day and just pitch anywhere. So we selected a pitch which was level and since we weren't using the awning, we pitched centrally in between the white posts. No other pitch markers. Then went to use the toilets to find them locked (only the ladies - the men's were unlocked). So went to the main reception for statics to be told it was £5 deposit for one key to toilets/showers and that warden had all our paperwork but he was out for day and just pitch anywhere. We had walk into town and then kids wanted to try the heated pool. It was, they said, nice and warm but small. The warden returned but didn't come over to introduce himself at any point. The next day my husband said to to him did we need anything from him and he said no if we had a key that was all. He did tell us to take down our airer as the site rules said we couldn't have it and site was going to be busy later. The airer was well within our pitch and other units had them up or lines tied to trees or massive awnings! Later that day the site got very busy with lots of arrivals for a charity fun day happening over the weekend which I was unaware of at the time of booking. The play field had been cordoned off to be used as a car park. Two tents pitched either side of us with their guide ropes into our pitch and we felt extremely hemmed in and uncomfortable. There was no way we could have comfortably sat outside our Motorhome. The wifi was not working - a fault that the lady at reception hadn't any idea when would be repaired. There were tractors coming and going all the time with the site feeling like a building site. Strimmers being used constantly and power tools on the static homes. The main reception building was being repaired or altered. The toilet and shower facilities are tired although generally clean. The dish washing is round the back and just two sinks with nowhere to put food waste.

With so many more arrivals so close to us I just didn't feel happy continuing our stay and although the warden did say as we were leaving, that we could move to a different pitch, we'd already decided that this was not going to be a peaceful relaxing end to our tour of Wales. It was the most expensive of our three sites at £27 a night for family of four and was not, in my opinion, worth it. Location is good but that's about it.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ndoh71 3 reviews from this member

Site location is lovely. Short walk to Caenarfon castle. Showers are push type and have no way of controlling the temperature. When we stayed they were scalding hot, so much so that my two children were unable to shower and it was a very uncomfortable shower for me. Toilets and showers were kept clean, but the site wasn't busy whilst we were there. You have to pay £5 for a key to the toilets which meant 1 key between the whole family. This did cause problems when hubby went off to shower etc and then one of the girls needed the loo! Would be easier if they were only locked at night. No airers are allowed which seems a silly rule on a campsite with a pool. What are you supposed to do with wet swimming things in a tent? Pool is lovely and the kids really enjoyed it.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Hoffmaster 4 reviews from this member

We arrived on site and was greated by Dave the Touring site Warden, he showed us to are pitch and also helped with moving the caravan in to place. We then started to hook up to the EHU point but found are lead was to short, Dave then offered to borro us a longer lead which was great until we moved pitches to a grass pitch. Site was lovely and clean showers were excellent but a bit to hot for me always cleaned twice a day grass was cut swell nice and short. We had a problem with the electric on site. Tripping out as the. Site was full but Dave was on to it quickly the next day electrician arrived on site and all was restored. A small dissapointment was the pool was not working which we were looking forward to using but not open till 1st week in May which are granddaughter was looking forward to but not a big issue kids play area was OK but a better one just through the camp grounds this was great as it was next to Carnarvon castle. All in all a great easter week so are booking to go back in May bank holds we hope and test the pool. A well deserved pat on the back for Dave and his misses, oh and Dave was on the ball when some other campers were a bit loud at 1045 pm he asked them to be quiet well done Dave especially when there are kids sleeping see you again Dave &Michele

Previous     16 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Caernarfon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans – plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2885 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019