Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us


Reviews of Moulin De Campech

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Aquitaine > Villefranche Du Queyran > Moulin De Campech > Reviews

Moulin De Campech
Villefranche Du Queyran
Aquitaine   (Browse area)
Tel: 00 33 5 53 88 72 43
Visit their website    

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 46
Open: 05/05/2022 to 22/09/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 13 Reviews
                8/10 from 13 Reviews

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  13 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Static
Nights stayed: 31+ Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: John + Jan 14 reviews from this member

 It is a shame that there have not been any reviews since 2018. This year is exceptionally difficult - but the campsite continues to be exceptionally good.

Toprink's review is very comprehensive and good but Sue and George made us feel welcome and very safe - much more so than in the UK where we are self-isolating! All hygiene rules were applicable but applied with great sensitivity.

This is our 11th visit which is very revealing about how we value this site. Having been locked down for weeks and home cooking, it was wonderful to enjoy Sue's home cooking again - her leg of lamb was delicious and I always love the trout. Her home grown vegetable soups are superb.

The pool is beautifully clean and refreshing yet the shower's water supply is really hot, if wanted.

So keep on visiting this gem of a site as soon as you can. 

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Topbrink 6 reviews from this member

 We recently spent 8 nights at this campsite and feel that an updated review is necessary. We were lucky enough to have fantastic weather and so were very grateful for our partly shaded grass pitch (thank goodness for those trees). Had we wanted full sun, there were some fantastic, flat grass pitches available too. Pitch sizes vary and try as we might, despite considerable help from the other holiday-makers, we were unable to receive satellite tv reception on ours, although others had no problem on their pitches. We had no problems with the 6A electrical supply; it is simply a matter of being aware of the ampage of the devices you are using at any given time (as with all campsites).

The shower cubicles are unusual in that there is a rather high step up onto the showering platform from the changing area. The cubicles are not overlarge but hot water is plentiful and adjustable as is the shower head. The showers are push button but they stay on for ages. There are also wash basin cubicles and 3 modern toilets (paper provided).

Washing up sinks are situated outside the toilet block as are the laundry sinks. The latter are huge concrete troughs without plugs so required a bucket/bowl in which to put the water. There is also a large washing machine where you reserve a time slot and pay for the wash programme you want. This is a brilliant system as it means you know exactly when the machine will be available - just for you!

The swimming pool is attractively laid out with ample sunbeds and parasols and is heated. It was popular during our stay but never crowded. Behind the pool is one of the dog walks, which leads on to a larger, circular walk - details provided by the owner. The site also boasts a fishing lake, which we didn't use but which was great for walking the dog around first and last thing.

One of the main reasons we selected this site was the fact that it had a restaurant and that the reviews of Sue's home-cooked fare had been very favourable. We were not disappointed, indeed this was the highlight of our stay. There is a very comprehensive menu with lots of choice for 3 courses plus the 'Special of the Day'. For 19 Euros per person, we were treated to homemade soup followed by starter, main course, dessert, 50 cl wine of choice plus coffee (and bread, of course) - absolutely fantastic value and each time, absolutely delicious! All this overlooking the fishing lake.

During our stay, the site was occupied by French, Dutch, Belgian and German holiday-makers as well as British. Everyone was very friendly and at no time did we feel that the site was dominated by any one nationality. It is a quiet site in a relatively 'un-touristy' area and so is favoured by couples rather than families but it is no worse for that. It is a great site to rest and relax. There is traffic noise as it is on one of the minor roads to the A62 but it is not especially busy and the noise isn't intrusive unless you are a particularly light sleeper (we had fans on all night, so heard nothing of the road).

The setting of the site is very attractive - great for cycling and walking. The surrounding villages are rather sleepy; best to catch them on market days. Casteljaloux, the nearest town, has everything you might need including a vet, should you need to use one to meet the British re-entry requirements for dogs. Sue, the owner, kindly booked the appointment for us and we were pleasantly surprised how reasonable the cost was.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this site and would recommend it whole-heartedly. 

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tobyleeds 16 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for an overnight as it was convenient for the motorway. I was rather overwhelmed by the list of dos and don'ts! The toilets were clean but the showers needed modernisation as the step up into the showers left one feeling you were on a stage! We knew there would be few facilities at the end of September but we did expect that in such a rural location bread would have been available in the morning (we are in France- not the uk).

The dog enjoyed the walk in the wood - a plus. Road noise through the day meant that it was not quiet (ACSI users please note). The site would be better if some of the trees were thinned or removed to allow more sunlight. After rain there were deep tyre tracks at the side of the motor home hard standings and no attempt was being made to fill them in - the site had very much an end of term feel so we were disappointed. 

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Alec Ireland 1 review from this member

 We have just come home from nearly three weeks at this site.

Good points

Toilets and showers are kept very clean by People who are on the site.

Helpful staff and owners who seem to work in shifts, so the office is always open during the day.

Very rural setting, good walking and cycling routes provided by the staff, lots of info in the welcome pack about local towns and markets.

Quiz nights on Wednesday with fish and chips are good fun and value, [did not try the barbecue night].

After a caravan leaves the site, the pitch is mowed ready for the next camper.

Pool is nice.

New Toilet and shower for disabled campers

Lots of British campers, and limited internet access.

Locals are pleased to see you as it is not a very touristy area.

Bad points

Lots of British campers, and limited internet access, which is 1 euro for 30 minutes

On a Truck rat run, so there is some road noise, but we did not notice it while sleeping

Poor facilities for young people. 

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: John + Jan 14 reviews from this member

 This is our fifth year of staying at Campech - we first stayed for 3 nights and this year it was 4 weeks - and we did not wish to leave. Some reviewers seem negative because they are unsuited - it is a British ambiance and does not cater for adolescent children although multi-national younger children were a delight - it was our first stay in the school holidays so we were nervous.

Having added the handicapped shower room recently, the improvement this year was in a reliable hot water supply and temperature controls on the showers. The toilets were cleaned by volunteer campers as well as ever.

The food is simple but very good - especially the soups and trout cooked to order. Wednesday fish and chips and Bob's Quiz + the Saturday BBQ are very justifiably popular.

If you wish to spend your holiday on the internet go elsewhere but the improved wifi available in the bar was a welcome advance.

The owning family are very welcoming and the pool is immaculate - views to die for.

We intend to stay again next year for a significant period. Tells readers a great deal! 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: DEB9126 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed 7 Nights here, very handy for the A62 as a stopover.

Clean and tidy site, only 6amp electricity which was not very efficient.

Wifi 1 euro for 30 mins which could only be used in the bar area and there is a list of things you could not do on the wifi.

Toilet block is a converted barn with an asbestos roof, however it is kept clean. The lighting to this room is on a timer and I could not manage a whole shower before the lights went out, so for health and safety reasons I only showered in the day light. Swing bar doors keep it well aired but cold.

I would not recommend this site for anyone with children as there is only one seesaw for them to play on and this is situated next to a deep fishing lake so the potential for a disaster is waiting.

We did not sample the food however the menu looked very limited. 
Management response: In response to your comments;
Electricity; due to our countryside location we are only able to offer a 6amp electricity supply; this does not usually pose a problem to our guests.
Wi-Fi; also due to our location, we can only have internet access by satellite. We are limited to 30GB per month for the whole campsite. There are no restrictions for normal use i.e. emails & surfing the internet, however if someone downloaded a movie or was playing a live game this would use a large percentage of our quota-so we are very careful to explain this to our guests.
Toilet block; the roof panels are concrete sheets and NOT asbestos. The timer for the lights is 10 minutes; we are waiting for work to be carried out to improve the lighting.
Play area; Our site is surrounded by water, by French law we must have a play area, also by French law the play area can only be used under parental supervision.
Restaurant; our restaurant is open from May to 20th September. There is a choice of 9 starters, 12 main courses served with a choice of Chips or Potatoes and Salad or fresh vegetables (the salad & vegetables are home grown depending on season) and to finish numerous deserts, ice creams and cheese.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: NLMS 11 reviews from this member

 We stayed for one night on our way down to the Pyrenees.

We were told there were a couple of pitches we could choose from 'as we were only staying one night'. Although we were made welcome I got the feeling they prefer people who want to stay longer.

As others have noted the toilet block (though kept clean) is old. Although there were notices apologising for the water temperature the showers worked OK.

It is the sort of site you either love or hate. Personally I didn't like it (and wouldn't have wanted to stay on); nothing wrong but it had a strange feel (perhaps because most of the units were British). But for others I suspect this quaint Englishness, in a quiet shaded river valley, is what gives it charm. 
Management response: We are sorry that you did not like our campsite. We did have an issue with the hot water system; the repair we were waiting for was carried out in September 2013.

We have a mix of guests for both short & long stays, from numerous countries including France, Spain, Netherlands and the United Kingdom. Everyone is welcome.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Blackvulcan 1 review from this member

 We have been visitors to this site for a number of years.

Very rural and quiet.

Mostly older people who just want to chill out and enjoy the occasional visit to the bar / Restaurant to enjoy the great meals cooked by the site owners daughter Sue.

Someone previously said there was not much of the children's play area, not surprised as this site would not suit young children.

Slight road noise could worry some people, although quiet at night. All in all ticks our boxes and hope to return in July. 

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Devon Tourers 12 reviews from this member

 First impression was that the site looked tired and reqd a lot of investment to bring it up to the standard of most 3 star French sites.

Of the nine days we stayed the toilet and shower block was closed on 5 consecutive days for more than 4 hours each [excluding normal cleaning time closure] this was due to sewage blockages to the old inadequate drainage system, tankers were used on two occasions to empty the septic tank, sewage and gray water was seen to discharge from around the toilet pans, speaking with other campers this was not a one off problem.

WiFi is charged by the hour [1 euro per half hour] and if you did not use the bar area then you sat in a wooden shed interesting when its 35+ degrees!

Site was also suffering from very large horse flies of the serious biting type, also children's play area consisted of a seesaw and nothing else. The road outside of the site is now used by heavy lorry traffic with the ensuing noise from around 0600 in the mornings! However the swimming pool was very good and well maintained, overall we will not be returning. 
Management response: We are upset that you departed our campsite with such a bad impression. There is no escaping or denying the fact that we had a major blockage in the toilet block during your stay, it was an extremely stressful & horrific time. I must assure you that in our 16 years as owners we have experienced nothing like it before or since, it is not a common occurrence.

Horse flies & a lot of traffic noise are also not common issues.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: John + Jan 14 reviews from this member

 This is our third year of staying at this idyllic site - first year 3 days, 2nd 1 week and this year two weeks.

We welcome the addition of a toilet for the disabled. The showers are still rather 'quaint' but it adds to the charm!

The toilets are excellent. All the cleaning and waiting at table work is performed by 'volunteers' and this works very well.

There is still no mobile signal but an agreeable hut has been established with wi-fi.

Next year it might be longer which tells you our opinion of the site and its management.

Roll on June 2013! 

Previous     13 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Moulin De Campech child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Does Moulin De Campech have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Moulin De Campech?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Moulin De Campech dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities

Other Sites Near Villefranche Du Queyran      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Aquitaine

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions

3941 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022