Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Pier Cottage Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Lake District & Cumbria > Coniston > Pier Cottage Caravan Park > Reviews

Pier Cottage Caravan Park
Lake Coniston
Coniston
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA21 8AJ
Tel: 015394 41252
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 22 Reviews
                9/10 from 22 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  22 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Iain Shaw 8 reviews from this member

 A great place to stay for the week.

Very friendly owners and the warm sunshine made it that much better.

We had our kayak and paddle board and the lake was just metres from our pitch so much fun.

We used our own facilities in the MoHo so cannot make a comment on the site facilities.

Plenty of walks around Coniston and of course ‘The Old Man of Coniston’ had to be done. 


Date of Visit: December 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Bessie travels 2 reviews from this member

 Beautiful location, about 10 mins walk to coniston shops /pubs.

Warm welcome by owners.

And lovely quiet site right by the lakeside.

However one of the most expensive sites for family of 5 plus dog came to just short of £50 per night with electric as charged extra.

Very basic toilets (only 2 for female and 1 male toilet and 1 x urinal) in hut with no heating, concrete floors, lots and lots of spider webs and very basic shower (one for ladies and one for men) with just curtain for privacy.

The wooden slate for changing on wasn't nice either, I changed in shower in end. As no heating you have to be quick at changing as well.

Toilet doors hard to shut especially for younger members of family.

Pitches are not completely hard standing and large muddy puddles around site.

Personally a great site for spring/summer but for mid winter needs more attention especially at those prices. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 636 reviews from this member

 Great central location for Coniston village, climbing Coniston Old Man or hiring boats on the lake.

The area gets busy in high season. Great Indian restaurant in town. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 636 reviews from this member

 Nice location on Coniston Wafter. Good a base for the hills and for water sports.

The village of Coniston is lovely, with a good range of places to eat and drink, as well as a few decent shops. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Brewdog 1 review from this member

 We have just had a great stay, with our 15 & 12 year olds and a dog. What a lovely campsite, we felt really lucky to get a late booking. Such lovely ladies running the site.

Based right on the edge of coniston water this was ideal, we swam, canoed and paddle boarded.

Cooked breakfast on the lake side and watched the sunset with a beer.

Short and picturesque walk into coniston village.

The campsite itself is basic but all you need, clean, tidy and peaceful. Minimum rules and very relaxed-which is lovely and it all runs really well as everyone seems to show respect for this.

Other people have mentioned limited toilets and showers, I never had to wait to use either.

Definitely plan to visit again  

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Tillydog124 2 reviews from this member

 We have just spent 5 nights at Pier Cottage and could have stayed forever - the location is just spectacular.

Fay and her mum are the loveliest of people, very welcoming, nothing is too much trouble for them. The weather was appalling whilst we were there but it didn't prevent us from walking every day and Coniston itself is only a 10 minute steady stroll away from the site.

TV reception is pretty good, phone coverage on O2 OK but just sitting on the edge of the lake with Old Man Coniston behind you, breathtaking. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Endoshot 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely site on conistons edge perfect in every way. 10 minute walk to village shops and pubs. Friendly family run site. Great for small boat launching. Lots of walks of varying difficulty. Basic but clean facilities. Will return in 2018. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ejm0407 2 reviews from this member

 Spent 4 days last week at Pier Cottage and it's an small excellent site. We had a lovely pitch right next to the lake & spent the first evening barbecuing on the shore in the sunshine. The owners were lovely & the site has perfectly adequate facilities.

The site is within a 10 minute walk to Coniston town centre where there are shops & nice pubs & there are lots of lovely longer walks around the area. As we're new to caravanning this was our first visit here and although it's only 25 minutes from home we'll definitely be back. Oh, and as for the costs that some people are mentioning,

We stayed 4 days and had an electric bill totalling £4 which I think is perfectly acceptable, especially considering the Great Lake District weather which turned pretty nasty after that first day so we did have a heater running some of the time!

NB: have only given a child friendly rating of 1 as we don't have children so can't comment on that, but it wouldn't let me complete the review without putting something! 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Gwynneth 15 reviews from this member

 Just returned from 5 days at this idyllic little site. It certainly is small but perfectly formed! We were pitched right on the side of the lake with easy access to the shore and the view was amazing.

The facilities were clean and adequate for a site of this size. We also found that, unlike other reviewers, the fact that electricity is metered is better all-round as one takes more care over usage. We stayed 5 days and only used the electricity to run the fridge and lighting and at the end it came to the princely sum of £1. 60, which is certainly not excessive in my view. I do not consider the small charge of 40p for a shower excessive either.

There are some excellent walks right from the site, both child and dog friendly. The footpath from the village down towards Monk Coniston is particularly safe as it is separated from the road by a substantial hedgerow.

Would we be back. You bet we would. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Samanthar206 1 review from this member

 A small but perfectly situated site. There is direct access to the lake and as the site is small this is never far away. The site is basic with only 1 shower for men and 1 for women. I did think this might cause us a problem, as we have a very basic rig and rely on facilities, however we did not have to queue once. The owners do ask for 40p per shower which could mount up if you were using the facility daily. There is not a central dish washing facility but for the majority of caravans this again is not problem.

Coniston is a pleasant walk away or a very short bike ride and there are amazing bike rides and walks right from the doorstep. We purchased a route map for biking and a guide for walking up Old Man Coniston, both were well used. Both activities are suitable for all the family but be warned the biking can be steep going, which you will see by the topography!

Coniston Boating Centre is next to the site where you can hire sailing dinghies, canoes or motor cruises. You can do this ahead of your visit online or at the Centre itself.

Coniston is perfect if you prefer being away from the hustle and bustle of local Ambleside or Windermere. We did head for Ambleside one day but in the end drove straight through it and headed to Elterwater, which was beautiful. The owners of Pier Cottage could not be more friendly or accommodating and we will definitely visit again. 


Previous     22 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Pier Cottage Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Pier Cottage Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Pier Cottage Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Coniston      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


238 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement