Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Pier Cottage Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Coniston > Pier Cottage Caravan Park Reviews

Pier Cottage Caravan Park
Lake Coniston
Coniston
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA21 8AJ
Tel: 015394 41252
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 19 Reviews
                9/10 from 19 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  19 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 510 reviews from this member

Nice location on Coniston Wafter. Good a base for the hills and for water sports.

The village of Coniston is lovely, with a good range of places to eat and drink, as well as a few decent shops.
via mobile

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Brewdog 1 review from this member

We have just had a great stay, with our 15 & 12 year olds and a dog. What a lovely campsite, we felt really lucky to get a late booking. Such lovely ladies running the site.

Based right on the edge of coniston water this was ideal, we swam, canoed and paddle boarded.

Cooked breakfast on the lake side and watched the sunset with a beer.

Short and picturesque walk into coniston village.

The campsite itself is basic but all you need, clean, tidy and peaceful. Minimum rules and very relaxed-which is lovely and it all runs really well as everyone seems to show respect for this.

Other people have mentioned limited toilets and showers, I never had to wait to use either.

Definitely plan to visit again

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Tillydog124 2 reviews from this member

We have just spent 5 nights at Pier Cottage and could have stayed forever - the location is just spectacular.

Fay and her mum are the loveliest of people, very welcoming, nothing is too much trouble for them. The weather was appalling whilst we were there but it didn't prevent us from walking every day and Coniston itself is only a 10 minute steady stroll away from the site.

TV reception is pretty good, phone coverage on O2 OK but just sitting on the edge of the lake with Old Man Coniston behind you, breathtaking.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Endoshot 2 reviews from this member

Lovely site on conistons edge perfect in every way. 10 minute walk to village shops and pubs. Friendly family run site. Great for small boat launching. Lots of walks of varying difficulty. Basic but clean facilities. Will return in 2018.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ejm0407 2 reviews from this member

Spent 4 days last week at Pier Cottage and it's an small excellent site. We had a lovely pitch right next to the lake & spent the first evening barbecuing on the shore in the sunshine. The owners were lovely & the site has perfectly adequate facilities.

The site is within a 10 minute walk to Coniston town centre where there are shops & nice pubs & there are lots of lovely longer walks around the area. As we're new to caravanning this was our first visit here and although it's only 25 minutes from home we'll definitely be back. Oh, and as for the costs that some people are mentioning,

We stayed 4 days and had an electric bill totalling £4 which I think is perfectly acceptable, especially considering the Great Lake District weather which turned pretty nasty after that first day so we did have a heater running some of the time!

NB: have only given a child friendly rating of 1 as we don't have children so can't comment on that, but it wouldn't let me complete the review without putting something!

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Gwynneth 13 reviews from this member

Just returned from 5 days at this idyllic little site. It certainly is small but perfectly formed! We were pitched right on the side of the lake with easy access to the shore and the view was amazing.

The facilities were clean and adequate for a site of this size. We also found that, unlike other reviewers, the fact that electricity is metered is better all-round as one takes more care over usage. We stayed 5 days and only used the electricity to run the fridge and lighting and at the end it came to the princely sum of £1. 60, which is certainly not excessive in my view. I do not consider the small charge of 40p for a shower excessive either.

There are some excellent walks right from the site, both child and dog friendly. The footpath from the village down towards Monk Coniston is particularly safe as it is separated from the road by a substantial hedgerow.

Would we be back. You bet we would.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Samanthar206 1 review from this member

A small but perfectly situated site. There is direct access to the lake and as the site is small this is never far away. The site is basic with only 1 shower for men and 1 for women. I did think this might cause us a problem, as we have a very basic rig and rely on facilities, however we did not have to queue once. The owners do ask for 40p per shower which could mount up if you were using the facility daily. There is not a central dish washing facility but for the majority of caravans this again is not problem.

Coniston is a pleasant walk away or a very short bike ride and there are amazing bike rides and walks right from the doorstep. We purchased a route map for biking and a guide for walking up Old Man Coniston, both were well used. Both activities are suitable for all the family but be warned the biking can be steep going, which you will see by the topography!

Coniston Boating Centre is next to the site where you can hire sailing dinghies, canoes or motor cruises. You can do this ahead of your visit online or at the Centre itself.

Coniston is perfect if you prefer being away from the hustle and bustle of local Ambleside or Windermere. We did head for Ambleside one day but in the end drove straight through it and headed to Elterwater, which was beautiful. The owners of Pier Cottage could not be more friendly or accommodating and we will definitely visit again.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Harrison1954 1 review from this member

The camp site has a great lakeside location, close to Coniston, shops and pubs ect. The site has limited toilets and showers but they are clean and tidy.

The only down side is the additional charges for the electricity used during the stay. Perhaps the price per kilowatt should be on display for all to see, rather than just being told the final price on departure.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sunncamp owner 13 reviews from this member

Beautifully located site being a nice walk away from Coniston village where there are plenty of small shops and pubs to suit most needs. The site is impeccably tidy with views of the lake from many pitches but not all, that said you still couldn't be more than a 30 second walk from the lake anywhere on the site!

Newly fitted electric and water points, toilet and shower small but clean. Owners ever so friendly as where the people on site, will definitely be returning thanks!

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Seasick Steve 2 reviews from this member

We booked over Easter for our first visit to this site. Beautiful location next to Coniston lake in easy reach of village shops and pubs less than half a mile away. We found the facilities actually very basic- particularly the shower and toilet block which we found not all that clean.

We also found the site quite noisy with children and dogs running about. However the camp owner was very pleasant and accommodating. Electric hookup is standard here as you would expect but what we didn't expect was that you have to pay Extra for the electric you use which is on a meter. This was on top of the £23 a night camping fee and came as something of a shock when paying our bill. We have never met this practice before on a UK campsite.

It doesn't end here either as additional adults are charged at £5. 50 per person per night, children extra £3 each per night and dogs an extra £1 per dog per night plus a boat extra on size. This really works out very very expensive to stay in 2015 at Pier Cottage Caravan Park per night as the camping costs mount up quickly so all we can say is BEWARE!

In summary then: Nice location, basic facilities, noisy on a Bank Holiday, but certainly extremely poor value for money; we are sorry to say. Would we go back again? Probably not, mainly because it's totally overpriced for what you get.

Previous     19 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5840 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019