Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping Les Ecureuils

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Pays de la Loire > Jard Sur Mer > Camping Les Ecureuils Reviews

Camping Les Ecureuils
Route Des Goffineaux
Jard Sur Mer
Pays de la Loire   (Browse area)
85520
Tel: +33 02 51 33 42 74
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 260
Open: 01/04/2022 to 30/09/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 8 Reviews
                6/10 from 8 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: 5joga 8 reviews from this member

 This was our second visit to Les Ecureils with a gap of 11 years in between. It is one of 'nearly' sites which, although we had a wonderful break, wasn't as good as we hoped.

The site has become part of the France et Loc chain and it has lost some of its charm. The site was always a little crowded but it does appear that there have been another 100-150 rental caravans added and quite a few of them two to an old pitch.

We booked a top presta pitch which came with a shed holding a fridge, barbecue, a table with five chairs and a parasol holder. The fact that there was a chair and a parasol missing really sums up the site in that everything is there but no attention to detail.

The toilet block has been updated since we last went but regulars said that there had been promises of a refurbishment for a couple of years. The main issue was that the cleanliness of the toilet block depended on who was cleaning. Unfortunately, whoever cleaned at the weekend didn't give more than a cursory squirt of cleaner and a wipe. This meant that for two days a week the loos were highly fragrant and toilet had often run out by mid morning.

When you have paid four star prices, you expect four star standards and they missed this in key areas such as keeping the pitches and site clean and the state of the loo blocks.

Whilst Jard sur Mer remains a most wonderful resort and we will continue to visit the town and area; we will not be returning to the site and neither will many of those we chatted to on the site. It is so sad as the site has so much potential but at present it is no more than a low quality 3 star site. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Team-G 5 reviews from this member

 Not what I remeber of French sites from childhood.

We re-named this 'Camp Snake' from the I am a celebrity series. The pitches are dirty sand and covered in tree roots making siting a slight issue. We paid the extra for table and chairs with parasol, the table was broken and the bottom parasol pole was missing, not what was expected.

We took advantage of the rent a BBQ which was fine albeit small.

The pool area was nice but the bar not open during the day and undergoing a full refurb with drills and steel cutting all day long.

The shower block was old, tired and dirty.

By the 4th day enough was enough and we packed up and moved off to another site down the road, L'Ocean D'Or - Fantastic - so much so wea re heading back! 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: LeeAnderson 2 reviews from this member

 We booked in February and were told we would be kept a large pitch for our very large cabanon trailer tent. This did not happen and we were left on a small pitch and could not fit in our sun shade and had great difficulty parking. We heard somebody else had been unable to pitch on it in a camper van earlier the day day we arrived so definitely not reserved fro us.

The camp site is ideally suited for campers with young children as the facilities for children are excellent. The small pitches meant getting to know your neighbours well too which worked great for the kids.

The toilet/shower blocks are very shabby and extremely dirty with missing toilet seats and superficial cleaning that is not often enough. The taps require a third arm to press and wash at the same time. Sinks had no working plugs. Many toilets and shower cubicles that were broken were simply closed off and not repaired so at busy times of the day it was difficult to find a toilet to sit on.

The outdoor pool and slides area is lovely but can be difficult to get a sun lounger. German towel laying practices are rife (by French and English customers) as they are in short supply.

Jard Sur Mer is a beautiful town with a lovely Marina area too. Day markets and night markets at the Marina are held regularly.

Despite the shower blocks, my children enjoyed it so much that I would have to recommend to campers with children under 10 who are prepared for the shortcomings of poor service and terrible shower / toilet / washing blocks. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Thekirbies 7 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site for 2 weeks with Eurocamp. The site is lovely, shaded in a forest. Pitch sizes seemed generous compared with other sites. It is a quiet campsite, and safe for kids to cycle around. The pools were basic but still very popular with our kids.

Pros- shop, take away, good facilities, quiet. Clean shower/toilet blocks. Friendly staff. Kids club run by the local staff English and French speaking. Good playground. Jard sur mer is a lovely market town and the port area was great. Not at all tacky.

Cons - local beach was a short walk away and although sandy at the top, as soon as you got in the water there was sheet rock beneath you, so not the best for kids. Great for rock pooling though. We didn't have the best weather so the shady pitches meant that our pitch stayed damp most of the time.

I would recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: MichMoch 8 reviews from this member

 Lovely entrance to site and welcoming staff. However, as with all the French sites we have visited, the pitch was not large - especially when (as with nearly all the pitches) you have to share them with tree stumps from trees that have been removed but have the stump/s remaining. This made positioning the tent difficult and parking the car in the space that was left even more so. However, we were on a pitch near to the swimming pool which did get a good amount of sun and shade - pitches further back in the site remained in the shade all day, and it looked a bit dull stuck in amongst all the trees.
The site is an easy walk to both the beach, the Hyper you and into the town. I did take a look inside other sites in the town and this, in my opinion, was by far the nicest of the sites in Jard.
Very clean showers and toilets (many had no toilet seats). Lovely swimming pools, but it was a shame that the indoor and outdoor pools were not linked by a common walkthrough. On-site shop was adequate, bar was a bit pricey (even during happy hour), good launderette. Overall a pretty, clean and well kept site which I would return to if I ever came back to this part of France. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: CScoggins 7 reviews from this member

 We (two adults and our 2.5 year old son) stayed at Les Ecureuils for the first week in September 2008. The site was excellent - we were in a static caravan rented through Eurocamp, but the pitches for touring tents and 'vans all looked spacious enough, each with their own tap, electricity point and drainage. Most pitches are bound on three sides by bushes, and had some shade, as the site is in a wooded area. The ground is sandy rather than grass, as is common in the region. As we were there at the end of the season the site was very quiet, but I can see it would be livelier and very popular in the summer months.

Facilities:

Being in a static 'van we had our own loo and shower, but the two large amenity blocks looked very clean. Token-op laundry facilities are available as well.

At the entrance to the site is a small shop selling only the basics, and a take-away snack bar. There is also a bar and games room next to the swimming pool area.

There are two outdoor pools surrounded by a fenced-in sunbathing area, one for the kiddies and a larger L-shaped deeper one. There are also two indoor pools (again, a small shallow pool and a larger one) – all the pools are very well maintained. There is a small playground with well-kept swings/slides/climbing frame etc, a small area for organised children’s entertainment, two outdoor table tennis tables, a small 'crazy golf' area and two boule 'rinks'.

However one word of warning: As we stayed outside of the French high season of July and August most of the leisure facilities were not fully open. The poolside bar was closed completely. The snack bar was only open for one hour in the evening, and the shop for two hours in the morning. Crazy golf, table tennis equipment etc was not available and there was no entertainment for the kiddies. All the pools were open though. None of this was a problem for us, but it needs to be borne in mind - especially if Eurocamping, as their brochure tends to gloss over which facilities might or might not be open out of season.

Jard sur Mer itself is a very nice little town. It's only a short walk towards the harbour with its selection of bars, restaurants, seaside shops and an overlooking windmill, and then on up the hill towards the main (pedestrianised) street, with lots of great little shops - proper clothes and food shops as well as the usual souvenir outlets. Not too tacky, and being out of season it was mainly full of locals.

The beach closest to the campsite is only a short walk away but is a little exposed and rocky at low tide (although great for rockpools). Slightly further off is 'La Plage des Mines', a great sandy beach, and there are also a couple of nice sandy stretches next to the harbour. Along the coast there are a number of excellent towns and beaches to visit, lots of local markets and other attractions. The ruined castle in Talmont St. Hilaire just inland from Jard is worth a look, including the nighttime tour.

Overall:

A nice site for families, and would also suit those seeking peace and quiet out of high season. Staff were friendly and spoke fairly good English, but were happy to put up with us mangling their own language with good humour! Unfortunately for us the weather was pretty bad during our stay, but the indoor pools were a godsend and the site itself was not affected by either rain or high winds. Would definitely recommend a visit. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lizzie 46 reviews from this member

 Pleasant entrance to site and lovely outdoor swimming pool area. The site also has a small indoor pool and gym. The pitches are a fair size but tree stumps in pitch area made placing our tent rather hard - tree stumps seem to be a feature on a few of the pitches we saw. Pitches are sandy, hedged for screening and rather packed in so not much privacy. Washblocks were kept in very good order and facilities were plentiful. Quite a few site mobiles and a few tour operators.

The site seems to attract a large number of English people. Happy hour in the bar each evening 7-8pm and several different activities in the week we were there. The bar also sells ice creams and crepes.

The small town of Jard sur Mer is nearby but I have to say it did not have much appeal - gives the impression of a new town/harbour. A few restaurants which I cannot comment on as we did not visit. We were more impressed with Sable D'Olonne and Tranche sur Mer some kilometres away.

There is a small rocky beach outside the site and a sandy one a short drive or cycle away. Large supermarket in Jard and of course usual campsite shop selling bread etc.

Not an area I would return to. Fairly cramped site meant I was glad we were on our own as not much space for older children/teenagers. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gemma1675 46 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for a week, and really liked the site. It is nicely situated, you can walk / cycle to the beach, to the port or into the town. The market in Jard on a Monday morning is definitely worth a look.

Our pitch was quite large and in a nice sunny spot, but being in the forest many of the pitches are quite shady. The pitches are quite sandy, grass doesn't grow very well here. There are hedges separating the pitches, so it feels nicely secluded.

There are two swimming pools, one indoor and one outdoor, and also a gym if you are that way inclined. No water slides here. The facilities are unisex and only one of the two blocks was open as it was June, but we never had any problem getting a shower.

My only criticism of the site is that there are no basins near the loos to wash your hands, so you have to walk around the block to the washing up sinks, and there are no hand drying facilities there!

But overall a very nice site. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Camping Les Ecureuils child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Camping Les Ecureuils have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping Les Ecureuils?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Camping Les Ecureuils dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Jard Sur Mer      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Pays de la Loire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


11415 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement