Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Conkers Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Swadlincote > Conkers Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Conkers Camping And Caravanning Club Site
50 Bath Lane
Moira
Swadlincote
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE12 6BD
Tel: 01283 224925
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 86 Reviews
                8/10 from 86 Reviews

Photos (19)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  86 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We regret that our site is currently closed because of the advice and implications surrounding the outbreak of Coronavirus.

To enquire about a booking later in the season or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: March 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jendaw54711ody 1 review from this member

 Excellent site - clean facilities and very welcoming staff.

Ideal location for National Trust properties and Uttoxeter Races.

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would

Stay again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: February 2020 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pablo1308 15 reviews from this member

 My wife and I were left without a pitch following a booking at a not very good campsite. We arrived at Conkers with no booking, just hoping. We were greeted by a very friendly and helpful young lady who help us with our booking. We had planned to stay 3 nights, however storm Caria put pay to that.

The site is large, however it feels open and spacious, it is well kept. The site benefits from having a motor-home service point, a huge plus for us, which allows filling and draining of the on board tanks.

The pitches are mainly hard-standing and most seemed to be fairly level, large with easy access. Both ladies and gents toilets were always clean and warm, although the showers are understandingly push button the curtains were a little to close for my liking.

There is a disused railway line offering walking/cycling/dog walking directly from the site towards Donisthorpe and castle Greasley. Onsite is a well stocked shop and a short walk to the YHA where there is a small cafe with a selection of foods on the menu and on Saturday evening the site a mobile fish 'n' chip van visit the site.

Overall this is a lively surprise site and we will be back. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Babyfish 11 reviews from this member

 Having stayed at Conkers many times before but not able to tour in 2018 I was really excited to be back there. Still the same lovely place - very clean facilities and lovely, friendly wardens.

Unfortunately we had about a months worth of rain in two days and our hard standing pitch plus the pitch next to us (numbers 44 and 45) were completely flooded. Both pitches had to remove awnings before the end of the stay as they were completely flooded and the water was higher than our shoes when we were packing up to go home. Have never had that problem before and won’t pick either of those pitches in the future.

My other gripe was the dog walk is now half full of old grass cuttings which were very stinky (the dog loved it, not so much the bath needed after a good roll) and is now unfortunately not secure.

Both my dogs were able to escape through the gate and took themselves off across the campsite. Not great. Other than that all was good and definitely wouldn’t put me off going back but please put some chicken wire across the dog walk gate or it’s pointless even having it there. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: K100rsblack 4 reviews from this member

 Here was a problem with the booking when we arrived. It seems that for whatever reason two reservations have been made for our party so strictly speaking conkers could have charged us twice. Instead they moved one of the deposits from one booking to the second booking and confirmed that as a single reservation.

Excellent customer service for which we were very grateful. The site is meticulously managed, the facilities ie toilets washing etc were spotless, plenty of hot water wherever it was needed. Disposal points where very well located and had all that you would require for grey water and cassette toilet waste disposal.

Small range of essential groceries available on site. From the site is access to many and varied national forest paths for either walking or cycling. Adjacent is the youth hostel which allows conkers residents into the bar so you could have a drink if you wished without having to drive.

We had to change your plans on or day of departure which meant it was going to be difficult for us to vacate the pitch by 12 noon. I asked for the small extension to this and the management said that as they were not requiring the pitch immediately we could stay until late afternoon if that helped. Again wonderful service which we were grateful.

Just one slightly negative comment, I wonder whether the washing, toilet etc facilities could cope if the site was completely full. Highly recommended. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Campingkings 1 review from this member

 Me and my wife have been coming to Conkers CCC for years now, we love the area and the site, over the last year we have noticed the standards start to slip and had started looking at other sites in the area.

However we gave it another try this weekend and met the new wardens, although very young, the enthusiasm they have is fantastic and we can see changes to the site already! The site as a little shop which sells the basics, milk, bread, ice cream, camping essentials etc.

The chippy van that attends site on Saturdays is very good and reasonably priced. Loads of walks from site and the Conkers visitors centre is worth a look. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: 664DaveS 33 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from this peaceful site.

We booked a hard standing and were offered a choice by the very friendly wardens.

The hard standings are level and a good size, around the edge of the site. Grass pitches are in the centre, pretty level and well drained, (it was raining hard when we arrived!).

The toilet facilities were very clean, with plenty of hot water.

They are in a wooden hut and in need of updating, I suspect if the site is full would be stretched with waiting required.

The site is surrounded by forest with lots of walking trails to nearby lakes and the canal, there are a couple of pubs within walking distance. Directions at reception.

The Halfway House pub at Donisthorpe does good real ale and food!

At the entrance to the site there is a YHA hostel with a bar and restaurant, you are advised to check for availability. We had afternoon coffee and cake there which was nice.

Conkers centre itself has lots for kids, a mini train, 4D cinema adventure park etc.

There are restaurants at the visitor centres too.

There is a Coop shop in nearby Moira but Burton on Trent is only 7 miles with a choice of shopping.

Its a peaceful site good for relaxing, or walking or cycling in the National Forest. There is some aircraft noise from East Midlands Airport, but its not excessive or intrusive!

TV and phone reception is good, pay for wifi is available. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jonk 20 reviews from this member

 A warm and friendly greeting, we were shown to our well maintained pitch. We chose a grass pitch, although there was a lot of rain (mainly at night thank goodness) the pitch drained well and did not become muddy. Good 4G signal (on BT) and television reception.

Ideally placed for the Conkers National Forest facilities looked like plenty to do for kids at the waterside and discovery centres. Plenty of walking nearby, a disused railway line walk just outside the site entrance.

National forest walk leaflets available online, found it difficult to fine them otherwise. Small supermarket less than a mile away in Moira. I think the shower block may get a bit busy in peak season but it was spotless and well maintained.

I'd certainly recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: February 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Itsyum 110 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely well kept site with immaculate facilities and very friendly wardens. We stayed during a very snowy weekend in February and ok. The grass was pretty soggy but with a hardstanding pitch we had no problems. There is a nice little kids play area.

The Conkers Adventure centre is a 5 minute walk and has loads and loads for kids and adults to do (you get a discount if you show your C&CC receipt - we got a family day pass for £19).

The site is also in an ideal location for those who enjoy cycling or walking as there are loads of easy cycleways, some on disused railway lines in the area. We are planning to return in the summer! Nice place ! 


Date of Visit: November 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sue ec 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed here on Bonfire Night based on their website which said words to the effect of 'bring your sausage sandwiches and join the camp managers, who will provide the night's entertainment'. We were given a very friendly welcome when we arrived and shown where the water fill up was and to drive round and we'd be shown where to park.

All good. We were shown on to a grass pitch. No mention was made of any fireworks or entertainment until we asked about them. The gentleman seemed surprised that there was a fairground and somewhat shocked that we'd want to visit it.

He also said we'd have to pay full entry in, which seemed a bit rich when we'd paid to stay there. He said that Conkers was 'over there' but we didn't get shown or see any signs. So we gave up and watched the (late) fireworks from our van, along with everybody else - not sure what the 'camp managers' entertainment was.

The facilities looked very good, although we didn't use them. A fish and chip van turned up at 4, which seemed a bit strange, and on our walk round later that evening we saw a sign saying the fish and chip van visited between 6-7 every Saturday. We didn't see any sign of anything to walk to, so we only stayed the one night.

We would go back, as they were very friendly, but I think we'll wait till the weather is warmer so we can just sit and chill. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cegriffy 2 reviews from this member

 What a wonderful site. We stayed for 4 nights over may half term in our folding camper. It was easy to find and the access into the site was excellent. Having arrived early at 12pm we weren't sure if we would have to wait in the car park but had a really warm welcome. The site wardens were so friendly and helpful. The warden took us to our pitch and made sure we were ok to get set up.

Our pitch was grass electric and we had tons of space, it was a little unlevel but not so we needed levels etc.

Wonderful park and playing field for the kids - set far away to not be noisy but within distance to supervise them. They both made friends and loved playing out.

Great facilities, super clean, never queued or waited and heaps of hot water. The family room was really handy.

The site was really quiet at night - no club or people chatting, playing music to the small hours (perfect!) Just peace and quiet.

Lots of lovely walks and trails accessible from the site entrance and conkers discovery centre is right on the doorstep.

We will definitely return again to explore more of derbyshire. 


Previous     86 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Conkers Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Conkers Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Swadlincote      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Stratford Caravan & Motorhome Show 26/06 to 28/06
Over 350 new and used caravans and motorhomes, camp over with 3 nights of fantastic live entertainment, bar and food ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2194 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020