Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Conkers Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Swadlincote > Conkers Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Conkers Camping And Caravanning Club Site
50 Bath Lane
Moira
Swadlincote
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE12 6BD
Tel: 01283 224925
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 82 Reviews
                8/10 from 82 Reviews

Photos (19)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  82 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Campingkings 1 review from this member

Me and my wife have been coming to Conkers CCC for years now, we love the area and the site, over the last year we have noticed the standards start to slip and had started looking at other sites in the area. However we gave it another try this weekend and met the new wardens, although very young, the enthusiasm they have is fantastic and we can see changes to the site already! The site as a little shop which sells the basics, milk, bread, ice cream, camping essentials etc.

The chippy van that attends site on Saturdays is very good and reasonably priced. Loads of walks from site and the Conkers visitors centre is worth a look.
via mobile

Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: 664DaveS 30 reviews from this member

We have just returned from this peaceful site.

We booked a hard standing and were offered a choice by the very friendly wardens.

The hard standings are level and a good size, around the edge of the site. Grass pitches are in the centre, pretty level and well drained, (it was raining hard when we arrived!).

The toilet facilities were very clean, with plenty of hot water.

They are in a wooden hut and in need of updating, I suspect if the site is full would be stretched with waiting required.

The site is surrounded by forest with lots of walking trails to nearby lakes and the canal, there are a couple of pubs within walking distance. Directions at reception.

The Halfway House pub at Donisthorpe does good real ale and food!

At the entrance to the site there is a YHA hostel with a bar and restaurant, you are advised to check for availability. We had afternoon coffee and cake there which was nice.

Conkers centre itself has lots for kids, a mini train, 4D cinema adventure park etc.

There are restaurants at the visitor centres too.

There is a Coop shop in nearby Moira but Burton on Trent is only 7 miles with a choice of shopping.

Its a peaceful site good for relaxing, or walking or cycling in the National Forest. There is some aircraft noise from East Midlands Airport, but its not excessive or intrusive!

TV and phone reception is good, pay for wifi is available.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jonk 18 reviews from this member

A warm and friendly greeting, we were shown to our well maintained pitch. We chose a grass pitch, although there was a lot of rain (mainly at night thank goodness) the pitch drained well and did not become muddy. Good 4G signal (on BT) and television reception. Ideally placed for the Conkers National Forest facilities looked like plenty to do for kids at the waterside and discovery centres. Plenty of walking nearby, a disused railway line walk just outside the site entrance. National forest walk leaflets available online, found it difficult to fine them otherwise. Small supermarket less than a mile away in Moira. I think the shower block may get a bit busy in peak season but it was spotless and well maintained. I'd certainly recommend this site.

Date of Visit: February 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Itsyum 110 reviews from this member

This is a lovely well kept site with immaculate facilities and very friendly wardens. We stayed during a very snowy weekend in February and ok. The grass was pretty soggy but with a hardstanding pitch we had no problems. There is a nice little kids play area. The Conkers Adventure centre is a 5 minute walk and has loads and loads for kids and adults to do (you get a discount if you show your C&CC receipt - we got a family day pass for 19). The site is also in an ideal location for those who enjoy cycling or walking as there are loads of easy cycleways, some on disused railway lines in the area. We are planning to return in the summer! Nice place !

Date of Visit: November 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sue ec 3 reviews from this member

We stayed here on Bonfire Night based on their website which said words to the effect of 'bring your sausage sandwiches and join the camp managers, who will provide the night's entertainment'. We were given a very friendly welcome when we arrived and shown where the water fill up was and to drive round and we'd be shown where to park. All good. We were shown on to a grass pitch. No mention was made of any fireworks or entertainment until we asked about them. The gentleman seemed surprised that there was a fairground and somewhat shocked that we'd want to visit it. He also said we'd have to pay full entry in, which seemed a bit rich when we'd paid to stay there. He said that Conkers was 'over there' but we didn't get shown or see any signs. So we gave up and watched the (late) fireworks from our van, along with everybody else - not sure what the 'camp managers' entertainment' was. The facilities looked very good, although we didn't use them. A fish and chip van turned up at 4, which seemed a bit strange, and on our walk round later that evening we saw a sign saying the fish and chip van visited between 6-7 every Saturday. We didn't see any sign of anything to walk to, so we only stayed the one night. We would go back, as they were very friendly, but I think we'll wait till the weather is warmer so we can just sit and chill.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cegriffy 2 reviews from this member

What a wonderful site. We stayed for 4 nights over may half term in our folding camper. It was easy to find and the access into the site was excellent. Having arrived early at 12pm we weren't sure if we would have to wait in the car park but had a really warm welcome. The site wardens were so friendly and helpful. The warden took us to our pitch and made sure we were ok to get set up.

Our pitch was grass electric and we had tons of space, it was a little unlevel but not so we needed levels etc.

Wonderful park and playing field for the kids - set far away to not be noisy but within distance to supervise them. They both made friends and loved playing out.

Great facilities, super clean, never queued or waited and heaps of hot water. The family room was really handy.

The site was really quiet at night - no club or people chatting, playing music to the small hours (perfect!) Just peace and quiet.

Lots of lovely walks and trails accessible from the site entrance and conkers discovery centre is right on the doorstep.

We will definitely return again to explore more of derbyshire.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wetwellies 7 reviews from this member

Very neat and tidy site with nice small play area. Very calm atmosphere despite frequency of planes overhead. Some of the pitches right near the reception looked a bit cramped where the caravans were but quite spacious in other areas. Shower nice and warm and no queues, it's push button not coin operated. One disadvantage if the site is that the family shower room is rather cramped.

There is a cafe next door serving food and beer which is nice. Conkers activity centre is a five minute walk from the site and great if you have kids under five you can really spend a long day there. Good value for the ticket price and my two year old went free. You also get twenty per cent off if you are staying at this camp site. My husband enjoyed the brewery tour at Burton? About twenty minutes away from site.

This site had a lot of dogs, more than any other site I've ever stayed at which didn't bother us but might be something other people want to consider.

There is a Co op shop nearby, a few minutes away in car.

Ashby de la zouch castle is small but great if there is a themed event on and for a picnic. Staff there really lovely and car park five mins walk away at toddler speed.

Nice pub nearby called Masons Arms. Again, staff very obliging and helpful with our toddler and not busy.

I would recommend this site for doggy people or those with small children.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Chris5mph 30 reviews from this member

Immaculately maintained as usual by the Camping Club. A well designed site with hard standing pitches well spaced around grassy areas, leaving space for tents to be near the facilities and room for kids and others to breath. The occasional plane overhead was not enough to spoil this site, which is convenient for visiting the National Memorial Arboretum. A pity that I was the only driver on site keeping to 5mph (or less).

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bungle 8 reviews from this member

Vowed never to go here again, 3 years ago. Due to a family party I changed a weekend at Warwick Race Course to Conkers as it was closer to the party venue.

Wardens were very friendly, But had to have pitch 40 even though others were empty, other C&CC sites you do get a choice.

There was no problem with the pitch, it was it's location. It was on the outside of the circle, backing on to the tented area.

Constantly plagued by kids and parents playing ball games and throwing frisbies on the grass behind our van. Lost count of the times I had to go out and point out to them, that there was a play area set aside for such things. Ive had this every time we've been here.

To top it all, on the Saturday morning, a lady in a tent, asked me to take our screwed in dog lead up because she couldn't get through the gap between our van and the parked car on the next pitch. The warden had told them to drive between us and our neighbour and not through the tents.

Will not return!

Shower cubicles are too small, water floods the floor and didn't drain very well.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Theshortens 2 reviews from this member

We visited this site with our 14 year old son. Great facilities with disable facilities and a play area for children, and very close to Conkers activity centre. The site is clean and the owners friendly. Recommended.

Previous     82 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2908 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019