Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Auchenfranco Camping & Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries > Auchenfranco Camping & Caravan Site > Reviews

Auchenfranco Camping & Caravan Site
Mains Of Auchenfranco
Lochfoot
Dumfries
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG2 8NZ
Tel: 01387 730473
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5 CCC Only
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 13 Reviews
                9/10 from 13 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:  13 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: LifeInTheSlowLane 2 reviews from this member

 Bit of a lack lustre site, with limited views, down an incredibly pot-holed track. Prices on their website misleading as had to pay more than stated.

As was “up to 5 van rule” which was clearly not the case on most nights. Sometimes 7-8 cramped into a small section of the site.

The adjacent area to walk your dog was a positive note but spiralled down again due to other campers, including the owners dog being allowed off lead which led to the inevitable pile of dog mess around your pitch each day.

Shopping facilities in Dumfries about a 15 minute drive away and Galloway itself is a beautiful place but if we were returning, a choice of a more scenic, orderly site would be preferable. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: ScheminDemon 1 review from this member

 My wife and I had four nights here at the end of June and thoroughly enjoyed the total peace and quiet. Matt, the owner was so helpful and informative about the area. This is a 'Hideaway Site' and has all the essentials, water, electric hookups and chemical disposal but not toilets/showers, these you need to bring with you. The hard standing pitches are large, level and pretty well screened from one another so privacy is good if you want it.

Fresh eggs and home made jams are available from the site information hut, just help yourself and leave the money in the honesty box, now that I've never seen on any site elsewhere. The site is only about 5 miles from Dumfries for shopping, and is very handily placed for exploring the Solway coast and the eastern half of Dumfries and Galloway.

The owner is such a laid back guy (he's almost horizontal), there if you need him but never intrudes, we had to go and find him to pay for our stay just before we left.

All in all this is a great little site which I don't really want to tell everyone about in case it gets too busy and I can't get a booking in the future. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Irishstaffs 2 reviews from this member

 This site is a small peice of heaven, So clean and well kept by Matt and Jane. Wonderful couple, Site does not have shower block or toilets, which is reflected in the price, but if you don't have one in your caravan or tent Matt does have one he hires out for a very small charge, Camp is dog friendly, with lots of walking areas for them.

Jane makes wonderful jams and curds and fresh eggs for very small charge are available in the camp hut which is full of info of places to go and see, lots to see birds kingfishers, woodpeckers much much more on the loch, which if you like fishing has some nice sized pike bream and roach.

We spent many many hours there just watching the world go past, even the jets that do come over a sight to see. They say there could be otters in the loch which I would have loved to have seen(but haven't yet)

If your wanting chill out with a drink bring your own theirs nothing close to hand, but a small drive away, Be sure you sit out on a night and watch the stars, (if its clear)We are looking forward to our return 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jimntrish 2 reviews from this member

 We are currently on our third visit of the year to this wonderful Adults only site. If you love peace and quiet, spacious pitches and an abundance of bird life then this is the site for you.

Matt and Jane are very welcoming and helpful and always on hand if you need them. Lovely fresh eggs, homemade jam and pickles available in site hut. Only a short drive from Dumfries but you would think you are in the middle of nowhere.

Excellent coarse fishing on Lochrutton loch and a great dog walk through the woods. You need to use your van facilities but this isn't an issue to be able to stay on such a great site. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: OberonFoto 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for two nights in September. A lovely site with friendly and very helpful owners. Site is central for visiting Dumfries (8-miles), Castle Douglas (12-miles), Kirkcudbright (20-Miles), Dalbeattie (10-miles) and Rockcliffe.

Pitches fairly level and spacious. There are no toilet/showers on the site but that was a small price to pay for the location.

The grounds were clean, tidy and well maintained. Well worth the visit! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Peasantfarmer 1 review from this member

 We returned for our fourth year to this site. It remains as immaculate as our first visit.

We arrived in pouring (torrential) rain and were helped, by Matt (thank you), to erect our awning to provide a dry area outside the caravan. We all got soaked.

The site has large pitches which are screened from each other with trees and bushes giving each pitch its own private area.

The beauty of the site is that you need to be self contained as there is no toilet block. We were provided with a free parking disc for parking in the centre of Dumfries.

There is a wealth of information about local facilities in the site hut, as well as homemade jam for sale. Dogs are made very welcome and the dog walking area in the wood is superb.

There is fishing available at the loch, with plenty of Roach, Bream and Perch shoals. It's difficult not to catch fish as they are so plentiful.

A very relaxing adults only site 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pamedav38 12 reviews from this member

 A beautiful, little, hideaway site, even in the wet weather. Huge pitches, separated by trees and hedgerows, but not in a uniform way. All you need for a quiet break away, using your own facilities (no toilets, or showers).

There is an Information hut tucked away, with books and maps, and a fridge storing homemade jams and chutneys. Beautiful, short walk through the woods to the loch and the fishing spots.

Friendly, helpful owners.

A bit of a drive to local amenities, so stock up before you arrive but then it wouldn't be a hideaway site otherwise!

Ps the pooch loved it too! 


Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Angieandgary 1 review from this member

 What a lovely little hide away site even at this time of the year, had our pick of the pitches as we were first there for the half term break.

It is an ideal base to visit nearby towns Dumfries about 6 mile, Castle Douglas about 10 mile, Newton Stewart about 47 mile all worth a visit as is the smokey house were we bought some delicious dressed crab.

Owners very pleasant and helpful, when going down the lane to site watch out for sign on right (caravan site)turn into site there don't follow road round to house as you will have to unhitch to turn round as we did but had lots of help from owners,

Will definitely return to this site, must be beautiful in the summer as it has its own loch and fishing is allowed don't forget your tackle lol 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gibbie 6 reviews from this member

 After having toured around scotland for almost 2 weeks in rain and mud we ended our visit here for the last 2 nights - it was the most perfect site and we wish we had been able to stay longer.

Small site with peace and quiet, ideal for walks to the loch and the surrounding area.

The owners were lovely, infact the nicest we have ever met on a site. Matt loaned us a map to climb Lotus hill which we did and the views were unbelievable. We had a small picnic at the top and soaked in the scenery before the descent, well worth it - only took about 2 half hours in total and the dog loved it.

There are no toilet/showers on the site but that was a small price to pay for the location.

You can buy fresh eggs and homemade jam and lemon curd on site what more could you want. We got some lemon curd and its the best I have tasted 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Birdyshambles 3 reviews from this member

 We had a lovely time here. A perfect place for basic camping. The site is very neat and well organised with enough foliage around the pitches for privacy. We hired the toilet tent and portapotty for 75p which Matt set up for us near our tent.

We saw a hare and a deer and enjoyed the peace of the loch despite the drizzel and not catching any fish.

We had a day at kirkudbright, wildlife centre-great value to see very rare animals and snake handling- and fish n chips.

Big tesco at castle Douglas. 


Previous     13 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Auchenfranco Camping & Caravan Site child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Auchenfranco Camping & Caravan Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Auchenfranco Camping & Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Dumfries      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2982 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement