Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Clogher Valley Country Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Northern Ireland > County Tyrone > Clogher > Clogher Valley Country Caravan Park > Reviews

CLOSED: Clogher Valley Country Caravan Park
9 Fardross Road
Clogher
County Tyrone   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 11 Reviews
                8/10 from 11 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note we have been advised that this site has closed, and no longer offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Fmgj 1 review from this member

 Just back from our first visit to this secluded site.

Being so early in the year it was practically empty, but the welcome was warm, freshly made pizza was delivered to our caravan, and yes there are rooks nesting in the tall trees alongside the touring area, but by parking well away we had no problem with them.

Previous reviews had mentioned having to buy electricity cards, but this is now included in the price (£20 per night when we visited)

We enjoyed pleasant woodland walks in Fardross forest just down the road, and the larger Knockmaddy forest 3 miles north of Clougher. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dangermouse11 1 review from this member

 Our Caravan Club have used this campsite on many, many occasions and I/we would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone.

Never have I seen the toilets (or indeed the whole campsite) anything other than spotless. Cleanliness on the campsite is excellent.

Never have I seen a dog not on a lead or dog mess. Dogs are just not a problem at Clogher Valley.

Clogher Valley is what it is. It is a quiet rural retreat for those of us who want to escape the rat race for a few days. It is a family run, unassuming, down to earth campsite in a tranquil rural location.

It belongs to a bygone age when cafes served huge home-made scones with strawberry jam and very little else, when people stopped to talk to you, and when you went out to a restaurant for “a good feed”. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ljm18706 15 reviews from this member

 This caravan park is set in a beautiful part of the country with plenty to do if you take the time to research the area. Killymaddy Tourist Information Centre provides plenty of literature on the area.

The park itself is clean, tidy and well looked after with spotless toilets and showers.

There are however 2 major problems with this park.

Firstly there is a stream running through the park which needs to be completely fenced in. It was a major concern for my wife and I that when the kids were out playing the risk and danger of this stream was always there. Total relaxation was not an option.

Secondly the cost of electric was very high. We spent £12 on electric cards for a 3 night stay and other campers told us that they had spent even more. This is as much as we would use at home in a week!

Apart from these 2 issues this park is of a high standard and Neil and Sandra who own the park are a lovely couple.

We will not return to this park unless future reviews tell us of an improvement in the stream issue and a reduction in the electric costs. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Derm712 5 reviews from this member

 For a start really impressed you could book and pay online, at last a caravan site in NI hits the 21st century. Add to this on site Wi-Fi.

Very impressive site all round, roads are tarmaced and the pitches are all hardstanding and a good size.

As other reviewers have mentioned the electric is extra, but we were there for a five night stay and the £5 card easily covered it.

The facilities are excellent, really clean and showers were powerful and warm.

The on site coffee shop serves nice homemade lunches, scones etc and is open Tues-Sun.

Forest is two min drive away and has a couple of really nice dog walks.

The owners have spent a lot on this site and are very relaxed and friendly. A great find, especially since the road upgrade. Will definitely go back. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: January 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Nellybellmotorhome 18 reviews from this member

 This park is in a lovely part of the country. It's quite flat and is located near a picturesque woodland and a small stream flows through it.

All pitches are nice and flat with water points and electric hook-ups by most. The only downside was, you had to pay extra for electric and it had a tendency run out when you were watching a lot of TV. A large amenities block was close to the touring area with toilets, sinks, showers etc.

They also have a coffee shop on site which looked great, but was closed when we stayed at the site (it was January).

The staff weren't about much, but were very friendly and helpful. We when we were there, it was quiet as only one other family there, which made a relaxing break.

Just up the road, Fardross Forest Park has many great, short and beautiful walks that are definitely worth trying.

Overall, a great park, recommended. 


Date of Visit: November 2010 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Liverpoolfan62 1 review from this member

 My brother and I visited this site in the middle of a very cold November day. The purpose was to see if we liked the location for a module home which my friend was going to buy. The first thing we noticed was the size of the park. It has plenty of space and led to a very pleasant walk way which ran through a beautiful woodland and transparent stream. Made it the perfect get away from city life. The Sommers cafe makes wholesome and hearty home made soups and scones. If you have a horse and you want to bring it on holiday then this is the perfect site as they have stables.  


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sunshine21 5 reviews from this member

 This is a purpose built site and was lovely and clean and tidy. The owners were very friendly and helpful, keen to help or give advice. There is a coffee shop on site. We were welcome to walk around the vast site which also has a river running by nearby. The facilities were good with soap in the toilets, free showers, good laundry facilities. You only pay for what electric you use. The vending machine was a good idea, having chocolate, crisps, electric cards, etc. Forest nearby which was nice. Good signposting to site and handy off main road. There was a playground for kids. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Clairemichelle 2 reviews from this member

 We chose to stay here because we were visiting family in Omagh (20 miles away) The site is small with 34 pitches.

We had travelled over from South of England and we had an over night sailing, which meant we were at the site for 9 am. There was a note on the reception door to say to phone the owner, which we did. The owner quickly turned up and made us feel very welcome, and didn't find our early arrival a problem. Nor was it a problem when we didn't want to leave the site until late on our last day.

We were told to pitch our tent in a certain area, but when we checked it out it really wasn't suitable for a large tent, unless we wanted it on concrete! The owner's wife appeared and found us a much more suitable pitch where we could put the tent up behind a hardstanding area and still reach electric.

I think this site is geared more for caravans as the pitches are neat hardstanding areas, and not many areas for family tents.

The site is very clean and tidy with good new toilet and shower facilities (free and hot!), there is also an indoor washing up area and a washing machine and tumble drier. There is a play area, a cafe and a stream running through the site. The owners also have a couple of friendly dogs and ponies which love attention (to the enjoyment of my 4 yr old!)

The electric is on a pre-paid card that you can purchase from the owner, cafe or a vending machine. The cards are either £1 or £5. We stayed for 6 nights and only spent £3.00

The site is near Fardross forest and is in a quiet location. There are a few shops in nearby Clogher and Fivemile Town (nice kebab shop!)

Also on site is a log cabin that you can rent out if you don't want to camp.

Overall we were very happy with our stay and it was a very relaxing stay. Everyone was friendly especially the owner and his wife 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sgtzara 6 reviews from this member

 Me and the Mrs have just returned home after a 7 night stay at this caravan park.

We found it great value for money at only £15 a night. The electric is metered, you only buy in advance what you need. The cards come in either £1 or £5 form and they simply slide into a card slot at your electric hook up point at your pitch. We spent £6 in electricity over the 7 nights, working out cheaper than paying a flat rate of £1.50 or whatever per night that most other sites do.

There are 20 touring pitches, all hardstanding with electric hook up and a water tap. They are well spaced out over the site and you never feel too close to your neighbours.

I'm pleased to report that the new toilet block is now opened. It's absolutely immaculate. Very clean and well finished inside. The showers are free and where nice and warm no matter what time of day we went.

On arrival, there was no one in the receiption building but there was a notice on the door to phone when you arrive. The staff live on site and sure enough, they where over within a minute or two of us phoning. The staff where very helpful and friendly.

The site itself is well situated within striking distance of Enniskillen to the west and Dungannon/Armagh to the east and Monaghan to the south. We had no problems putting out time in and visited Belleek Pottery, Tyrone Crystal, Castle Leslie in Monaghan (Louis Walsh's 'home' on the X-Factor) and did plenty of walks around Castle Archdale Forest, Knockmany Forest, Ely Lodge, Lough Navar Forest. There are also beautiful National Trust properties at Castle Coole, Florence Court, Crom, The Argory, Ardress House within easy reach.

The site is situated around 1.5m from the quaint village of Clougher. It has a chippy and chinese for those lazy nights in and the main garage in the town also does a mean fry in the morning.

Overall, a great site, well run, laid out, clean and handy for exploring the local are. 


Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in County Tyrone

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3597 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement