Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Kinnego Marina Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Northern Ireland > N Ireland > Co Armagh > Kinnego Marina Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Kinnego Marina Caravan & Camping Park
Oxford Island
Lurgan
Co Armagh
N Ireland   (Browse area)
BT66 6NJ
Tel: 028 3832 7573
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 19
Open: 03/07/2020 to 31/12/2020
           01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 18 Reviews
                8/10 from 18 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  18 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Logran 1 review from this member

 We stayed in a POD for 1 night & had a great time. It was v clean & came with its own decking area with table & a picnic table with bbq.

The kids loved the park & the forest walks.

Small recommendation would be a mat inside the POD for wet feet & we would have eaten in the cafe if opening hours where later than 5pm & inside eating was allowed.

Would definitely return, the price was very reasonable too. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Wilmam 1 review from this member

 Liked neat and tidy well maintained secure site.

Also liked the cafe and scenery. Staff very helpful and pleasant. Very child friendly yet no problems for us oldies!

Nothing I didnít like and we will return to Kinnego for our lovely walks. Didnít check this time for information on local bus service but when back that could be something we would want.

Thank you to your staff. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Lindaj 1 review from this member

 Facilities great. Good communication. Pleasant stay. Staff were very helpful as the website wouldn't take booking they processed it over phone.

Perfect for a summer evening at Lough Neagh. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Edgree 1 review from this member

 We always liked Kinnego Marina site, particularly on a clear weekend.

With a slight breeze the sound of the mast ropes hitting against the boat masts is very relaxing.

If the lough water is calm there is a great reflection from the water. The on site facilities are good 


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mijgh1 1 review from this member

 Excellent site, very clean, pitches good size with plenty of space between pitches, well maintained.

Toilet and shower blocks very good,

Good location. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Irenak 1 review from this member

 The campsite is really lovely and worth to go. Many places to walk, very good.

But I will not recommend their toilets and showers facility. Too many spiders. Very difficult to use tap water to was your hands. The water is running only when somebody is pushing the top of the tap, is enough to take a hand of for a second and water is not running again, you need to wait a wile.

This is very unique system, from the worse point. I have been camping in many places but this toilet facilities are the worse one. 😭 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Marydo 1 review from this member

 Great there was wash and toilet facilities.

Too much noise after 11pm, people playing loud music and sitting in theire cars as there car alarm kept going off. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: NIAndy 1 review from this member

 Just home from Kinnego Marina and thought I'd put up a first review. Have to say, bar the flies we have enjoyed every moment of it.

As a parent of someone that has a physical disability I have to say that it is fully accessible. Disabled facilities are accessible via Radar key.

Check in is at 13:00 and check out is at 12:00. Gates to the site close at 21:00 but you are given a key in return for a £10 deposit. This also has the key to the shower block.

There is two areas for tents, one with electric hook up and one without. The site with electric would comfortably take 4 large tents, the other will take 6-8.

Play park is also accessible and not that far from the tent pitches. We were able to call our two from the tent to return.

There is a forest walk nearby and of course the marina itself if you are into any watersports( although I think you need to register these with the office).

There is wifi but it is only good around the reception block for phones and tablets (but hey, your camping, who needs wifi??! )

As mentioned in some other reviews I have read, there is a Chinese, Friar Tucks, and off license 10 minutes drive away. As is the town of Lurgan.

There is a cafe on site which opens 09:30-17:00 and you get a one off discount voucher for 10%.

Outside the reception block are picnic tables that will take disposable BBQs there is also a large fire pit that I suppose you could lite if feeling adventurous. There are also Glamping pods if you wanted to be a little more up-market.

As mentioned, bar the flies, it's a clean site.

Dogs are welcomed also. Just keep them on a lead.

So mostly positive.

However negatives would be the flies! (getting a theme here). The amenity block could do with some updating I suppose but for the price of £16 a night you can't expect the Hilton. It is based on price per adult, not the size of the tent. I would advise that you get there as close to check in so that you get a good choice.

Staff are really friendly and helpful. In fact we found that the nearby town of Lurgan was friendly also. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: TravellinPam 7 reviews from this member

 A well run site now with friendly staff and 24 hour security. There are approximately 12 hardstanding grass covered pitches for motorhomes and caravans with EHU and water, 2 areas for tents and what looks like an overspill area of hardstanding only, for more motorhomes or caravans. I wouldn't have liked to have been in this latter part as it looks like just a bit of the car park. The site is owned by the local council and there are plans to expand as it is becoming very popular. There are three camping pods. Access is very easy less than 5 minutes from the M1 motorway and good wide entrance. In the past reviewers mentioned problems with noise, but now there is a warden who stays until 9 o'clock, and then a security firm take over and patrol the area until 8 the following morning. It was very quiet when we stayed with the exception of a birthday party that was going on in one of the Pods. The music wasn't terribly loud though and stopped about 11. I think the security man 'had a word'. The external gate is locked at 9 stopping access to the whole of Kinnego and you have a key for this. There are also internal height limit gates at the entrance to the camping and marina which you are not given a key for so I don't know why they bother giving you a key for the external gate, you could only get out if you had a car and tent say or if you left your caravan behind. For emergencies (in a motorhome!) you are given the security mans number.

Being right on the shores of lough neagh there are lots of walks leaving right from the site. There is a boat slipway (£5 per launch and retrieve) for boats and if you bring your boat you get to put it in the marina on site for free during your stay in the campsite. There are seasonal boat trips to Coney Island, and there is also fishing, a good children's play/fun area, and a kids sailing scheme operates at times during the summer. They also run Bushcraft days, archery etc. At times. Within the complex there is a cafe, and we were given a discount voucher for it although we didn't try it. You are given a key for the toilets, showers and washing up areas. There is a laundry room with machines and tumble driers. The older facilities building could do with a bit of a refurb and I believe this is on the cards soon. The site is dog friendly with lots of places to walk. Some areas are lead only. Ours get a run in a big wildflower meadow with beehives in which is usually empty and only a minutes walk from the site. Quite a lot of people come here just for the day to picnic or launch boats, walk dogs or use the play park so on a sunny weekend it can seem a bit busy and kids can cycle through the camping area if they want. It was never a favourite site of ours due to the lack of control and security but I think that has now been addressed. The council and staff seem keen to make the camping park a nice place to come and stay and I think they are succeeding. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Maggie17 1 review from this member

 First time camping and we chose here.

When we checked in the boy wasn't very helpful. Just pointed to an area and said over there. Gave me the keys and didn't tell me what they where for. Fortunately another employee took me over and explained where I was going to find that I was actually EUH and the younger boy had told me the wrong place!

So we pitched up and had lovely scenery views of the lough and park-areas looked clean and tidy. Tent area wasn't very busy and all was well. Until nightfall and the wardens had gone home.

First its worth noting that they have huge floodlights that point out onto the tent areas. Not good when trying to get your kids to sleep let alone yourself. Also because of this you will be attacked by all the flys on the way to the shower rooms.

They also let tents of young people stay. This isnt a problem in my eyes until the drinking starts and the music?, singing?, and loud shouting voices start. This in turn leads to them using the bathroom continuously through the night banging the doors each time. Which is very loud in the middle of the night!

There's a cafe on site which you get a 10% discount voucher for your stay. Food was good and well priced. There's a petrol station, chinese takeaway, winemark and a fryers tuck a 5 minute drive away.

All in all it was nice to stay and I wouldn't cross it off my list but don't think I could stay more then three nights and maybe not at a weekend. 


Previous     18 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Kinnego Marina Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Kinnego Marina Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Kinnego Marina Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Co Armagh      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in N Ireland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2803 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to £865

Get an email reminder on 1st December