Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Ashfield Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Co Durham > Hartlepool > Ashfield Caravan Park Reviews

Ashfield Caravan Park
Dalton Piercy
Hartlepool
Co Durham   (Browse area)
TS27 3HY
Tel: 07787 568165  or  01429 269969
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 108
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 36 Reviews
                8/10 from 36 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  36 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Anth3103 1 review from this member

 Considering the very wet weather over the weekend me and the family had a fantastic stay. The grounds held up very well against the shear downfalls we received. Our pitch was on hard standing along with hard standing for our awning. Shower block was heated with lovely pressure and never lost any heat regardless of the users. Lovely clubhouse with large selection of drinks and snacks. Friendly staff always happy to help. Plenty of shops nearby (say within 5 mins of the site). Will be back soon if we don't decide on a seasonal pitch. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jacknpolly08 1 review from this member

 We have stayed at this site quite a few times since the end of last year.

The owners Andrea and Mark, are friendly and work hard to keep the site in good order.

The site is secure, with fob activated barriers(fob provided for a £10 deposit, refundable on return). The shower blocks are modern clean and spacious, with a toilet, shower, wash basin, seat, and plenty of hooks, there's even bright coloured hooks at children's level, and plenty of hot water.

the club on site is open at weekends its not huge but is comfortable and modern with sofa seating, and the drinks are very reasonably priced, and you are made to feel welcome.

There is a children's play area outside of the club house with swings etc.

The pitches are a good size and the £20 a night fee covers everything, no extra charges for awnings or per person.

Electric is a card system and works well.

There is also an area for tents near the club.

its only a short drive into hart for an aldi, tesco express, takeaways(also deliver to site) Hartlepool has a good range of shops and a great marina, we visit seaton carew for great fish and chips, and the Headland is a good sea fishing spot.

We would definitely recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ianisaac 1 review from this member

 Just spent a lovely four days at Ashfield. The site was beautiful and clean. Showers were lovely clean and spacious and the club house was excellent and mark and Andrea could not do enough to make us feel at home. Will definitely be going back. Great site 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: 9tiger9 15 reviews from this member

 Nice quiet site, reasonably level stayed 3 nights just to test it out for later visits. Handy for anywhere really from Durham to Sunderland. Club house on the small side if site was full but did the job. Toilets and showers kept clean but site was only about a 1/3 full with what looked like a lot of regulars. Access of A19 a bit daunting at peak times as you have to cross both southbound lanes if comming up from the south ! Run through Dalton Piercy is easy unless you meet the effluent wagon halfway up the hill out of the village ! Owners don't live on-site but we're there in 5 mins of us arriving. Negatives, if you like a clean car, forget it as the access lane is very dusty ! If you like a clean van don't back it up to the top hedge as there is a dusty track behind it and it's well used ! Would I return, yes. 


Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jimbob2016 1 review from this member

 I came to this camp site. It was so good. Handy for my work. Very friendly and it was also nice. Grass cut. Toilets and showers good. Would definitely recommend anybody to come and all so I would come back thanks

Jimbob 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Brenda and malcolm 1 review from this member

 Just got back after the bank holiday weekend had a lovely time at this caravan park. The site is nice and kid friendly and staff very helpful will be going back

The facilities were clean enough I would recommend this site 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mink 4 reviews from this member

 Good point about site location. Nothing like the web page. I was really disappointed with this site it looks neglected. Facilities are run down and tired, Childrens park old and in need of repair, could be nice site with a little bit of TLC. Looks like storage for tourers. Booked three nights left after two. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Homerml 3 reviews from this member

 Just came back from a holiday from hell. We have never been to such a run-down site but strangely there was over 40 permanent sited caravans and yet the site needs to be renovated.

The taps not in the shower rooms are the push sort but only last one second and are green with lime scale. The taps in the shower rooms are the twist sort but are also green with lime scale and some are loose. Everything is rusting. The sinks, shelves, shower traps and almost everything else is rusting. The extractor fans in the shower rooms didnít work and as for the hand-dryer donít bother. Its rubbish. They only seemed to but be cleaned on the weekend and then only bleach down the toilets. There is only soap in the main area and not in the showers rooms which also contains the toilets.

The shop was never open but they only sold chocolate and cans of pop anyway. The childrenís play area is rusting to pieces and is falling apart. The track down to the park and around the park are full massive potholes. Itís easier to drive on the grass. The washing up area only had two sinks which neither had plugs. The grey disposal in that area smelt and had no pipe to rinse your waste container.

I think there was a shooting range next to the site, there were constant bangs, so no good for dogs.

The website needs updating because now the electric on site is via a card meter. There was never anyone on site at reception and so were given a mobile numbers to call if you needed help but it just rang and rang. We didnít feel safe on site because according to one of the permanent sited caravan owners said that some gypsyís were living on-site. In fact one day a drunk man walked up to our car and had a good look inside and then wanted to see our caravan. We left the next morning.

I would not recommend this site at all, avoid! 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Justmotoring 5 reviews from this member

 I was really disappointed with this site. It is graded at 4* but it isn't clear when the inspection took place. The owners had, at one time, obviously spent quite a bit of money on the site but it is starting to look neglected.

First the good points. The situation is lovely in a beautiful quiet area a little off the beaten track but with quick and easy access to Hartlepool, Stockton-on-Tees and the surrounding areas. The games area looked good and well used but we didn't use this. The club house wasn't available when we were there.

The other facilities are run down and tired. Taps in the toilets are green and some are loose. The hand driers are ineffectual - I can 'huff' harder! In the showers the waste drains down from one shower then up the drain in the next and so on down the line. There is no seating in the showers. I decided not to bother with the shower as it was grubby looking. A mop was provided for cleaning but there was nowhere to empty the mop bucket or re-fill with warm water so using the mop would only spread any dirt.

The wash up area only has two sinks, neither of which have plugs. Bowls and drainers are not provided - or if they were they have 'walked'. The grey disposal in within the wash-up area and is more than a little smelly. The bin in this area was overfull and overflowing - it obviously hadn't been emptied for some time.

Electric is by card meter, we were told any balance would be refunded. That would have been fine except that when we wanted to leave the site no one was at reception and calling the mobile numbers given gave no joy - they just rang and rang. In the end we put the card and the key to the toilet block through the letter box after waiting the best part of an hour. We had told the owners the time we intended to leave so no excuses for them not being available. I am just pleased there was no emergency on site.

It appears that many of the units on the site are there on a permanent basis. As some look in need of a bit of TLC and the grass around them has not been trimmed for a while this adds to the air of general neglect.

I will not be returning and can't recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Andy D

 Visited with my son after school with a view to booking up for the weekend for camping with tent. To be told we don't accept tents even though their website still has tent tariff on. Suggested via email they alter their website. Disappointed as my son liked the look of the site and close to Hartlepool. Elwick Village has shop and public house. 


Previous     36 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Ashfield Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Ashfield Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Ashfield Caravan Park dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Hartlepool      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Co Durham

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5042 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement