Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Eviedale Cottages And Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Evie > Eviedale Cottages And Campsite Reviews

Eviedale Cottages And Campsite
Eviedale
Evie
Orkney Islands   (Browse area)
KW17 2PJ
Tel: 07977066994
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 15
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 9 Reviews
                9/10 from 9 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   No Bar   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chingers 2 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of an 11 night tour of the Orkney islands. The site is in a good location and as we have a dog we stayed on the site over the road from the main facilities but we had the good views and a very sheltered pitch. Toilet and washing facilities were clean and well maintained but somewhat limiting for the size of the site with 1 shower and 1 toilet for the gents and 1 shower and 2 toilets for the ladies. Washing up was in a sink outside the toilet block. Over the whole trip from southern England we used 7 different sites but never paid more than half what was charged at Eviedale. We would have loved to have stayed here longer but with other sites nearby with much better facilities and a third of the price it didn't make sense.

Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

NOW REOPEN ! Due to the retirement of the previous management in September of 2014 this site was closed from 2015 to 2016, but it is now under new management taking bookings for the 2017 season and on.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fotojet 5 reviews from this member

Lovely camping, which is split in 2 parts by the main road. On the higher part you had an breathtaking view over Eynhallow Sound & Rousay. On the lower part there was a sheltered pitch between the trees. On this side was also the toilet block. Cars had to be parked on the parking place, but we still managed to pitch our tent very close to the car, so we could use electricity from our car. We didn't need the electricity though, for it didn't get dark before 11 pm and it got light at 3 am again!

The toilets were very clean, but after cleaning the taps were closed very tight, so I couldn't always open them. The man's toilet had a sink under the window, so you could place your toiletry in the window. The female toilets didn't have a separate sink, so you had to place your toiletries on the toilet. The showers had a curtain only and needed a 20p coin, which were placed by the door, outside the curtains. You had a long water, which could be adjusted to your own heat. One of the female toilets couldn't be used whilst someone was taking a shower, because of privacy. This was never a problem, for the camping was very quiet.

The sink for the dishes was outside. There was a table where you could put the dishes on after washing up, but you had to walk 1 meter to that. After washing up you had to be careful in throwing away the water: under the sink was no pipe, so the water splashed up your legs.

On the camping were several pickic tables, which were great to sit!

On Fridays there's a fish & chips van in Finnstown, which was great.

There was a very small shop in Eviedale, for larger shoppings you had to go to Kirkwall, a 20 minute drive by car.

From the camping you could easily drive to all the parts of Orkney.

There was no reception, but the warden came in the morning to collect the money. If you had questions, you could call. There was wi-fi, but this only worked at the higher part of the camping.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Floss88 6 reviews from this member

Quiet site which is split in 2. You can stay in the part with the shower block which is very pretty or over the road in a larger site. Very well looked after site that is a credit to the owners. Showers are 20p and there is an honesty box in the block where they ask for 50p if you want to use your mobile chargers or hairdryers etc. We used the site as a base to travel around Orkney. Only advice would be is to make sure you take enough supplies as the only shop is very limited (i. E one pint of milk). Make sure you visit the social club above the shop though. Takes you back in time but everyone is very friendly

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tisfortom 8 reviews from this member

I like this site, so much so I extended my stay the whole time I was on Orkney. Because of the size of the island your never too far from where you need to go. It is a quiet site and small, your almost in the owners back garden unless you camp across the road where the views are great but its a longer walk to the shower block.

Two peeps and a 3 man tent worked out at £9 a night which is great value. Showers were 20p which gave you plenty of time to get showered, Running hot water was very hot! There is space to clean dishes outside the toilet block but be aware. Don't stand to close to the sink as it empties through a hole and `drops` to the drain below.

Nearby is a small shop which sells little due to the fact your in middle of nowhere, but handy for milk and bread. Above the shop is a small bar which only opens fri, Sat and on Tues for pool nights. This was never busy but the locals here were so friendly and engaging.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mikenlynne 1 review from this member

A great little site with simple efficient facilities. A bonus is the lack of space for camper vans and no dogs (a much more welcome idea than that of 'no children' offered by another Orkney site!).

The site is split by a road which is not busy and both fields are small so not too many neighbours. In fact we only ever had the company of two other tents for any night in a fortnight.

Helpful and friendly owners and a really peaceful location. There is a local shop which doubles as a bar on some nights.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Flippsy 14 reviews from this member

What a lovely site. Small, split in two it's true by a very quiet main road, but a gem. I hesitate to recommend it in case it becomes too busy.

We spent 10 days on this site, in the field on the opposite side of the road from the one with the 'facilities', but with our tent much nearer to them than we had been on all the big sites we stayed on elsewhere.

We were alone in the field some nights with only the view over the 'sound' to Rousay to look at, and the starry sky!

The facilities are very clean, modern, sufficient for numbers using the site (even in August), and perfectly adequate for personal ablutions with a generous shower for 20p. No-one objects to paying that, when the daily rates for tents look like something we paid in the 70's.

The washing up is with hot water but at a sink that is unprotected from any rain. But hey - if it rains you can leave your washing up outside the tent and it will be clean by morning!

The two camping areas are sheltered with shrubs and walls, so there was not too much to fear from the famous Orkney wind. The fields are gated, so your children should be safe enough, and 'no dogs allowed' must be a plus for them too.

There's no washing machine, but no doubt there's a laundrette in Kirkwall. It's next door to a farm so there were occasional sounds of mooing and associated smells, but of course that's what you get in the country.

You also can't park by your tent - but the parking is so close to each field, that it really is not a problem. The site owners are laid back and very friendly.

This site won't suit everyone and they don't have room for monster tents or caravans. But it's perfect for smaller units who like the simple life. What a pleasure. Can't wait to go back.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Simon49 1 review from this member

Stayed on this site for 4 nights while I toured the mainland. Very nice little site with fields either side of the main road. Facilities are basic but very clean. The warden was very amiable and helpful. Picnic tables available and sitting having breakfast watching skuas flying over site from the moor above was lovely. Very handy for coast. If they will take dogs will be returning again with my wife and dogs this summer.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ruth_e_williams 2 reviews from this member

Really lovely campsite if you want basic, but quiet and beautiful. Shower/toilet block small but perfectly adequate and was always clean. Sink outside for washing up which had lots of very hot water. Two camping fields - one next to small car park, the other across the road. You can't park the car next to the tent on either, but it's small site, so your close to the car park if you're on that side of the road. If you are on the other side then there is a track behind the field that you can park on which then means it's close anyway.

They don't take bookings but when I rang, the man said they've not had to turn anyone away in 3 years so shouldn't be a problem. You just pitch where you like and then they come round and put a number by you. I can't imagine it gets full enough to make overcrowding a problem.

The field was well maintained - grass had obviously been regularly cut and the field was pretty flat. If you don't see anyone then there is an honesty box in the toilet block. There is a shop just up the road, but we didn't actually use it. Not much else around but the view from the field over the road was stunning. It was good value for money and if you want a nice, quiet, well maintained campsite with stunning views on Orkney, then this is a site for you.

The only reason I've given a lower mark for child-friendliness is that if on the second field you'd have a road to cross to get to the toilet/shower block. You could just pitch on the other side, but you'd miss out on the view.


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Orkney Islands

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4593 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019