Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Upton Barn Caravan And Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Warwickshire > Nuneaton > Upton Barn Caravan And Camping Site Reviews

Upton Barn Caravan And Camping Site
Lake View Manor Farm
Upton
Nuneaton
Warwickshire   (Browse area)
CV13 6JX
Tel: 01455 212374
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 45
Open: March To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 36 Reviews
                7/10 from 36 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  36 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Holanana 2 reviews from this member

The site is in a lovely, secluded, quiet area, unfortunately that's the only positive for me. The site is very tired and dated. The standard of clean certainly didn't match mine. At eye level it appeared to be ok but just look up, I've never seen so many spider's webs, the ceiling in the ladies meagre block is moldy and falling down. There are 2 toilets and 2 showers for a site that had about 350 people on it. The pot wash area was a joke, there was a sign warning about the hot water, we couldn't fill a cup never mind a bowl, my husband and I had to go into the toilet blocks to fill our jugs with warm water and take them to the pot wash area. The rubbish area needs a bit of tweaking, it needs closed units to post your various items of rubbish, (plastics, paper, glass etc), you could smell it a long way off.

Someone near us had a problem when their electric tripped around 0800 but they had to wait for someone to be in the office to get it sorted and turned back on. The ladies in the restaurant were lovely, the service good. Some of the other staff on the site were downright grumpy to the point of rude!

This place could put you off camping if it was your first jaunt.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Leafxxx 1 review from this member

What a strange little campsite. The actual campsite itself was just lovely. Lots of space, lovely well kept grass, pretty fishing pond and even in the adjoining field which is also beautifully kept, there is an activity field so you could play ball, run the dog what ever.

The thing is, the rest of it is a bit tired. Only two toilets for ladies and the same for gents. The showers the same. We were informed that they were cleaned four times a day which they well could have been. They didn't look dirty just old and I tied. The pub was also a bit tired when it could have been so much more as the setting is great. I think what it needs is an awful lot of money spending on it and it would be amazing but like I said, the campsite itself is just lovely. Not sure I would want to go in their swimming pool though.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ian cobden 8 reviews from this member

This is a generally a good site which has some character. The good points are the lake as my children loved feeding the ducks, the big field at the back of the park (although could have done with some football posts or basketball net to improve it), the swimming pool, there's a restaurant which we didn't use as we are vegetarian including our children and couldn't find a vegetarian menu options outside - there may have been inside but we prefer to see the options before we go in to avoid embarrassment if they have nothing suitable available). The other campers seemed friendly and my children made friends easily. The pitches are sheltered and you have a choice of where to pitch. The negatives are there is no playground despite saying on here there is and on their website it says children's play area which suggests play equipment. Apparently there used to be one and we went to the site thinking it was still there after it was listed on here as having one so we had 2 disappointed children although they were happy in the end with kicking a football around. The other negative would be no-one asked while we were there if everything was ok as we have had on all other campsites we have stayed on. We don't want to be asked everyday but once during our stay would have been nice. The lady that booked us in rushed off without telling us anything about the area or offering leaflets on it. Also there didn't seem to be anyone enforcing any rules such as wardens as we had a ball hit our car by children and adults playing football after 10pm in the dark around the tents while making a lot of noise which woke our light sleeper son up. Overall a nice site but needs a few tweaks for us to go back.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sorrelstar 11 reviews from this member

If Carling made Campsites! In my opinion we have stumbled upon a little gem and this is the best site we've visited. Upton Barn is not luxury, not expensive, not full with superb shiny facilities but is honest, friendly, value for money and for us ticks every box.

Only being 20 minutes away, we had to try it out plus having read it had a pool and on site bar/restaurant was a bonus. We arrived on the Friday afternoon with a very friendly welcome from 'Upton Angie' and were given pitch 13 opposite the fishing pool. The pitches are grass, large and flat, plenty of space. We asked to book the pool and paid £1. 50 each kid. Yes the pool is quite old & a bit run down, but the water was super warm & we had nearly two hours in it.

The toilet block has 2 loos and 2 showers each for men and women - yes they're also a bit run down but were clean with paper & the owners are aware and planning a new block. They were quite adequate though. There is only one outdoor washing sink but in a caravan you do have a washing up facility and if not this was fine to use.

For us the 'piece de resistance' was Saturday night in Joey's bar - what a lovely surprise. The barn houses a bar/disco complete with lighting, full sound system, karaoke, snack bar, pool table & games. We loved it! The kids all had a whale of a time and the staff bent over backwards to make our stay enjoyable.

We are looking to keep our caravan here and visit frequently as it costs only £4 each per night we can't fault this great site.

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Phil m72 2 reviews from this member

Just got back from a 4 night visit on the upside entrance is good with electric security gate and cctv. Pitches are very large and flats with grass kept well. Fishing lake was good with plenty of sport. On the downside toilet block poor in gents there was no heating only 2 showers and toilets which I didn't see cleaned until last day. Elson point was dirty and smelly. Electric kept tripping and could not reset at box, had to ring numbers given with no response. Had to use gas and battery all night twice, why was I paying for electric. This site needs improving if they want to charge the prices they do. All in all very over priced and would not visit again

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: 0066NDH 1 review from this member

Nice level well kept site in a quiet area. The staff are friendly and happy to help. Large pitches so plenty of room. The site has a bar and the food in the restaurant is super. Lots of space for the kids to play as has an activity field and a playground. Nice fishing lake which is free to use and also has a swimming pool which is open every day and you just pay a fee when you want to use it. All the facilities are dated but work ok. Only down side is there is only 2 showers and 2 toilets in both the male and female blocks. This was fine when the site was quiet but when it got busy you had to wait and they got dirty quickly so could do with being cleaned more often and they are also quite a trek across the site to get to. No local shops so could do with a small shop on site for milk etc. In general not a bad place to visit.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Redfamilywilliams 1 review from this member

Well, where do I start? By addressing some of the negatives I think. The toilets - still only 2 ladies loos, but so what? My wife and teenage daughter didn't have to queue once, they aren't tatty, they've been cladded and are scrupulously clean. The restaurant prices? We didn't eat in the restaurant, but had bar snacks in the conservatory, I had faggots, my wife the chicken curry, my son chicken nuggets and my daughter the lasagne. All were superb, just over £20 for us all and served with a big smile! Yes the restaurant is more expensive but if the quality matches the price, well.

The pool. The glass is blown a bit, but the water is warm (and wet) and it will definitely do!

The pitches were massive and flat, took my 10 berth tent and porch easily, we could have taken our second porch for the other side and still fitted it on!

Can' really comment on the play area, but the activity area was great with lots of room to run around in all that fresh air.

The fishing was superb, lots of small carp but an 11lb Common on 3lb line was quite exciting!

Anything to pick up on? Another washing up sink wouldn't go amiss, a set of 5 a side posts in the activity area would entice dads from the fishing and re-acquaint them with their kids area and maybe, just maybe, the pool should be rehoused!

I loved this relaxing, friendly and laid back site, if it's not for you, go and pay £60 a night at a 'commercial' site and don't forget to to study the rule book(s).

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Stuart2054 3 reviews from this member

This is a very rural, level site with good access and grass pitches that have plenty of space between them. It was busy the weekend we visited with a few large groups but noise was never an issue.

We had a takeaway from the bar on Friday night fish and chips and burgers were all very good and the beer was not bad either.

Reading other reviews I now understand their comments. The pool looks I inviting yet people in our party that used it said it was fine. I don't fish so can't comment on that except to say the lake certainly adds appeal to the site. We were in a caravan and made use of our own loo so toilet facilities don't worry us but the chemical disposal point has to be the overall low point of the site. On the first visit it was old, dirty and very smelly, on the second visit it was blocked with waste all too visible making a bad situation even worse. I was unable to find anyone on site to report it to

Overall the site could do with a good tidy up, the string of rubbish skips and old trailer for recycling waste is a good idea but do not provide a good welcome to the site nor do the green caravans with overgrown grass around them. This could be a truly great site with that tidy up and a bit of attention in some key areas

Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Scottysophie 1 review from this member

Just arrived back home after a weekend away here. After reading some of the negative feedback I had my reservations however I'm so pleased we decided to make up our own mind. On arrival we were met by angie- who was lovely. Quick and easy to book in and was even told we could pick our own pitch.

We choose pitch 13 overlooking the lake. Pitches were grass only but relativity flat so had no problems. 10amp electric hook up-not suitable for some but fine for us.

Swimming pool was clean and hot- and amazingly empty which kept my 7year old entertained.

Ventured into the bar which was very friendly-staff happy to help.

Sat night we went over to the 2nd bar/entertainment and was extremely suprised- music, dance floor, smoke machine and strobe lighting. Was also a food bar offering chips burgers snd hot dogs for 1. 50each-saves cooking.

Yes the toilet block only has 2toilets and showers but this posed no problem they were kept immaculate and at no time during the weekend did I have to wait to use them.

The fishing lake had well marked pitches and was well maintained.

Overall we had a lovely stay. This site will not be for all- as you can read from previous comments however I do feel this is due to over pickiness. Its a rural good old fashioned country site that ticked the boxes for us. Weve already booked up for our next visit.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Bridget17 13 reviews from this member

Just back from a brilliant weekend at Upton Barn. Check in was fast and efficient, our pitch was near the play area, great for our 2 grandchildren. Our 2 dogs loved being able to exercise off the lead in a field beyond the activity field. The only negative is the toilet and shower facilities, although kept very clean, they could do with modernisation, and perhaps another toilet and shower block, two female toilets is just not enough. Would definitely visit again.

Previous     36 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Warwickshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4796 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019