Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Duke Of York

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Buxton > Duke Of York Reviews

Duke Of York
Ashbourne Road
Pomeroy
Nr Flagg
Buxton
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
SK17 9QG
Tel: 01298 83345
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 45
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 97 Reviews
                8/10 from 97 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  97 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: PETER M REYNOLDS 1 review from this member

Good facilities, good pub, good views, helpful information on local walks etc.

Perhaps they thought there was two of me, but the fees are high at £26/night.

Date of Visit: December 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Liz G 18 reviews from this member

Have stayed here a couple of times now, both in December. It's a great site, very well run and friendly. The pitches and facilities we have found to be immaculate.

The shower block is lovely and warm in the depths of winter! The adjacent pub is excellent serving good food and good beer. Dogs are welcome in the bar area.

Good views and good walking nearby. We will definitely be back again.

Well done Bridget, Gary and the team.

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Metalhead 27 reviews from this member

A long weekend in the Peak District in mid September and I thought weíd be able to drive anywhere and drop in on any campsite and get pitched up but I phoned our first few choices and they were all fully booked or pre-booked with private groups!

With no particular plan and everywhere easily accessible I called the Duke of York at Pomeroy on the A515 and they still had spaces so we headed there.

I know the road fairly well and knew it was a nice location so upon arrival it wasnít a surprise to see the far-reaching views across fields and hills visible from pretty much all of the pitches in this lovely location.

Each one has a hook-up point and water tap next to it or very close by and although the field slopes a little most of the hardstanding pitches are levelled out to compensate. Great idea as currently we donít have levelling chocks.

The facilities were really clean and tidy with a keycoded door just for the campsite users. Canít really fault the facilities, probably enough there for the amount of vans and caravans there in September but the tent field was empty so maybe a little stretched when at full capacity.

We ate in the pub, which is a Robinsonís pub, and itís typical pub prices for food. Nice to see a vegan option on the menu too and they have plans to improve the veggie/vegan options over time, as most places are these days. Food was nice, the staff were very friendly and accommodating. Both pub and campsite highly recommended.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Geoff48 23 reviews from this member

Booked a pitch for caravan and porch awning for a few days in July. Access was quite easy arrive between 12:00 and 15:00 or 18:00 and 21:00, book in at pub Right Hand door as you enter leads to reception and dining room.

Had problems booking via their preferred website but sorted when I phoned them. Deposit or payment in full required in advance when booking.

Booking with an awning provides a shared water supply and hard-standing, I found pitch accommodated car, caravan and awning. Others seemed to struggle but couldn't see why. Site roads are gravel and illuminated at night. Access is through a gate which you need to open and shut behind you.

No separate grey water disposal point, owner agreed I may use the hedge. Two toilets and showers for gents assuming the same for ladies. No problems but could be busy in high season.

Pitches are on a slope but are terraced and had no problem in pitching ( pitch 11). Disabled facilities accessible using a Radar key. Pub did a carry out service for pumped beer, much appreciated.

Used the dining room for lunch and found it quite good, including home made chips. Great views and dog friendly site (we don't have one) Plenty of walks, bike routes or places to visit in the locality.

Great views from the site.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Daniella Nudd 15 reviews from this member

We live in Nottingham and wanted a campsite close enough but still with fantastic scenery so opted for a campsite in Buxton, Derbyshire. First time with our 5 month old puppy so also wanted a dog friendly site. Opted for the Duke of York.

We stumbled across the pub a few years back and recalled that they also had a campsite attached. Booking the campsite was hassle free. Emails between ourselves and Bridget were easy. We were here from Friday to Sunday with our friends who had a vintage caravan. Very sizeable pitch each.

Needed our chocks for levelling which wasnít a problem. Amazing views. We immediately felt at home here. Toilet block had two showers and 5 or so toilets. Clean and spacious (especially showers. Didnít have to worry about clothes getting wet!) Very relaxed site but with clear (common sense) rules eg cleaning up after dog.

We ventured into Buxton for one of the days and highly recommend the Ale Stop. Very welcoming and dog friendly pub. We ate in the Duke of York on the Saturday. Book in advance especially with dog because they only have a few tables with dogs. Again no problem for us.

Really enjoyed the food. Home cooked chips always a bonus! Lovely evening with other guests (and their dogs) we managed to leave our rucksack behind and quickly reunited as we were leaving the toilets (thank you) Cant understand the negative reviews and we are seasoned campers.

Will definitely be back especially as so convenient to where we live. The ONLY recommendation would be to offer recycling when it comes to waste, but not sure I what the local provision is. A really lovely weekend, thank you.

Date of Visit: December 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mikecollier 9 reviews from this member

Fabulous site, the facilities are excellent and kept very clean.

Bridget and Gary work hard to make sure that everything is as good as possible.

The pub is also excellent with great food. Thoroughly recommended and we will be returning

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Muzzledog 1 review from this member

We booked this site and a table in the restaurant late Friday afternoon for the same evening. Despite arriving half an hour late we received a warm and friendly welcome.

The food was excellent with a large choice. It was served quickly by friendly and helpful staff. The site was clean and well designed with stunning views masked by fog during our stay.

We will hopefully be returning again later in the year.

Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Swelephant 3 reviews from this member

2 of us with campervans, nice friendly welcome, nice facilities, nice views. Couple of points not negatives though.

Had struggles closing sliding shower door and wouldn't stay shut. Had breakfast and evening meal prices expensive would be good gesture perhaps discount if staying on site.

Breakfast not very hot and evening meal portion small although was tasty. No toilet roll in 1 toilet for 2 days and couldn't seem to get hot water in taps except 1 particular 1.

To be fair it is new owners so hopeful thing will be addressed.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: SandiB 2 reviews from this member

Just stayed one night whilst in the area to cycle on the nearby Monsal trail. Picked the site as had Disabled facilities, was not disappointed. Excellent disabled shower room accessed with a RADAR key. My other half said the regular gents bathroom was very good too.

Warm welcome when we arrived, pitched on No. 14 hardstanding which had great views over surrounding countryside. Most pitches on first field were filled but all were well spaced & noise was minimal. The second camping field was empty but I have to say did look a little sloping! Pitches were very generous, with hook-up & water tap.

Can't comment on the pub as did not visit this time but fully intend to use this lovely site again.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Becks98 4 reviews from this member

I spent just the one night here in my T4 VW Campervan with sausage dog and was very impressed with the facilities.

Small site with nice outlook over the rolling hills. Spotless and modern toilet and shower block. A cut above most I've seen. Electric hookup and personal water supply. Plenty of space per pitch. An extremely warm welcome on arrival too.

Didn't try the restaurant but went in the pub side and the staff/owners were very friendly.

Recommended.

Previous     97 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code ďtribukcampsiteĒ to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4118 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019