Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Duke Of York Pub And Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Buxton > Duke Of York Pub And Campsite Reviews

Duke Of York Pub And Campsite
Ashbourne Road
Pomeroy
Nr Flagg
Buxton
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
SK17 9QG
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 27
Open: 21/01/2022 to 08/01/2023
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 104 Reviews
                8/10 from 104 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (22)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  104 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Iancai 1 review from this member

 Loved the peace and tranquility.

3 greats walks start and finish at the site mostly off road so great with the dog.

Food at the pub was good and staff friendly.

Site facilities clean and well maintained.

Loved it and would go again, highly recommended. 


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Bridge 1 review from this member

 Lovely campsite with beautiful restful views. Cannot fault facilities, welcome or location.

Toilet/shower block was clean and heated and everything was well organised and clean and tidy. 


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Samantha76 2 reviews from this member

 Arrived 10mins early, was made to wait till exactly 2pm, small pitch size, if we had of put our awning up we would of had to parked our vehicle in front of the van, blocking the view, which was the only good thing the site has to offer, the pitches claimed to be fully serviced but we had to share a tap which meant we couldnít keep out pipe hooked up and it was to far away anyhow!

And to say she was Covid safe after our pep talk on arrival, we couldnít understand why she put the only 4 campers on adjoining pitches, making us share a tap, when there was at least another 15piches to choose from! No grey water waste but she said just let in run out into the hedge, canít be very hygienic, especially in warmer weather,

Road noise was constant (A515)n o dog walking on site or near by, and be careful what dog breed you have, good job we had 2 spaniels, because on arrival she asked what dog breed we had, apparently they donít take certain breeds (ie bull terries) disgusting! If they are all kept on a lead whatís the issue?? Surely what breed we had should of been asked that when booking!

Felt a very unfriendly site, wonít be returning! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pdodds 5 reviews from this member

 The site was set up well for Covid-19 to help all campers to feel safe in the present situation. The owners could not be more helpful and had take away food available from the pub.

Facilities were spotless and well maintained.

We would definitely visit again.

Walking map really useful, some great places around to get a coffee / food etc 
via mobile


Date of Visit: February 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Grqv11 1 review from this member

 Great site

Friendly staff

Good pub

Nice views

Def visit again soon

Small and with good pitches, well spaced

Good local walks and Buxton close by for a visit too 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: December 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Yates69 7 reviews from this member

 We wanted a site that had a pub and this site does not disappoint. Only a small site but thatís perfect for what we wanted.

Bridget was very welcoming and gave lots of information on the site and surrounding areas.

The toilet bathroom facilities are spotless and warm.

Views are good when the fog wasnít on us.

The site is a few miles outside Buxton, thereís lots of walks to do and biking routes, we were lazy and drove to Buxton for a walk round with our dogs, lots of dog friendly places available in Buxton.

We ate in the pub both nights, recommend booking if you like us have dogs, as we could only use the bar, this was not a problem as the bar is cosy and the other patrons were friendly, striking up conversations.

We canít review the child friendliness as we didnít have children with us, however we saw children playing round the site and welcomed in the pub, we also saw board games in the pub for people to borrow.

Definitely a site to try and for us one to return to in the future. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Acornis 28 reviews from this member

 Well maintained site with extensive views across the valley. Handy for walks on the High Peak trail. The walks were all explained in the leaflet given to us on arrival.

Some of the pitches slope a bit but the hardstanding pitches were just fine. We parked the van up on the pitch still attached to the car when we arrived and decided to have a meal in the pub, even though they were close to the time they stopped serving, they were happy to accommodate us.

The facilities were kept clean but there were one or two areas where a little maintenance was needed. ( loose toilet seats and hand driers out of order. ) Coded electronic gate and showers were added bonus.

Definitely worth a re-visit. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: PETER M REYNOLDS 1 review from this member

 Good facilities, good pub, good views, helpful information on local walks etc.

Perhaps they thought there was two of me, but the fees are high at £26/night. 


Date of Visit: December 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Liz G 19 reviews from this member

 Have stayed here a couple of times now, both in December. It's a great site, very well run and friendly. The pitches and facilities we have found to be immaculate.

The shower block is lovely and warm in the depths of winter! The adjacent pub is excellent serving good food and good beer. Dogs are welcome in the bar area.

Good views and good walking nearby. We will definitely be back again.

Well done Bridget, Gary and the team. 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Metalhead 33 reviews from this member

 A long weekend in the Peak District in mid September and I thought weíd be able to drive anywhere and drop in on any campsite and get pitched up but I phoned our first few choices and they were all fully booked or pre-booked with private groups!

With no particular plan and everywhere easily accessible I called the Duke of York at Pomeroy on the A515 and they still had spaces so we headed there.

I know the road fairly well and knew it was a nice location so upon arrival it wasnít a surprise to see the far-reaching views across fields and hills visible from pretty much all of the pitches in this lovely location.

Each one has a hook-up point and water tap next to it or very close by and although the field slopes a little most of the hardstanding pitches are levelled out to compensate. Great idea as currently we donít have levelling chocks.

The facilities were really clean and tidy with a keycoded door just for the campsite users. Canít really fault the facilities, probably enough there for the amount of vans and caravans there in September but the tent field was empty so maybe a little stretched when at full capacity.

We ate in the pub, which is a Robinsonís pub, and itís typical pub prices for food. Nice to see a vegan option on the menu too and they have plans to improve the veggie/vegan options over time, as most places are these days. Food was nice, the staff were very friendly and accommodating. Both pub and campsite highly recommended. 


Previous     104 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Duke Of York Pub And Campsite child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Duke Of York Pub And Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Duke Of York Pub And Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Buxton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show - Exeter 28/01 to 30/01
Come along to Westpoint Exeter for a day of all things motorhome & campervan. The show is held both in the main indoor arena and across the ground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3083 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement