Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping Le Vieux Moulin

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Pays de la Loire > Neuville Sur Sarthe > Camping Le Vieux Moulin Reviews

Camping Le Vieux Moulin
Rue Du Vieux Moulin
Neuville Sur Sarthe
Pays de la Loire   (Browse area)
72190
Tel: 0033 243524140  or  0044 7789650363
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: All Year, Check Website Site

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 9 Reviews
                10/10 from 9 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports 10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Camping jan 8 reviews from this member

What can I say what a wonderful site. We stopped here twice to and from our main site and found a gem.

The site is definitely work in progress but like other reviewers we were made to feel so welcome.

The toilet and shower block are unisex but don't let that put you off. They are spotlessly clean and they have thought of everything. Flowers in the shower block and liquid soap to wash your hands.

The pitches are more than big enough. As we were travelling with dogs they even allocated us a pitch near the dog walking path.

It is only a short walk to the local town and although the bread shop and local café were shut for their summer holidays there was a small convenience store should you need it.

We will definitely be returning and would highly recommend this as the welcome is first class

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mikecollier 11 reviews from this member

Great little site near Le Mans less than 10 minutes from motorway.

We only stayed one night to break journey further south

Owners very friendly and relaxed. Site has been brought back to life and it's clear they have a passion to make it successful

Power and water convenient to pitches, which are spacious

Showers are cubicles off communal area and well presented, toilets individual outside facing cubicles kept clean with the occasional insect life to be expected.

Space for kids to play, including table tennis, basketball and football.

Would definitely visit again

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: ToadOfToadhall 11 reviews from this member

We used this site for a one night stop over on the way south. The owners are working hard to regenerate the site and are nearly done with renewing everything. The site is very quiet and next to the river and a gorgeous old mill converted to a restaurant. The pitches are spacious and shaded by trees, a blessing in hot weather. The restaurant is under new management and promises take away food for the campsite. From what we saw the local area would justify a longer stay and the site is perfect if you are looking for somewhere quiet and relaxing.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: GesC 1 review from this member

We stayed at this site one night enroute back to Calais from the Pay Basque. My wife found the site on the internet looking for a place to stop over whilst heading home. Reading that the site was reopening after several years closed we were not sure what to expect. Well we could not have been happier and really enjoyed our stay. The owners Martin and Louise are welcoming, happy to give you time for a chat and provide useful advice about the area. They have done a great job with the site so far and it is clear to see how hard they have worked to reopen the site after the years of closure. The facilities are plentiful, they are still work in progress, but very clean and the showers were spacious and always had plenty of hot water with good hanging area and shelving to put soaps/shampoo. The washing up area has a good range of sinks for different cleaning tasks and the toilets are very clean. The things that we were very impressed with were the provision of hand soap at each wash hand basin and at the sink outside of the toilet area plus individual toilet roll dispensers in each toilet. This is very unusual on the sites we have visited in France. Each pitch is very spacious and the serviced pitches provide both electricity and water. Just outside the site is the stunning water mill with race and a restaurant, though we didn't eat there as we were there for just the one night.

The site is easy to access from the motorway and the roads leading to it are wide enough to pass easily. We timed it as 10 mins from pitch to motorway slip road and similar distance to a huge Auchan hypermarket with fuel. The village of Neuville Sur Sarthe is a 15 min walk and has a small supermarket, butchers, bar restaurant and a great Boulangerie. A site that we will be back to and the next time for longer to enjoy the site, area and peace and quiet. Good luck Martin and Louise and thank you for making our stay so good.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Helen94 2 reviews from this member

We stayed at this site for 3 nights enroute from the Loire valley back to Le Havre. We really enjoyed our stay. The owners Martin and Louise are so welcoming. It is obvious how hard they have worked to reopen the site after so many years being closed. The toilets are always clean and the showers always had hot water with plenty of shelving to put items, including a shelf for shampoo, very rare in France.

Pitches are large with plenty of shade and you don't feel overlooked by other pitches. Plenty of well established trees and shrubs between pitches. There was a temporary swimming pool as the main pool needs work doing on it. Plenty of things to keep the children entertained, a yurt full of toys for little ones, basketball, pétanque, table tennis, football, badminton and free wifi.

The site is right next to the river Sarthe and there is a restaurant across the road from the site. The village is walking distance to the site which has a supermarket, bakery, pharmacy, school and community centre. One of our favourite villages we visited. We took the train into Le Mans with the train station walking distance from site. You can also drive or even cycle in. Plenty of cycle paths from campsite most are off road. Any bits that are on roads had no traffic. We hope to return one day and perhaps take the train into Paris as Paris is less than an hour from Le Mans.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jason B 3 reviews from this member

What a fantastic site, we couldn’t recommend it more. I stayed here with my wife and our two daughters, four and six, plus the in laws. We arrived in late July for two weeks. The journey was easy as it’s less than 10 minutes form A28 motorway with no tight road or access issues.

Being a newly reopened site, there wasn’t any reviews to base our decision on, we took a risk booking this for our summer holiday, I’m so glad we did. Martyn and Louise are a lovely English couple and couldn’t have done more to make our stay more pleasurable.

We holidayed with in laws and both our pitches where huge, so much room and no rules on where to place caravan/car. Water and electric points where sited easily on the edge of the pitch, and facilities block was in the centre so easy distance for all pitches as it’s not a huge site.

There was plenty of room for the kids to spread out and play on the pitch, plus a large field to play games and ride around, both our children learnt to ride their bikes in it. The pool was suitable, although above ground, was all we needed for us all to have a splash around and cool off.

The site is fairly rustic, but this adds to the charm, the toilets and showers were always clean and plenty of hot water.

There’s a beautiful river that runs passed the entrance, very shallow and we all enjoyed walking around in it. An after dinner stroll with and ice cream to sit on the benches by the old watermill while the kids played on the banks was a frequent event.

Being situated near Le Mans, there is plenty to do, including the ancient city, theme park, various chateaus or the famous circuit, we were never short of ideas of places to visit.

There’s a small grocery store, bakers and butcher in the village, a few minutes on bike. Bigger supermarkets are less then 10 minutes away with a huge retail park with every shop you could possibly want.

There’s plenty of flat, safe, cycle paths with set routes to try, even both the children managed to do 5 miles and they’d only been riding less than a week. We took our inflatable kaiaks and launched them up river and paddled back to the site a few times, very peaceful and relaxing.

We wanted a quiet site with a pool, close to shops and plenty of ideas for days out without travelling too far. We got this and more, this site made for such a great relaxing holiday we’ve already booked for this year, and we’ve never gone back to the same site before.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Cookiesmini 1 review from this member

My wife and I used the site as a base for the 24 Heures du Mans; far more peaceful than the circuit! Martyn and Louise made our 7 nights stay most enjoyable, as nothing was too much trouble. The village of Neuville sur Sarthe is very pleasant and only 10 minutes walk away. It has an excellent butcher, baker and general store. The site is very peaceful with good sized pitches. It also has a wide variety of trees and very close to the old water mill, with a lovely picnic / relaxation area.

We used train and buses from the village to go to and from Le Mans town. There is an excellent tram service from the town to the circuit.

We look forward to returning.

We wish Martyn and Louise all the best in this new venture.

Hopefully next year Ross will be racing again at Le Mans

Nick and Anthea

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jeanm 27 reviews from this member

What a find! A beautifully clean campsite that has a very French feel to it (even though its owners are English!) Lovely quiet location with river and restaurant very nearby. Extremely large pitches that are nicely secluded with a variety of trees.
This site would be very handy for the Le Mans race track and visiting the city itself. This site is not commercialised at all-lovely! Within walking distance of the village of Neuville-sur-sarthe. I would highly recommend this place for a peaceful 'chillout!'

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Garbold 4 reviews from this member

Used as an overnight stop on the way to La Rochelle. Site is set beneath a mixture of large trees and felt very enclosed. The area had been suffering lots of rain when we visited and the pitches were quite wet and muddy. The Toilets although clean were very dated and felt sparse. The entrance to the site is a bit off the beaten track and had to be careful crossing a very narrow bridge,the entry to the site itself is very tight.

There is a restaurant nearby which is alongside the Soarthe river, we didn't try it so cant comment but the setting looked nice.

There are no facilities here and we feel the site could do with updating, the welcome however was very warm and have no doubt the owners (English) would, given the chance, do so.


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Neuville Sur Sarthe      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Pays de la Loire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth £100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5967 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019