Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Cross Fell Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Penrith > Cross Fell Caravan Park Reviews

Cross Fell Caravan Park
Ousby
Penrith
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA10 1QA
Tel: 07900 585342  or  01768 216112
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: March To January

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 11 Reviews
                9/10 from 11 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Waynethekiwi 1 review from this member

 Family run site with facilities second to none. The facilities were upgraded since we were last here and are much appreciated. The site is such thatís it is never overcrowded. Having the pub across the road is also a nice option. Sid is always helpful. Booked in again for this year. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stozza72 1 review from this member

 Sid (the site owner) is a legend! We arrived on site to find pub was not open, as we were cycling we had no food with us. Sid drove us to the next village for dinner then bought us back to the Fox Inn (which is adjacent to site and owned by Sid) and opened the pub to save us from a cold evening! The toilets and showers have just been refurbished and I have to say, I have never seen campsite facilities of this standard, walk in showers and full wet rooms. All in all an excellent site. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mmpk 1 review from this member

 Lovely site. Very quiet ( except the birds and sheep!). Level ground. The toilets and shower were kept very clean.

A relaxing stay.

The owner popped in occasionally to check there were no problems and that we were happy.

The pub across the road was also very friendly and welcoming with good food at a good price.

Would definitely stay there again.

No local shops or play area for children, just lovely countryside and a view of Cross Fell. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Mike a samson 4 reviews from this member

 Great little site and very friendly people.

Pitched in the beer garden lovely and peaceful

Nice Pub and very friendly Landlord

Look forward to returning later in the year

The site is just out side of a small hamlet, there is a road but it's very quiet

Near the M6 so travelling around is easy and there is lot's of small villages around

It's very family friendly and the grass is well kept

It's a nice plain county site, not a Butlins so if you're looking for disco's and people dressed as animals, it might not be for you, however, if you're looking peace and quiet this will be for you 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Shal5633 7 reviews from this member

 This site is fantastic, we have stayed here now five times, and intend to go again soon.

We like the peace and quiet, no playground, noisy bins, etc. Sid the owner is lovely, very kind and so helpful, cant do enough for you. Penrith is about 20 minutes away and the main lakes about another 20 minutes.

The toilets are across the road behind the pub, very clean, shower also immaculate. Been in the pub twice and food good and quite reasonable. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ian117 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed here whilst visiting my brothers family in nearby Ruckcroft for 3 nights.

The field was very tidy with good condition grass despite the rain which flooded out several campsites in nearby Keswick earlier on in the week.

At £10 a night (we didn't use ELH but it was close by and would have cost an extra £2 per night) it was a bargain, especially in peak period.

There was plenty of spaces as the site only had about 6 other trailers/tents.

It is a very quite field next to a very quite road. ( A car every 10 mins if even that).

Whilst the playground did occupy our children (Aged 6 & 5) they did have to cross the road to get to it and it was out of sight from the campsite. This is also true of the toilet facilities, so again, the children had to be accompanied.

The toilets themselves were fine and clean

I would recommend this site to those wanting a base or as a quite retreat. I would use it again. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dw85 4 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a lovely stay at this site in the blazing sunshine. I cannot praise this site enough! Jim, the site warden, was extremely friendly and a credit to this site. The grass was in immaculate condition. Showers and pot wash were across the quiet road, on the static caravan site, behind the pub. They were clean and had free hot water.

The pub, The Fox Inn, was a great place to relax after a long days walking, with a vibrant atmosphere, friendly owners and great food!

Nearby attractions include Penrith town and Eden Ostrich World. The site is a short drive from the train station in Langwathby which is on the Settle-Carlisle line.

I will definitely return to this site and would have no hesitation in recommending it. 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lauranixon25 1 review from this member

 This is the second time staying at this camp site,

Our children age 8 and 11 enjoyed the playpark. This is situated near the campsite owners home only a short walk from the site. We all enjoyed the Fox Inn Pub across the road, The pool table and darts were a hit with us after a good meal and a round of drinks.

Penrith swimming baths, Centre parks and Ullswater are all a short drive away,all a must for any one taking children. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Beverley G 2 reviews from this member

 A lovely quiet site, with spacious pitches and electric hook up. Toilets and showers are behind the pub which is opposite the site. They are basic but understand they will be updated this winter. The Fox Inn pub serves good beer and the restaurant serves a large selection of home cooked meals.
Sid the owner of the site was friendly and helpful and we were made to feel very welcome in the pub too. The nearest shop is 10 minutes by car and was expensive and stock was limited. However Penrith is about 15 mins by car with a large selection of shops. There are some very scenic car rides in the area and it's not far to the Lake district.
We only had a short stay but would definitely use the site again for a longer visit of the area. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: KateD 1 review from this member

 This was the second time in 2 months that we have stayed at cross fell, and we are planning many more visits.

The site is peaceful and pitches are spacious and well kept . The loos and shower blocks are situated across the quiet road on the static site. Sid, the owner is very helpful and friendly. Ideal for couples who don't want a lot of kids running riot (no children's playground), and who enjoy really good food and ale (Fox inn just across the road). MAKING IT AN IDEAL HAVEN FOR US ! plus it's only £12 a night with hook up.

The Fox Inn, run by friendly Landlord Shaw and his wife Linda, is a great place to unwind over a pint(or two)of Tirril ale and a small or large bottle of wine!The food ,which is all home cooked, is of a very good quality and the portions are generous(so generous that I have not been able to manage one of the very appealing homemade puddings on display. The menu is extensive and the service is spot on. No wonder the pub has such a good local following(the locals are a friendly bunch too!)

All in all a very nice place to stay, and would not hesitate to recommend it. 


Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Cross Fell Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cross Fell Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Cross Fell Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Penrith      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 28/06
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3110 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020