Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Arymwny

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Abercastle > Arymwny Reviews

Arymwny
Mwny Hwnt
Trefin
Abercastle
Abercastle
Pembrokeshire   (Browse area)
SA62 5AL
Tel: 01348 837892  or  07989 683573
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 20
Open: 25/07/2020 to 31/12/2020
           01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 34 Reviews
                10/10 from 34 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  34 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Janleo 1 review from this member

 What a delight to stay at this campsite just a short walk from the coast path.

Low key, quiet but with everything you need for a relaxing few days away.

Most of all thanks to Norman for being so friendly and helpful. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Sarahx 1 review from this member

 This was easily one of the best thought out and managed site we've ever stayed at.

The individually willow shielded plots, fire circles, family shower and fab kitchen were perfect and met our needs brilliantly.

Thank you, Norman and Jill! 😊 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Redrustyxxx 2 reviews from this member

 Amazing site so quite and secluded. We pitched in the first field. The pitch was surrounded by plants and trees so even if it was busy you would still have some privacy and we had a beautiful sea view across the rapeseed fields. We had the whole field just for us so our dog had a great time. Each pitch has a water tap with bucket and a fire pit which is great. Its like wild back to nature camping but where you still have water and can take you car. The facilities are clean with 5 toilets, a room to wash up that also has 2 fridge freezers and a washer dryer (washer dryer for fee) also a shower room with double shower and you can buy wood. The only bad points are the long track to the site which is terrible and could ruin your car if you go above a very slow crawl, the fact that there is only one set of showers and it is a little difficult to find the satnav got confused once we got to the village and there are no signs but its down a dirt track. However non of these things would stop us going back we had a great time. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Harribo52 1 review from this member

 Just spent 5 nights here, bank hol Monday to Saturday. I cannot praise this site enough.

If you want back to basics camping, then this is it.

Each pitch has it's own fire pit and water tap with bucket.

Most of the pitches are enclosed by trees and bushes and are of a good size and mostly sheltered. (no EHU)

Some of the pitches below the house are on a slight slope but the pitches above the house are flat. There are about 3 individual pitches above the house plus 5 pitches in the open with plenty of space between each water tap. So you will not be on top of each other.

The facilities are situated centrally by the house and are of a good clean standard.

Norman is a very nice guy and will supply fire wood by the Trug, £5 or £10. The large trug lasted all week.

The village of Trefin is a half mile or so walk down the track and has a pub and cafe.

The nearest shop (well stocked Spar) is on the main road with petrol station at Square and Compass, which is walkable via foot path (less than a mile) across fields. A lot of the pitches have sea views and the coast path is only a short walk away.

The thing that surprised me was for a bank holiday week the site was empty apart from a family above me. At £11 ppn £5. 50 for a child it could be a expensive for a family of 4 but as a solo camper it was OK.

If you want to be in the middle of nowhere then this is the site. I will defo stay here again if in Pembs. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Campsearch 4 reviews from this member

 We visited this campsite for three nights with our 2 dogs. We have been looking for a campsite that gave the feel of off grid camping and this is as close to it as I have found in the uk. Large pitches with trees and shrubs that separate you from your neighbours gives you a real sense of isolation. Each pitch has its own fire pit, you can buy good seasoned firewood from Norman the owner. The toilets and showers are clean and a good standard for this type of wild camping but obviously not as fancy as other mainstream campsites. So to round it up if you want to get away from it all and sit undisturbed around a campfire under the stars this is the place for you and personally I can't recommend it highly enough just wish there more campsites like this. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Josiehartley 1 review from this member

 We loved this campsite. Secluded pitches, spotless showers/toilets, fire pits and water taps per pitch, a and most importantly a very jolly and welcoming host (Norman) :)

There's a good pub within walking distance (1mile) with very friendly staff and locals serving good food and good local ale.

It's a real shame that Pembrokeshire is not our cup of tea as we are more mountain goats then coastal goats otherwise Norman would never get rid of us. If you love the coast then I would highly recommend this site. Even after 48hours of constant rain Normans happy face and amazing quite little site is sure to brighten up your holiday 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Officialdwarf 2 reviews from this member

 Best campsite we've ever been to. No long lists of does and don'ts, very relaxed. Spotless loos and showers cleaned often. Secluded pitches each with a fire pit and water tap. The owner, Norman, is a lovely chap and is always on hand if needed. The coastal path is a couple of fields away and easy to reach. There aren't any shops or cafés in Trefin but the pub does good food and has a garden with a view of the valley. We highly recommend this campsite, go on, give it a go! 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Drhop 3 reviews from this member

 Back again for another week, Normans camp site is our all time favourite with huge pitches, campfires, taps in each pitch its a winner.

The views are wonderful the stars are great, you will see bats and bugs maybe a fox or badger.

The clean showers and loos are great you can charge your phone use the freezer

All in all a nice quiet place its a winner 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: El basso 4 reviews from this member

 Camping Wild Wales. The whimsical website blurb did little to prepare us for the just how lovely this place was to visit. We spent a blissful five nights under canvas in a lovely secluded location, with sweeping views for miles. The surrounding fields of oil seed rape - Norman who runs things at Arymwny says it's the first time this crop has been planted here - all but obliterated the footpaths going across them, a minor annoyance, but served to frame the amazing views all the way to the sea and Strumble Head far in the distance.

The campsite has a top field which is more open to the weather but compensates with the better vistas, and a bottom field with its pitches divided by hedging and foliage which feels more secluded, more cosy. It's a mixture of flat and gently sloping pitches, level underfoot, each with its own fresh water supply and fire pit.

There is no 'wash up station', so we took the chance to use our cauldron, tripod & grill for everything from making a cuppa, roaring fires, toasting marshmallows, cooking food and heating water for dishes. We hardly use any gas. You can bring your own wood or buy some from Norman, but use an axe to chop up into smaller bits as some of the cut logs are quite big.

There are enough loos, basins and a shower on site, and also access to the downstairs bathroom at the house. And a bath!

All in all, well worth the experience and, confounding all the forecasts, the weather was just perfect for our half-term break. We'll go back again. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mgoxford 2 reviews from this member

 We've recently come back from our 7th consecutive year on this site. I reviewed it back in 2008 when my kids were much younger. The kids have insisted we come back each time even if we've had other holidays in the year. There's been changes & improvements during that time and the site's busier than our first time, but the basic ingredients that make this site so good are all the same: separate pitches, lovely views, open fires and one of the most beautiful parts of the UK. We went to a few other sites pre-2008 but haven't been anywhere else since coming here for the first time because we don't believe we'd find anything nearly as good. 


Previous     34 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Arymwny child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Arymwny?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Arymwny dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Abercastle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Pembrokeshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1182 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement