Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Vakantie Duinrell

Campsite Search > Europe > Holland / Netherlands > Wassenaar > Vakantie Duinrell Reviews

Vakantie Duinrell
2242 Jp
Wassenaar
Netherlands   (Browse area)

Tel: 0031(0)705155258
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 45 Reviews
                8/10 from 45 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   Tennis On Site 
 Beach 5 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  45 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Silver Plated Spork 10 reviews from this member

Friends of ours had persuaded us to finally try Duinrell, as they had been many times before. It's not the usual type of campsite we choose, but we were quite excited by doing something different. It's quite expensive, it worked out as 94E a night for us as a family of 5, but individual entry to just the theme park is 20E/person, and we felt it was good value for money overall.

It's a large campsite, although separated in approximately 15 smaller areas. We eventually chose Lindenveld, as it was tucked away from the theme park and thoroughfares, as well as offering larger pitches in a wooded setting. It's worthwhile looking at the map and their descriptions of each area to choose the right one for you. There are also a number of mobile homes on the site- run by Duinrell, Eurocamp and Canvas.

The sanitary block was quite far away from our actual pitch, although there were toilets to pass going to the theme park and pool so it wasn't a big problem. The showers and toilets were clean and modern, and washing up was outside but covered. Other blocks near Middenveld and Romantisch Camp had children's bathrooms and inside washing up.

The theme park and pool were the main reasons we booked and we spent every day there and still didn't see it all. There is a lot to do, from scary roller coasters and rides, to giant slides and a monorail. We played around with the times, the first and last hour in the day is a good time to get on the rides quickly. We booked before January, so got 3 hours free in the pool everyday, if you don't book early then this is a payable extra of 5-8E depending on the time you spend. The pool was quite busy on all of the days, 10am can be a good time to go with younger children, we found going about 12:30pm suited us the best.

We didn't make use of the pub, restaurant or takeaway on site, and used the on site shop for a few items but there is a Jumbo about 20 minutes walk away in town. We walked into Waasenaar one evening for the famous Luciano's ice creams, it's a lovely town. As we only had 4 days, we stayed on site rather than visit other places but I believe it's easy enough to use public transport to drive to sights.

It's possible to use the theme park and pool on the day of arrival and departure, and you can park your car/trailer in a car park whilst waiting for the pitch to be free. We went in May half term which is normally reasonably quiet I'm told, but this year it coincided with public Ascension day holidays and the park was quite busy with Germans, Belgians as well as the Dutch. We used the hook of Holland ferry crossing, it's about 40 minutes drive (60 minutes for the more scenic sea route) and easy to find.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: TheRushens 2 reviews from this member

45 mins from the Hook of Holland. Quite small pitches and there are not enough showers in the touring park. Also no disabled facilities.

However, the theme park and water park make it great fun. Theme park is included in the price and the water park is 2 for 2 hours, 3 for 3 hours and 7 all day (but you can't leave and come back in) great flumes and slides and great fun. 40 min drive to Amsterdam. We had a great time.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Stokes11 13 reviews from this member

Only 35mins from the ferry and if like us not been before not the best signposted site we have been to, so was a bit stressful to say the least, but, once there Wow! what a site, it has a full size amusement park with roller coasters etc and directly next door a huge water park loads of slides waves etc and needless to say the kids thought all there christmas's had come at once, and were gone allday and absolutely loved it and slept very well (blessing), a very clean site great shower toilet blocks dotted all over site, washing machines in all of them, at the centre of the site a great underground bar, restaurants, supermarkets, they hire bikes go carts etc and a very very security conscious site regardless of walking in, on bikes or car you will not get in without a pass which I liked and all this (apart from hire items) for one price, no extras for amusement park or pool obviously a family site and not that quiet, as for price very on par with uk and my fav bit cycling, it's such a cycling country it's fantastic with your own cycle paths everywhere and I mean everywhere and your own traffic lights on main roads, A couple of miles from beach with bars, restaurants showers sun beds and again very clean, If you don't like camp shop prices just across the main road outside camp is a small quaint town with a supermarket shops bars ice cream parlours etc all in all it knocks any big uk sites for six, a fantastic site as long as you have kids. If I had a downside it would be a couple of weeks before we went we got through the post a camp map with our pitch marked on it with site directions and upon arriving had to find our own way to which we did but I thought it was strange for somebody not to come out and check you had pitched correctly etc but maybe that's there way??

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Familycampfunsters 8 reviews from this member

This is our 2nd time at this site which should be an indication of what we are about to say. We have two boys aged 10 and 6. This is a brilliant site the fun fair is fantastic with appropriate rides for all. During our visit we've been to other cities as it is central and well located.

Over the road is waasenaar itself which is a beautiful town with plenty of restaurants and pubs. Please check out lucianos ice cream parlour. If you have been to better and cheaper let us know. There is also a supermarket called jumbo with some shops like a butcher's bakers and most importantly a wine shop. Stravenger is amazing too with lots to do on the beach.

Tikibad is better than anything in England and cheaper. End of.

The down side for this site for us is the lack of maintenance on the pitches themselves. We booked online but didn't reserve a pitch so we got stuck on the rustic camp area and honestly I can only compare this to a refugee camp with vile toilets. We complained and refused to stay there and eventually got put on a field which which was perfect after months and months of them saying they were fully booked. Great spot too on the field next to the fair. The site itself ie. Hedges could have been maintained a lot better as well.

If you do go. Book early and reserve a pitch!

The toilets and showers are spotless. Overall for what you get for your money. Excellent. We will definitely be going again!

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Angry Dad 12 reviews from this member

Second visit right at the end of the season as a two night stop off before getting the ferry from Ijmuiden (about 40 minutes). Booked direct again before the end of January to get free entry to the Tiki Pool.

Because we'd strayed into off season the choice of pitches was limited to a few areas (our preference of the Ijland was closed) so we ended up in the Romantische Camp which was probably a better pitch than last time and because the place was quiet we had a huge area to use.

As last time, rides and park are great with the new wild wings being addictive and a good addition. Kids love the place.

We wanted to leave later than the noon kick out time but just hitched up beside the pitch and went up to the park for a last blast and left around two with no hassle.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ajh2001 9 reviews from this member

Our first try at camping with the trailer tent abroad. A world apart from the tiny, quiet site we are used to in Cornwall so I was rather apprehensive. I needn't have worried - it was FAB! We went on the CCC rally, just in case we felt we needed any back up. We were on the Romantisch pitches - far enough away from the main park that it didn't disturb us and to make it worthwhile for the boys to have go-karts for the week, which they loved, and also meant few day visitors wandered round this far.

The toilet/washing up facilities were generally spotless and rarely had to queue. A separate area for bathing smaller children was available too.

Our pitches were separated by hedges/trees into smaller groups of approx 4/6/8 pitches so it didn't seem as big as it was - though tbh we didn't get round the whole park - hoping to go back next year with friends.

We decided to chill for the week and not bother with much outside the park other than a couple of bicycle rides, so we relied on the on site shop and restaurants, which were a bit pricy but we'd brought essentials with us so it balanced out. Pizza's were lovely. All you can eat buffet was pricey but my boys made the most of it - especially the ice lollies!

While we were there the weather was amazing, if a bit too hot, so we lazed around, popping into the amusement park for a couple of hours, lazy lunch or tea and went to the waterpark later in the evening. We thought it would be quieter than it was - it had cooled down inside there by 8pm but was still very busy. We were told it wasn't usually quite so bad but the hot weather was bringing more people in. How you're supposed to supervise your children if you're not following them around is beyond me. We stayed put in one pool and told the boys to come back to us after every 5 rides - it worked for us!

The amusement park wasn't as busy so we rarely had to queue and enjoyed trying out some new rides.

The outside water area was great when the temperatures got too high, as it was freezing! My youngest splashed around for hours while I hid in the shade overlooking the pool and managed to read a couple of books while we were there!

All in all I was pleasantly surprised that I enjoyed it more than I expected and we're all looking forward to going back next year.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Gazmister123 32 reviews from this member

We stayed at Duinrell for three nights on the start of our European trip this year, it's a huge site attached to a theme park not far from Amsterdam. My children agree 10, 9 and 6 absolutely loved it!

It's easy to get to and the site is very good value, it includes free entry to the theme park and rides which is brilliant considering the cost of the tickets. The only thing it did not include was entrance to their spectacular water park. Unfortunately we didn't go in to this as my children were to young for me to take them in on my own (single parent) however there is an outdoor pool which is completely free to use in the theme park. The play area in the theme park is great and has some fantastic slides.

The toilet block was kept very clean and although sometimes there was a wait for the showers it was never to long.

The only downside I can find is the actual pitches, our pitch was quite tight to get in to and the trees scraped down both sides of our motorhome to get to the small field we were in, the pitches looked a bit shabby, uncut grass etc however we fitted out motorhome on and made the best of our stay. This is the only fault I can find.

There is lots of things going on on site, great restaurants and take away, a pub, a shop that sells pretty much everything, bike hire, go kart hire etc.

The staff at reception spoke very good English and were very helpful.

There is lots going on in the village just outside the site too and some really lovely bars.

We visited Amsterdam while there, we caught the bus from the car park of the theme park just outside the entrance into Den Haag then caught a train into central Amsterdam, so easy and definitely worth doing instead of driving in.

My children definitely rated it as a 5 star, I would say the grounds could do with a tidy (bushes trimmed and grass cut) however do not let his put you off especially if you have children.

We will definitely return.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Dandy6 3 reviews from this member

Second time we have stayed here the first time we stayed in a canvas static which was very small and cramped. The kids love it so we returned for a few days this year on our way to Germany in a campervan. We stayed in the field overloop which was very cramped and noisy. We were awoken at 8 every morning with music from the park which came from a speaker next to the field and went on all day. The other camping fields looked ok though.

Toilets were very busy and inadequate for this area too as they were shared with day visitors to the park and were closed for cleaning around 9 am which was annoying.

The park is good and plenty for the kids to do. Shop is good and lots of good shops in the town. Very good for cycling we rode to Leiden which was a nice town.

Wassanar is lovely place. I wouldn't rush back here but if you have kids and havent been before its worth a visit.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Crankup 5 reviews from this member

6 of us booked directly with Duinrell. Worth doing as their statics are better than the Eurocamp/Suncamp/Thomson Al Fresco ones and not so squashed in either. They are mainly situated at the rear of the site amongst the woods, very similar to CenterParc. Also we had 3 hours per day (yes 3 not 2) for the TikiBad Pool Complex included. Book via the others and this is an extra. The site is massive and busy but it didn't feel too bad. The queues on the most popular rides were 15mins. If you don't mind getting wet on the log ride, then that queue was down to a consistent 5 mins. Pool complex was great fun. Lockers are via a pin code which was novel and easy. The supermarket on site was expensive but convenient. Aldi is an easy walk into Wassenar for some savings. There is an excellent Italian ice cream parlour in Wassenar where cones are a Euro - bargain, and matching queues but worth it. We used a restaurant further down one night which took Visa cc. Also bought train tickets at Leiden with Visa too no problems and used it at Duinrell. Reception staff gave wrong instructions for bus/train but we worked it out for ourselves. We had a day out in Amsterdam - everyone used the free wifi on the train, another novelty. Wifi on Duinrell site is pricey and was told not to bother, so we didn't.

All in all a successful trip, loads to do on site - I'd say it sat in between Butlins and Centerparc, a bit of both.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ryandlo 7 reviews from this member

Butlins in Holland!

I had really high hopes for this site as everyone I spoke to who had been raved about it but I was a little disappointed or maybe it was just not what I was expecting.

I think you either love or hate this place, my kids aged 9 and 11 loved it recon it's the best park a they've been too and we did 6 in Europe this year but for us it want my cup of tea, 3 or 4 nights was enough.

So firstly the site is huge and it has its own indoor water slide park and theme park.

The pitches are a bit cramped and awkward to get onto we nearly took our half a hedge trying to motormove the caravan in but it was a bit easier on the other end of the pitch but the reception didn't tell us to go that way.

We were under an acorn tree so quite a bit of shade and all night and day we had acrons dropping into the caravan and seagulls pooing all over.

When we first drive in around 3pm we are shocked by how busy it was and how many people we're roaming about only to find out that the site lets the public in for the day to use the pool and theme park, this not only makes it busy and hectic but if your staying on site you don't get any privileges, you have to pay 4 euro to use the indoor pool for 2 hours and kiss under 12 have to be supervised. It's jam packed and red hot in there, slides are good but I'd prefer to be on outdoor slides and queueing 45mins for a slide inside when it's 25 degrees is not my idea of fun. Kids love the park and we soon works out that we could take them in Ans make sure they were ok then we would come back our and leave them for an hour or so.

There is a small outdoor pool but it didn't open until he afternoon and if you went on that you can't swap in between indoor and outdoor it's one or the other. We never used the outdoor pool. The pool was open 10-10pm each day.

The theme park is good it has about 10 rides and 2 roller coasters, one goes upside down and the kids love it. The theme park is included in the price we got here for 10am when it opened so we hardly queued. There are tons of rides and the kids love exploring.

The theme park closed at 6pm and I think rally opening a little later for residents at least would be better.

The on site supermarket is well stocked and has almost everything but the one in town about 10 minute walk is cheaper.

The toilets were not the best dirty on a night and closed for cleaning at 8am in the morning what's that all about it's the busiest time?

Showers dripped out.

We went to two beaches while there, drove to one about 11km called schevenign which was lovely apparently the most famous beach in Holland and had loads of nice cool bars on the promenade with music playing

We also went to the more local beach wassenaar which we cycled to and it took us 20mins which was equally as nice just a little smaller, lots of places for food and drink but take cash out MasterCard or Visa cards didn't work, tbh we struggled in quite a few supermarkets but cash points were ok.

Overall a great site for kids but not parents.

If they would make it a bit cleaner and tidier and freshen it up with some paint get rid of the general public and sort the outdoor pool out so its more accessible then I think it would be much better.

Previous     45 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Netherlands

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3937 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019