Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Les Grebes Du Lac De Marcenay

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Burgundy > Marcenay > Les Grebes Du Lac De Marcenay Reviews

Les Grebes Du Lac De Marcenay
5 Route Du Lac
Marcenay
Burgundy   (Browse area)
21330
Tel: 0033 0380816172
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 90
Open: 01/05/2021 to 30/09/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 14 Reviews
                8/10 from 14 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  14 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: PaulineW 10 reviews from this member

 I agree with Badger54's review of this site. It did look a bit unloved which is a shame. The owners are lovely people and made us feel very welcome. The building looked very welcoming, although when we were there it was very wet and it had a few very noisy children in there which was off-putting. Showers were not the best but the water was nice and warm.

It's a shame the lake wasn't there, I have no idea what has happened to it but it has affected the area.

It's a 5 minute walk to the village but there is not much there. Everyone was very friendly though.

In all honesty I don't think I'd go to this site again, purely because of the overall impression of it, even though we were made very welcome. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Badger54 19 reviews from this member

 Really mixed feelings about this site, on the one hand it is very laid-back and relaxed, but I cannot get past the `shabby-chic` that they aim for but that in all honesty just looks shabby. I paid 15 euros with my acsi card and I think that is probably their annual maintenance budget right there.

I always think that a nice easy to fix to improve a site is to cut the grass occasionally, some of the pitches here were about a foot deep in grass and even those that had been cut this season hadn`t been cut for weeks.

If you are going here to use the lake for sailing or canoeing, be warned that it has been drained and will not be refilled until the end of the year.

It is such a shame, I really wanted to like this site as I can see what the owners/managers are trying to do to encourage a good social feeling in the large hall but I honestly just feel that the place looks a mess. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Steph D 2 reviews from this member

 We spent 12 nights at this campsite next to Lac de Marcenay. There is hardly anything to fault.

The pitches are very generous and arranged in pods of 5 to 7 pitches with some space in front of them, also a playing field next to one of the shower blocks. There is a very large indoor area with a small pool table, table football, sofas, lego/Brio, large tables and benches and lots of information about the surrounding area. And WIFI.

Dirk the manager even has a couple of canoos, a sailing dinghy and a pedal boat free for everyone's use.

There is a pool and paddling pool, table tennis, Pizza van coming several nights a week, baguette/croissant service (if ordered night before), and milk/drinks/icecream etc. On sale on a trust basis, you just put the money for what you took into a basket.

This is part of the appeal of the site, namely that the campers are trusted to use their own judgement and to act responsibly. No rules, really, but it was always quiet and relaxed.

The shower block is maybe a tiny bit dated, but the showers are warm all day and free, toilet paper provided, basins are all enclosed in a little lockable washroom, the block seems to be cleaned once a day. Power points for you to use for hair dryer / mobile charging etc.

Despite staying end of July/beginning of August, the site was never full, the guests were mostly Dutch with some French, Germans, Brits thrown in. Lots and lots of families with children from a few months to 19 years old. Some stayed for 2 weeks or more, some for a night or two.

Dirk made a campfire almost every day, twice he even made dough for the children to wrap around sticks to bake over the fire; on other days guests brought marshmallows and shared them out.

Almost every night, there were some musicians making music next to the reception area, which was brilliant. People jamming, single people playing guitar and singing and not one of them cringeworthy!

The only thing to mention is that the pitches nearest the reception/common room might get some of the noise of the music/clapping, so if you want it really quiet, choose a pitch at the far end of the camp site. As you can choose your own pitch, this is easy.

I can thoroughly recommend this campsite if you are looking for something low-key and not perfect, which somehow still has it all. But: bring mozzi repellant. :-) 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: KirstendMD 1 review from this member

 We loved this campsite! We were originally going to stay one night but ended up staying three and then returning for two more nights on the way back. It is well-placed for travellers travelling further south or returning from there; also for exploring the cultural, historic and wine-related delights of Burgundy. There are beautiful old towns nearby and the lovely chateau of Tannay within half an hour's walk.

More than this though we loved the atmosphere of complete relaxation which permeated the entire site, beginning with its wonderful owner Dirk. Everything worked well at Les Grebes (lots of clean warm showers, washing facilities, even an indoor hob should you need it) but it seemed to do so without any busyness or pressure whatsoever from Dirk, his partner or colleagues. This attitude then rubs off on the campers, helping us all unwind.

The first night we arrived Dirk and his friend/colleague Nico cooked delicious crepes for a small fee for anyone who wanted them, and everyone grouped round a large table, chatted, ate, drank wine. It broke the ice between people and made us feel very warm and welcome.

It was a great start to our holiday and we really appreciated the way Dirk created a warm convivial space, not everyone has the art or ability to do this. You could even take a beer out of the fridge and pay him the next day if he wasn't around.

The next best thing about the campsite is the abundant wildlife - we saw loads of tiny frogs on our walk around the lake, I shared a shower with a small gentle toad, magnificent owls hooted at dusk, and bats put on an evening display. Not to mention the amazing birds on the lake. And that's the other incredible thing - the lake. Reminded me of the magical lake in The Dawn Treader by CS Lewis. We spent large periods of time taking out the rowing boat and just letting ourselves drift. Bliss.

This site might not be for you if you like things incredibly shiny, new, boho chic- go to another site. But it is for you if you want somewhere beautiful, low-key and unpretentious where you can completely relax.

What else? nice quiet swimming pool, bikes to take out (for free when we stayed) a canoe and a pedallo which we didn't use but look forward to doing so. Pony treking next door, vineyards, bird watching in a bird hide nearby. We plan to come back and stay longer and bring friends. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Linzbob 5 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for a week in July. The site was not full but was starting to fill up and become busy with lots of one nighters.

We chose this site because it looked like it had a decent sized swimming pool and was situated next to a lake for fishing, swimming, boating etc rowing boat and canoe free to use.

The photos on the web site make the pool look really big unfortunately this is not the case but we still enjoyed it on the hot days. The children's play area needs totally replacing it was terrible.

The pitches are laid out in a horse shoe kind of formation with the pitches on the curves having a narrow entrance with most pitches separated by hedges/trees some of the bigger units may struggle.

The pitches were not the the best kept or flattest we have stayed on and could probably do with a decent gardener.

Dillon the magic roundabout rabbit (dirk) is so laid back I was surprised he never fell over but was very helpful and spoke good English.

Reception sold the essentials beer, wine, milk, eggs cheese. Bread and pastries could be ordered daily

Would we stay again? Yes but only as a stop over or short stay. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mandml 3 reviews from this member

 We loved this site, what a lovely laid back chilled place. It was nice to just experience the outdoor life without having to do much. Our kids had a fab time, slack lining, playing boules, building little rafts for the lake. It was so nice to see all the kids playing together without the usual distractions of toys at home!

Dirk is the most laid back guy I have ever come across, but who wouldn't be In the middle of beautiful surrounding and a campsite that attracts really chilled people who are happy with the basics! He sells the essentials, a lovely lady came to the site for wine tasting. There is a lovely hotel/ restaurant 5 min drive away, it is like dining in her front room, but produces the most amazing French food. Not far away from the lovely champagne route! Its great, you definitely leave feeling chilled out and wishing you had a job like Dirks! 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Read1a 3 reviews from this member

 Really enjoyed our stay at Marcenay and will definitely be coming back for another visit. The plus points of this site are i) the site is beautifully laid out, each site has a mix of sun and shade and privacy from neighbours via shrubs and trees. Ii) the lake is no more than 10 - 20 metres away from anywhere on the site and is beautiful. Iii) there is a bar/restaurant/hotel on the lake which sells good food only 2 mins walk from the site. Iv)Dirk, who runs the site, is the most laid back Dutchman I have ever met. He is helpful, offering advice on where to go, what to do etc and nothing is too much trouble. V)bread/croissants can be ordered each morning. Vi) there is plenty to do in the surrounding countryside with Chatillon-sur-Seine only 15 mins away (supermarkets, shops, culture, a castle and a lovely grotto with the source of the Dioux emanating from it) and Troyes only 25 mins away. Vii) Dirk has a rowing boat and canoe which anyone can take out on the lake whenever they want, free of charge. Viii) the facilities are clean and plentiful. We never had to wait for a shower or toilet. The showers were warm with a push button system lasting for a long enough time not to be irritating.

We didn't try the swimming pool but there seemed to be squeals of delight coming from that area. The site was quiet at night except for Saturday when the bar/hotel had a disco.

The site had mainly Dutch and English visiting when we went.

The only negatives were: mosquitoes due to the lake and Saturday night disco at the hotel across the lake which went on til 2 am.

I would wholeheartedly recommend this site and will certainly be returning to it myself. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jonmusker 3 reviews from this member

 My family spent a few nights at Marcenay and found it to be a somewhat shabby but rather charming and relaxed site.

The pool is quite small and raised; it would feel full if more than about six people were in it. We had fun with it though!

The toilet and shower facilities were clean and the showers were pretty good quality; no queues.

The surrounding countryside is absolutely charming, there are some lovely walks. A couple of very small villages nearby.

Not much in the way of outdoor play facilities; right next to nice small-ish lovely lake with a nice civic playground about 300m along the shore. Indoors there is a pool table, DVD/TV, lounge area etc etc.

No restaurant on site, but a nice hotel/bar/restaurant about 200m along the shore.

The site is very nicely laid out with clusters of five or six clearly marked pitches each opening into a central clearing. The pitches are very spacious, and provide plenty of shade as well as plenty of variety.

Owner is amazingly laid back and sets the relaxed and friendly tone of the entire place. If you're looking for a site that will look after you hand-and-foot, then this is not the one for you; its more for those looking for an extremely informal site run by an aging Dutch hippy. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sultan 1 review from this member

 I chose this campsite as a good 2 night stop over on the way from the alps to Calais. The reviews on here helped me make my mind up.

On arrival the site entrance looked tired. Dirk was unique, but we were not captivated by his charm like other campers seem to have been.

The pool was a temporary affair with raised decking which didn't look very safe.

The site needed a gardener, or at least an enthusiastic owner with some garden shears. Without a motor mover I would have struggled to get on the few remaining pitches. I think the link to cool camping is securing regular supplies of campers looking for a cool place. This, in my mind was not very cool.

The toiled block is ageing. The neighbouring lake was nice to look at but I wouldn't swim in it, nor would my kids.

The wifi didn't work. The climbing area and slides were damaged.

The price was high relative to the quality of the site. We left after one night and I apologised to my kids for telling them it would be a cool place for a couple of nights. Come on Marcenay, have a tidy up, do some gardening, and stop pretending to be something that you are not. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Spikey87 7 reviews from this member

 When we arrived at this site we had originally booked for 5 days and ended up staying 9. Les Grebes Du Lac De Marcenay is a very peaceful site and it didn’t take us long to unwind after a long journey and get into the holiday mood.

This site is adjacent next to a lake which is very picturesque and is separated by a walkway and fence. There are access gates to the lake located along the camp which makes it safe to allow young children to play freely without having to worry about them going near the lake.

The pitch we chose was at the end of the camp and had a view of the lake through a wooded walkway. The pitch was very generous in space and the caravan was shaded in the morning but through the size of the pitch we could sit in the sun whilst eating breakfast. Some part of the pitch was in sun all day. All pitches were very flat.

The shower, toilet and washing up facilities were very clean and more than adequate to meet our family’s needs.

There is a free standing small swimming pool which is accessed by a small stairway/ladder onto the raised decking area. Although it was not very big it was ideal to cool off on warm days and we tended to use it later in the day when the younger children had moved on.

At the reception area you could order bread and croissants for the next day and you could also purchase basic food items and wine. There was also a TV to watch and free WIFI in the reception area. There was also table tennis and a pool table in this area and a selection of toys for small children to play with.

On the lake the camp have a Canadian canoe that you can use free of charge which allowed you to explore the lake freely. On the Lake within walking distance there was a man made beach and a restaurant that sold very good food. Further along the road is a riding centre which catered for all ages and experience.

Although I originally booked this site for the carp fishing, I did very little fishing here on the site. Many French men arrived with Jon Boats spinning for Black Bass and I was later told that the lake had been previously drained and the carp removed and not replaced afterwards. I am not sure if this is true though and I did see signs of fish moving through the water whilst out on the canoe.

The site is also ideally situated to explore different areas and villages on your bikes and the surrounding roads were very quiet. You can hire bikes from the reception for a reasonable price if you do not have your own.

The site is situated very close to numerous champagne houses which you can visit and also the wine regions of Chablis with its many Caves selling wine. The local village does not have a bank, shop or Bar Tabac but these can be accessed in the next village of Laignes. In the opposite direction at Chatillon sur Siene there is an Intermache and other facilities to meet your needs. This was also a pleasant town to have a wander around.

Would I return to Marcenay? – Yes, without a doubt.

Would I recommend it to others? – Yes, nothing is a trouble to Dirk and his partner. This site is a gem and had everything I want whilst in my caravan. There was a good mixture of all nationalities and also older people and young families. The site was very quiet on a morning and on an evening you could hear a pin drop. Although there is not a great deal to do for teenagers, we seen very little of my 16 year old son and out of the four sites we visited this year, Marcenay was his favourite. 


Previous     14 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Les Grebes Du Lac De Marcenay child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Les Grebes Du Lac De Marcenay?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Les Grebes Du Lac De Marcenay dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Marcenay      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Burgundy

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3659 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement