Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Rhosson Ganol

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Site Reviews

Rhosson Ganol
St Davids
Haverfordwest
Pembrokeshire   (Browse area)
SA62 6PY
Tel: 01437 720361
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 10 Reviews
                9/10 from 10 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gonnate 10 reviews from this member

Adding to my review of last year. It's still the most beautiful setting in the world!

Just to emphasise that you need to drive past the 'Rhosson Campsite - traditional field camping' which this year advertised itself at 3/night. Comments are that the low price is justified. Pass the white farmhouse labelled 'Rhoson Ganol' and fork left onto the 'Certificated Site' track opposite the grey farmhouse, at which point the road is going down the last slope to the lifeboat station.

We'll be back!

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Simoisfab 3 reviews from this member

Great campsite. Lots of not level pitches but most of these the caravans had used leaving the level ones for tents. Also all the other sites in the area looked the same.

We paid 12 per night for 2 people and 1 tent.

Hot showers 1M, 2F. Didn't have to queue and included in the price.

No washing up facilities so take a bowl.

Fantastic view over to Ramsey Island, lovely walking close by. About a 30-40 min walk into St. Davids.

Don't get confused by the Rhosson Campsite just before it that doesn't have showers.

The farmer would also take your cool blocks off for you if they had your name on.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Pansy Potter 15 reviews from this member

This is the best site we have ever stayed in for so many reasons. I don't know how to describe the wonderful location, but watching the waves break on the distant cliffs of Ramsay Island takes some beating. It is a quiet site with no hook ups, most of the pitches are flat. We spent two nights her at the start of our week and one at the end.

We just couldn't stay away.

The toilets and showers are basic, but very clean. Fresh loo roll that never runs out and bags of hot water. There are no washing up facilities.

The loos are near the farm house, so you have to cross the lane to get there, but who cares. We were on a field with one other van and a tent in half term, the field nearer the sea was a little more busy, but at no time was there even the possibility of overcrowding or queueing for the loos.

Just roll up and pitch, the friendly farmer usually turns up at about 9 am to collect his cash, an unbelievable 12 for one night. Such a bargain.

I might just go and live there.

Amazing.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: JACKIEPERR 4 reviews from this member

Wow factor of 10/10 ! A well drained field site overlooking the sea, gaze out to Ramsey Island, look out for Porpoise and Seals. The site is situated right on the Pembroke coast walk. Keep your dog and your small child on a lead ! VERY steep cliffs in places right alongside the path. Stunning views from the site and the path. No electrics, tap at the entrance (bring a long hose to fill your motorhome tank), basic brick built toilets and shower behind the house at the gate. We arrived with lots of food and drink as we didn't want to have to move the van once parked. We had to reverse down the long, narrow and winding lane to let a lorry pass, you don't want to be driving to and fro down that lane too often in anything wider than a car! The weather was heavenly, so we stayed 2 nights and chilled out. Ideal for peace and quiet.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gonnate 10 reviews from this member

This is the perfect campsite, as long as you like quiet basic traditional camping with utterly beautiful coastal scenery.

We've been there on & off for 7 years, and with the local beaches - Whitesands Bay and others, wish we had found it when our children were small. The Pembrokeshire Coast Path is only yards away.

Many people have used it for far longer: there's a whole community of regulars who went there as children and now bring their own.

There's a bit of a conspiracy of silence - it's the sort of site you don't want to tell too many people about, really! So please read this review quietly!

The view is stunning. Apparently the Lonely Planet Guide ranks it in the top three of places in the world, we're told. A major feature of the holiday is just to look from the front of your tent over the Sound to Ramsay Island in all its moods and weathers. In good weather the blue of the sea is incredible.

The site is well drained, and when it rains there, it really rains, so this is important! It's coastal, it's on a headland, so it can be windy, when it will test your tent, but it's so gorgeous, and when it's calm it's so rewarding, that it draws us back and back.

The facilities are basic but well maintained: currently one male shower, two female, plus loos. Showers are now free. The block is next to the farm, so even the nearest tent is some 200 m away. From the far end, many people cycle. When the site's well populated such a trip can take ages, as many friendly conversations can delay you. At night, in good weather, it's a lovely peaceful walk. By day the loo trip must have the best views of any, anywhere!

Mobile phone reception is limited. No idea if TV reception works, but we hardly even hear a radio being used there, let alone TV. If you want a clubhouse and late night parties, please go somewhere else!

The local Coast bus passes the site every half hour or so in season, and is cheap and friendly.

St Davids, the pocket sized city, with a magnificent cathedral and medieval Bishop's Palace, is close by to drive/cycle/walk. Good deli, super tourist info centre with cafe, art exhibitions, children's activities. Boat trips to Ramsay, either to go round and view birds, seals, porpoises, cliffs or to land and walk round, are another essential.

We look forward to being there again.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: TheaG 2 reviews from this member

The location of this camp site is directly over looking Ramsey sound with unrivalled views of the island and 'the bitches', a canoeists paradise.

Full shower and toilet facilities are available. The camp site is clean tidy and spacious.

St David's is walkable but a minibus runs regularly into the city itself.

The nearby Lifeboat station is well worth a visit and is also the departure point for the many trips around the RSPB reserve: on which you can see porpoise and many other forms of marine life.

Family friendly.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tracey hoy 1 review from this member

There was a stunning view overlooking Ramsey island. Very accessible, the owners were very nice and easy to talk to, they even charged my daughters portable DVD player for free.

The toilets and showers were clean, the showers were 50p and there was some difficulty with the showers which the owners resolved, they had a plug socket to plug in hair dryers and straighteners etc.

It wasn't over crowded, limited mobile phone reception and there was an area to get water.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Stormbunting 1 review from this member

As mentioned in other reviews, the location is stunning. Facilities are limited - ie toilets and showers and that's it. Take 50ps for the showers and don't hang about once you're in.

A bit of a walk from the camping fields to the toilet blocks but this reduces foot traffic and leaves the pitches quiet and peaceful. It can get windy - just take a kite.

Just a short walk to the harbour for catching the boats around or to Ramsey Island - collect your tickets in St Davids. Pubs, cafes, restaurants and fish and chips in St David's, ten mins drive or 30 mins walk away.

Coastal walking on the doorstep. Fantastic site, can't recommend it enough.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jon1burd 1 review from this member

Lovely site with stunning view of Ramsey Island. Shower and toilet blokes that are cleaned twice a day, showers close at 9pm. Clean water taps in field for easy use. The site is 2miles from St Davids about a 30min walk if your thinking about having a few beers in town. You also have use of The Celtic Coaster bus service 1.00 any destination. Back to the site I have to repeat the views of Eamsey island are stunning, some mornings you will wake up to mist around the middle of the island and it looks very Jurassic park.

Date of Visit: July 2005 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Xohappycamper-ox 1 review from this member

What a fantastic site!

I have been coming here for many years now. We used to have a caravan but now camp and it is a lovely, friendly atmosphere perfect for family holidays or a peaceful break. There are two particularly good beaches near by. Porttselau and whitesands. The town of St. Davids is great and has a few small shops and eateries. On the site, the caravan section is a flat field and the camping bit is up a hill with a flat fields on it. I highly recommend this campsite to anyone!


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Pembrokeshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over 885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth 119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4027 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019