Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Tackeroo Caravan Site Forestry England

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Staffordshire > Rugeley > Tackeroo Caravan Site Forestry England Reviews

Tackeroo Caravan Site Forestry England
Cannock Chase Forest
Penkridge Bank Rd
Rugeley
Staffordshire   (Browse area)
WS15 2UQ
Tel: 0300 067 4340
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 70
Open: 2 August To 16 September 2019

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 12 Reviews
                8/10 from 12 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  12 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 0 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

Please note Tackeroo has running water, and sanilav/rubbish disposal points facilities available on site. There are no toilets or electrical hook-up facilities.

All caravans, camper vans and trailer tents must have a working chemical toilet facility. Tents will only be allowed if they have a separate working chemical toilet tent.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mummymills 10 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 3 nights over the Whitsun Bank Holiday weekend, arriving at midday Friday to get the best spot. We weren't disappointed but the choices on offer and eventually settled on our pitch under the trees, next to a picnic bench and not too far from the nearest water tap.

Pitching the tent was very hard work, as the ground was hard. We nearly gave up, but persevered and after an hour, we got the main body of the tent up. I would strongly recommend rock pegs or something similar as the ground if very rocky.

There are no facilities other than water taps and a chemical disposal point, but this is reflected in the 10 a night per unit price. The wardens came round on our first morning and collected our money for the weekend, giving us a sticker to display to say we had paid up.

The site itself is not at all secure, as it appears to form part of a couple of bike trails. There were lots of people wondering through night and day, so we were mindful of this and always kept belongings and bikes locked away. Towards the bottom end of the site was natural BMX style track with lots of drops and jumps. It was full of kids having fun night & day, and beat any play area hands down.

The Visitor Centre at Marquis Drive was probably a 15 minute walk, and Birches Valley was probably another 25 minute walk beyond that.

Although it does advise against fire pits, there were many going strong every evening, and no wardens to tell you off.

We were concerned on the Saturday when a large group arrived with several tent and a caravan and pitched behind us. When we went to bed at 10:30 they were still going strong and I worried if this was going to be an all night party! However by 11:15, they too had quietened down and went to bed so all was fine and there were no awkward conversations the next morning!

All in all, a cracking site, absolutely loved it!

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Dream team 6 reviews from this member

Went here with our fledgling VW campervan club. We had 3 vans, 3 Dads and 5 kids. Firstly there are NO toilets so take your porta potti! The site itself was a great change from the open fields we are used to, you camp right in the forest under the trees. The kids were entertained from start to finish building dens from sticks and ferns or chasing squirrels. All in all a great place we will visit again.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Basherbish 5 reviews from this member

Have recently spent 5 nights at Tackeroo Campsite, on Cannock Chase, near Rugelely, Staffordshire. If you want a quiet, safe for kids site with lovely walks then you can`t beat this one.

Pick your own spot amongst tall pine trees, no reception to complete first. A Ranger will call on you next morning to collect the 10/night fee and that's that. The facilities provided are basic for that fee, water, toilet emptying places and rubbish bins,

The nights are so black and so quiet that you get your best nights sleep in ages.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Morzy 3 reviews from this member

Have been here several times as its 10 mins down the road from us. What it lacks in facilities (no toilets showers) it makes up in space, atmosphere and location. Being 10 mins from home we can pop home for a shower so that's no problem for us. There are no pitch restrictions so you can pitch up pretty much anywhere inbetween trees or in the open. Wardens collect money in the morning and are friendly. Rubbish areas are usually full and overflowing so could do with another 1 or 2. Plently of water points. Very popular route for cyclists so they race through the area throughout the day (esp over the wkends) dogs love it due to the nature of the place, plenty of squirrels and rabbits to keep them happy. Many walks to explore through the chase. Last year there was a 'problem' crow that would peck voilently on cars and windows scratching paintwork but we have not encountered that problem this year. It states to keep gate closed but no-one obeys so anyone can come and go as they please onto the campsite (have heard a few boy racers at midnight tearing around the site) as its not monitored or controlled at all. External dog walkers tend to avoid the main campsite and walk around the surrounding tracks. Basic site with nothing to do but what entertainment you bring as you are literally on the chase. Waste disposals adequate. Rugeley or hednesford both few miles away with supermarkets takeaways and pubs. 10 a night.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Flutel1 1 review from this member

Tackeroo Campsite is in the forest of Cannock Chase. It is on an old military storage site so has some concrete hard standing areas. It also has some more gravelly grassy areas; it is a beautiful site. There are no toilets but there are chemical toilet emptying points and water taps.

We loved sitting outside the van watching squirrels and rabbits. I saw one deer in the distance.

Unfortunately the peace of this site was disturbed by inconsiderate generator use. The warden told me that people should not use their generators more than an hour at a time. One caravan user had his generator placed near to my caravan and was using it on and off constantly - even once very late at night when the camping info board clearly stated that the site should be noise free from 10pm - 9am. This selfish behaviour drove us mad and we eventually had to move the van across the site far away from the generator.

I think the issue is that this is quite wild camping and it is not staffed. A warden comes around once a day to collect the 10 a night - but then he is gone. The no fires and peace and quiet rules were easy to flout. Whilst it is great to camp cheaply and with no frills, there are people who will exploit this freedom.

Our visit was on a weekend during the summer holidays. The warden told me it was the busiest he had seen it this year (due to poor weather). I would suggest that, if you want the peace and quiet of the forest that you avoid this time and visit out of the peak period.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Lurcher Mac 50 reviews from this member

Tackeroo is a fantastic but basic site with the pitches set amongst the trees. It's mainly flat so no need for levellers.

You can't book at Tackeroo, you simply turn up and find your pitch and settle in. The ranger visits the site for payment either at breakfast time or late afternoon. There is a gate at the entrance of the site that is closed in the evening. It's not locked so if you go out in the evening, you don't have to worry about not being able to get back in.

There are fresh water taps but they are the push type so if you have an internal water tank, make sure you have a funnel so that you can fill up. There are a couple of CDP points with a water tap for cleaning out.

The site is dark at night as there is no lighting but this gives a fantastic remote feeling to the place which I loved. If you are walking around at night, you will need torches.

There is an abundance of wildlife in the area; we saw deer, foxes and a wide variety of birds. If you have a dog and take it out in the evening, be aware of the deer, they're everywhere!

The area is great for walking and mountain biking as it's on Cannock Chase. There are tracks for both directly from the site and Go Ape is also a short bike ride away.

Rugeley is nearby so if you need supplies, it's probably best to stock up before arriving on site

I would happily return to Takeroo, it's a shame that we don't live closer; otherwise I'd be a regular. Great price of 10 per night.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: BrownsandHounds 5 reviews from this member

If you like peace and quiet and 'back to basic' camping, this site is for you. If you like swish facilities, clubhouses and manicured lawns - this site is not for you.

Pitches are nestled amongst the trees with walking direct from the site at all points of the compass. Great mountain biking too. We have been several times and it never feels busy.

There are no toilet facilities on this site, you have bring your own. There are cold taps, skips for your rubbish and a chemical toilet disposal point.

Waking up early in the morning and seeing the sun streaming through the trees is real bliss. You really feel you are part of nature with wild-life (including deer from time to time) all around.

A wonderful, relaxed place that we'll visit again and again.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Crazy_Gloria 2 reviews from this member

This site reminds me of the DOC campsites that there are loads of in rural New Zealand - all there is is a chemical toilet disposal point and fresh water point, and a few picnic benches.

When I say 'all there is', that's the whole point! You're in the middle of the forest, self sufficient and it's not going to attract the type of camper who wants a clubhouse, tv reception, laundry facilities and sunday papers.

Bliss. Take your binos and you'll see woodpeckers, deer and if you're dead lucky like me an elusive nightjar.

If you're even luckier (like us) the ranger is obviously having an off day and doesn't turn up to collect your fee.

Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Angela164 5 reviews from this member

The site is very basic, you must have your own loos and showers. Nothing to do, totally quiet, utter bliss!

Took my grandson he's 8 and he had a wonderful time, playing in the forest with new pals, building dens and playing Robin Hood. We took the dog for long lazy walks, he lost at least a stone in weight. We were all in bed by 9.00pm it was so dark and quiet. We are taking the fishing rods next time.

I think that 10 a night is a bit expensive especially as they do not give a discount for staying a week. But Hey Ho relax and go with the flow!

Previous     12 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Rugeley      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Staffordshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7197 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019