Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping 5 Etoiles Yelloh! Village Le Pin Parasol

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > Europe > France > Pays de la Loire > Site Reviews

Camping 5 Etoiles Yelloh! Village Le Pin Parasol
Chateaulong
La Chapelle Hermier
Pays de la Loire   (Browse area)
85220
Tel: 00332 51 34 64 72
    Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 514
Open: 17th May Until 15th September 2019

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 30 Reviews
                8/10 from 30 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf 5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  30 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Charnei 1 review from this member

This is a nice site and the staff are pleasant but I feel they have been somewhat dishonest in not declaring that there is major construction work on going next door with heavy machinery starting every morning just after 8am and going on to after 6pm Mon to Friday. We booked 10 days and had no warning of this or any contact concerning it. The advertised tranquil site has not been tranquil for us. The work continues and will extend for some time yet. Campers coming over the next few weeks need to ask about this disruption to their holiday.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Siburchy 1 review from this member

We booked this site for 1 out of a 2 week holiday in France, with the view that this would be a site for our children to enjoy (2 girls aged 7 & 11) before we moved to somewhere a little more relaxed.

In summary, this is a good site for families, that children will really enjoy and you will have a job to get them off the site during the day to go out and about. The facilities are well maintained and accurately represent what is advertised, i. E. Pool area, slides, bar, shop etcÖ The lake is directly next to the site and is lovely, as is the little Auberge situated on the lake that is about a 20 minute walk from the site. The site was mainly occupied with English and Dutch campers, with the majority being English. The site is large and very busy all the time, and as such you donít get a Ďrelaxedí feeling during your stay, although it seemed to quieten down well after 10:30-11:00 pm. I canít see any reason why you wouldnít have a good holiday here if youíre comfortable with the thoughts Iíve put above.

Although this site has been given 5 star status, my personal opinion after a stay is itís more like a 4 star site. To explain my thinking:

Factors that push site towards 5 star:

- Investment in pool area facilities. These are of a very high standard and an obviously selling point for families.

- Childrenís play area, probably the best Iíve seen on any site Iíve visited.

- Pitches are spacious and easily able to take large caravan, car and awning.

- Site personnel are very helpful, speak multiple languages and were always very helpful.

Factors that push site towards 4 star:

- Very large site that means facilities canít actually cope with the volume of people. For example: when pool opens there is a queue of people running to reserve sun beds. It is extremely difficult to get a sun bed and the pools are absolutely crammed with people. For example, during our stay there was no possibility of actually having a swim.

- Bar prices are expensive for what is good, but basic fare. As a result of the point above, you could wait for a long time for service.

- Shower/Toilet blocks were very busy (again not enough facilities for people) and I had to regularly queue for a shower/toilet.

- Shower block arrangement was strange. Having showers directly next to toilets with a gap in the partition at the bottom, meant that people on toilet would get shower water running in. Iíve never experienced this on a site before.

- Although the showers were never cold, the Ďhotnessí regularly ran out to result in a tepid shower.

- Basic facilities, i. E. Water, waste/rubbish are poor. Site taps were push type that allowed 5 secs of water to be dispensed at time. Filling a 40l water hog was Ďan eventí. For a 5 star site, I would expect better basic facilities. Rubbish bins were only situated at reception, which could be a considerable walk depending on where your pitch is.

- On arrival you have to park in a specific area to check in. I can understand why this is the case and seems sensible, but if you are towing a caravan, the arrangement of the parking area is challenging to get out of and into the site, which isnít what you really want after a considerable journey.

There are also development plans to expand the site capacity, although they are proposing supplementing the pools to accommodate.

The overall feeling I had leaving this site was I was not disappointed with my stay, I was glad I only had 1 week there and glad of a change. It was over busy, but the children loved it, and I wouldnít be rushing back any time soon. In my opinion, probably only really deserves 4 star status until the experience with basic site facilities are improved and the demand on the pool facilities feels more sustainable.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lockie 8 reviews from this member

After hearing about Le Pin Parasol from various people raving about it we decided to give it a go.

We don't normally do sites of such a commercial nature but we knew the local area to be well located for many things we liked so booked up.

It was easy to find with plenty of signage to assist for those not relying on a sat nav. Booking in was painless and the staff were helpful.

We found the pitch easily enough with the map provided but were a little dismayed at its location being surrounded by other pitches on 3 sides with a small road directly in front.

If you want to camp here try and get as far away from the clubhouse as possible for better pitches.

The pitch was an ok size but didn't leave much room for playing etc with the kids once the car was on it.

If the kids wanted to play they had to go off to the designated play area which was a fair distance away from the pitch, so glad we took the walkie talkies.

The toilets were always clean and had hot water in the showers at all times. Another nice touch was toilet paper was provided, not a common french theme.

The downsides were the noise the doors made when left to close on their own making a loud bang. A few mornings this woke me up and we weren't directly in front of the toilets so I felt for anyone directly near them.

Also due to a fairly large number of teenagers on the site it meant were we subjected to swearing in the shower areas several times.

The swearing also happened a couple of nights later on as people walked back from the clubhouse, not great when you have kids trying to sleep and I don't go to france to hear english idiots swearing loudly at night.

The sites entertainment was hit and miss at nightime, some was good some wasn't.

I personally thought the drinks prices in the bar were expensive so we chose not to drink there and forget the cocktails, they will certainly disappoint for the price.

They advertised several 'themed' night special menus but the prices weren't good value and we ate out at restuarants for cheaper.

We were given a list of kids activities on arrival but only found out it was out of date when we went to go to an activity. As we arrived on a friday why didn't they give us the next weeks activities too ?

The kid activities on the whole were good and most days they had various things going on in the mornings near the reception area. There is also a kids club which is good for a rainy morning.

The pool complex is good but the kids soon tired of the slides preferring to splash about in the main pool.

Getting a lounger can be a challenge at times but it got better when they started stopping people 'reserving' them with towels and clearing off for the day.

The shop is good for a site shop with daily fresh bread deliveries and well used.

There is a hyper you 15 minutes away for the bigger shops.

Lac de jaunay is great for a mountain bike around and brilliant for an early morning stint to get the lungs going.

The site also has a free bike wash which is a welcome addition.

Further down the lake is a nice local restaurant and booking is recommended. We had a lovely meal and evening walk back in the dark so take a torch.

Many of the people we spoke to have been going to the site year after year and meeting up with friends and book the next visit as they are leaving.

For us the site was ok but not one we were overly impressed with, in fact on a cycle we saw La Guyonniere and realised that was where we should have booked due its more spacious layout.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Beardsley 6 reviews from this member

We have just come back from a two week stay at Pin Parasol.

Pin Parasol is a child orientated site with over 300 pitches, over half of which are static accommodation such as chalets or mobile homes. The rest being caravan or tent pitches.

We had excellent weather for the first week and then torrential rain for the second week, which sadly affected our view of the whole experience. However, we found the site well situated and with very good facilities.

Positives, of which there were many:

- Good pool and water slide complex with a larger indoor pool (much needed).

- Lots of free kids activities.

- Nicely located next to a large lake for running/cycling (you will need to be on a mountain bike and a competent rider to cycle round it).

- Very good and clean facilities.

- Good sized pitches, we were on a standard size and it was huge.

Negatives:

- The site is staffed by young men and women, possibly on a seasonal basis. They were all great, however there was not enough of them. On the many occasions the rain made us use the on site bar we found ourselves waiting nearly 20 minutes for a drink due to the abundance of cocktails which takes 5 minute a piece to make. Drinks were also expensive.

- The wifi as advertised costs 20 euros for 12 hours, which I think is a bit of a rip off, the service was temperamental and slow. Holidays should not be about wifi connections but this left me aggrieved.

All in all it was very good and would recommend.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Skejm10 2 reviews from this member

Third year in France and this campsite is the best yet. Arrived after an eventful journey where the car decided to play up and enter 'safe mode' 200km from our destination, however we finally got to the site and was greeted by friendly and efficient staff who could not do enough to help us. Even though we had booked with the site itself, the local Eurocamp rep. Helped us find a local garage to assist and fix the car and reception staff were very happy to call the garage in advance for us too and explain everything.

The site facilities in our opinion are excellent, always clean with endless hot water in the showers. Hand washing facilities comprised of a communal automated hand wash basin located at the exit of the shower block. We liked this arrangement as it meant everyone used them as they were visible for all to see.

The facilities are unisex but this didn't seem to bother anyone.

The pitch size, like in every other French site we've been to, are vast compared to the UK.

The swimming pool complex has been upgraded this year with rubber ring slides and the kids ( and us too) really enjoyed this, there is also an indoor pool for when the weather is not so hot. Don't forget your speedos!, although I got away with swim boxers. Don't worry though, they sell them on site too. When in Rome.

You can use the on site shop for your food, but is closes during the day ( the bar stays open and served you food!) However there is a decent Supermarket 'Mini U' in Coex, a 10min drive away and a Hyper you 15/20mins away too.

Fresh Baguette and pan a chocolate can be bought every morning from the shop for breakfast, and the staff are very friendly and indulge your attempts at French!

Further a field, you have the beaches, about 15mins away with local markets with an atmosphere that buzzed. And about 1hours drive away the theme park 'Puy du Fou' an excellent alternative theme park comprising of different, set piece, shows, with dramatic scene changes based loosely on Medieval stories. We especially liked the Ballet of the Birds, with over 200 birds in the sky all at once.

And closed to the site(about 10mins) there is le grand-defi. A French alternative to the UK tree top high climbing centers without all the UK heath and safety nonsense. Catering for all visitors from 2 upwards. Our kids aged 7, 9 and 14 all had appropriate courses to do, six for the 7 year old alone, all challenging but close to the ground so as to not scare then too much, and plenty of zip wires over the lakes too!

Overall I would give this campsite and area 9/10, and we enjoyed it so much we've booked for next year already ( and we never go back to the same place twice!)

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: BERTIE 12 reviews from this member

After the fantastic reviews of this site, I thought I would give it a go this year, not the first for this area so was prepared for location and weather, all of which suit us well as does the driving distance from Roscoff

The positives

The site was very clean, tidy and goof sized pitches.

Good pool and play areas - although the main play area was quite a distance from the bar/reception.

Good mix of nationalities, we had French, Dutch, Irish and English in our cul-de-sac,

The negatives

Would have liked soap in the smaller toilet blocks -which was nearest to us

Lack of facilities/entertainment for young teenagers

Lack of information regarding daily activities and timings

Although the site was pleasant, I don't see the attraction to return annually - we won't be.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: NickH 2 reviews from this member

We have just returned from Le Pin Parasol. After holidaying in the UK for many years the weather finally broke us and following on from a recommendation from a fellow camper last year we headed to Le Pin Parasol.

On arrival there is a large area to park up whilst you check in. We arrived two hours before we could get on the pitch, but as it was clear we were let straight on. Check-In was very efficient and done in English.

The pitch we were allocated to was huge and ours was not a one-off, they are all like it.

Great pools for everyone and with slides as an added bonus (two more planned for over winter).

Shop on-site was reasonably stocked and prices as expected, more that a supermarket, but not a rip off.

Bar was good for a drink after a hard day at the pool and there was evening entertainment most nights for those that wanted.

Take-away food, we used only once, but the quality of the food was good.

Games room enjoyed by all the children!

Facilities were kept very clean and cleaned several times a day. The unisex shower blocks meant that we never had to queue for the showers/basins or loos in the entire visit. I can see some people having an issue with it, but as every cubicle has a door it's not an issue and as I said no queues so it works!

The site is large, but the planting of shrubs between every pitch, the site being on different levels and several shower blocks it does not feel big.

Local village - Coex - good for Hyper Express, butchers, bakers and fish mongers. 12km round trip on the bike or 5 mins by car.

Several Super Us close by and a Hyper you not too far away (along with a Decathlon).

Beaches are great and the ones went to had lifegaurds patrolling - all free parking within a short walk.

All in all pretty much perfect holiday and as a result we have re-booked for 2014 and cannot wait

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Graeme_Cooke 9 reviews from this member

We stayed at Le Pin Parsol for the first two weeks in August. This was not our first time on a French park but it was the first time with our folding camper.

We picked the site due it's location and the good things we'd heard. We were not disappointed. The site was well laid out and although quite large it didn't feel too big. The staff were friendly and English speaking and very helpful. The pool was good and they are building some more slides for next year. The washrooms were kept clean during the day.

The site has a policy on noise so you could hear a pin drop after 11pm. The owners take this very seriously indeed.

The area around the site is good including the brilliant beaches at Brem-sur-Mer and St. Gilles.

Everybody we spoke to at the site was on at least there third visit to Le Pin Parasol. If you book here you won't be disappointed. The only down side was the cost of wifi as it wasn't even free in the bar. That aside it is that good we have booked for next year.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Bippedybop 5 reviews from this member

This was our first visit to a French campsite so we didn't really know what to expect.

We were really pleased with the site itself; the facilities were absolutely spotless and staffed by friendly, helpful young-ish girls (I'd say many were university students). Everyone spoke at least two languages but some spoke far more. The kids club was great - free and lasted for two hours in the morning with further activities in the afternoon if you wanted them. The pool complex was superb - the outdoor pools were (slightly) heated and the slides produced endless hours of amusement for our boys (7 and 5) - and us actually! Having the indoor pool was a bonus on cooler days or when you wanted to warm up (it felt like a bath!).

We didn't use the bar much but it had a lovely terrace overlooking the pool and the prices seemed pretty reasonable to us. Equally, the on site shop was useful and no more expensive than any other convenience store; but there was a supermarket less than 10 minutes away in Coex and a massive hypermarket about 10-15 minutes away in Aizenay.

The takeaway was very hsndy for when you didn't fancy cooking and although the choice was reasonably limited, it was good value and nicely cooked. There was also a charming auberge about 10 minutes walk/3 minutes drive away which had a terrace overlooking the lake and was excellent value.

The area is very pretty and we loved villages like Apremont with its charming castle. There are fab beaches only about 10 minutes away and you can also explore further along the coast - the 'island' of Noirmoutier was gorgeous.

Our only small gripe was that the pitch was pretty small and not as private as we'd hoped - we were surrounded on all sides by other pitches or a road and the next pitch was only 6 foot in front of our terrace, separated by a few small shurbs so if someone had pitched their tent there, it would have spoilt things a bit since we would have had no privacy at all. Another time we would be more fussy when requesting a pitch. Otherwise, we found the checkout clean rather tedious (the penalty of 80 euros was quite harsh if you got it wrong). We booked direct but it would probably have been cheaper to have booked with an operator and saved the hassle of cleaning on departure. I would say also that this is a campsite where the touring pitches are much better located (and usually larger) than the mobile homes - much closer to the pools and the main buildings.

All in all, we thought this was an excellent campsite in a lovely location - nice and peaceful but with plenty to do in the area. Highly recommended.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Richg1968 1 review from this member

Just spent two weeks at this camp site, our first camping trip in France. Find it very difficult to fault anything about the campsite. Clear signs on arrival as to where new arrivals should park. Very friendly helpful staff throughout the whole of campsite. Lovely and clean shower and toilet blocks, with plenty of hot water for showers. Tons of activities going on for the children and quite suprised to find out most of it was free, including Bouncy Castle, Wall climbing, Trampolines etc. In England it would cost a family a fortune for the children to take part in these activities because no way would it be free. Pool was fantastic! lots of fun with the water slides, plenty of sunbeds and chairs. The pool is very well looked after, lovely and clean. Pitches are huge, we had a pitch plenty big enough for our tent, car and was even able to set up our kitchen on the pitch.

A reasonable size shop on site with plenty of fresh baguettes and crossiants each morning. A fantastic lake just off the camp where you can hire Boats. Wonderful beaches a short drive away.

To top it all lovely weather every day, already planning next yearts visit.

Previous     30 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Pays de la Loire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3438 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019