Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Le Soleil

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Languedoc Roussillon > Argeles Sur Mer > Le Soleil Reviews

Le Soleil
Route Du Littoral
Argeles Sur Mer
Languedoc Roussillon   (Browse area)
66702
Tel: 0033 04 68 81 14 48
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 551
Open: May To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 7 Reviews
                8/10 from 7 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding On Site   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chezza23 2 reviews from this member

We decided on this campsite because the pool looked nice and it's right on the beach. After travelling down from Lincolnshire we arrived on the Saturday afternoon our first thoughts were it was very busy.

Our tent pitch was very large and we could of got 3 tents on it so had lots of space. We were right across from the kids playground but the noise never bothered us. My 2 daughters loved the pool, it's very spacious and never felt like you were swimming on top of each other, the slides were a big hit with my daughters and we would spend hours in the pool. The temperature of it was lovely.

The toilet block was always clean and considering the size of the campsite we never had to queue once for the showers or the sinks to wash up.

We read complaints about the noise from the nearby fairground and was a bit worried about being in a tent with a 5 and 4 year old but I can honestly say it didn't bother us at all. Some nights you could hear it in the distance of the wind was blowing our way but that's it. We were away from it and near the pool so I can't say what it's like if you are closer to it.

The food at the take away is good and reasonably priced for a campsite. Being right on the beach was a definite plus and although it was right in the main school holidays it was never crowded.

There is plenty to do on the campsite and in the nearby village so much so that we are returning this year too but we're hanging up the tent and have hired a caravan instead

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hotpotatoes247 2 reviews from this member

My family and I booked 14 nights at Camping Le Soleil in August 2013. On arrival we were allocated a camping pitch in the middle/near the beach side of the campsite but, after 7 days we decided that enough was enough and moved to another campsite away from Argeles sur Mer, which can only be described as a ‘kiss me quick’ French version of Blackpool. For us, the beach and pool ticked the right boxes and by day the site has a reasonable nature. By dusk however the site takes on a different guise, please do read on for some holiday truths about Camping Le Soleil in Argeles sur Mer. This review is factual and not dressed up in any way.

The noise from Luna Amusement Park (next door) was HORRENDOUS! Luna Park fired up at 8. 30pm and got progressively louder towards midnight at which point the volume reduced slightly but continued until 2am! Some reviews are clearly very generous of the Luna Park noise which was simply UNBEARABLE! Some nights having a conversation meant sitting two feet apart whilst shouting to each other.

On site, the site rules regarding noise between 10pm – 7am were NOT enforced. On three nights several nearby pitches completely disregarded the noise rules and on the final occasion we spoke directly to site security at 1am (yes 1am), whereby he started by explaining about the previous night. Apparently a beach rave had entered the site via one of the beach entrances and 45 youngsters had revelled in the site wash blocks! This was a worrying explanation of the previous night noise - and at this point we became gravely concerned that the site has a distinct lack of control and that personal family safety was a major concern. Security went then went on to explain that every half hour he asked people to be quiet. Realistically we could see that site security were unable to enforcing site rules and that the campsite was running into dangerous grounds with drunk and unruly behaviour that we so desperately tried not to believe!

In addition to this, the site runs a midnight to 5am underground adults disco, so getting any sleep was nearby impossible. Between 2am and 5am was quieter after Luna Park shutdown but at the disco kick out time, drunken revellers chanted loudly and shouted on their return to their pitches. On two mornings we were woken by loud car wheel spinning noise, which seemed to be nearby but external to the site.

There are several entry points to the site, only one by road with a car control pin code barrier, three beach entrances of which only one with pin code access. We were never challenged, day or night on foot at the main site entrance and the two uncontrolled beach access points were exactly that, not patrolled at any time so anyone could enter.

We discussed our concerns with the site receptionists on three occasions and were promised a visit by the site director which never happened. Night time noise was the major concern in addition to the two occasions of human excrement being plastered around the wash block.

Leaving early from this site was our best decision.

We should point out that on our day of leaving we informed Camping Le Soleil reception of such and after pressing the point of our dissatisfaction did actually receive a refund for our unused stay. We were surprised that we received a refund but it didn’t compensate us for the lack of 8 days sleep and a stay that we will only remember for the wrong reasons.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Degsy001 3 reviews from this member

Visited in early June (so bit late with review.)Travelled with my wife and stayed in a Eurocamp static van. The van was spotless and ready for occupation although we arrived early.The vans are located close together so not much space around them.

This large site was only about 1/3rd full so plenty room. We had a couple of heavy downpours and a couple of the roadways around the camping area had a lot of standing water for a while, although the pitches were ok.

Low key entertainment on some nights in the beach bar (which isn't on the beach.) Beer prices were €5 for a large beer.This bar wasn't open during the day.

The pool is large with plenty of sunbathing areas and beds and a pool bar but the water was incredibly cold, with only a few hardy adults venturing in, but the kids didn't seem to mind. It's supposed to be heated for next year. It also has a hoist for disabled use.

The site shop was well stocked including fresh produce and was not particularly overpriced. Large supermarkets within about 10minutes drive and also a McDonalds if that is your bag.

Site is handily placed for trips out to Spain(use the coast road for some spectacular views.)

Argeles sur Mer itself is a typical seaside town with lots of the usual shops and bars, including a British one.

We found the site very good and would be happy to visit again sometime in the future.

Don't be tempted to travel to this site in one hit unless you are really up to it. It is a long way down so don't underestimate it. We stayed in F1 hotels for one night each way for about £30 a night.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Patientkev! 8 reviews from this member

This is a big site but it was not as noisy as I feared it would be. You can hear the fun fair but we did not find it intrusive although it could be to do where your pitch is situated. The pools were great and though we are not great beach people it was less than 10 minutes walk from our pitch so we felt we could go for an hour or two rather than going all day if we had to make a special journey. Beach was busy but never crowded unlike the roads in area. August is very busy (which we knew before we went but tied to school holidays)we went early in the day for shopping as suggested by another reviewer and this worked well. However the supermarket on site catered for most things and was not over priced.

The beach bar has live music most nights (could do with a few more chairs) and we used the take away a couple of times which we considered value for money.

The showers and toilets were very clean and there nearly always seemed to be someone cleaning. There was plenty of hot water in the mornings but it was cooler in the evenings. My only gripe would be with the dish washing area there was very little room it was very cramped and nowhere to stack things as you dried them.

The staff were always friendly and helpful and though the site was full it seemed to be clean and tidy.

A great site for teenagers but everyone seemed to enjoy themselves. There was plenty of couples young and older and families with young children and a good mix of nationalities.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: TethersEnd 2 reviews from this member

Nearly all been said - but don't underestimate the fun fair noise though- It is intrusive. Having said that we are going back for a 4th year.

Teenagers love it - they are very welcome to sip a coke at the beach bar and disco till early.

Its a BIG site but even at the end of the season the staff are helpful and efficient.

Rented mobiles aren't as plush as some of the tour operators on site - but there is everything you need apart from tea pot, towels bedding - and its all clean!. As we have no interest in sitting in a mobilehome I am delighted to get to pay less for just what I need.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Degsytroy 4 reviews from this member

A great site. Location is second to none. Beach is right next to the site and doesn't get overcrowded. The swimming pools are first class and different pools for all ages. The onsite shop is well stocked and very reasonably priced. Fresh baguettes and croissants every morning! Take away is basically everything that is sold in the restaurant but a couple of euros cheaper per meal.
The toilet.Shower blocks are cleaned regularly. The town centre is about a 5 minute drive if no traffic, but it does get very busy around August. A trainbus also takes you to town (4.60 euros return). The return trainbus is mad after 10.30pm ish. No queuing, just every man for himself.
Theres a little noise from the nearby theme park/go-carts but not too noisy. Aqualand is approx 5 mins drive. There are a few very local wine caves. This is our second year here and already booked for next year.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dirtydog 7 reviews from this member

This really is a fantastic site we sayed there for 2 weeks . The site facilities are all first class and most importantly cleaned regulary lots and lots for everyone to do on site a large swimmingpool complex aimed at children of all ages , playground, large well stocked shop and various bars ,restaurants (very good) and takeaways.
You can just relax by the pool enjoy the beach which is adjacent to the site or there is many other on site activities going on. For days out I would reccomend a drive up to the mountains to Villefranche its on the N116 a bit further away is Carcassonne worth a day out .
For evenings out Argeles is a very lively town with hundreds of restaurants small shops etc but parking is a nightmare.Also the 1st Saturday in August just about the whole of Europe seemed to bo going though the peage at Beziers it was the traffic jam from hell and it seems to happen every year you will do youreself a big favour by avoiding this.


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Argeles Sur Mer      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Languedoc Roussillon

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Love Touring Expo, Scotland 25/10 to 27/10, Aberdeen
Scotland’s newest caravan and motorhome show! The very latest caravans, motorhomes and campervans from all major brands, including the new models for 2020 ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1719 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019