Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Stonehaugh Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Hexham > Stonehaugh Campsite Reviews

Stonehaugh Campsite
The Old Farmhouse
Stonehaugh
Hexham
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE48 3BU
Tel: 01434 230798
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: March To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 19 Reviews
                9/10 from 19 Reviews

Photos (12)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <10 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <10 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <10 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  19 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Andrea27216upd 1 review from this member

 Stonehaugh campsite is a well maintained site in a peaceful location. Lovely polite owners. We booked here to explore some of the area such as the Roman forts and to take advantage of the many walking routes.

The site felt like a safe place for children to play and enjoy themselves. We felt that the site was good value for money especially with it being a bank holiday wk end.

The site uses wind turbine and solar panels to run the shower block and electric hookups so is mainly self sufficient.

We hope to return in the future. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dottydelia 2 reviews from this member

 This will be our go to campsite in future. A massive field, with smaller one to the side. Loads of room. One reviewer said there was no privacy. This wasnít a problem as there were so few people there. We turned our tent facing away from other tents in case it did get busy.

The shower block was spotless. There was also a family bathroom with plenty of hot water, which is all eco friendly. The owner was helpful. Ask if you need any walking leaflets. He keeps them in the house. We didnít take the car off site for our 3 day stay.

We just enjoyed sitting in the tranquil setting & walking from site. Listening to the wildlife at night was wonderful (apart from the midges buzzing round our ears). The dark skies are amazing & itís worth a trip into the village to sit in the pavilion to star gaze.

Thereís also a community pub in the village which is extremely cheap & they do a Sunday breakfast which is legendary.

This is a well run site with no rowdiness. We will return. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Wallace L 7 reviews from this member

 What a fabulous site. Owners were very welcoming despite our late arrival and were grateful that we had contacted them to let them know we had been delayed in traffic.

The scenery is stunning plenty of walks, a lovely picnic area just a short walk off the site by the river. You can choose your own pitch and there is lots of space but EHUs are only 6 amp and limited availability so you have to book it specially and are not guaranteed to get it.

An eco friendly site. Clean facilities with plenty of hot water and even has a family bathroom with bath ideal for little ones. The site would benefit from a children's play area but our granddaughter had a great time without.

Location is perfect for discovering Northumberland Hadrians wall a short drive and Kielder water close by too. Only down side were the midges. Next time we are taking netted hats and plenty of sprays.

My husband and granddaughter didn't suffer to badly but the loved me. Lesson learned. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The 8ear 2 reviews from this member

 We visited Stonehaugh camp site early June for a few days after looking around at various sites we decided on Stonehaugh, well we couldn't have made a better choice. We were greeted by the owners on arrival who explained the camp rules and gave us a leaflet the rules are pretty much the same as most respectable campsites they also gave us a leaflet with a couple of local walks on starting from the campsite to walk the dogs on.

There are two fields to camp in both of which are fairly level the grass is kept well cut and toilet blocks are clean and tidy. There is a local bar in the village and a play park for the kids, a pick nick area and access to play in the stream which our two girls age 2 and 4 loved is a short walk, and there is also a star viewing place too.

To say this camp is almost perfect is an understatement its friendly, reasonably priced, clean, quiet and plenty of space for kids to play although take your supplies with you as the local shops about a 15 min drive and the nearest supermarket even further away.

And just to add to the charm falling asleep listening to the tawny owl that lives in the surrounding woods was just so nice. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Knowetap camper 1 review from this member

 Good old grass field with a nice toilet block. No marked pitches, plenty of room.

We were in a party of three, two of us with ridiculously large air tents, three cars, two trailers and 8 kids.

Had a fantastic stay.

The site is out of the way so don't expect to pick up last minute supplies after you arrive.

It's on the edge of Kielder Forest so expect midges through the day and owls hooting at night.

Plenty space for all our camp and kids to run about without encroaching into other's spaces.

Whole site is off grid, this the hook ups are only 6 amp. We managed fine, just had to think about what we werenpluggingnin and when.

Should mention the family bathroom too, we managed to get four kids into the bath which is a great bonus when camping. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rshwils 1 review from this member

 Had a wonderful camping trip here over the Bank Holiday weekend. Lovely remote site which was not crowded and had plenty of space to pitch. Nice walks on the doorstep but nothing nearby in terms of shops or pubs - bliss if you want to get away from it all. Ideal for watching the Dark Skies of Northumberland. There is no playground for children. The toilet block was clean and hot water plentiful. There are limited electric hookups. Would not hesitate to recommend to anyone who wants a straightforward camping experience on a well maintained site. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tony hardy 2 reviews from this member

 I love this place. I've been a few times with my son but this time I took the wife n daughte 2. We didn't go on hikes this time coz of the girls but we had a bbq n played games on the big field b4 the saloon opened at 7. 30 in there the kids played pool n football games wile we were chilling having a drink. The staff are so friendly and it's so cheap. Can't wait to go again. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sjabradley 2 reviews from this member

 Beautiful quite campsite. Showers, toilets and family bathroom clean and powered by wind turbine and solar panels. Washing up area in the same block. Electric hook ups available. Not over populated, which was lovely as plenty of space around your tent. Beautiful surroundings. Really helpful and informative owners. Lots of great walks. Ideal for a quiet getaway. Would recommend and would go back there. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rayking 3 reviews from this member

 Excellent location for a quiet, away from the hustle and bustle break.

Lots to do in the area, very close to Hadrian's wall and the Pennine way. Good walking and cycling area, there are lots of forest tracks to cycle on.

The shower block is very good. The water, heated by solar power, is at just the right temperature and there was lots of it.

We used an electric hook up, power supplied by a wind generator, this was very efficient and worked 100%

Stonehaugh social club is a good place to relax and is very friendly. There is a pool table, darts and bar billiards. Drinks are reasonably priced.

Bellingham is a good place to buy provisions it has a very good butcher, green grocer and bakers.

This is a campsite we will return to in the future. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Loli0503 1 review from this member

 We booked Stonehaugh last minute, booking was easy rang at first then completed booking form online and was confirmed via email.

We arrived and paid cash as no card facilities along with a £2 deposit for the shower room key.

Nearest shop is not as described it is 6 miles away but its 5. 5 miles back along road before 6 mile journey to Wark, and 9 miles to Bellingham, on website states supermarkets in Bellingham. There is one a CO-OP, along with bakers, post office fruit shop and butchers they offer a bbq pack for 1 or 2 people at £4 or £8 there is also a couple banks and a cafe.

Petrol was very expensive in Bellingham at £1. 47 per litre.

Campsite was very peaceful with only a few others camping.

Water was not very hot on our first day, the lights are on a timer switch and whilst having a shower they went out which I found quite scary.

Sink are inside shower block to wash dishes.

I have very long hair and because weather was not great would have liked an electrical socket to dry my hair, there was 2 in shower block but covered stating not in use.

Warksburn picnic area was lovely and many places to walk the dog.

Kielder 9 miles drive from Bellingham.

We left a day early only due to the fact that it was our first camping trip since my partners health scare. It was too much for him and the owner kindly refunded us which I thought was a lovely gesture.

There is a clubhouse in Stonehaugh village 5 minutes walk from the site, lovely interior they offer meals and breakfast on a Sunday only open from Thursday at 7. 30pm. 


Previous     19 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Stonehaugh Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Stonehaugh Campsite?  There is a shop within 10 miles  View all facilities

Is Stonehaugh Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Hexham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3966 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020