Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Driftwood Caravan Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > East Yorkshire > Site Reviews

Driftwood Caravan Site
The Nookin
Kilnsea Road
Kilnsea
Hull
East Yorkshire   (Browse area)
HU12 0UB
Tel: 01964 650208  or  07952 293060
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 5 hard standing +EHU some tenting also
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 13 Reviews
                9/10 from 13 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  13 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Campuz 10 reviews from this member

Lovely Little Site. We had tried several times to get on it in the past and Glad werpersevered. Very Small but well kept. I would dare to suggest no room to erect an awning. Nice flat pitches. Hook up and water and waste facilities are perfect and the little toilet block is amazing. Lovely and clean. Well laid out and very spacious and doubles as an information centre too. Loved it. The site owner is very friendly and has a professional yet relaxed approach to running her site. Keep up the great work and we will hope to see you again.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Boldie42 8 reviews from this member

First time to Driftwood and I must say we love it, nice and peaceful, clean toilet and shower, friendly owners, what more can you ask. Really good pub just down the road with outstanding setting. We walked on spurn head to the lighthouse were we had refreshments and the wild life was superb. We only live 20 miles away and I think we have found a little gem of a site. We will be back.

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rdhrob 1 review from this member

I stayed here for 3 nights in my tent, from 9th October 2016 and had a wonderful stay. The facilities are superb, and the cleanliness of the facilities was second to none.

Really good value for money, fabulous hosts, and an absolutely amazing location.

Cant wait to go back!

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Terry+Linda 36 reviews from this member

Having stayed here last year [2015]. There is'nt really much that I can say that I did'nt say in my review last year [see below] except that we enjoyed our stay just as much this year too.

Thankfully [from what I understand] the plans to build a large Bird Observatory & Visitor Centre on nearby Spurn Point have been rejected.

Without doubt one of the best sites we have ever found. We will be back next year too.

T&L

Date of Visit: January 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: ML60BAR 15 reviews from this member

This made a very good one night stop combining with walking and twitching on Spurn Point. Small site, as stated toilet/shower facilities could be inadequate if site full, although fine for those with own facilities. You could feel a little hemmed in if the site was full, but if planning to be out and about (or in January!) no problems. Easy walking distance to friendly pub. Off season rate inc EHU very reasonable.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hazegood 2 reviews from this member

Not much to add to what the other reviewers have said

Stayed here last night, had booked pitch earlier in the week by phone, on arrival owners were out so being unsure of the set up phones their mobile, was told we have put a reserved sign out on the pitch where we think suitable for you, if that's not ok, pitch anywhere you like that does not have a reserved sign, and we will see you later, pitch they selected was fine.

Was a little concerned about how to pay when they were not there, but discovered in the toilet / shower room there ws a notice stating that if you need to pay and there was no one home, there are envelopes in the chest of draws, put money in that with your name on it, and post through bungalow letterbox

Toilet shower facilities very clean, there is now hot water over the hand basin (earlier review said it was cold only)

There is also a shelf in the block with some books on if you are stuck for something to read, you can borrow and return one for 50p or you can buy one for 1, proceeds to a local cancer charity (honesty box for payment)

The only negative I could find is there is no real washing up facilities for those in tents, just a hose connected to a cold water tap. Take a plastic washing up bowl with you,

Have booked to go back for a longer stay at the end of the month

Should also add, this website say sits CCC members only, its not

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jennie65 4 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 3 nights to visit Spurn Head. The site is rather small but immaculate. My only criticism is that the toilet and shower share the same space, so if someone is using the shower, you have to wait to use the toilet. Not good if you are in a tent.

We had a trip to Spurn Point in a unimog run by the Yorkshire Wildlife Trust. Very interesting. Lots of nice walks with the dog. Food good at the Crown and Anchor.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Terry+Linda 36 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a 3 night stay on this site.

We were made to feel very welcome as soon as we arrived, as the site owner offered us a cup of coffee straight after our journey [the first time I've ever had that offered, in over 30 years of 'trailer tenting'].

It's a small site, it gives the impression of camping in the site pwners garden, but the grass is well cut and all the pitches are level, it is also very sheltered.

The toilet block is one shared [unisex] washroom/shower/loo, but I have stayed at hotels with less attractive 'en-suite' bathrooms. It's imaculate.

Being only a small site, it is only licenced for 5 motorhome/caravans and a few tents, this makes it very quiet & select though, and we found all our fellow campers friendly.

Most of the other campers seemed to be 'bird twitchers' [bird watchers] and indeed the area is rich with birds and very popular among the bird watching fraternity.

The local pub [only a few hundred yards away] sells a nice pint of 'Timothy Taylors Landlord'. My only complaint here being that they would not let us in with our dog, but as it was a nice evening anyway, we sat outside and enjoyed watching the birds on the Humber Estuary.

Whilst there, we visited Easington Beach [which allows dogs on it]. We also visited Hornsea & Withernsea.

THe nearby village of Easington has a small friendly village store which seems to sell most things, except alcohol! [so if you like an evenening drink outside your tent/c'van/m'home. Take it with you].

There is a lot of local feeling against the Yorkshire Wildlife Trust, who want [plan?] to build a huge 'Visitor Centre' at Spurn Point. Most of the residents of Spurn Point and the Bird Watchers too are against this, and tbh, although I have very little interest in bird watching, I'm inclined to agree whole heartedly with them.

To sum up, this is the smallest, friendliest sites I have ever stayed on [in over 30 years of camping]. If I could give it 11 out of 10 I would do so.

We will definitely be returning back to this one.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Afghan 3 reviews from this member

We booked in for 3 nights wish it had being longer the site was perfect for what we wanted not a lot to do just how we like it. The turn in is a bit tight with our folding camper we had to go right over on the other side of the road. The site is flat and well laid out, hard standings are spaced out and not on top of each other each has it own electric hook up. The shower block has one shower in which is 50p but you get a long time and it is hot, one toilet and one basin it is just like someones shower room and it is spotless. The water and waster water points are not far from your van. Night lights come on when you come in at night so you can see. Owners are always on hand if you need any help and are very friendly. It is a 150 yd walk to the Crown & Anchor we had a meal in every night the choice was good and so was the food and the beer was good too. Spurn point is a good walk it took us 3hr to walk down one side and back the other. If you are a bird watcher you will be in heaven with all the different ones on the estuary. There are no shops or things like that so bring what you need. Will be back soon that's if we can get in.

Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dagg 1 review from this member

We've been camping at Driftwood for a few years now, initially because it offered good shelter, flat ground, a homely bathroom and a good location - just a short walk to the pub. We return every year for those same reasons but also because the owners are so helpful, friendly and easy going, it adds to a very relaxed break.

The site itself is mostly well tended lawn with hard/gravel standing for caravans, and part of the appeal is that it is relatively small. The bathroom is kept clean and decor well maintained.

The site is a very handy gateway for exploring the wonderful Spurn coastline and wildlife.

Previous     13 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over 885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth 119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4095 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019