Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping De La Cite

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Languedoc Roussillon > Carcassonne > Camping De La Cite > Reviews

Camping De La Cite
Route De St Hilaire
Carcassonne
Languedoc Roussillon   (Browse area)
11000
Tel: 00 33 0468 100 100
Visit their website    

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 32 Reviews
                8/10 from 32 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  32 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Heathe 1 review from this member

 Beautiful city and the campsite is very close - the footpath walk alongside the river is lovely however it does become a little difficult to miss the puddles when it rains!

Campsite is clean and the shower blocks were very good. The pastries you can order for breakfast were delightful.

The staff were very helpful and very nice people.

We had a lovely time there despite the weather - no hesitation in recommending this site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Raymon 5 reviews from this member

 We booked a 'pagan' a pre-erected tent-like structure with fridge, cooking and washing facilities, shower and toilet. After a long drive we didn't think we'd fancy using our tent.

The pagan was perfect for our needs and the site was only about a 15 minute walk from Carcassonne centre for shopping, visiting la cite etc.

Staff were polite and helpful (and some were at least tri-lingual!), you could order bread from reception to collect from the bar next morning. We didn't use the bar or have a meal so can't comment on those.

We sampled the pool which was lovely and refreshing in the Southern heat. In high season it may get crowded but we were there a couple of weeks before it began.

The cicadas took some getting used to once they started up their noise among the trees!

Tent pitches looked fine until we noticed that two or three could be within what we took to be one pitch. That may only apply to cycling and backpacking campers? 


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kshadb 1 review from this member

 Lovely site and staff Great walk into interesting city. Good amenities at site. Sanitary facilities very clean.

Motor home facilities good. Pitch sizes differ and had to try 2 pitches before finding one we could get into 3rd one.

Restaurant very good. Bread and pastries excellent in morning 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Trotamundos3 4 reviews from this member

 As stated below, this is a very nice campsite with the added bonus of being only a thirty minutes walk from La Cite. We paid about thirty euros per night with hook up and a dog. We were charged 2. 90 for our fur baby!

Facilities are very good and we had a nice meal in the snack bar. Follow David Klyne's directions - see below (we didn't and got a bit lost!).

Only minor niggle was having to wear a wristband (a bit like hospital patient one) at all times but I imagine this is to ensure to ensure the aire de camping car guests don't use campsite facilities. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Windrush2 20 reviews from this member

 (Written from the perspective of a backpacker with a single small tent)

As I had no car I was assigned to a 'hiker's' pitch which came with a lower fare. The only difference is you share your pitch with a couple of other people (also without cars) which is perfectly fine (shame this isn't something that exists more often). Walking around the rest of the site, it's clear most of the regular pitches are also pretty good - most being shaded (with the exception of the field on the edge of the site).

The staff were mixed in my experience - some a little sullen, others were perfectly friendly.

The facilities were clean and in good condition.

Overall I didn't really have any issues with this site - it's in a good location within walking distance of the cité and bastide, and (for a walker) it was great value for money. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: SueandGlenn 12 reviews from this member

 Really convenient location for the city

Large site close to Cite Medievale & within walking distance of Bastide St Louis Centre Ville, about 5 km from access to Canal du Midi. Great facilities, several shower/toilet blocks all very clean, even though site was almost full, no problem getting a free shower if you pick your time well. Really nice bar and restaurant, reception staff very very helpful and knowledgeable, good English spoken as well. Good range of pitches but choose wisely !, some are in sun for much of the day, we were on 61 under a large pine tree - not much shade and lots of sticky sap and pine needles on car & caravan. Also site near kids play area so got quite noisy at times but we were there during school holidays (no choice) so we did expect lots of kids

Stayed at Camping Cite for 6 days in July so visited the medieval city several times - avoid weekends if you can, weekdays were a little quieter. Lovely just wandering the cobbled streets. Lots of bars and restaurants many offering the traditional cassoulet which we tried and really enjoyed. Lots of touristy souvenir shops which you would expect - some were a bit tacky but you are free to keep walking so no complaints 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Abgmac 2 reviews from this member

 I didn't mean to camp at this site but it was a fortunate second choice. I originally tried to use the motorhome aire right next door but my UK debit card didn't work at the barrier (although it worked everywhere else before and since). So I went to ask if they had a pitch at Camping de la Cite - they did thank goodness.

We had pitch 54 which had 10amp electric - you need the french extension thing which I had but they also supply them at reception. The toilet block was nearby as was the excellent motorhome service point (with space for 2 motorhomes). The toilet block has showers, toilets and 2 washing machines and a dryer. There is also an accessible combined shower, toilet and sink - good for those who need a helper or extra space.

The site has a snack bar, you can preorder your bakery goods for the morning, there is wifi but we didn't use it.

The swimming pool was closed when we were there - it was opening a few days later. That was a shame as it was 35°C!

I found the people on reception lovely!

To get to Carcassonne you can walk along the river - it takes about 20 minutes to get to the Port d'Aude of the old city. But then you have a steep climb! If you walk further round to get to the Porte Narbonnaise it is a longer journey but the climb is not so arduous! A fun alternative is the 'Petit Train' which is a motorised 'train' which has a few carriages and goes on the road. It costs 2euros or 3. 50 return and stops directly outside the campsite. It goes a one way circuit round Carcassonne and there is one every hour until about 1800.

If I didn't have a Eurotunnel to catch I would have gladly have stayed longer than the 2 night I stayed. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Juniemoon 12 reviews from this member

 Very nice campsite but if you've not booked you need to be there early to queue for a space, they also require passports. You are given a wristband which must be worn at all times. Well looked after with some odd shape pitches, but still plenty of room. Lots of children (very good facilities), so be prepared for some noise. Lots for children and families to do. Live music and entertainment some nights during the summer.

Max 30 minute walk to the Cite, but well worth it. You need to pay entrance to the inner Cite and queue in August, but very quick moving. The views are amazing and well worth the entrance fee and the queues. Great restaurants in the outer Cite. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: KIT1954 8 reviews from this member

 Huge grassy pitches very quiet at end of June, good facilities cleaned regularly, nice pool with lifeguard, bar and restaurant looked good although we didn't use them. Excellent location for visiting the medieval city, twenty minutes walk away, and cyclists will enjoy the canal de midi. Only drawback is the wifi, although it's free connection it is very poor, apparently it's the same all around the area. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: KIT1954 8 reviews from this member

 Left site this morning 01-07-16 after 3night stay, brilliant location for the city, 20 min walk, also Canal du Midi 20 mins on bike, large level grassy pitches, good facilities, nice pool clean toilets only complaint would be the free wifi it is awful, not the campsites fault I know but disappointing. 


Previous     32 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Camping De La Cite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Camping De La Cite have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping De La Cite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Camping De La Cite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Carcassonne      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Languedoc Roussillon

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


44906 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Play our
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win an amazing 12V and 240V 21.5" Full HD Smart WiFi TV with Satellite Decoder worth £399 provided by outdoor superstore Towsure!

Play Here


Advertisement