Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping De La Cite

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Languedoc Roussillon > Carcassonne > Camping De La Cite Reviews

Camping De La Cite
Route De St Hilaire
Carcassonne
Languedoc Roussillon   (Browse area)
11000
Tel: 00 33 0468 100 100
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 100
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 28 Reviews
                8/10 from 28 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  28 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Windrush2 8 reviews from this member

(Written from the perspective of a backpacker with a single small tent)

As I had no car I was assigned to a 'hiker's' pitch which came with a lower fare. The only difference is you share your pitch with a couple of other people (also without cars) which is perfectly fine (shame this isn't something that exists more often). Walking around the rest of the site, it's clear most of the regular pitches are also pretty good - most being shaded (with the exception of the field on the edge of the site).

The staff were mixed in my experience - some a little sullen, others were perfectly friendly.

The facilities were clean and in good condition.

Overall I didn't really have any issues with this site - it's in a good location within walking distance of the cité and bastide, and (for a walker) it was great value for money.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: SueandGlenn 12 reviews from this member

Really convenient location for the city

Large site close to Cite Medievale & within walking distance of Bastide St Louis Centre Ville, about 5 km from access to Canal du Midi. Great facilities, several shower/toilet blocks all very clean, even though site was almost full, no problem getting a free shower if you pick your time well. Really nice bar and restaurant, reception staff very very helpful and knowledgeable, good English spoken as well. Good range of pitches but choose wisely !, some are in sun for much of the day, we were on 61 under a large pine tree - not much shade and lots of sticky sap and pine needles on car & caravan. Also site near kids play area so got quite noisy at times but we were there during school holidays (no choice) so we did expect lots of kids

Stayed at Camping Cite for 6 days in July so visited the medieval city several times - avoid weekends if you can, weekdays were a little quieter. Lovely just wandering the cobbled streets. Lots of bars and restaurants many offering the traditional cassoulet which we tried and really enjoyed. Lots of touristy souvenir shops which you would expect - some were a bit tacky but you are free to keep walking so no complaints

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Abgmac 2 reviews from this member

I didn't mean to camp at this site but it was a fortunate second choice. I originally tried to use the motorhome aire right next door but my UK debit card didn't work at the barrier (although it worked everywhere else before and since). So I went to ask if they had a pitch at Camping de la Cite - they did thank goodness.

We had pitch 54 which had 10amp electric - you need the french extension thing which I had but they also supply them at reception. The toilet block was nearby as was the excellent motorhome service point (with space for 2 motorhomes). The toilet block has showers, toilets and 2 washing machines and a dryer. There is also an accessible combined shower, toilet and sink - good for those who need a helper or extra space.

The site has a snack bar, you can preorder your bakery goods for the morning, there is wifi but we didn't use it.

The swimming pool was closed when we were there - it was opening a few days later. That was a shame as it was 35°C!

I found the people on reception lovely!

To get to Carcassonne you can walk along the river - it takes about 20 minutes to get to the Port d'Aude of the old city. But then you have a steep climb! If you walk further round to get to the Porte Narbonnaise it is a longer journey but the climb is not so arduous! A fun alternative is the 'Petit Train' which is a motorised 'train' which has a few carriages and goes on the road. It costs 2euros or 3. 50 return and stops directly outside the campsite. It goes a one way circuit round Carcassonne and there is one every hour until about 1800.

If I didn't have a Eurotunnel to catch I would have gladly have stayed longer than the 2 night I stayed.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Juniemoon 12 reviews from this member

Very nice campsite but if you've not booked you need to be there early to queue for a space, they also require passports. You are given a wristband which must be worn at all times. Well looked after with some odd shape pitches, but still plenty of room. Lots of children (very good facilities), so be prepared for some noise. Lots for children and families to do. Live music and entertainment some nights during the summer.

Max 30 minute walk to the Cite, but well worth it. You need to pay entrance to the inner Cite and queue in August, but very quick moving. The views are amazing and well worth the entrance fee and the queues. Great restaurants in the outer Cite.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: KIT1954 8 reviews from this member

Huge grassy pitches very quiet at end of June, good facilities cleaned regularly, nice pool with lifeguard, bar and restaurant looked good although we didn't use them. Excellent location for visiting the medieval city, twenty minutes walk away, and cyclists will enjoy the canal de midi. Only drawback is the wifi, although it's free connection it is very poor, apparently it's the same all around the area.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: KIT1954 8 reviews from this member

Left site this morning 01-07-16 after 3night stay, brilliant location for the city, 20 min walk, also Canal du Midi 20 mins on bike, large level grassy pitches, good facilities, nice pool clean toilets only complaint would be the free wifi it is awful, not the campsites fault I know but disappointing.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: David Klyne 215 reviews from this member

To Find Site:- Exit A61 at junction 24. After Toll booth turn left onto D6113. Leave this road at junction signed for Toulouse/Foix/Castres and at roundabout take third exit. Continue on this road for about 3 kilometres and at roundabout take first right. Continue for about 400 metres (ignore low bridge sign) and turn very sharp left at junction onto D104 signed for campsite

Camping de la Cite is a large nice quality campsite situated in a semi urban environment on the outskirts of Carcassonne. The site roads are wide and offer good access to all pitches. As well as tourist pitches there are a fair few mobile homes but these are in their own areas. There are around 120 touring pitches for caravans and motorhomes with access to electricity plus about 48 with no electricity. The majority of pitches are enclosed by hedges although on one part of the site the pitches are more open. They are arranged around the site access road and behind are some more pitches in some cul de sacs. Whilst access is a little more difficult to these pitches they are large enough to allow you to get your outfit into place. The general size of pitches is quite generous to large. Although they started out as grass pitches by the end of the summer they end up being baked earth which is firm but can be dusty. There is also a fairly large informal tent area in addition with picnic tables. Electric points are rated at a useful 10amps. You will find a mix of continental 2 pin plugs as well as some CEE17 blue connectors. There are a few water points dotted around the site but the only dedicated grey water waste disposal is at the motorhome service point. Likewise the only chemical emptying point is in the same place, so a long way from some pitches. The motorhome service point is one of the best I have ever seen with room for two vehicles at a time. There are three toilet blocks around the site all of a very good standard. They contain English style seat less pedestal toilets. Toilet paper is provided but outside the cubicles! All toilet blocks are unisex. Reception, where good English is spoken, has a variety of local information plus maps and local products for sale. The booking in process is different to many sites I have encountered in France. Payment on arrival is required although you can always add extra days. They also require your passport which they scan for the entry/exit card. They seemed happy to use my Driver’s Licence, it seems it’s the photograph they need. CCI or ACSI ID cards are not accepted. Across from Reception is a shop/bar/restaurant with covered terrace which serves a basic menu to about the end of September. Alongside the terrace is a nice swimming pool and lounging area. For children there is a playground and also a fenced ball game area. The site offers free WiFi although it works better the nearer to reception you are. We were about half way into the site and we found it a bit on the slow side, just as well it was free! Camping de la Cite is a busy campsite with customers arriving every day even out of the main season. However we found it reasonably peaceful here, certainly during the week. At weekend many of the locals use the footpaths that border the campsite so inevitably there is a little noise from this but it is not excessive. Ryan Air fly into Carcassonne so you do get the occasional roar of an airplane at take- off time but there are only a few services every day.

The beauty of this campsite is that it is within walking distance, along a traffic free path along the river, of the old Medieval City as well as the modern equivalent. We timed our walk back from the old City at 30 minutes, the fitter amongst you will manage it in less. The not so fit need to be aware that it is quite a steep climb up to the old City including steps and ramps and for easier access you might want to walk further around. The path can also be used by cyclists but just watch out for the tree roots! The Canal du Midi is on the northern side of the modern town which itself is quite grand with nice gardens in the Centre.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: RoamfromHome 22 reviews from this member

We chose this campsite due to its proximity to Carcassonne and were aware that was a large and a busy site. The reception staff were friendly and efficient and allocated a pitch to us, unfortunately near one of the sanitary blocks but quite large, bordered by hedging and with a view of the old city. The sanitary block didn't seem adequate, there was often a queue, and got quite muddy after the rain. The toilet paper (1 dispenser) situated outside the toilets ran out (it was seemingly filled once a day in the morning) and none of the doors had any buffers to prevent them from banging, so the constant noise did not make personal ablutions a satisfying experience! Being near the sanitary block, we were awoken at around 6am on both days by the cleaner who inconsiderately whistled loudly and allowed every door to bang.

We were able, however, to take the easy walk along the river into Carcassonne before taking the steep climb up into the medieval town (not worth cycling as you would have to leave the bikes at the bottom of the hill).

17. 50 euros per night in low season - more than our average during 6 weeks in France. Not one of our favourite sites and certainly not restful but served its purpose to visit Carcassonne.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: GERONA 3 reviews from this member

Found this site on the way back from spain.

We were only staying overnight but stayed 3 nights.

It is big site but spotlessly clean with free hot showers and washing facilities.

The pitches are mostly surrounded by hedges ours was 131 and was perfect for us being quite secluded with shale ground some are hard packed clay and some grass.

There are a lot of big pitches suitable for big motorhomes, twin axle caravans are not allowed.

There are security guards patrolling at night.

There is a lovely walk into the old Cite along a small canal with loads of wild life along the way, it took us about 30 to 35 minutes it gets a bit steep near the walled cite.

There are loads of cafe's around the cite but you will find the new centre cheaper than the walled cite.

You can get the bus from the site if you do not fancy the walk.

The pool and restaurant are very good with barbecue pits nearby that you can use. The pool is open from 10am to 8pm speedo's to be worn.

There is a children's play area.

Grocery shop TV room Snack bar all open from 8 until 11. 30

The motor home service point is excellent.

They gave us a leaflet about what to do if the site floods being so close to the water there must be a chance it does flood.

Toilet paper it is in a dispenser outside the cubicle be warned.

There is wifi but it wasn't very good unless you sat outside the reception.

The staff were helpful but do not expect a smile.

Take the time to explore around the area lot's of lovely things and places to see.

Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Landauman 13 reviews from this member

The reception was very helpful, and the facilities were clean, however We only stayed one night here as their was no toilet seats and no paper also only two showers but only one with a door lock, the takeaway/bar was not fully functional as it was early in the season, but the worse thing was the amount of dogs on site and continual barking, also you will have to check the polarity here as most if not all are reversed.

Previous     28 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Languedoc Roussillon

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over £205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5686 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019