Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Cow Close Caravan & Camping

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Leyburn > Cow Close Caravan & Camping Reviews

Cow Close Caravan & Camping
Cow Close Farm
Barden Moor
Leyburn
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
DL8 5JJ
Tel: 01969 625442  or  01969 624680
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 22 plus camp field
Open: 01/03 To 31/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 28 Reviews
                9/10 from 28 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (12)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 1 mile   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  28 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Joeegg 2 reviews from this member

This is a great site and within walking distance of Leyburn. Toilet block is first class and the showers have HOT water, unlike some other sites. Great base if you want some " hilly " road biking.

Plenty of walking opportunities but surprisingly Leyburn doesn't have a tourist info centre. Just some leaflets in the Co-op. Good walk over Leyburn Shawl to Wensley and good food at the 3 Horseshoes but couldn't recommend the Sunday roast.

Only negative was the noise from the army shooting range over Grinton moor. This at times continued on to after 11pm. Wouldn't stop us going back though.

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Gtf558 5 reviews from this member

We arrived to a warm welcome by the owners,

The site and facilities are immaculate.

One mile walk into the town of Leyburn with shops, pubs and restaurants.

Good walks straight from the site.

Certainly will visit again.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Montana85 4 reviews from this member

Stopped at Cow Close for a weekend break. Weather was glorious and views from site are spectacular!

Facilities very clean and tidy and never seemed over run even though the sight was quite busy.

Owners very friendly.

Very dog friendly site.

Leyburn is 10mins car drive away and has everything you need/want.

Will definitely be back in the new year.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Metalhead 27 reviews from this member

We stopped here one night in April on a whistlestop trip to Yorkshire. I phoned to book a few nights before which was an easy process. The site is located about a mile north of Leyburn which is a beautiful small town with several shops and pubs though once we pitched up we cooked in the van and stayed on site that evening.

There's lovely distant views of hills and the site is quite spacious with units set around the perimeter of the field. I'm guessing they put tents in the middle of the field during busier times though it was mostly vans and caravans when we stayed.

The owner came over for a quick chat when we arrived and was very friendly. The facilities were very clean and tidy too.

It's very well situated in a lovely scenic area. I'm sure a walk to Leyburn would only take 20 minutes or so and is well worth checking out but Leyburn itself is a good base for the surrounding areas. Lots to see and do such as Castle Bolton, Black Sheep brewery, endless country walks etc.

Would definitely visit again and recommend the site.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Cheeseranger 1 review from this member

Stayed for one night. Quiet site in a great location. Short walk to Leyburn, walking and cycling on the doorstep.

Hosts welcoming and friendly, spotless facilities.

We have already booked to go back again.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ceepsprice 2 reviews from this member

Lovely site, new, well kept and clean toilet block.

Owners lovely and helpful and came to see us to check everything was OK, always friendly and chatty with our children.

Definitely recommend and look forward to returning the future.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: John+Brenda 13 reviews from this member

Spent a full week at Cow Close FANTASTIC site very welcoming owners.

Site very clean toilets & showers spotless plenty hot water.

Leyburn about a mile away nice place for food & drink. Plenty to see & do around the area.

The owners had a BQ and invited us for food & drink which was great.

We will be returning to Cow Close can not fault this site at all.

Thank you.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Polymerman 1 review from this member

Stayed 2 days at Cow Close on route to Lake District.

The site is first class in its layout, facilities, welcome and location.

Will definitely be revisiting again for a longer stay in the near future.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: NealA 4 reviews from this member

Excellent dog friendly site couldn't fault it. Toilet blocks new and spotless. Short walk into town.

No playground but plenty of room for the kids to run around.

Leyburn is a small market town with everything you need popular with cyclists and walkers.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: MarknJo66 1 review from this member

Stayed for 3 nights over the bank holiday weekend and we are really glad we spotted this site. Owner greeted us on arrival and brought us our pitching information from the notice board (which was put there in case no one was available when we arrived). He was very friendly and helpful, pointing out all of the things you need to know when you go to a new site.

(We were visited briefly over the weekend by the owners to enquire if everything was OK and if we wanted any newspapers getting. Free range eggs were also available).

We had a great pitch. All the pitches were good and spacious and either level or with a slight slope.

The views from the site are beautiful. The facilities block was brand new, of good quality and was always spotlessly clean. The pot washing areas had huge sinks with plenty of hot water.

The surrounding area is picturesque with plenty of walking and cycling routes. A big bonus for us was the huge fields just off the site where we could exercise our dogs.

Great site which is a credit to the owners and in a great area. Would recommend this site to anyone.

Looking forward to going back and hope to make regular visits.

Previous     28 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5015 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019