Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Westmill Farm Three Lakes Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Hertfordshire > Ware > Westmill Farm Three Lakes Campsite Reviews

Westmill Farm Three Lakes Campsite
Westmill Road
Ware
Hertfordshire   (Browse area)
SG12 0ES
Tel: 01920 469290
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: 17/05/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 30 Reviews
                7/10 from 30 Reviews

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  30 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Elton3 10 reviews from this member

 This is a site with a huge array of activities from an aqua park, zorbing to various football games. I was staying with my nephew and his family.

The main field is massive so its fairly easy to find a big space to make your own. Very limited electrical hook ups though.

Whilst the site has a lot going for it there is a real lack of care of the site. This site I went to use the showers which were filthy and my nephews wife said the women's toilets were backed up.

It tends to be large groups who stay up late so if you are looking for a quiet site this is not for you. 


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Ratty 245 reviews from this member

 This is a great campsite with loads of activities to do within the site itself.

We booked online and chose the camping field, which worked out at £30 for the pitch with four adults in one tent. This included full use of the showers, toilets and washing up.

We checked in at the main office opposite the restaurant and were met by a friendly lady who checked us in and gave us the key fob for the gate, etc.

The field is huge and not the flattest if I am honest, but not too slopey, so easy enough to find a pitch. It was almost empty so we chose a spot on the perimeter.

There is a bar / restaurant on site however this time we did not use it. The views however are stunning from here and overlook the full site and the fishing lakes.

There is also 3 par golf which we had a round and it is a pretty good course.

There is a high wire activity area, zorbing, climbing wall, fishing and archery on site. There is probably more, but I can't remember it all.

The toilets were very clean and well stocked, The showers were push button type, but were of a good temperature and the pressure was ok. All social distancing measures were in place and everything was clean with hand san around.

Fresh water points and waste points dotted around the site too, and a few bin locations which double as fire points.

There are different fields, one for electric pitches, one for superior pitches, an exclusive family camping area and now they offer Glamping in the summer. These looked pretty nice and seemed to have all the facilities you need.

The site was very quiet from traffic noise and planes etc. And we were not disturbed at all.

The area is great with Ware and Hertford down the road with shopping, restaurants, pubs, castles, canals and so much more.

I will be back and recommend this site, but at £25 for two people I feel it is very expensive, but handy as a bit of a party site as there are no wardens at all either during the day or night. 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Jodiel 1 review from this member

 We are a family with Young children and it was our first time camping.

We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves, there was lots to do on site.

Toilets were warm and clean, helpful staff. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Finmen 1 review from this member

 Lovely site and activities around were great (although you need to book everything as so popular).

Disappointed at short window for breakfast 9:30 to 11 considering reduced table arrangements and even though we were in the queue before 11 they wouldn't serve us.

Toilets and showers very clean (constantly had people cleaning them).

Overall very nice site. Would go again, but need to book everything in advance. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Anne Hummersone 1 review from this member

 Personally I would not go back to this campsite. If you book an electric pitch and the car racing is on, there is constant noise.

The toilets were not clean when we were there despite reading other reviews. Mens were the worse we had ever seen and that is saying something.

Arguably, the restaurant is very good and there are plenty activities but I would never camp here again. They state the toilets are checked once an hour, there is absolutely no way! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Ssheld 1 review from this member

 The site was friendly and clean.

Everyone felt safe and everywhere felt safe and clean.

The staff were helpful around the site and there were some lovely areas to walk around 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Ratty 245 reviews from this member

 My first visit for 2019 and the first thing that I noticed was the price has not gone up to £25 for a pitch with two adults. Pretty pricey and they want £1. 50 per dog, and £10 per awning / gazebo. This is very expensive for a basic site with few water points, lack of bins, except by the entrance and by the facilities block and a half decent facilities block.

Check in is between 2pm and 6pm and we turned up at 5. 45pm and the restaurant was locked up and no one was around at all.

Luckily another camper was heading in as we were waiting around and we followed them in through the barriers, so we could at least gain access to the camping field.

There were numbers to call, however we didn't need to as we gained access and knew that we would not be going out again, so didn't need the key fob.

I stay here as it is local, but the price is really becoming too much and this might be the last year I visit.

Ware, Hertford and transport links in to London are all close by and there is plenty to see and do both on the site and in the area. 


Date of Visit: August 2018  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Ratty 245 reviews from this member

 At over £20 a night for two adults this is an ok site, but really could do with more facilities in the actual field as it is quite a walk from all pitches to the facility block. Even just a portacabin type set up in the middle of the field would transform this good site into an awesome one.

The site is good, there is plenty to do on site from the pub / restaurant, to the high ropes, zorbing, radio controlled car racing, pitch and putt, fishing, lakes to wander around and more, so there is plenty to keep the family occupied.

The pitching is great and my kind of place, find a space and pitch, done. There are quite a few flat spots, but also a lot of the field is sloping, so this could be harder to pitch if you are in a tent.

Fresh water on site, bins, etc. The facilities block felt old and a bit claustrophobic, maybe some better lighting in them would help.

Close to plenty of attractions including Hertford for it's castle, Ware and London. Loads on site from high ropes, zorbing, giant foot darts, footgolf, pitch and put, lakes to wander around and more.

I will return to this site as I love the freedom it offers and we can have campfires and relax with friends, but it would be awesome if they put in toilets on the actual field, not a long walk up the hill. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Pilgrim730 10 reviews from this member

 We arrived mid session Sunday Lunch and the place was mobbed, so getting to the Restaurant, parking up to go book in was a nightmare, really glad we weren't towing. Our booking in was a little awkward, having to keep dodging waiters and customers, and the staff weren't aware we were coming in? The waitress was very pleasant and gave us a decent booking in pack and handed us over to a gent who explained where we need to go, but the route to the campsite was blocked by inconsiderate parking by lunch diners, so we had to back track out and go via another route.

We got onto the premier area with EHU and Water, and virtually had the site to ourselves so could pick our pitch, I didn't use levellers but should have really, as most of the field is uneven. The weather has taken its toll on the field, it is burnt to a crisp and the ground is rock hard, as previously stated, expect bent pegs. The neighbours seemed to comprise of working people and seasonal plus storage.

It must be said that there is a multitude of activities available on site, something for almost everyone, and the scenery is good.

Now we get to the nitty gritty -

The booking in process at the restaurant is ill suited for the location, if the place is busy it has the potential to be chaos.

As previously stated, the C&C site is definitely the poor cousin within the complex, with a little bit of effort this could be a very good site!

The ablutions were poor to put it mildly, there is a cleaning team employed to look after the 2(?) blocks but tbh they are not doing what they are getting paid for, or if they are the contract needs to be renegotiated. Minimum of a deep clean is required, all the wash basins remained stained as did the floors. The shower cubicles hadn't been cleaned for some time and over our stay I noticed what looked like a major nose excavation stuck to one of the inner shower screens! The walls beneath the shower heads had brown stains running from them, I tried to clean them with the one poor mop left for use and the walls wiped down without a problem, its just not getting done. The locks on both the shower and toilet cubicles are a bit of a Russian roulette as to whether they work or not. The shower heads are angled too high so most of the water escapes into the Dry area of the shower, and while the water is hot, the time between having to press the button is tiresome. The condition of the Ladies and disabled areas where on a par with the gents.

The Chemical waste point I recced on the day of arrival, to be greeted with a 'Doggy Poo Bag' just left in the middle of it - I suspect it will still be there now.

My overall feeling for this site is sadness - the potential could be vastly improved at little cost, then it wouldn't be empty mid peak season as it is now. Over priced and under funded 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Bozz282 2 reviews from this member

 The campsite is part of a much larger, multi business site with a restaurant, fishing, garden centre, golf course and other activities. Sadly, the campsite isn’t afforded a higher ranking in the pecking order and we got the impression it was left to its own devices.

The signage on the site was terrible. It was a real struggle to know where we needed to go. Not great for the stress levels if you’re towing a caravan because it would be easy to go the wrong way and having to reverse up would be difficult as most of the complex was single lane. When we did fond the camping area, there were printed sheets stuck on a shed to tell us to go back to the restaurant to check in. The one we had driven past!

We checked in, came back diwn to the camping area and managed to find our field. There were a few misleading signs saying ‘no camping beyond this point’ which we eventually decided to ignore as we simply saw no where else we could go but beyond them. We located our pitch and got set up. The pitch was a very spacious grass err, field and we had ehu and water.

The facilities were a bit of a trek but manageable. The showers were clean but the shower heads were fixed too high so, the whole cubicle floor was wet. Not the biggest drama in the world but its a detail which is easily fixed amd would make a huge difference. Sad;y, on our last day some single celled idiot had amused themselves by decorating the place with toilet roll. It was everywhere. Up the cubicle walls, over the ceiling. I don’t understand why people get any satisfaction out of things like that.

We didn’t see a warden or campsite official all weekend aside from someone driving past checking on our tag ( you’re given a different colour tag to attach to your pitch to indicate your day of checkout). So if you do like being left to your own devices, then ok. However, it is important to know that non campers and people coming onto the site to take part in any of the activities etc, are free to roam and so there is little security if you do spend time off site. This is something that did not sit well with me as I like to know that Tom, Dick and Harry wouldn’t have a hard time helping themselves to our gear if they wanted to. It’d be easy pickings to be honest.

On the positive side, there are a lot of things to do on site. Aside from the forementioned you can also do Zorb strike (running around in an inflatable bubble playing football), archery, football pool, there's a coffee shop, art studio shop, remote control car track, you can do a segway tour and other stuff. One of the best things about the place is the stunning view across the lakes, it really is beautiful.

The campsite has enormous potential and hopefully it will be developed into something that really is a campsite and rather less than a field. Sadly, I won’t be coming back. 


Previous     30 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Westmill Farm Three Lakes Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Westmill Farm Three Lakes Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Westmill Farm Three Lakes Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ware      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hertfordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3937 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement