Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Paddock Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Suffolk > Brandon > The Paddock Caravan Site > Reviews

The Paddock Caravan Site
The Paddock
43a Sedge Fen
Lakenheath
Brandon
Suffolk   (Browse area)
IP27 9LG
Tel: 01353 774953  or  07774 243984
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5 CCC
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 21 Reviews
                9/10 from 21 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:  21 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: December 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Loupylou56 4 reviews from this member

 A revisit to a favourite site backing onto the nature reserve with beautiful walks into the back of the rspb lakenheath.

A warm welcome with very reasonable price inclusive of electricity and with very clean toilets and shower.

The ambience slightly spoilt by a new addition of a big metal shipping container destined for conversion in the middle of the site.

Not sure how this will impact the peaceful environment when this begins. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Basil S 28 reviews from this member

 What a cracking little site one of the best ones we have stayed at in the last month, very friendly owners, everything spotlessly clean just the sort of site we like.

The airbase is nearby and you can see the planes taking off.

An ideal stop off on our way back to Kent, will go there again. 


Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: MW Photography 1 review from this member

 I canít rate this small hideaway site enough, itís my go to site when in the area.

As a Wildlife photographer itís ideally situated for the Lakenheath reserve which can be reached by a long but pleasant walk from the site.

Although itís a little way out from the village itís only just a short drive back where you will find a Co Op, Fish & Chips, Take Away & a Small Pub to provide everything you need supply wise.

The toilets and Shower are kept scrupulously clean by Kathy who manages the site and who gives everyone a warm welcome, whilst Jim who lives on site keeps the grounds immaculate and is always there for help and likes a chat in the evenings and helps give the site a personal feel.

Having visited several times it is now more like staying with old friends and I look forward to my next visit to catch up with Kathy and Jim again.

I would Thoroughly recommend this site if your a solo traveller. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Mrs. Bonce 368 reviews from this member

 A very nice site, good price of £15. 50 pn. Good welcome, loos and showers which are well kept. The trains are infrequent and no bother.

Easy to find, a bit out in the sticks, quiet single track road for the last mile or so, if coming from Mildenhall.

The road from the A11 to Lakenheath was closed at the time of our visit.

Lakenheath is hardly more than a village but has a Co op.

We would use this site again as a stopover. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Romperstomper 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed for a week

Lovely little site

Will be going back in the spring

Lovely shower toilets

Really enjoyed our stay,

Its a bit out of the way but only few miles from mildenhall littleport and newmarket,

Thank you kathy 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Ratty 312 reviews from this member

 I enquiried using the booking form on here and received a prompt reply and was told they have space and to just turn up and someone would come along later in the day to check all was ok and take the payment of £12 for me in my campervan without electric.

I stopped on my way at RAF Lakenheath for lunch and was treated to 6 jets taking off and on practice flights. This was about 10 minutes drive from the site.

Upon arrival I found a spot along the edge and away from the trees so I could get the solar panels in full direct sunlight. There is a toilet, and then a toilet and shower with sink. These were warm, clean and well maintained.

There is a cold water washing up, chemical disposal points, rubbish bins including full recycling and an information hut with fridge, freezer, kettle and a space to shelter should the weather turn grim.

The the children this is a safe quiet site down a lane, so very little passing traffic and loads of space to run and play.

Walking is great from the site and within about 1. 5 miles you are at a nature reserve and I went on a lovely 10 mile walk taking in the variety of birds, butterflies, cattle, etc. There is a visitor centre on the reserve too, but did not go in there.

Plenty to see and do in the area including Ely, Thetford, Mildenhall and so much more. This area is a delight if you like plane spotting and you should be treating to many sightings of military craft.

A nice flat site with welcoming owners and I would return here if back in the area. 


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Motorhome Hobos 2 reviews from this member

 Quiet, peaceful CS site, off the beaten track along some single lane roads with fields all around and close to Lakenheath RSPB - perfect for birdwatchers. As we are RSPB members, we got £1 off the cost of our overnight stay which came to £12 (without electric hook-up).

We had a lovely view, overlooking a corn field.

There was only 1 other occupied van during our stay so it was very peaceful.

The site has basic but perfectly adequate and clean facilities: a single loo and shower, washing up area, grey and black water disposal, fresh water etc.

Nice welcome from Kathy, the owner, who turned up after we'd already set up (you don't have to go to 'reception' if Kathy isn't about: just choose one of the 5 grass pitches and get set up - though we had obviously booked a pitch in advance and she knew we were coming).

Overall, a nice, simple and quiet site which we would return to if we're in the area. 


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Rjeps2 1 review from this member

 Nicely situated and very handy for wildlife photography at Lakenheath Fens and similar, and also for both RAF Lakenheath and Mildenhall if you like your birds to be of the metal variety.

Very nice and peaceful, which is why I keep coming back when I am in the area. 


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Funky 18 reviews from this member

 We loved this little CS. Quiet until the jet fighters fly over but that's part of the attraction for us.

Sugar beet fans will love it. It's surrounded by the stuff

The caretakers are lovely. Kath and her husband, come around to see if all is ok but are not obtrusive.

£14 with electric and facilities can't be bad 
via mobile


Date of Visit: November 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Colsan5 6 reviews from this member

 Very quiet and simple site. Very nice owners and extremely peaceful. We were alone for 6 nights. There is a new shower and toilet(summer 2018). Train line not a problem at all and many lovely walks in area and from site. Good cycling especially around Brandon and Thetford. Excellent price £16 a night Inc electric. (£14 if over 60). Excellent shower as stated, washing up facilities for campers basic. 


Previous     21 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is The Paddock Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Paddock Caravan Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is The Paddock Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Brandon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


43153 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Play our
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win an amazing 12V and 240V 21.5" Full HD Smart WiFi TV with Satellite Decoder worth £399 provided by outdoor superstore Towsure!

Play Here


Advertisement