Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Paddock Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Brandon > The Paddock Caravan Site Reviews

The Paddock Caravan Site
The Paddock
43a Sedge Fen
Lakenheath
Brandon
Suffolk   (Browse area)
IP27 9LG
Tel: 01353 774953
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5 CCC
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 14 Reviews
                9/10 from 14 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:  14 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Rjeps2 1 review from this member

 Nicely situated and very handy for wildlife photography at Lakenheath Fens and similar, and also for both RAF Lakenheath and Mildenhall if you like your birds to be of the metal variety.

Very nice and peaceful, which is why I keep coming back when I am in the area. 


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Funky 18 reviews from this member

 We loved this little CS. Quiet until the jet fighters fly over but that's part of the attraction for us.

Sugar beet fans will love it. It's surrounded by the stuff

The caretakers are lovely. Kath and her husband, come around to see if all is ok but are not obtrusive.

14 with electric and facilities can't be bad 
via mobile


Date of Visit: November 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Colsan5 5 reviews from this member

 Very quiet and simple site. Very nice owners and extremely peaceful. We were alone for 6 nights. There is a new shower and toilet(summer 2018). Train line not a problem at all and many lovely walks in area and from site. Good cycling especially around Brandon and Thetford. Excellent price 16 a night Inc electric. (14 if over 60). Excellent shower as stated, washing up facilities for campers basic. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Sundanceski 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for a couple of nights, would have stayed longer without other commitments. Truly relaxing setting - there is a train track with a regular service at the back and the Lakenheath jets train overhead, however this adds to the charm. Lakenheath is easily cycling distance around 3. 5 miles by nice flat road (prob a lot quicker off-road) and there is a fantastic RSPB reserve just a short walk from the campsite. Fabulous sunsets and star gazing.

Separate ladies and gents loos and showers in portacabins, clean and very operational with warm water for hand washing.

Electric hook-ups freely available (3 pn) for a small site and we were free to use fridge and freezer in the office if we wished (we did). Other than welcome and fee collection we were left alone which was fine as the manager gave us her personal phone number. Paid 32 for 2 nights with electric - highly recommend and will return.

It is not well signed once you are nearly there - Turn right at the Baptist Church! 


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nincol 2 reviews from this member

 My husband and I have just returned from a lovely week at this tranquil site in the middle of The Fens. The facilities are good and clean, having separate ladies and gents. There is a office/shop which keeps a few 'emergency, provisions; there is also a freezer for visitors use. There are plenty of birds to watch, lovely walks and a short walk from the site there is a RSPB area. Mildenhall and Lakenheath are approx 8 miles away and Ely approx 12 miles. The Ely/Norwich train line is nearby but the trains are very quiet and as this is a country line they are few and far between. We shall definitely be returning. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Georgie135 1 review from this member

 We stayed at The Paddocks Sedge Fenn in August 2014. 2 adults 2 children and 2 dogs

We took our tourer caravan with awning and a gazebo and it was by far the cheapest August holiday we've ever had. The site is serene and idyllic. Our children and our dogs had unreserved freedom as there was only the odd traffic of a tractor.

We enjoyed the peace and quiet but was only minutes away from other outside activities and attractions.

The facilities on site are clean and well maintained, the manager was hospitable and knowledgeable of the surrounding area. Nothing was too much trouble. Our children loved the fishing and canoeing that is readily available as well as going to the shop on site for any thing we had forgotten or required. We were also welcome to use their fridge/freezer to store our food stuffs. We have already booked again for the summer. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Davies3 1 review from this member

 We came to the Paddock in August 2014. The campsite was well maintained with toilet and shower facilities and a small shop that sold essentials and disposable barbecues which was fantastic as we forgot ours! There is a Co Op nearby in the Lakenheath village and a Tesco in nearby Brandon.

It was the most peaceful, tranquil (and cheapest) holiday we have ever had. My 10 year old Daughter absolutely loved the freedom she had there, just to be able to cycle along the lanes with no fear of traffic and enjoy the outdoors.

The site manager was very helpful and very friendly and went out of her way to help us settle. She also explained the all the attractions we could visit and the best places to go for walks. The site have canoe hire which we used twice for sailing along the Little Ouse and we visited the Lakenheath Fen, and the viewing area for RAF Lakenheath, but spent most of our time on the site enjoying the peace. We highly recommend this site and have already booked our holiday there for this year. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dawnchorus 3 reviews from this member

 A basic little site we've stayed at a few times. This campsite is in a great location - a lovely walk onto the back end of the RSPB Lakenheath reserve. Loved hearing nearby birds (though wish they hadn't woken my daughter quite so early!). Cuckoos, curlew, lapwing, booming bitterns and my partner heard a quail. The toilet and shower facilities are very old & in a temporary building but kept reasonably clean. There are plans to develop the site in the future with cabins. Useful little 'shop' if you find you've forgotten something - matches, tinned food etc. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nick417 8 reviews from this member

 Spent whitweek here and it was very enjoyable, weather not withstanding.

First off, cost: Only 12. 50 per night plus 2. 50 for elec hook up however RSPB members get 1 per night off. This is a C&CC site and a sign at the entrance says 'members only' and you can join on site but when we rang to make the booking the members only seemed to be dependant on how busy they are.

Next, facilities: Toilets are in a small portacabin type building, mens consist of 3 cubicles and 3 urinals and 3 handbasins plus one shower. Toilet rolls, liquid soap and paper towels are provided free as is hot water for the sinks and shower. Unfortunately the facilities for women are much less numerous with just one toilet, washbasin and shower which are all in the same room, so nobody can use the loo when someone is having a shower! This wasn't much of a problem as the campsite was rarely busy but is probably the only negative point.

Washing up is done at sink in the open next to the drinking water supply (cold water only for washing up).

There is also a 'shop' which has most essentials (milk, teabags, fresh eggs, tins of stew etc. ) and has a little blue box to leave payment in. Situated in the shop is a large glass fronted fridge containing milk, cold drinks etc. But the bottom two shelves are empty and you can store your own food/beer/wine in there. Similarly with the freezer, which has a selection of ice lollies available to purchase, there is space to store freezer blocks or whatever. We found the fridge and freezer very useful. The owner called in once or twice a day and was very friendly and helpful, being a font of knowledge on all local amenities and more importantly for us, local wildlife.

The site itself is grass covered and flat with four or five hook ups scattered around. The nearby railway line (about 250yds) was not a problem, trains were very small and fairly infrequent and didn't run at night. There is no passing traffic to worry about as the campsite is near the end of long lane which only goes to a couple of farms afterwards.

The main reason we stayed here was its proximity to RSPB Lakenheath which we visited several times along a fantastic, if long, riverside walk which teemed with wildlife. We also spent a few days visiting Ely and Cambridge which were only a short drive away.

Overall we were very pleased with this site and will definitely be returning. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sool 16 reviews from this member

 We managed to squeeze in a few days at The Paddock following the August bank holiday and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves here.

The site is quietly located amongst the fens and at the time of our visit we were surrounded by potato and onion crops. We approached the access road with some trepidation and were rather pleased to find the site located at the end of it. Prospective visitors may wish to note the precise SatNav co-ordinates for re-assurance (52. 43528, 0. 462293).

The Norwich to Ely railway passes 400 metres to the north, but only sees 2-3 trains per hour during daylight hours.

The toilet and shower facilities are more than adequate for a site of this size and there was no queuing. We found a good sized conveniences store and several takeaways at Lakenheath, which is just over 3 miles away. Bigger supermarkets are at Mildenhall, some 8 miles away.

The owner is a helpful, friendly guy who is very knowledgeable about the local area. He loaned us a hook-up lead extension in order that we could pitch in the corner of our choice.

We saw several fly-pasts of F15s from the nearby USAF base, which persuaded us to visit the airfield's viewing area, some 6 miles away. This proved to be a fantastic experience, which we can highly recommend.

During our visit to The Paddock we developed a real feel for the history of the fens, and enjoyed visiting the Museum of Engine Drainage at Prickwillow. We also visited the ancient flint quarries at Grimes Graves in Thetford Forest, which were also very interesting.

We then used the site as a base to tour around many of surrounding villages and larger conurbations, including Ely, Isleham, Cambridge, Dalham, Weeting, Bury St Edmunds, Cowlinge, Clare, Cavendish, Lanwade, Downham Market, Long Melford, and Newmarket.

We will definitely be returning to The Paddock. 


Previous     14 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Paddock Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Paddock Caravan Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is The Paddock Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Brandon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet New Forest Caravan & Motorhome Show 21/05 to 25/05
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6634 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement