Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Usha Gap Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Richmond > Usha Gap Campsite Reviews

Usha Gap Campsite
Long Close House
Muker
Richmond
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
DL11 6DW
Tel: 01748 886110
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 90
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 53 Reviews
                9/10 from 53 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  53 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is opening in line with government guidance and we are taking bookings for arrivals from 31/07/2020 onwards , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our facilities may be open

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Steve bradley 5 reviews from this member

 Very clean and tidy site. The showers were spotless and clean. Well stocked shop, drying room, fridge freezer and charging points for phones etc although no phone signal for four miles

Great walks, nice village pub - the farmers arms with great food and beers within walking distance.

Great waterfalls nearby 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Emily22657hm 1 review from this member

 Absolutely perfect in every way! Being new to camping I was nervous to stay on a farm as I had visions of the facilities being a tap at the edge of a field and being woken up by a sheep with its head in my tent - how wrong I was!

From the picturesque views, to the sparkling clean toilets, the warm showers and clean sink area to the handy and helpful shop full of everything you could need, to the most friendly and helpful staff you could wish for, everything about the site is well thought out and excellent.

Will definitely be visiting again soon. Thank you for a superb stay 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Ady on Tour 2 reviews from this member

 What a little find, this site is well worth a visit. I stayed for a couple of nights with my motorbike and tent. On arrival I was greeted by Louise, after a long days riding a friendly face with a big smile was very welcome.

I found the campsite and all the facilities of a very high standard and everything was provided, even down to washing up liquid. I am already planning my return to ride some of the best motorbike routes in the uk, and will not stay anywhere else. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Helen29 1 review from this member

 We loved everything about this site, and would highly recommend it to anyone who enjoys spending time in the dales.

From our first point of contact with Louise and throughout our stay, we felt welcomed and we really appreciated the friendly, laid-back approach which you definitely don't get at some sites! As we stayed over the bank holiday weekend, we were warned it may get busy and there could possibly be a wait for the showers on a morning. This didn't bother us anyway, but we didn't find this, and the facilities were always warm and spotless, no matter the time we used them!

There is no electric hook up and no marked pitches, but that is exactly the reason everyone we spoke to had chosen Usha Gap! There is WiFi should you need it, and may be handy as we had no phone signal but for us this was definitely more of a positive than a negative!

The site is situated in a stunning location, one smaller field next to a stream and a larger field over the road on the same side as the facilities. We parked close to the stream and it was wonderful to hear nature's chorus as we fell asleep at night and woke in the morning. The site is between two small villages (Muker and Thwaite) which are both less than a mile away if you fancy a meal or a beer out. If you prefer to stay on-site, you can hire a wood burner and buy logs from the farm shop. They also sell bacon sarnies on a morning!

We had a great stay at Usha Gap and can't wait to return to this site! 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Highlander12 2 reviews from this member

 Very friendly and always very helpful.

Very clean showers and toilet block and lovely and warm, which was very welcoming as the weather was a bit on the cold side. Nice cosy room to sit and relax and able to charge phones etc.

Would definitely recommend this site three different areas to choose to park or pitch. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Howards of hessle 4 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a beautifully warm and sunny weekend at Usha Gap. Found it on here and read the reviews. What a fabulous campsite.

Well maintained. Showers are awesome.

Fire pits are brilliant. Excellent food in the pub in Muker. Great walking. I would suggest that the dogs are kept on a leash. They were a bit of a nuisance, but thatís the owners responsibility really.

Will be back again very soon. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Dannicali 6 reviews from this member

 What a brilliant find. This site is a short walk to Muker, along a public footpath, with a pub, shop and cafe.

The facilities were great. Warm, clean, well maintained, and generous in size for the size of the site.

No hook up, but not needed for a short visit, especially as so much is provided, a fridge, freezer, somewhere to cook, sit, wash and dry your clothes.

And at the end of the day, dark skies, which meant a great view of the stars and milky way. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Leshem 13 reviews from this member

 Great place,

Campsite is organized and clean. Been for August bank Holiday so they opened additional field to make sure it will not get crowded. The facilities were spotless for the whole time.

The allowed fires and available bruisers and firewood was very welcome in the windy weekend we had.

It's the small things that really make the difference like the soup in the pots washing area.

The area is great for hiking and the small village of Muker with a nice pub and a small shop is just 10 min walk through the fileds 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Grumpycamperman 3 reviews from this member

 Awesome location with a very friendly welcome. The owner even got the mower out to cut the area where our group of families wanted to pitch up.

There are excellent facilities in the converted barn near the entrance, comprising 4x washing up sinks, and communal fridge freezer in one room; separate male and female toilets with the usual mix of toilets, showers and sinks with mirrors (and urinals in the male); and best of all a communal sitting area with a few comfy chairs to get out of the weather and read (and re-charge your phone).

Free WiFi on what we called 'The WiFi Wall' outside reception. Plus two extra more basic toilets on the outside of the building - all spotlessly clean. Oh and a drying room plus laundry facilities.

There is a also small shop in the farmhouse porch where you can but a few essentials.

The site is split in two with one small-ish field on the other side of the road next to the river, and the main field the same side as the farm and facilities.

It is a working farm - but possibly the neatest tidiest farm you will find, so fear not town dwellers. You can have a fire in their converted washing machine drum fire-pits, and they will sell you logs to burn.

Brilliant location to walk to Muker (The Farmer's Arms pub and Swaledale) in across the fields in one direciton and Thwaite in the other.

Top camp site ! 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Truediamond 84 reviews from this member

 We only stayed one night here but it was enough to appreciate what Usha Gap has to offer. Access across the hills from either East or West is 'interesting' in a Motorhome to say the least.

Although there is no hookup or phone or Wifi, the Site more than makes up in location, setting and facilities.

There are three areas to pitch up, one was reserved for DoE groups when we stayed. The others are on either side of the road which is so quiet we didn't get disturbed by traffic noise. It's very much a case of pay at the door, find your space and get on with it.

When we stayed, there were a lot of families with tents and the farm was doing a roaring trade in hiring out firepits/selling logs. They have invested heavily in facilities and everything was clean, well looked after and had plenty of space.

Muker with pub and shop is only 1/2 miles away. Very pleasant to sit out in the sun. 


Previous     53 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Usha Gap Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Usha Gap Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Usha Gap Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Richmond      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3583 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020