Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Usha Gap Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Richmond > Usha Gap Campsite > Reviews

Usha Gap Campsite
Long Close House
Muker
Richmond
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
DL11 6DW
Tel: 01748 886110
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 90
Open: 25/03/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 78 Reviews
                9/10 from 78 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  78 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: VStromNeil 7 reviews from this member

 I booked two nights at this site, either end of a trip to Scotland. In the end I only used one of those bookings but because I paid for both Louise told me she now owed me a night! I plan a return trip to the Yorkshire Dales in September, so I'll get my second night after all.

Usha Gap is an open field campsite, there is a huge amount of room and guests are pretty much allowed to pick wherever they like. There is a small area next to the river but very close to the road and two more large fields. I chose a quiet and shaded spot near the shop and facilities.

Louise said the road, which can be busy during the day, is quiet at night, she was right, I didn't hear a car or motorbike much after 8. 00 pm.

The grass had not been cut when I was there, it may be at other times but it was easy to find a nice flat tent pitch.

The facilities are kept clean and are very good if a little dated in that there are (in the gents), a row of urinals, a row of sinks and a row of toilets and also showers. If you like your privacy when washing you'd best be early. The washing up facilities are in the same block. Indoors, what a treat and were always clean during my stay. There is also a drying room which two fellow motorcyclists were using, having got caught in a thunder storm. In addition there are two more toilets that are separate from the others.

The overall atmosphere is quiet and relaxed and the amount of space on site means you can be as social or unsociable (me) as you like. The shop has some tasty goodies, including ice cream and some local form produce.

A really lovely campsite and one which I will use again. 


Date of Visit: August 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Dutch family 1 review from this member

 Large field, wonderful views on the site,

Relaxed atmosphere, warm and clean showers, friendly owners and A well-assorted campsite shop.

Lovely Walks starting on the camp site.

Our kids loved the free WiFi and the possibility to find fossils in nearby streams.

We would certainly recommand A holiday on this site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2022 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Kjnew74 3 reviews from this member

 This is my 3rd review for this site, can't recommend it highly enough.

Louise the owner is so welcoming and helpful, there are no strict check-in and check-out times, so no rushing to leave, and no set pitches so you can pitch wherever you please.

The facilities are always spotless, showers always warm and never had to queue. The shop is small but has all the essentials and much much more.

The site itself has such beautiful views and the surrounding areas are great to explore. There are great walks direct from the site. A pub and tea rooms in the nearby village of Muker, and a fish and chip van that visits usually on a Friday evening.

We have been going to the site for a number of years and have never been disappointed. Already looking forward to booking a few trips again for 2023. 


Date of Visit: July 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Xbob 4 reviews from this member

 Usha Gap campsite should be the model for every National Park, Outdoor pursuits campsite.

They don't welcome noisy, anti-social people.

It's hard to take issue with any of the site qualities.

Well done the owners and many many thanks. 


Date of Visit: May 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Annie-j 2 reviews from this member

 What a fantastic campsite, lovely welcome by Louise,

Great location and so many walks from directly from the campsite.

The site was clean tidy and had amazing views.

Facilities excellent and the shower/ Toilet block was lovely and warm.

Will definitely go back. 10/10 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2022 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Cathysue 6 reviews from this member

 Excellent campsite in a beautiful valley.

The facilities are very good. The pitches are mainly flat on well tended grass.

There are plenty of toilets and free showers, a washing up room with 4 sinks and a fridge freezer (labels provided).

There are free lockers (donation to mountain rescue optional) in the facilities block which have sockets in them. Perfect for charging devices.

Whilst there is no phone signal (we're on O2) there is WiFi throughout the site.

There are firepits you can use. The reception office has a small shop with local meats, bread, milk, logs & kindling etc, plenty of things for a basic meal.

The owner is a lovely lady who was very helpful when we needed help finding somewhere local to eat (The Kings Head at Gunnerside, food delicious).

Our only complaint would be nothing to do with the campsite, but with the other users. Dog owners, you really ought to train them not to bark at the slightest thing! Just like after hours noise, it does get a bit annoying.

Cost was 46 for 2 nights for 2 adults in 1 tent with 1 car 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2022 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: JulieChandler 2 reviews from this member

 We love this site, it is in a beautiful setting and has amazing facilities.

The owners are very friendly and you can pitch up wherever you want in the three fields.

We did walks from the site which provide some fantastic views and lots of wildlife.

You can hear/see curlew, cuckoos, lapwings and much more.

Highly recommended. 


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jenny2 4 reviews from this member

 Loved this site. Exceptionally run and great facilities. Beautiful area with fab walks.

No electricity hook ups but free charging lockers

Thoroughly recommend. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Raystaines 1 review from this member

 Stunning location and excellent campsite.

The proprietor was lovely, helpful and friendly.

The facilities were first rate.

Usha Gap is added to our list of sites to which we will return. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Danwa4 1 review from this member

 Wow, what a place.

Great location, friendly staff, well stocked shop.

Huge field for pitches, super walks nearby, decent facilities.

Can't fault it one bit. 
via mobile


Previous     78 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Usha Gap Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Usha Gap Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Usha Gap Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Richmond      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet National Outdoor Expo 23/03 to 24/03
Held at the NEC in Birmingham, bringing outdoor enthusiasts all of the kit, tech, nutrition, activities and advice under one roof for a jam-packed weekend of outdoor inspiration Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5537 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement