Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Usha Gap Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Site Reviews

Usha Gap Campsite
Long Close House
Muker
Richmond
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
DL11 6DW
Tel: 01748 886110
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 90
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 48 Reviews
                9/10 from 48 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  48 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Howards of hessle 4 reviews from this member

Just returned from a beautifully warm and sunny weekend at Usha Gap. Found it on here and read the reviews. What a fabulous campsite. Well maintained. Showers are awesome. Fire pits are brilliant. Excellent food in the pub in Muker. Great walking. I would suggest that the dogs are kept on a leash. They were a bit of a nuisance, but thatís the owners responsibility really. Will be back again very soon.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Dannicali 6 reviews from this member

What a brilliant find. This site is a short walk to Muker, along a public footpath, with a pub, shop and cafe. The facilities were great. Warm, clean, well maintained, and generous in size for the size of the site. No hook up, but not needed for a short visit, especially as so much is provided, a fridge, freezer, somewhere to cook, sit, wash and dry your clothes. An at the end of the day, dark skies, which meant a great view of the stars and milky way.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Leshem 13 reviews from this member

Great place,

Campsite is organized and clean. Been for August bank Holiday so they opened additional field to make sure it will not get crowded. The facilities were spotless for the whole time.

The allowed fires and available bruisers and firewood was very welcome in the windy weekend we had.

It's the small things that really make the difference like the soup in the pots washing area.

The area is great for hiking and the small village of Muker with a nice pub and a small shop is just 10 min walk through the fileds

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Grumpycamperman 3 reviews from this member

Awesome location with a very friendly welcome. The owner even got the mower out to cut the area where our group of families wanted to pitch up.

There are excellent facilities in the converted barn near the entrance, comprising 4x washing up sinks, and communal fridge freezer in one room; separate male and female toilets with the usual mix of toilets, showers and sinks with mirrors (and urinals in the male); and best of all a communal sitting area with a few comfy chairs to get out of the weather and read (and re-charge your phone). Free WiFi on what we called 'The WiFi Wall' outside reception. Plus two extra more basic toilets on the outside of the building - all spotlessly clean. Oh and a drying room plus laundry facilities. There is a also small shop in the farmhouse porch where you can but a few essentials.

The site is split in two with one small-ish field on the other side of the road next to the river, and the main field the same side as the farm and facilities.

It is a working farm - but possibly the neatest tidiest farm you will find, so fear not town dwellers. You can have a fire in their converted washing machine drum fire-pits, and they will sell you logs to burn.

Brilliant location to walk to Muker (The Farmer's Arms pub and Swaledale) in across the fields in one direciton and Thwaite in the other.

Top camp site !

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Truediamond 77 reviews from this member

We only stayed one night here but it was enough to appreciate what Usha Gap has to offer. Access across the hills from either East or West is 'interesting' in a Motorhome to say the least. Although there is no hookup or phone or Wifi, the Site more than makes up in location, setting and facilities. There are three areas to pitch up, one was reserved for DoE groups when we stayed. The others are on either side of the road which is so quiet we didn't get disturbed by traffic noise. It's very much a case of pay at the door, find your space and get on with it. When we stayed, there were a lot of families with tents and the farm was doing a roaring trade in hiring out firepits/selling logs. They have invested heavily in facilities and everything was clean, well looked after and had plenty of space.

Muker with pub and shop is only 1/2 miles away. Very pleasant to sit out in the sun.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Fred Stubber 8 reviews from this member

Excellent facilities, very friendly owners. No wifi or electric. Pub is 6/10 mile away and is excellent. The field near the stream is best. We've been visiting this site for 30 years and we've always enjoyed it.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Billybusa 10 reviews from this member

This is the second time that we have stayed at this campsite within 12 months. The roads to the Campsite can be narrow in places, especially for Caravans, but the drive Scenery is stunning, especially from Kirkby Stephen or Hawes. The campsite comprises of two camp fields, a large field near the farmhouse and a Smaller field near the river. Caravans, Campervans, tents and large 'Dakar' type vehicles are all catered for, however there are no hookups. Plenty of space for everyone. It rained hard when we were there, but the ground stayed solid enough to drive off. You are also allowed to have an open fire ( the owners sell firewood) however the fires must be off the ground. New shower / Toilet block ( 2 toilets and 4 showers in The mens with 3 urinals ) with an integral washing area with a fridge/freezer and chill out/ info room. There is also a drying out room and a further toilet next to the toilet block. The site even has its own 'pet' ducks. This is a working farm and if your lucky, you can see the farmer rounding up the sheep. Dogs are allowed on site.

Muker is only 1/2 mile away, which can be safely accessed via a path running through the fields, or via the road. The village has a pub, woolen/ souvenir shop, cafe and a small shop selling milk, eggs etc. Coast to coast and the pennine way also run along this area. Reeth is about 10 miles away, and Richmond is about 20 miles. The cost to stay here for 1 night, 2 people in a campervan was £15. 00. Our friend stayed here in a tent and on his motorbike for £9. 00 ( £7. 00 for him and £2. 00 for the bike) normally, you can just turn up to the campsite without booking, but it would be advisable to ring anyway.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Davejw 1 review from this member

What a fantastic little campsite we stayed for 2 nights at a very reasonable cost considering no EHU, Louise made us very welcome and the short walk through the fields to the pub was amazing, the shower block is one of the best I have used, will be calling there again in the not so distant future

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Redskyatnight 1 review from this member

This is a lovely campsite situated in Swaledale between Muker and Thwaite. There are three camping fields, one by the river across the road from the site entrance. The owners are friendly and helpful. There is a footpath connecting the site with the two villages mentioned above. At Muker there is a pub, teashop, and a small shop. There is also Swaledale Woolens and a gift shop.

We were only there for 2 nights. The camp facilities are newly built and the toilets function well and are generally as clean as may be expected with heavy use. The outside taps for water have good pressure so water containers fill quickly.

My only complaint and it is a big one is that the water supply to the showers, sinks and basins is pitiful, totally at odds with the toilets and outside taps. The showers are so bad that there is either no water or it is literally running down the wall. Occasionally the shower head gives two seconds of spray. On enquiry of the owners, they say it is a design fault and they hope to have it resolved over the winter. A sign did appear in the block telling people the problem was caused 'at busy times' by water pressure but even when I visited the toilets before 7am in the morning and tried turning on the taps, the water was still a trickle. At this point there was virtually no one using any of the facilities!

We managed and it did not spoil my enjoyment but teenage girls or young women or indeed anyone trying to wash their hair had an impossible task.

Let's hope this is resolved by next year. One other point to mention is that if you want a really quiet camp site this might not be for you as there are quite a lot of large family groups with multiple tents grouped together. I always take ear plugs and I'm fine. The only other point is that on the Saturday night the whole camp side had to endure pounding music until 3 o'clock in the morning which was alleged to come from a nearby barn which was hosting an 80th birthday party. I can only say that they must have sent the 80 year old home and then taken over the disco! Can't believe the 80 year old was a fan of Heavy Metal and House music!

There is nothing on the campsite for children eg playground.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: TPrice 2 reviews from this member

This campsite is a real gem. It is set in picturesque Upper Swaledale countryside, an area popular with walkers and cyclists. There are two main camping fields on either side of the road, although more fields are brought into use when numbers are high as they were for one night of our stay when a large group of Duke of Edinburgh Award students descended on the place. (To be fair, the owners did warn us when we booked, the students were well behaved and the facilities coped with the numbers apart from a momentary issue with the water supply - see later). The lower field, where we stayed, is right by the river. It is smaller and probably quieter that the upper field, more sheltered by trees but also more affected by midges, which are a bit of a nuisance but not as pesky or painful as their Scottish counterparts. Our field was level and very well drained, despite the unseasonally wet weather. There is no EHU, but in other respects the facilities are brilliant for what is essentially a small, farm-based campsite. There are ample toilets, showers and washing up sinks, and a drying room, in a new, heated block that has been constructed to a high standard. Fire pits and logs are available. The site is a short, easy walk (approx half a mile) across the fields to the little village of Muker where there are shops and a pub.

One of the best things about this site is the attitude of the owners. They are very welcoming and helpful and and get the balance just right between efficiency and informality. This, and the quality of the facilities, make it a comfortable and relaxing place to stay.

I've given it ten stars because we were so impressed and enjoyed staying there so much, but there are some things I'd change in an ideal world. First, as mentioned, the water supply to the hot water system couldn't cope for a few minutes at a time of peak demand from the DofE students. Apparently this is due to the water supply to the farm, not the plumbing on site. Second, I'm not a fan of the washing machine drum type of fire pit: maybe it's my technique, but I find they give out more smoke than heat. And lastly, there are the midges if you choose to pitch alongside the river. However, these are minor issues that won't stop us going back to an otherwise idyllic spot.

Previous     48 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over £885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth £119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2069 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019