Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gorselands Leisure Certificated Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

Gorselands Leisure Certificated Site
Roman Road
Bleadon Hill
Weston Super Mare
Somerset   (Browse area)
BS24 0AD
Tel: 01934 263510
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 5 vans plus tents
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 15 Reviews
                9/10 from 15 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:  15 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: January 2019 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

Please note we have been advised that this site has reopened following a period of closure from early 2017 - it once again offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: SiouxPeto 8 reviews from this member

This site is stunning. Right on top of the Bleadon Hills the views are amazing. One side the sea the other the Somerset levels. Easy for our SAT nav too she found it no problems.

The site is immaculate with private little hedged pitching areas with electric set amongst the trees and gorse and you can choose where you want to camp. There are only two washrooms with showers and when we got over our initial shock that you had to pay for hot water in the showers 20p and there is no washing up facilities. We loved it here. Real camping. The grass was cut in 3 heights which I found fascinating, one for driving and walking on, one for pitching and one long and billowy, Good ground easy to put tent pegs in. They recycle which we wish more sites would do.

Low site lighting so you could see at night but not interfering. Very very quiet and peaceful! Just birdsong to wake up to.

We have a VW 1972 campervan and when she is set up we can't just drive to the shops, so we walk with our dog and use public transport. Lots of good walks, with signed pathways. Good bus service to Weston super mare, runs on time. The local pub is also great, friendly and good food. Wonderful scenery with wildflower hedge rows and meadows and we found orchids.

Will definitely return it's a hidden gem, a truly lovely camp site. Sorry wasn't going to tell anyone about this as it is so lovely but decided everyone should have the opportunity for a little piece of heaven every so often - enjoy.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Mazzer1 1 review from this member

If you're looking for somewhere peaceful with beautiful views just a few steps away, easy access to beach/town, but happy with basic facilities, this site will tick your boxes.

The layout of the site is a breath of fresh air compared to the more common regimented rows, with pitches scattered between hedgerows and gorse thickets, and plenty of bird (and rabbit) life around you. Some pitches are vulnerable to wind as it's a hilltop site but the hedges make a huge difference. There was virtually no man-made noise, just the occasional plane on its way into Bristol.

The 2 combined toilet/shower rooms were functional but having combined facilities means that they are in use for longer at peak times. Having one separate toilet would be helpful.

Weston-S-M is just a short drive away and this would be a good base for exploring in all directions. Not, in my opinion, a particularly good site for children.

As stated in previous reviews, 18 seems a bit steep given the basic facilities, and the need to bring all consumables with you, but the location is a big plus.

Date of Visit: December 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Percy on tour 49 reviews from this member

Gorselands is situated atop a hill to the south of Weston-super-Mare, which consequently affords superb panoramic views across the Bristol Channel, the Somerset Levels and Glastonbury Tor. (So panoramic that when staying there over New Year's Eve we were able to simultaneous watch the midnight firework displays of Bristol, Clevedon, Weston-super-Mare, Newport, Cardiff, Bridgwater and Burnham-on-Sea!)

There is a central hard-standing area for about eight caravans, and then two separate fields with ehus for both caravans and tents. Clever use is made of bushes and foliage to provide both privacy and screening from any biting onshore winds, and there are benches and picnic tables dotted about to enjoy the scenery.

There is a water point, elsan disposal point and recycling bins adjacent to the hard-standing, as well as two combined unisex toilet/showers. The showers work on coin meters. A key is required to access the toilet/shower units, though this seems pointless because there us nothing in there to swipe (and no passers-by up at this remote spot to swipe it if there were!). The key would therefore be better employed working a padlock for the main gate.

Weston-super-Mare is only ten minutes drive away, along with its shops, nightlife and large supermarkets. Otherwise, the beaches of Burnham-on-Sea, Berrow and Brean are a just little further away in the other direction. There is an occasional bus service along Bleadon Hill, although this is not one of those sites that is particularly convenient if you plan to tour around using public transport.

The owners are friendly and helpful, and the site clean and well maintained. Sadly, the only black mark against Gorselands is that you have take your own soap, towel and toilet paper to the toilet block (hence why there is nothing to swipe). Were this a cheap-and-cheerful 10 per night site this might be understandable. But when charging 18 per night off-season it seems needlessly penny-pinching to omit this simple courtesy to complement what is an otherwise excellent little site.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Granddad1 5 reviews from this member

This is the first time here. What a lovely site, 2 sites in one and nice and quiet. Right near wsm. You need transport of some type if you leave the site. 5 mins away you can park up and get a bus into town. The owners are very friendly. The only down side is you need your own toilet roll and soap. If you like golf just a walk away I'll be back to this site as it has hard standing and very easy to find

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Benefitforever 2 reviews from this member

We spent 2 nights at Gorselands over the Bank Holiday based on reviews on this site. What a treat. The site itself has almost 360 degree panoramic views which we thought might be a problem when pitching our tent in the breeze that was getting up when we arrived. We had a choice of pitches so opted for a little corner where we surrounded on 3 sides by gorse bushes to shelter us. The site was fairly level but we still slid about in the night. There were plenty of places where we could have pitched so I'm sure we could have found a more level site if we had wanted. We had a bonus of a picnic bench near our pitch and an area where our 2 children could kick a ball about without disturbing anyone.

The showers and toilets were dated but perfectly fine for our needs. Remember to stock up on 20p's for your shower. 2mins was fine but the water pressure was a little low (the cost of those panoramic views) so 4mins may have been better.

The site was easy to find and was only 11mins drive into WSM for everything it has to offer.

the owners were welcoming hosts and seemed to spend lots of time tending their campsite. They take pride in the site and this is a credit to them.

Generally a beautiful site with space for the kids to play and views to die for. We hope to return for another relaxing break in the future.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Shadnmeg 1 review from this member

After travelling from Newquay, we needed somewhere to stay for the night as a break.

We were a group of 4 girls in our 20's with one tent and one car.

We rang to ask for prices and after a VERY reasonable price, we turned up 20 minutes later and were greeted on arrival by the man who owns Gorselands. After giving us a mini tour of the site, he showed us a beautiful pitch which was surrounded in bushes, to keep the wind down to a minimum and it definitely had the best view. (not too sure what the view was of, but it was lovely to look at. ) As we were putting the tent up, the couple came over with a really cute hand drawn map, which gave us great directions to the local chippy and Tesco Express. They also gave us the key to the bathrooms and a spare toilet roll. I think they could tell that we had completely forgot that we needed loo roll! It was very much appreciated.

Each toilet had a shower room attached to it, and were clean, simple and easy to use.

I, being the immature one of the group, really enjoyed the swings and tyre swing which was down the slope from our pitch, and the other girls were quite happy sitting on the grass with the chippy.

We all loved the site, and the couple that owned it and were talking about them all the way home back to Bolton. We didn't get to view the area as we were travelling home, ubt according to the map - it was quite close to the beach, and the chippy was only a five minute drive away.

Two of us are already planning on bringing our families back at some point. Excited already!

Highly Recommended. This site is a MUST. Couldn't Fault anything.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Travelling lite 1 review from this member

Spent a week here with car and caravan.

Lovely site with good views. However at 14 pounds a night plus 20p for a 2 minute shower I felt it was expensive.

You needed at least 4 minutes for the shower so for 2 of us that was an extra 80p a day.

There are only two showers / WC / wash hand basin which are rather old and not clean, cobwebs all over the place and bits of paper (kitchen role?) on the tiles.

No dishwashing facilities, but then again it is a CL

A nice isolated quiet site but not value for money.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ppod 1 review from this member

A lovely, clean, well planned site! Beautifully mown, clearly designated spots, hedgerow gaps, clearly marked bays, greenery around were lovely, although the views as pre-reviewed were only in certain pitches! Everything you need for a stop over.

We are a family of 4 ( 2 adults, 2 children), don't think this is a place for children/families. No cycling, and children obviously to be 'seen and not heard' such a shame, when there were so many hedgerows for children to explore and enjoy. Wonderful opportunity to be the children we were, a generation ago! Such a shame!

Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dot P 546 reviews from this member

There are 2 CL's on this site - CC is a smaller paddock type with spaces for 5 vans in a line. The C&CC CL is much more appealing - all grass standing pitches but each in little private spaces surrounded by shrubs and bushes.

The toilets / showers are old but functional - one small negative here - a sign clearly states they don't supply soap or toilet paper, shame as its a pain having to take your own over each time.

Site is very well kept and owners very friendly and helpful.

At 13 plus 20p per 2 minutes in the shower this cost us 15 for 1 night / 2 adults with hookup. Good value for money and only a few miles from Weston.

Its a very peaceful site and we will visit again.

Previous     15 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over 399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to 175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


925 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth 399!