Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Conifers Pentraeth Camping

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Newport > Conifers Pentraeth Camping Reviews

Conifers Pentraeth Camping
Feidr Brenin
Newport
Pembrokeshire   (Browse area)
SA42 0RZ
Tel: 07852 394257
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 20
Open: March - October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 17 Reviews
                8/10 from 17 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 1 mile 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  17 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: M+MGalliers 19 reviews from this member

We booked a last minute long weekend here to make the most of the good autumn weather.

The site is easy to access being directly off the main A487 coast road. It is set back and so road noise is minimal and all pitches are on grass.

The views to the sea are truly stunning and they are best from the pitches furthest into the site.

The facilities are basic - two showers (in total) and three toilets, each with a small basin. They have been recently fitted out and one of the showers is like a power shower with plentiful free, hot water. I couldn't get any hot water out of the other one, though. There is a small, outdoor sink and a shed with a freezer and fridge. There is a shaver point in one loo but no plug for a hairdryer.

We paid £19 per night for a caravan with two people (which was reasonable value, given the location), but there are lots of extras you could be charged for depending when you come and what with.

It is a 10-15 minute walk to Newport via the gate at the end of the site and along rural roads (take a torch for late night returns) or, if it is daylight, you can walk along the A487. This is a quicker route and there is a pavement most of the way but there are two bits without pavement where you have to keep your wits about you, and it would not be safe with small children.

Newport has four pubs (three accept dogs) and three do food as well as several fairly upmarket places to eat and cafes. There is a good bus service to Fishguard and Haverfordwest one way, and Cardigan the other way.

The walks around Dinas Head and up Carn Ingli mountain are both well worth doing for fantastic scenery and views.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Teeko 4 reviews from this member

If you are looking for a quite site close to the Pembrokeshire coastal path in the Newport area, then I throughly recommend the Conifers site. A gentle stroll down a quite a leafy lane and your are on the beach. Where there a lovely pub serving quality and reasonably priced food all day.

A 10 minute walk into town along a busy road is not problem even with young children as there paths most of the way.

The facilities on site were brand new but basic but hell what do you expect for this price.

Thoroughly recommend this site to. All

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jefn 4 reviews from this member

Stunning views. Small quiet site overlooking Parrog. Nice cliff top walks. Standard of showers and toilets were below what we expected. Newport was friendly and welcoming. Very laid back owner and prices didn't seem to follow website. No warning that it was cash only.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Worldcamping 3 reviews from this member

One of several campsites we visited during a trip along the Pembrokeshire Coastal Path walking/ camping holiday.

A site with lovely views and very handy for the coastal path and Newport with several good places to eat.

The site had some near level pitches that were all grass and some hook up.

No wifi, and fairly basic toilet and shower facilities, however we would say that the site is good one and there were a couple of local people who had used the site on a number of occasions and they sang its praises.

It's ready for a revamp, but a nice location.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Denv67 1 review from this member

This place is all about enjoying the great outdoors

The toilets and showers are basic but they are regularly cleaned, there is a fridge and a chest freezer available to use and a laundry room also (coin operated).

This site is family owned and is a 10 minute walk from Parrog and Newport, Fishguard is roughly 6 miles away and Cardigan around 10 miles.

There are stunning views of Newport Bay, plenty of nice little pubs and eateries within walking distance, a few little shops in Newport where your basics can be purchased, a Spar, post office a nice Butchers and if you're a proper bloke have a wander around the Iron Mongers.

Lovely area, nice camp site owned by nice decent people.

Definite return is on the cards.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Estillcamp 5 reviews from this member

This was our first holiday in the area for my wife and I and having been camping all round the UK for over 30 years, trying not to use the same site twice, we would certainly consider returning to the Conifers. A phone call to the proprietors on arrival (we do not usually book in advance) saw a most agreeable young lady with two small children come welcome us to their gently sloping site and relieve us of £16 for the first night.

We were the only folks under canvas, though there were a couple of motorhomes out of sight near the toilets/wash up area.

The facilities were basic yet satisfactory; even quirky, as the toilets (2) and Showers (2) were housed in a converted horsebox trailer! Space in the cubicles was somewhat limited and the lack of hot water in the toilet sinks was not good, yet not a problem for us, as all we need is a tap and a toilet! We don't need EHU either.

We stayed two nights and walked extensively, exploring the village/town of Newport and enjoyed Sunday lunch at the Royal Oak. A romantic walk up to the rocky summit above Newport to watch the sunset, was spoiled by seeing the many unoccupied second and holiday homes and the clouds of midges that drove us off the summit!

Other than the above disappointments we found the locality scenic and the service generally good. The weather was superb!

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gilian61 9 reviews from this member

The field we stayed on appeared to be an 'add on' to the original site which is a couple of fields away.

We liked the site's close proximity to Newport and the entrance being right off the main Newport to Fishguard road - no long winding lanes to negotiate.

(Only downside - a high kerb at the entrance - not good if you have a low to the ground car like ours. )

The views over the sea and the estuary are lovely and the field is bordered with beautiful hedgerows. (Lots of rabbits about too. )

At the far end of the field is a gate out onto a lane which leads down onto The Parrog. A nice walk which my huband did every day - carrying on along the estuary and up into the town for newspapers and provisions.

The facilities were basic - in portable cabins.

Two toilets - one very narrow - both with basins but only cold water. Not so good for tent campers who need hot water and somewhere to wash and shave. Also if someone is using them to wash in then no-one can use the toilets.

Two showers - simple to use and always with hot water.

A shed housing a fridge and a freezer - very handy.

A washing up area with 2 sinks and hot water. It could have done with some extra cover as in bad weather you could get very wet washing your pots and pans open to the elements!

An effort had been made to pretty up the site with plants and shrubs around the entrance and around the facilities which gave it a nice feel.

The little town of Newport is charming. It has all the shops one could need - a Spar, butcher, bakery, gift shops, newsagents, post office, camping shop, pubs with good food. The Royal Oak's Sunday lunch is excellent. Further afield are Fishguard and Cardigan with larger supermarkets.

The Parrog is lovely with plenty of free parking and toilets - also a cafe with good food, ice cream etc. Across the estuary is Newport beach (wade across at low tide) also reachable by road - 3 miles - with parking (charge) and facilities.

We had great weather during our stay so obviously saw this site at its best - but we liked it very much and will definitely go back.

We did think that the charge per night of £19 with EHU for a caravan and £16 without EHU for a small tent was a bit over priced for the time of year and given the basic facilities.

However, it had a nice ambience and the views and closeness to Newport mean that we will look forward to staying there again.

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jayne1203 3 reviews from this member

We chose a close to home camp site to enjoy a couple nights away and to test out our caravan ready for the season. We phoned first to ensure there was room for us as it was Easter weekend, and was reassured there was plenty of space and hook up too. To arrive after 1pm and to vacate our pitch at 11am the day we leave. We arrived just before 3pm. It is a gentle sloping long and narrow field, with an abundance of rabbits. There was no owner to greet us, but other camp site users informed us the owner would be there the following morning and to just choose a spot and set up. There were only about 5 other caravans and a couple of motorhomes when we got there

The views of the coast and the estuary were lovely. Even though it was gentle slope, we did thankfully find a couple of bricks placed near the hedge to help us level up. Not quite as gentle as it looks! We set up near the far side of the long, narrow field and had easy access to a small gate which takes you to a single track road down to the Parrog at Newport. Stunning views! There is a cafe and restaurant as well as the boat club down at the Parrog. You can walk along the estuary or into Town, where there is a good selection of small shops and pubs. A frequent bus service to Fishguard and Haverfordwest, or to Cardigan.

We took the car the following day to spend the day in Cardigan. It has a wide choice of shops, a theatre/cinema, resturants, cafe's and pubs. On the way back into the camp site, we only then realised we were supposed to have contacted the owner with the telephone number on the sign. My excuse was that I was too busy watching the antics of the local rabbit population when we first entered the site. I duly rang and apologised, but the owner was very friendly and reassured us she would pop into to see us and collect payment that afternoon. It cost us £19. 50 per night.

The site amenities were small but very clean. Basic toilets and showers in a mobile shed based behind the hedge of an adjacent field. There was also a freezer and fridge available for those who needed. Water, toilet waste disposal and outside washing up area with a small protective roof. There was also a recycling area for your rubbish. The area is quiet, unspoilt and beautiful. Just the place to recharge your batteries.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sue Welford 7 reviews from this member

We have just returned from 7 nights at this campsite. Wonderful views and large and spacious flat pitches. Electric hook up was available but we don't use this.

The owner met us when we arrived - you have to phone the mobile number and she will come to the site entrance. This was challenging as the first phone we tried (Vodaphone) did not get a signal from the site and the other (o2) only just got a signal! I am sure other mobile phones get good signals.

As other reviewers have said the site is convenient for the beach and for Newport - good walk before breakfast to get a paper! Newport has everything you need - good pubs, small shops with lots of variety, even a street market on the Monday.

There are brilliant walks from the campsite - along the coast path or into the Preseli Mountains. All with gorgeous views. I also enjoyed a ride from Harvard Stables which is just a mile along the A487.

The showers were good and had plenty of hot water, 3 unisex and then one in each of the men's and ladies' units. Good hot water and space for washing up. There is a fridge, freezer and washing machine and dryer. You only need to pay for the washing machine and drier.

However the major drawback for us were the toilet facilities. There were two loos in each of the men's and the ladies' for the whole site. There was only a single very small washbasin with a cold water tap in the mens and the same in the ladies. This meant that if you wanted to wash your hands and someone was cleaning their teeth or, as my husband found, shaving then you couldn't.

There is also no way of drying your hands. There was a single unisex toilet that had a very small washbasin - but no mirror - where you could avoid being in the way.

We would love to go back to the area but probably won't visit this campsite again.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Psing69 1 review from this member

My Wife and I spent a week here last summer; we originally booked in for a long weekend of three nights which was extended to seven because we didn’t want to leave!

The site is basic but adequate and the facilities are kept spotless my only complaint was no hot water tap on the single sink in the Gents therefore a cold shave, there are showers in both the Ladies and the Gents and also a bank of three for unisex use.

‘Conifers’ is on a working farm and very relaxed, the pitches are an excellent size.

Linda (the site manager I think although it is very much a family concern) is a treasure she used to bring us freshly laid farm eggs in the morning; yes we did have to pay for them!

Lots of new arrivals at the site knew her so they were obviously returning campers.

The view from the bottom field, where we were, is gorgeous as is the little town of Newport.

Although both Welsh ourselves it was our first visit to this part of the country but we certainly intend returning there and staying again at Conifers.

Town is about a 20 minute walk, if you use the shortcut, the butchers in town, although a bit expensive, have excellent meat and we actually brought some home to North Wales! (So it must have been good). Perfect for those BBQ’s, try it you won’t be sorry! They also sell organic vegetables.

We frequented the ‘Royal Oak’ in the main street, very friendly and the food is excellent, the owner is Malaysian and the curries are exceptional as are the traditional Sunday lunches.

There is a Spar shop next to the butchers which carries all the essentials, if you want supermarkets you will have to go to Fishguard or Cardigan, all depends on what you want from a camping holiday.

I cannot say how it would be for kids as ours have grown up and we were on our own, but the beach area looked really good and there was no shortage of kids on it!

For us it was wonderful.

Previous     17 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Pembrokeshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over £205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3878 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019