Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Camping Le Picard

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Normandy > Tournieres > Camping Le Picard Reviews

Camping Le Picard
Le Clos Picard
Tournieres
Normandy   (Browse area)
14330
Tel: 0033 23 12 28 244
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 55
Open: 15/3 To 15/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 35 Reviews
                9/10 from 35 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis 1 mile 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports 10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 10 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  35 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Bluecobra32 1 review from this member

Loved staying here, so friendly and all the amenities you need. Couple who own it are lovely and help you if you don't speak French. Would definitely recommend this place. It is a bit out of the way but if you have transport then nothings too far and if not they have a good taxi service available.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Transportersteve 1 review from this member

Great site Paul & Lucia the site owners couldn't be more friendly and helpful. The site is in a lovely quiet location. Good facilities ie swimming pool every pitch has its own electric and water tap and good food in the site restaurant. Can't wait to go back!

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Annabellahayter 1 review from this member

We have been storing our caravan and holidaying on this site for 14 years, now on our second 'van, and have found it to be very good. A second home, in fact. The showers are always hot and the facilities clean, the grounds well maintained and neat.

Paul and Lucia are always welcoming and the restaurant, when open during the high season, very good. The food, a mixture of English and French, plus an excellent chilli, is home cooked and the atmosphere warm and friendly.

It is an easy distance from the small market town of Le Moley Littry, with a good choice of shops, and well placed to visit the cathedral city of Bayeux as well as the war memorials on the coast.

A quiet, pleasant place surrounded by farm land, with green pitches and gravel standing for caravan or motorhome, as comfortable in winter as it is in summer.

Ann and Richard Hayter.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ssheerin 1 review from this member

We have been using this campsite for many years and it feels like second home. We are always made to feel welcome by the owners, Paul and Lucia (both British). We used the caravan storage facility for a number of years - much cheaper and more convenient than storing the van in the UK. We would let Paul know by email when we were going to arrive, and he would get our van ready on a pitch for our arrival. For the last couple of years however, we've chosen to have our caravan on a permanent pitch for which we pay annually and we visit several times a year, so it is like a second home in Normandy but with no hassle!

The surrounding area is full of interest - Bayeux and the tapestry, Caen and it's William the Conqueror castle and abbeys, the Normandy landing beaches and Arromanches with the remnants of the amazing floating harbour that was towed over from UK to supply the allied troops. There are wonderful walks around here too along the river Vire, through the ancient forest of Cerisy.

The site itself is attractive and beautifully kept, with an open air swimming pool, a bar / restaurant / shop and even a disabled toilet and shower room - oh, and free wifi all over the site. One thing we really appreciate is the showers - great waterpressure and there is always piping hot water available.

Paul and Lucia are incredibly hard-working, always to be seen around mowing the grass, trimming the amazing yew hedges that separate the pitches. We have had a couple of minor crises during the time we've been visiting and they were both extremely helpful. Once we got locked out of our car and they let us use their phone to call the local garage, and then there was the massive storm that destroyed part of the awning we had left erected, and Paul sent us an email telling us what had happened complete with photographs. Lucia, who speaks excellent French, also helped us communicate with the local plumber when our pipes had burst after one paricularly hard winter. Customer service is great!

In short, we definitely recommend Le Picard very highly for tenting, touring with the caravan or storing your van. It's a great location and a well cared-for, professionally run site with friendly owners.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dreamerbfc 3 reviews from this member

Stayed 4 nights here in July 2015.

Pitches are spacious and the site overall is tidy and clean. However I think that the toilet, shower and washing facilities are now rather dated and looking a bit tired. They seemed to have been a bit of a DIY job some years ago and not updated since.

Pool and poolside is very clean. Didn't use the bar or restaurant.

Quite a lot of the site seemed to be given over to long term caravan storage in the field next to the main site.

Most occupants appeared to be from the UK.

Unfortunately seemed to me to be a plethera of notices telling us what we should and shouldn't do. Perhaps a more customer friendly wording could / should be used.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Ianwoolage 6 reviews from this member

Good little site in a good location for lots of Normandy attractions.

Positive:

* Emplacements are well kept and spacious with electricity (French socket) on each emplacement.

* Great location for Normandy beaches, Bayeux Tapestry, Abbeys and castles

* very quiet

Negatives

* Signage. Although entirely in English I was reprimanded fairly sternly for going through a path which was allegedly private. I was told to go through the bar/pool area. However, the path I took had no sign on it at all and looked like a path that could be taken. The entrance to the bar/pool area had a sign 'ENTRANCE ONLY TO BAR POOL AREA' (my capitals) make of that what you will, but I was shocked and felt chided

* The site is very English

* facilities are dated but nevertheless clean

* expensive compared to the campsite we had come

* wifi very weak

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dave Thmpson 1 review from this member

We found LePickard to be the perfect place for us to visit the WW2 battlefields and surrounding area. The venue is good for us as we lead a large group of school children and staff once a year to the area. The food in the restaurant is very good with no complaints from the children or staff. There was enough variety of things for the children in the evenings and the bar for the staff.

We are looking forward to next year with the children and planning visits on our own.

There is always bags of hot water in the showers though the facilities are old they are all ways clean.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Smartizan 2 reviews from this member

Lovely little rural campsite set off the main road. Peace and tranquility abound out of season. With only a handful of pitches taken and the sun shining this site is superb. Not to be missed are the bright shining stars at night. With minimal light pollution the sky is awesome on a clear night. Didn't use pool so can't comment or the restaurant as it did not open being out of season. Facilities all seem a bit tired and in need of a makeover but the serenity and security you feel when staying here makes up for it. Stayed 3 nights and would not hesitate to go back. If you are looking for an oasis of calm out of season, look no further

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: CrazeeChik 4 reviews from this member

Owners were very welcoming and were always there to help. No shop as such on site, you could order croissants and bread for morning. There was a supermarket nearby so not too bad.

Nice campsite, pitches were flat, well kept and had hedges around them, so you had your own little space. Water, electric points nearby. Facilities were OK, bit dated, but clean enough. Had disabled shower and toilet, but was in a large building which also housed the fridge/freezer for everyone to use! You could lock door, but seemed bit strange and no seat on toilet, so was a bit uncomfortable! There was a small pool and small children's playground, which got full quick. Small restaurant/bar which had a mainly 'british' menu. Campsite is in a rural area and there were chickens wandering around which was amusing, especially when the BBQ's were out!

Near to Bayeux which is home of Bayeux Tapestry museum, British/Commonwealth memorial museum and cemetery and I think a couple of other art museums which we didn't get to go to. We visited American memorial cemetery and that wasn't far. The D Day landing beaches at Normandy are nearby too. There were quite a few things going on regarding WW1 & WW2 with it being the 100th year of WW1 and the 70th year of D Day landings of WW2. There were a few markets in the towns and some morning fish markets, these were advertised on campsite noticeboard.

Overall nice experience on this campsite and it is near to all the war memorial stuff and the towns. Also quite near to nice beaches.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Richard200354 2 reviews from this member

This was our first trip abroad with our caravan and our first trip to Normandy. Camping Le Picard is ideally placed in a lovely rural setting with lots of country lanes which were perfect for us to cycle along. It is also near to the Forest of Cerisy where there are numerous footpaths and tracks for walking & cycling. The Normandy beaches are about 40 minutes drive away and the historic town of Bayeux is about 10 miles from the site. The site itself is beautifully maintained and is a nice size with plenty of space allocated to each plot. We backed on to a cornfield on one side and a field of sheep - plus a donkey! - on the other. Facilities are clean and ample although we were there in September when it was fairly quiet. The heated swimming pool was very welcome and was always kept beautifully clean. There is a restaurant on site which served good meals and drinks every evening throughout our stay and bread & croissants can be ordered daily. The owners were excellent hosts and always available. We will certainly be back again!

Previous     35 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Tournieres      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Normandy

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 16/01 to 19/01, Event City
Over 200 exhibitors with all the new 2020 models and biggest ever selection of accessories. Plus win tickets! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3066 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

Amazing daily prizes and a grand Christmas Day Star Prize - Coming Soon!

Register for a Reminder