Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Thorpe Farm Centre

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > Co Durham > Barnard Castle > Thorpe Farm Centre > Reviews

Thorpe Farm Centre
Greta Bridge
Barnard Castle
Co Durham   (Browse area)
DL12 9TY
Tel: 01833 627242  or  07909910255
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 18
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 119 Reviews
                8/10 from 119 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  119 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Chestnuts 27 reviews from this member

 The entrance that we came in didnít have any directions to reception.

It was so far away that a couple who were staying there gave me a lift in their car to reception. Apparently there is a better entrance which we didnít know of.

The toilet and shower block were obviously very new and looked very nice and clean, the downside was that the water was almost cold, so we glad we were only stopping the one night.

Good dog walk 


Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Chrisp 1 review from this member

 Recommended site for people wanting peace and quiet.

Toilets werenít great neither the dish washing facilities, but in all honesty I wasnít expecting much as was described in description, and I booked this knowing the site was basic.

Pitch was level and grass was kept at a good height, bbq and fire pits are allowed.

We visited a lovely pub (brownlow arms) which was around half an hour walk from the site and had a very nice sunday lunch and some lovely beers,

All in all Iíll be back camping there and if you are wanting some place basic then I can recommend this place, thumbs up from me 👍 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Aj6565 1 review from this member

 Easy and friendly booking in. Site closer to the Main road than I expected so quite noisy at night.

Facilities were adequate but could be improved and it looked as if new facilities were being finalised.

Child friendly area in the centre of the camp.

Good location to visit the area but would use a quieter camp location next time 


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Bonnycamper 1 review from this member

 Lovely friendly staff,

Nice shop and restaurant

Camping pitches OK but a bit uneven

Toilets and showers only 3 of each per gender just not enough when site is busy and they are run down with locks missing off doors mould and mildew, they are going to upgrade them soo but I won't go back until they do. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Elizahigham 23 reviews from this member

 Lovely shop, but didnít try the restaurant but it looked good. Pitch was lumpy and not level. We were not too close to the A66 but it was still incredibly noisy.

The facilities were dreadful. 3 showers, 3 toilets for a very busy site. They werenít particularly clean. I was amazed at the mud on the inside of the toilet doors. Obviously they hadnít been clean for ages. Locks missing on the doors. Altogether very poor.

We have decided not to return to this site. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Kaygra 1 review from this member

 Thorpe farm is set in beautiful surroundings with some lovely walks near by.

The guy in charge over the bank holiday weekend was brilliant and although we had no problems he was there checking at all times.

Very clean and well maintained. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Paulma 3 reviews from this member

 Lovely site clean and tidy. Owners even can round and collected any rubbish.

Toilet blocks where closed due to restrictions.

Tiny bit of traffic noise but didn't really bother us. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Enjoying the break 1 review from this member

 We booked this last minute after our holidays had been changed. I was worried about the reviews Iíd seen but we didnít have any other options.

When we arrived it wasnít signposted where to go for induction but we went in the very smart cafe/shop and the staff were very helpful and gave us a site map. The shop shuts at 4-5pm so I donít know what would happen arriving after then. We bumped along the gravel area and had to pause a couple of times on the way to the tourer section as there are also separate statics and seasonal areas but chose the right way (keeping left).

Arriving at the pitch we were delighted as there was lots of space and a lit post for every couple of pitches, clearly numbered and with electricity and itís own water! Where we were was pretty uneven but not a problem.

There were trees and grass around and dog walks and a popular tyre swing in the middle of the field on an enormous tree.

The showers were shut for social distancing and we avoided the toilet blocks but the chemical disposals were spacious and clean with a ground level grey waste drain which we needed.

The shop, restaurant, wood walk and big playground were actually quite a way away as it is a large site but they are high quality, personally the best site shop I have been in. Thereís a zip wire, monkey bars, obstacle course, etc. In the playground and it kept my older two entertained very well.

The photograph on the website is of the playground next to the pond in what is now a statics area but my children were happy to go to the far playground. We didnít get in the animal sanctuary but there were animals outside which the daughter loved, goats and a big bull.

We found the noise from the A66 a bit worrisome at first but after a couple of days, hardly noticed it, especially when it was raining which masked it. There were no barriers to stop anyone coming in from the motorway but it felt safe enough. It was very rainy and windy on some of our days but it was sheltered and well drained in our spot.

There were a lot of people there in August but everyone was very well behaved. One person played music quite loudly two days (why do people do this when it means the other 500 people on site get their peace disturbed?) but it was turned off at 10pm when everything really did go quiet, so we couldnít complain really.

Another large and happy group came behind us later in the week and also were shushing their children at 10pm so we were quite impressed. There was also a site person who drove round and spoke politely to a faintly rowdy group who were very quiet afterwards. All in all, the fullest but most peaceful site Iíve been to, with loads of little places to walk the dog.

We will be back, with bikes and earplugs. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: January 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ridgebacksontour 14 reviews from this member

 Unbelievably awful! When we arrived at 1630 on Sunday for a two-night stay it was dark. There is no obvious reception area, so I went to the door of the farm shop upon which was a small note announcing that here was the camping reception.

The door was locked. But a young woman was working at the desk who despite having seen me chose to ignore me for five minutes. When she eventually came to the door I was told that they were closed. I explained that we had booked and was admitted. Then she went off to find someone else to deal with me. The new person didn't seem to know much either but at least she was friendly. Finally, the booking was found & I was given a very poor site map with the pitch highlighted together with vague directions.

Finding the pitch was nigh on impossible, there is no lighting & no signage. After several minutes searching the young lady who gave us directions arrived breathless and apologetic. She had given me the wrong map & directions. Armed with the new (equally useless map) we searched for & finally found the pitch, its pitch marker like many others was lying flat and all but invisible.

The tracks: I won't dignify them by calling them roads are narrow potholed & rutted. Completely unlit & totally without signage.

The shower & toilet block was without any directional signs leaving one to wander about in search of the correct set. Neither of the gents or ladies soap dispensers had any soap in them either.

Around the site, there was no freshwater, greywater points or CDP that we could see. No bins for dog waste bags nor for general waste or recycling.

The overall look of the touring side is one of indifference and neglect. There are many apparently static touring caravans in various states of dilapidation.

We had planned to stay for two nights but one was too many.

On the upside, we discovered Barnard castle. What an absolute gem of a town. 


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: D73dal 1 review from this member

 We really enjoyed our 3 night stay. After reading some reviews I was very nervous but here is my honest review. We could hear the noise from the A66 but it never kept us awake.

Toilet block was fine, yes there was grass but hey, we are in a field! The showers were cold on a morning but heated up through the day.

It would be better if the park (which is brilliant) was closer to the camp site, it was a long way for the children to walk and we could't see them.

It was a very hot weekend (record breaking infact!) but fires were allowed and that was a huge bonus as the sun went down.

We visited the shop which was reasonably priced and the restaurant for Sunday carvery which could have been warmer but was still enjoyable. We would return. 


Previous     119 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Thorpe Farm Centre child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Thorpe Farm Centre?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Thorpe Farm Centre dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Barnard Castle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Co Durham

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


45837 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement