Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Thorpe Farm Centre

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Co Durham > Barnard Castle > Thorpe Farm Centre Reviews

Thorpe Farm Centre
Greta Bridge
Barnard Castle
Co Durham   (Browse area)
DL12 9TY
Tel: 01833 627242
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 76
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 110 Reviews
                8/10 from 110 Reviews

Photos (19)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  110 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: D73dal13794tj 1 review from this member

We really enjoyed our 3 night stay. After reading some reviews I was very nervous but here is my honest review. We could hear the noise from the A66 but it never kept us awake.

Toilet block was fine, yes there was grass but hey, we are in a field! The showers were cold on a morning but heated up through the day.

It would be better if the park (which is brilliant) was closer to the camp site, it was a long way for the children to walk and we could't see them.

It was a very hot weekend (record breaking infact!) but fires were allowed and that was a huge bonus as the sun went down.

We visited the shop which was reasonably priced and the restaurant for Sunday carvery which could have been warmer but was still enjoyable. We would return.

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Jarrajim 4 reviews from this member

Road into site pretty bad, gravel track, touring reception badly signed. You have to travel into Barnard castle if you want a newspaper about five miles.

There are no barriers when you come off the main road so people just drove in to use the toilets - we never saw any security all the time we were there.

Only good point was the Sunday lunch at the restaurant.
via mobile

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Esjj 1 review from this member

The campsite itself is spread over two sites. Each of which has a rope swing with a tyre attached and a pond. Ours was unexpectedly bordering the A66 (Not shown as a camping area on google maps right now) and was incredibly noisy and a bit of a worry for the safety of our children since there was direct access to the A66 from our field. There were just 3 showers available for each gender in the toilet blocks which were not cleaned frequently enough to remain clean. The dish washing up area was kept clean.

The actual children's play area is a bit of a walk and there were so many children there without adult supervision that it was a threatening environment for those of us who had accompanied our children to the play area (which had a very clear sign saying adult supervision for each child was required). There were no staff present to talk to after 4 or 5 pm unless you called the emergency phone number (which seemed a little excessive)

In addition to this there were so many older children haring about on bikes and running all over the place until about 10:30pm which was just annoying. There were no staff to make sure the site rules were being followed and as such the toilet blocks were filthy and unattended children were running allover the place making noise well past the 10pm quiet boundary.

It was a very uncomfortable stay and as such we stayed for just one of the three nights we had pre-paid for. Will not return here and will not recommend it.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dotbri 4 reviews from this member

Welcome poor. Signs poor. Had to go to cafe to ask for detail of where to go. The one person serving in cafe booked us in and took 10. 00 for security key (not informed of at time of booking).

Then given site map with detail of pitch. Map does not give detail of where to get fresh water, where dirty water goes or info on elsan points. Glad no kids with us, as rope swing attached to tyre goes over fish pond, no lights on night.

Long stay campers seem to drive around fast and don't pick up dog mess. Poss as no dog poo bins, you have to use ordinary bin. Considering no dogs allowed past reception they were in cafe.

Some hook ups are over 4 pitch length so take long cable

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: DMKay 4 reviews from this member

Could be a great site. Unfortunately too few water points and temporary toilets not great. Seems to have long term resident in caravans who have run of the site.

Pleased we only stayed one night. With hindsight we would have booked a cheaper site with no play area as our children were bullied off it.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MrsTyerman 1 review from this member

The staff were all very friendly, it was a lovely little family site. Our children could go to the park and the tyre swings on their own and we didn't have to worry. They all made some lovely friends as did we.

The toilets near the tents were not that clean ie the floors but they were in good working order and there was some better ones on the shower block which was to a good standard.

It was a very good price, it also has some sort of little farm but we didn't visit it as I'd read reviews and for the 6 of us it seemed quite costly.

Overall we had a great weekend and will hopefully be back this year.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Punisher 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from this site after 2 nights stay in our tent. On arrival it was difficult to know where to check in as there is no actual reception you had to go in the cafe to check in. The staff were friendly but didn't request any details from us such as name, address, number of people etc.

We paid £10 deposit for a barrier fob key which wasn't mentioned on the website. We were looking forward to our pitch as we asked for by the pond area but after finding our site it was on quite a slope so had to request to change to flatter ground. Luckily they weren't fully booked so we're able to move.

There was one toilet and shower block which was difficult to find at first due to poor signage and being in a porta cabin looked like a private office. The fresh water supply was also poorly sign posted and took a bit of finding. The site seemed more geared towards seasonal caravan pitches and seemed to have do what you like rule with some making their own garden fences with what seemed like any scrap wood they found.

I got the impression lot of the caravaners seemed to live there most of the year. We tried not to use the toilet facilities after dark as the paths were very poorly lit and some of the more rowdy residents were drinking and partying in the games room in the same block so felt a bit uneasy.

The last straw were the fireworks that started going off on Saturday night by one of the resident caravaners. I had to telephone the site as there were no staff that patrolled the site to check up on anything and we saw this as a fire hazard not to mention the noise which terrified our friends 3 year old and also our 18 week old baby.

Our friend had to take his little girl home as she was that upset and come back the next day for his tent and belongings. Such a disappointing site as it has the potential to be so lovely in the area it is situated, unfortunately it seems to be a case of pay for your pitch and do what you like.

We won't be returning in the near future.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Lindasewerrat 6 reviews from this member

This site could easily be one of the best in the UK but it is let down by over crowding, not enough showers and toilets and no numbers on pitches. The number of people going round the site trying to find the right pitch was crazy.

There is 1 shower block for the whole site and they are by the entrance so all the people camped at the far side of the site drove to it. This meant there were cars going up and down the track at all hours, most didn't stick to the 5mph limit and there were loads of kids running around so it made you cringe at the near misses.

The pitches are quite close together for our liking so it feels very crowded. If they move the tourers and tents down to the other field it will be cheek by jowl and we certainly won't be returning.

It's such a shame because it used to be lovely.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: BRanger5104 12 reviews from this member

Unfortunately I can think of nothing positive to say about this place other than the staff who greeted us and served us in the cafe work very hard.

The site has the potential to be much better but I saw nothing in the way of new development being carried out.

We booked for a weekend stay and were disappointed from the second we got to our pitch. It is advertised as having level hard standing but ours, and others, were so steep that my caravan hitch was in the dirt and the rear stabilisers were wound fully out and on wood blocks to get some kind of level.

We gave up trying to pitch our lightweight awning due to the levelling issues. The EHU was so far from the pitch that my 30 metre lead only just reached the van. The hard standing is a kind of black cinder and the dust and mess this created got everywhere.

By far the worst point was the position of the fresh/waste water and Elsan points. Whilst they were some distance from the pitch I wasn't unduly bothered as it is sometimes nice to stretch your legs a bit but I can't help think that they couldn't possibly comply with any kind of sanitation regulations.

The fresh water and waster water are in close proximity as they are on most sites but the Elsan point was little more than a raised concrete 'sluice' open on all sides and only a couple of metres from the fresh water point with only a shabby little wooden wall separating them. The smell was dreadful not to mention the flies.

The toilet and shower block was little more than two tired looking Portakabins connected together and I must admit I didn't use as the smell inside of faeces/urine and stale body odour was just too much and there was no visible sign of recent cleaning.

The 'Reclaimation Barn' was simply a dusty/dirty old barn with a collection of old furniture most of which looked to be beyond reclaiming in any way. I also thought the animal rescue centre was a bit of a rip off at £5pp with little to see.

I am sorry that I cannot be positive about this site and it is one I would recommend to avoid.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sunncamp owner 13 reviews from this member

Ok I'm not one to leave bad reviews but I have to say this place did not live up to expectations at all.

We arrived on bank holiday Monday and went to book in, there was one young lad taking orders for food in the very busy café, making all the hot drinks and booking people in. After a lengthy wait I was then told in need a ten pound cash deposit for a barrier key, since we had paid in full I had to go back to the car and get this, hence to the back of the queue I went once more, I would say it took approx. 40 mins to get booked in.

The pitch was grass with electric and we were a fair way from the amenities which was fine in the main and the pitches we were on were quite spacious. Then animal sanctuary thing certainly left a lot to be desired plus they charged you for going in and if you did want to visit again (unlikely) then you would have to pay again! the place didn't give the impression of an up and coming site more a run down place that has already had its heyday.

Toilets were not clean, there were some go-karts in a pig pen, a pool table, a bit of a playpark (right next to a pond) and that's about it. The shop had nothing in it to speak of so any ideas of a wonderful farm shop can be laid to rest now.

Overall its relatively cheap to visit there and there is also some wonderful history and countryside in the vicinity but I'm afraid it will be the last visit for our family.

Previous     110 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Barnard Castle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Co Durham

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Love Touring Expo, Scotland 25/10 to 27/10, Aberdeen
Scotland’s newest caravan and motorhome show! The very latest caravans, motorhomes and campervans from all major brands, including the new models for 2020 ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2096 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019