Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Thorpe Farm Centre

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Co Durham > Barnard Castle > Thorpe Farm Centre Reviews

Thorpe Farm Centre
Greta Bridge
Barnard Castle
Co Durham   (Browse area)
DL12 9TY
Tel: 01833 627242
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 76
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 115 Reviews
                8/10 from 115 Reviews

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  115 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Bonnycamper 1 review from this member

 Lovely friendly staff,

Nice shop and restaurant

Camping pitches OK but a bit uneven

Toilets and showers only 3 of each per gender just not enough when site is busy and they are run down with locks missing off doors mould and mildew, they are going to upgrade them soo but I won't go back until they do. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Elizahigham 23 reviews from this member

 Lovely shop, but didnít try the restaurant but it looked good. Pitch was lumpy and not level. We were not too close to the A66 but it was still incredibly noisy.

The facilities were dreadful. 3 showers, 3 toilets for a very busy site. They werenít particularly clean. I was amazed at the mud on the inside of the toilet doors. Obviously they hadnít been clean for ages. Locks missing on the doors. Altogether very poor.

We have decided not to return to this site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Kaygra 1 review from this member

 Thorpe farm is set in beautiful surroundings with some lovely walks near by.

The guy in charge over the bank holiday weekend was brilliant and although we had no problems he was there checking at all times.

Very clean and well maintained. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Paulma 1 review from this member

 Lovely site clean and tidy. Owners even can round and collected any rubbish.

Toilet blocks where closed due to restrictions.

Tiny bit of traffic noise but didn't really bother us. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Enjoying the break 1 review from this member

 We booked this last minute after our holidays had been changed. I was worried about the reviews Iíd seen but we didnít have any other options.

When we arrived it wasnít signposted where to go for induction but we went in the very smart cafe/shop and the staff were very helpful and gave us a site map. The shop shuts at 4-5pm so I donít know what would happen arriving after then. We bumped along the gravel area and had to pause a couple of times on the way to the tourer section as there are also separate statics and seasonal areas but chose the right way (keeping left).

Arriving at the pitch we were delighted as there was lots of space and a lit post for every couple of pitches, clearly numbered and with electricity and itís own water! Where we were was pretty uneven but not a problem.

There were trees and grass around and dog walks and a popular tyre swing in the middle of the field on an enormous tree.

The showers were shut for social distancing and we avoided the toilet blocks but the chemical disposals were spacious and clean with a ground level grey waste drain which we needed.

The shop, restaurant, wood walk and big playground were actually quite a way away as it is a large site but they are high quality, personally the best site shop I have been in. Thereís a zip wire, monkey bars, obstacle course, etc. In the playground and it kept my older two entertained very well.

The photograph on the website is of the playground next to the pond in what is now a statics area but my children were happy to go to the far playground. We didnít get in the animal sanctuary but there were animals outside which the daughter loved, goats and a big bull.

We found the noise from the A66 a bit worrisome at first but after a couple of days, hardly noticed it, especially when it was raining which masked it. There were no barriers to stop anyone coming in from the motorway but it felt safe enough. It was very rainy and windy on some of our days but it was sheltered and well drained in our spot.

There were a lot of people there in August but everyone was very well behaved. One person played music quite loudly two days (why do people do this when it means the other 500 people on site get their peace disturbed?) but it was turned off at 10pm when everything really did go quiet, so we couldnít complain really.

Another large and happy group came behind us later in the week and also were shushing their children at 10pm so we were quite impressed. There was also a site person who drove round and spoke politely to a faintly rowdy group who were very quiet afterwards. All in all, the fullest but most peaceful site Iíve been to, with loads of little places to walk the dog.

We will be back, with bikes and earplugs. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: D73dal 1 review from this member

 We really enjoyed our 3 night stay. After reading some reviews I was very nervous but here is my honest review. We could hear the noise from the A66 but it never kept us awake.

Toilet block was fine, yes there was grass but hey, we are in a field! The showers were cold on a morning but heated up through the day.

It would be better if the park (which is brilliant) was closer to the camp site, it was a long way for the children to walk and we could't see them.

It was a very hot weekend (record breaking infact!) but fires were allowed and that was a huge bonus as the sun went down.

We visited the shop which was reasonably priced and the restaurant for Sunday carvery which could have been warmer but was still enjoyable. We would return. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Jarrajim 4 reviews from this member

 Road into site pretty bad, gravel track, touring reception badly signed. You have to travel into Barnard castle if you want a newspaper about five miles.

There are no barriers when you come off the main road so people just drove in to use the toilets - we never saw any security all the time we were there.

Only good point was the Sunday lunch at the restaurant. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Esjj 2 reviews from this member

 The campsite itself is spread over two sites. Each of which has a rope swing with a tyre attached and a pond. Ours was unexpectedly bordering the A66 (Not shown as a camping area on google maps right now) and was incredibly noisy and a bit of a worry for the safety of our children since there was direct access to the A66 from our field. There were just 3 showers available for each gender in the toilet blocks which were not cleaned frequently enough to remain clean. The dish washing up area was kept clean.

The actual children's play area is a bit of a walk and there were so many children there without adult supervision that it was a threatening environment for those of us who had accompanied our children to the play area (which had a very clear sign saying adult supervision for each child was required). There were no staff present to talk to after 4 or 5 pm unless you called the emergency phone number (which seemed a little excessive)

In addition to this there were so many older children haring about on bikes and running all over the place until about 10:30pm which was just annoying. There were no staff to make sure the site rules were being followed and as such the toilet blocks were filthy and unattended children were running allover the place making noise well past the 10pm quiet boundary.

It was a very uncomfortable stay and as such we stayed for just one of the three nights we had pre-paid for. Will not return here and will not recommend it. 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dotbri 5 reviews from this member

 Welcome poor. Signs poor. Had to go to cafe to ask for detail of where to go. The one person serving in cafe booked us in and took 10. 00 for security key (not informed of at time of booking).

Then given site map with detail of pitch. Map does not give detail of where to get fresh water, where dirty water goes or info on elsan points. Glad no kids with us, as rope swing attached to tyre goes over fish pond, no lights on night.

Long stay campers seem to drive around fast and don't pick up dog mess. Poss as no dog poo bins, you have to use ordinary bin. Considering no dogs allowed past reception they were in cafe.

Some hook ups are over 4 pitch length so take long cable 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: DMKay 4 reviews from this member

 Could be a great site. Unfortunately too few water points and temporary toilets not great. Seems to have long term resident in caravans who have run of the site.

Pleased we only stayed one night. With hindsight we would have booked a cheaper site with no play area as our children were bullied off it. 


Previous     115 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Thorpe Farm Centre child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Thorpe Farm Centre?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Thorpe Farm Centre dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Barnard Castle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Co Durham

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3279 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement