Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Lighthouse Camping

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Walcott > Lighthouse Camping Reviews

Lighthouse Camping
The Lighthouse Inn
Coast Road
Walcott
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR12 0PE
Tel: 07799 433 470  or  01692 650371
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5 vans plus tents
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 8 Reviews
                7/10 from 8 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: December 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Blakeys7 1 review from this member

 This was our first night away in our new to us van so wanted it to go smoothly. Site is very clean and with hard standing no issues for the motor mover. EHU, water and waste all easily accessible on all 5 caravan pitches.

Toilet and showers are clean although there is only one male and one female.

You do get a little noise from the road but it didn't bother us.

The pub on site, the lighthouse inn, is great. Nice staff, good food and drink and dog friendly. Sat in front of the log burner having a pint with my substantial meal was a treat.

Will defo go again. 


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 0 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note, we have been advised by the owners that this site has been redeveloped and previous reviews will not necessarily reflect the current campsite. The brand-new select touring campsite now has toilets and showers, and all caravan/motorhome pitches are hardstanding, and include 16A electric supply, water supply and grey waste disposal. Tent pitches are all grass pitches, of various sizes, and include optional electric hookup on 5 pitches. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Wsseaman 66 reviews from this member

 The pitches are at the back of the pub in a small grassed paddock. You will need a very long electric lead if you are not sited on the first two pitches nearest the electric hook up 'station'.

Pitches are not marked out but I would say there is only room for 4 outfits, two of which have the pub's washing line at the front of them! There is a fresh water tap behind the pub and elsan point in the car park.

The pub itself is very popular and has a permanent marquee during the summer season for functions etc. , This did generate some noise but it wasn't too intrusive for us.

The road runs right outside the pub and is reasonably busy which I found noisy on the Friday night but didn't notice it after that. The pub's staff leaving off in the early hours of Saturday morning were extremely noisy which we felt was a little thoughtless.

The pub itself is surrounded by fields but you can walk into Walcott village (by road) and the beach (across fields), which took us approx 15-20 mins. Cost is 10 per night all-in including electric which was very reasonable.

Pub has free wifi which you can just about get at your pitch. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: J1mealor 1 review from this member

 The Lighthouse inn we found to be an excellent family orientated site with friendly, helpful staff. We stayed at the site for 2weeks with two adults and three children. They provide free kids entertainment 4 nights a week which includes clowns and disco's. We also had meals at the pub which were excellent.

The pub is located close to walcott beach and shop which stocks almost everything you will ever need and a fish & chip shop. It is good as a base site if you want to go travelling during the day.The only down side we found was the toilet facility that could do with a coat of paint and a clean up.

There is no shower but we took a large tub to bathe in so that was fine for us, but for 10pr night it is excellent value for money we had an amazing 2weeks and even though we live on the other side of the uk we would go again and would like to thank Steve and the staff for an excellent stay and their hospitality. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Winnieone 18 reviews from this member

 Agree with review by rich1812, but would like to add the following points. Electric points would only be available for 2 units nearest pub with standard 25 metre cable. The maintenance shed and woodpile are just 20ft from these 2 units. With a ride on mower being started from here from 8. 00am even Sunday (why). If there are more units in, you have to leave your car in the pub car park. You could have trouble getting your caravan out if you're nearest the pub and there are other caravans in. A friends and my caravan was there for a week, but on the first day there was a small motorhome nearest the pub and he volunteered to move as he was leaving the next day, (or we would have not had electric, being further than 25m away). No one else came on the site while we were there. Cost 10 per night. The elsan point, about 40 metres away, was in the main car park. It was not screened off, it was a flat lid set on the floor with two small chain handles. It was shallow and unavoidable to stop it splashing a bit. No tap to wash hands or rinse out after you. It couldn't have been nice for people going in for a meal to see and I felt embarrassed. A cone was supposed to stop cars parking on it, but this wasn't always the case, and twice I had to wait until they moved. The toilet on the campsite was clean but looked a little tired. Staff in the pub were friendly. There was a good selection of food and ales. Prices reflected the good quality. There might be noise some nights from the events tent at the back, (Check first). To summarise, I felt I was intruding on the maintenance guys patch and caravanners came low in the pecking order. Though the owner could I am sure if he had the time and inclination easily rectify this points, as he was friendly but always busy. In my opinion there is not enough room at the moment for more than 3 units. The Norfolk broads were nearby and well worth a visit. 
Management response: Please note, we have been advised by the owners that as of 2019 this site has been redeveloped and previous reviews will not necessarily reflect the current campsite.

The brand-new select touring campsite now has toilets and showers, and all caravan/motorhome pitches are hardstanding, and include 16A electric supply, water supply and grey waste disposal. Tent pitches are all grass pitches, of various sizes, and include optional electric hookup on 5 pitches.

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Richl812 5 reviews from this member

 A smaller than advertised site due to part being fenced off for log storage and maintenance shed access so somewhat cramped. Rally field is large and separate and in my opinion, far nicer than the CS.

Site is nice, not far from the sea and in a quiet location albeit the maintenance is an early bird and starting lawn mowers very early and constantly whistling. Pub has a good menu and range of beers but again a little pricey.

Toilet is shared between campsite and pub staff with little hot water and needs a good clean. Pub washing line is behind the pitches so staff forever out hanging out tea towels and underwear etc - not nice.

Cost per night was 10. 
Management response: Please note, we have been advised by the owners that as of 2019 this site has been redeveloped and previous reviews will not necessarily reflect the current campsite.

The brand-new select touring campsite now has toilets and showers, and all caravan/motorhome pitches are hardstanding, and include 16A electric supply, water supply and grey waste disposal. Tent pitches are all grass pitches, of various sizes, and include optional electric hookup on 5 pitches.


Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: _tich_ 13 reviews from this member

 I've been here 3 times now & the staff seem to be quite friendly. Not much there for kids to do but for a couple it's fine. Shame there wasn't a shower as staying there for a week is a pain. As a weekend away I'd say it's ok though.

I never ate in the pub as I thought it were too pricey. I've been in heaps of other pubs & had good meals for far less money. All it has is a toilet & a wash basin the hot water is brief to say the least. I remember going there in February 2007 & went to wash my hair & within seconds the water went cold so I ended up running out of there & straight into the caravan to finish off.

For a fiver a night if you're a member of the camping & caravanning club it's ok for a weekend anything longer unless you've a decent shower in your unit then I'd look elsewhere. 
Management response: Please note, we have been advised by the owners that as of 2019 this site has been redeveloped and previous reviews will not necessarily reflect the current campsite.

The brand-new select touring campsite now has toilets and showers, and all caravan/motorhome pitches are hardstanding, and include 16A electric supply, water supply and grey waste disposal. Tent pitches are all grass pitches, of various sizes, and include optional electric hookup on 5 pitches.


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Normannbelson 9 reviews from this member

 It's a small pub site with no showers when we were there. There is a toilet and wash basin.
The pub is great, there is a games room and a good restaurant with reasonable prices. We would go back there again. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Lighthouse Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Lighthouse Camping?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Lighthouse Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Walcott      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4138 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement