Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Lighthouse Camping

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Norfolk > Walcott > Lighthouse Camping > Reviews

Lighthouse Camping
The Lighthouse Inn
Coast Road
Walcott
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR12 0PE
Tel: 07799 433 470  or  01692 650371
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5 vans plus tents
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 13 Reviews
                7/10 from 13 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  13 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: 5i1ver8ack 1 review from this member

 Perfect for what I wanted…. A night either end of a work assignment. Only person on the site first night.

One of two on the second. Nothing wrong with these facilities.

Very friendly pub too! I could have very happily eaten anything on the menu. Very friendly staff.

If I find myself in this area again, I wouldn’t hesitate to return. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Spmaso 1 review from this member

 People and pub, very good. Food good.

Unfortunately the pitch I was on near to toilet and dog poo bin. Kept getting smells while there.

Washing facilities and tap next to dog bin ? Pitch was messy. Rubbish in hedge etc.

Drive into site scruffy, shower cleanish. Door sticks on floor. Stubbed toe on stupid door stop on entrance to shower.

Site needs to be tidied. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: March 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Louiseleeke 1 review from this member

 Nice clean site and toilet block. Pub Restaurant food was excellent with friendly staff that made you feel welcome.

The site is next to a road but the traffic did not bother us as we arrived Friday evening and left Sunday lunchtime so cannot comment on noise during the week.

The outside area also looked very nice and I should imagine gets very busy in summer. We went in low season so only 2 other vans on site. I am curious to see in high season how they will cope with only 1 toilet and shower for the women and the same for the men.

On the whole we had a pleasant 2 night stay with a short walk into Walcott to find the beach and a cafe for a breakfast treat. In low season it would seem the pub is shut Sundays so check website for opening hours and food can only be ordered until 7. 30pm other days which was not a problem for us.

My son also in a van on site did ask if we were allowed a ‘off the ground’ fire pit but they said no even though we were the only vans there together with another further down the site, with the reason being that tents were showing up ( no tents showed up) but it was not a big deal if that is their rule it just made our evening a little shorter as was too cold to sit outside and chat which was a bit disappointing.

Maybe helpful if they put signs like other sites that no fires allowed and make it known. (I apologise if they have and I missed this if not it is just a suggestion) But never the less we had a nice short break with nice food. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Suzyq 52 4 reviews from this member

 Very peaceful site,

As we are novice motorhomers we found it a bit remote,

Unfortunately the weather was inclement so we didn't use our bicycles.

I have to say that the lighthouse Inn was very welcoming with delicious food too. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Hobo bus 1 review from this member

 Small quite site behind pub with coastal road in front but this was not a problem ( hardly any noise from traffic)

One male and female toilet and shower

Left alone, not over looked by owners any queries pop into pub.

10 minute walk to beach, and there are circular walks to follow site

Dog friendly

Would recommend this perfect for relaxing! 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: December 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Blakeys7 18 reviews from this member

 This was our first night away in our new to us van so wanted it to go smoothly. Site is very clean and with hard standing no issues for the motor mover. EHU, water and waste all easily accessible on all 5 caravan pitches.

Toilet and showers are clean although there is only one male and one female.

You do get a little noise from the road but it didn't bother us.

The pub on site, the lighthouse inn, is great. Nice staff, good food and drink and dog friendly. Sat in front of the log burner having a pint with my substantial meal was a treat.

Will defo go again. 


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 0 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note, we have been advised by the owners that this site has been redeveloped and previous reviews will not necessarily reflect the current campsite. The brand-new select touring campsite now has toilets and showers, and all caravan/motorhome pitches are hardstanding, and include 16A electric supply, water supply and grey waste disposal. Tent pitches are all grass pitches, of various sizes, and include optional electric hookup on 5 pitches. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Wsseaman 67 reviews from this member

 The pitches are at the back of the pub in a small grassed paddock. You will need a very long electric lead if you are not sited on the first two pitches nearest the electric hook up 'station'.

Pitches are not marked out but I would say there is only room for 4 outfits, two of which have the pub's washing line at the front of them! There is a fresh water tap behind the pub and elsan point in the car park.

The pub itself is very popular and has a permanent marquee during the summer season for functions etc. , This did generate some noise but it wasn't too intrusive for us.

The road runs right outside the pub and is reasonably busy which I found noisy on the Friday night but didn't notice it after that. The pub's staff leaving off in the early hours of Saturday morning were extremely noisy which we felt was a little thoughtless.

The pub itself is surrounded by fields but you can walk into Walcott village (by road) and the beach (across fields), which took us approx 15-20 mins. Cost is £10 per night all-in including electric which was very reasonable.

Pub has free wifi which you can just about get at your pitch. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: J1mealor 1 review from this member

 The Lighthouse inn we found to be an excellent family orientated site with friendly, helpful staff. We stayed at the site for 2weeks with two adults and three children. They provide free kids entertainment 4 nights a week which includes clowns and disco's. We also had meals at the pub which were excellent.

The pub is located close to walcott beach and shop which stocks almost everything you will ever need and a fish & chip shop. It is good as a base site if you want to go travelling during the day.The only down side we found was the toilet facility that could do with a coat of paint and a clean up.

There is no shower but we took a large tub to bathe in so that was fine for us, but for 10pr night it is excellent value for money we had an amazing 2weeks and even though we live on the other side of the uk we would go again and would like to thank Steve and the staff for an excellent stay and their hospitality. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Winnieone 18 reviews from this member

 Agree with review by rich1812, but would like to add the following points. Electric points would only be available for 2 units nearest pub with standard 25 metre cable. The maintenance shed and woodpile are just 20ft from these 2 units. With a ride on mower being started from here from 8. 00am even Sunday (why). If there are more units in, you have to leave your car in the pub car park. You could have trouble getting your caravan out if you're nearest the pub and there are other caravans in. A friends and my caravan was there for a week, but on the first day there was a small motorhome nearest the pub and he volunteered to move as he was leaving the next day, (or we would have not had electric, being further than 25m away). No one else came on the site while we were there. Cost £10 per night. The elsan point, about 40 metres away, was in the main car park. It was not screened off, it was a flat lid set on the floor with two small chain handles. It was shallow and unavoidable to stop it splashing a bit. No tap to wash hands or rinse out after you. It couldn't have been nice for people going in for a meal to see and I felt embarrassed. A cone was supposed to stop cars parking on it, but this wasn't always the case, and twice I had to wait until they moved. The toilet on the campsite was clean but looked a little tired. Staff in the pub were friendly. There was a good selection of food and ales. Prices reflected the good quality. There might be noise some nights from the events tent at the back, (Check first). To summarise, I felt I was intruding on the maintenance guys patch and caravanners came low in the pecking order. Though the owner could I am sure if he had the time and inclination easily rectify this points, as he was friendly but always busy. In my opinion there is not enough room at the moment for more than 3 units. The Norfolk broads were nearby and well worth a visit. 
Management response: Please note, we have been advised by the owners that as of 2019 this site has been redeveloped and previous reviews will not necessarily reflect the current campsite.

The brand-new select touring campsite now has toilets and showers, and all caravan/motorhome pitches are hardstanding, and include 16A electric supply, water supply and grey waste disposal. Tent pitches are all grass pitches, of various sizes, and include optional electric hookup on 5 pitches.


Previous     13 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Lighthouse Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Lighthouse Camping?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Lighthouse Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Walcott      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet National Outdoor Expo 23/03 to 24/03
Held at the NEC in Birmingham, bringing outdoor enthusiasts all of the kit, tech, nutrition, activities and advice under one roof for a jam-packed weekend of outdoor inspiration Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5856 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement