Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of The Horse And Jockey

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Warwickshire > Atherstone > The Horse And Jockey Reviews

The Horse And Jockey
Coleshill Road
Bentley
Atherstone
Warwickshire   (Browse area)
CV9 2HL
Tel: 01827 715236
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 18
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 35 Reviews
                6/10 from 35 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  35 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: February 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Andyvon 2 reviews from this member

First visit to the site under the new owners. Andi & Sue, Craig & Dave although we met them 12 months ago when they were looking round the pub that was still in the ownership of Jackie & Keith. What a difference in 12 months. The outdoor toilet facilities have been updated clean and tidy with hot water at the hand basin as well. All electric hook ups working and checked both on the grass and hard standing. A warm welcome on arrival and allocated our pitch. We were at the top of the site and could hear a slight traffic noise of commuters to work in the morning and evening but not disturb during the night. Had a drink in the pub on the first night in the very comfortable surroundings and made to feel most welcome by the staff and locals. As we were going to the NEC (11 miles away) we were given the best route and also the gate lock instructions etc. Would not be our choice of a holiday venue but certainly serves us well for a few days.

The complete outside is protected by security cameras. The homemade steak and ale pie and the gammon on our return from the NEC on the second night in the restaurant comes highly recommended.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Stallardcon 3 reviews from this member

I booked this site even though some of the previous reviews were not very good. But what a wonderful place to be, the pub was taken over by new people Sue and Dave on the day I called and they were so accommodating. Nothing is to much trouble. They made us feel right at home and now we have some great new friends, we had a meal on the Sunday which was wonderful. We will definitely be back soon. Sue and Dave are working very hard to improve everything. Well done to all of you.

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Udale7 2 reviews from this member

Just got back from a lovely Easter break here. The grass had been cut, lots of electric hook ups on the grass and the hard standing. Normal facilities (drinking water, chemical waste, toilets). Outside toilets aren't up to much but you can always use the ones inside the pub. Jakki & keith are lovely, so are the locals at the pub, they made us feel really welcome. At the moment no food available during the week, but 'oh my god' what I hidden gem, the Sunday Carvery is absolutely fabulous. Its set out inside the magnificent converted coach house and hay loft. You would never guess from the outside what was lurking inside. The food was superb, I would go so far as to say the best Sunday Carvery I have had for a long time. A 10 minute walk through the wood brings you to the White Hart and about 300 yards further the fabulous Church End Brewey. We are booking again in may.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Posie 8 reviews from this member

Arrived around 2pm, the public house was shut up tried knocking on the door and windows no reply so telephoned the pub the landlord answered and directed us to the field at the side of the pub. We were instructed to pitch on any of the pitches (the field was empty so picked our pitch) We were told to pitch the caravan to the centre of the electric hook up which we thought was the A frame centre to the electric point, we hooked up put the water barrel on and erected our awning

Just as the last peg went in the landlord came out and said 'you cant leave your caravan there you need to move it as the electric hook up point needs to be level with the centre of your caravan' ie: half way down the length of your outfit! As by now we were cold and wet due to hail and rain and were not amused.

The facilities were very poor, outside toilets in poor repair, and not very clean. The public house only open in the evenings. We would not stay again.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Suziemitch 2 reviews from this member

Where does one start. The pub is lovely when open. The waitress was great, steak was melt in the mouth lovely and the soup was incredible, we also had a carvery that was pretty good, picky me doesn't like hard brussels and the turkey wasn't as good as the beef however this is supposed to be about the campsite. Basic doesn't actually cover it, the grass is uncut and there are an awful lot of potholes (even more after I got off, the ground had no chance of drying as the grass was so long) Yes ok you get a 16v electric, which is switched off at exactly 11:30 on day of departure, but for 15 a night I would love a ladies loo that doesn't back up and over flow with just 5 women on site, lights for said loo that either come on at night or stay on. Mid use I had to open the door and wave my hand frantically at the sensor over the sink so the light in the loo came back on. And you try finding the lock and latch in the pitch black. Showers would be nice but hot water would also be a nice touch and would do! small village is about 10 mins down the road and they have a reasonable chippy. In a nut shell we wont be returning unless they make a load of improvements. My personal opinion is that the owners are running it at a loss, Easter weekend and all on site was our small group of friends and the rest of the site was empty. I feel that if we hadn't been there they wouldn't have anyone on site and by the looks of disdain from the landlady she would have been all the happier.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: AVON EAGLE 11 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 3 nights - wish we had chosen a different site. Althought the pub was good (when it was open) and the meals in the pub were good - the site needs money spending.

There is one loo for the ladies - to be shared with spiders etc and one for the gents - the light did not work in the gents. There are no showers and the loos looked like they may have been swept out once a week (perhaps)

Ok site for an emergency stop over - the area is good though.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sniffer 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from two nights at the Horse & Jockey and am feeling a little bit cheesed off.

I should of reaslied when I got charged and extra 1. 50 for an awning how the weekend was going to go.

Echoing a lot of previous comments regarding long grass, lack of facilities and poor outside toilets I really should learn to read these reviews before I book onto a site

Also were were victims of the power being switched off even after allegedly making 'Prior Arrangements' to stay for the day on Sunday as we only live 5 minutes away and were using this outing to test our new caravan, oh well, home by lunchtime it is then!

Needless to say we will not be revisiting this site - Avoid

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: 1wfr 2 reviews from this member

Very close to the road so not good if you want peace and quite, the grass could have done with a cut the toilets were from the dark ages. We were told where to park are van even though there was no other Caravans on the site. Value for money absolutely not very over priced (15). We realised why they wanted us to park where we did so we could be seen from the road. Should of given us the choice not to be an advert for there camp site.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: The Gooly Gangers 1 review from this member

We paid 53 for a caravan and tent for 2 night stay. The facilities, or should that be out- house, is not very pleasant with the sluice being the cleanest toilet with regular dosing of blue. The ladies and gents toilets had no toilet roll or paper towels. There are no shower facilities or utility area for our tenting friends to wash their pots.

Beer garden and pub nice serving good beer. Better camp sites available nearby. Not far from Atherstone town.

Overall will not be visiting again.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: DawnW 3 reviews from this member

Great place to stay if you want to get away from it all. Really tranquil as the pitches look out over fields & not much else around. (Main road to the other side, but this did not cause a noise problem). The pub was a nice friendly local and has a nice beer garden. We didn't eat here although the menu looked appetising. Across the road, through the woods (20-25mins walk), you come to The White Hart pub, which has a large garden with trampoline for the kids. Another friendly local and the food was good quality & reasonably priced. There is also a general store further down the road from here.

We didn't have kids with us & there is not to keep them occupied here unless they just love the outdoors. If you don't mind driving there are plenty of things nearby for them.

I would say this is more a campsite for those who don't mind 'roughing' it for a couple of days. As stated, there are no facilities apart from the outside toilets, which could do with a bit of a re-vamp & a good clean (the building itself, not so much the actual toilet and not for those who don't like creepy-crawlies!). There are lights in the toilet area at night but if you are short like me, you have to wave your arms above your head to trigger the sensors! Couldn't get any hot water, but didn't find this an issue. The grass was a little long if you were in a tent. The hardstanding area just looked like it was an extension of the car park so I wouldn't choose to stay in that bit.

All-in-all, it is what is, and we had a thoroughly relaxing time & will be visiting again

Previous     35 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Atherstone      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Warwickshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 16/01 to 19/01, Event City
Over 200 exhibitors with all the new 2020 models and biggest ever selection of accessories. Plus win tickets! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2197 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020