Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Horse And Jockey

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Warwickshire > Atherstone > The Horse And Jockey Reviews

The Horse And Jockey
Coleshill Road
Bentley
Atherstone
Warwickshire   (Browse area)
CV9 2HL
Tel: 01827 715236
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 18
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 38 Reviews
                7/10 from 38 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  38 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: February 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Jamesk 4 reviews from this member

 A small and friendly pub site with always chatty and smiling staff

A great weekend was had by all

The food is excellent and lots on the menu to choose from. Sunday lunch was well worth waiting for 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Ratty 279 reviews from this member

 We came as part of larger group and groups are certainly welcome, and encouraged at the site. It was all a bit disorganised and they gave away a few of our pitches to other people, meaning we were not all completely together, but this certainly did not spoil the trip.

It is 20 per night with electric and 17 without. The field is slightly sloping, but nothing too bad, just be aware if it rains hard, then the pitches at the bottom get a little bit soggy, as did the whole field when it rained hard over the weekend.

Dogs are welcomed at the site, and I am glad I did not take mine as other dog owners were happy to let their dogs wander around, enter peoples tents and campers, poo where they liked, etc. This is a reflection on the campsite as the owners should insist people look after their own dogs, keep them on a lead, or at least within their own pitches.

This is defo a party site, groups were up until gone 3am and no one was challenged. They were not loud, but distant noise. Not a problem for me, but may annoy others.

The pub offers food and a good range of drinks and the food was reasonably priced, did not eat there but others did and the overall opinion was that it was ok.

The toilets are a shack outside, however they were nice and clean and provided hand san, and hot and cold water. There were no showers, but we knew this, so was not a problem

There was an overwhelming stench of sewage for a lot of the time, it was not constant, but regular enough to be quite off putting.

There is nothing on site for children, and when it is busy there is not a great deal of space for them to run around and play, you certainly wouldn't be flying kites or playing cricket or football. But children with imagination would be fine and make other entertainment.

We did not venture out as it was just a one nighter and we took all we need, however it is not far from main towns, shops, etc.

There is plenty of walking available directly from the site and they provide some suggested routes, or wander the forest for miles and hours.

This sounds really negative, but overall this was a good site, and I would defo be happy to stay again when in a group, not sure I would bring the family, but defo a group of friends. 


Date of Visit: January 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Djlda4 3 reviews from this member

 We were given a warm welcome and told that we could pitch anywhere we liked on the large hardstanding as we were the only unit.

The draught beer is well kept (Bass and Marston's Pedigree) and the food was excellent.

Outside toilets were clean with hot water and there is a dedicated chemical disposal.

Reasonably priced for a handy little campsite. 


Date of Visit: February 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Andyvon 2 reviews from this member

 First visit to the site under the new owners. Andi & Sue, Craig & Dave although we met them 12 months ago when they were looking round the pub that was still in the ownership of Jackie & Keith. What a difference in 12 months.

The outdoor toilet facilities have been updated clean and tidy with hot water at the hand basin as well. All electric hook ups working and checked both on the grass and hard standing. A warm welcome on arrival and allocated our pitch.

We were at the top of the site and could hear a slight traffic noise of commuters to work in the morning and evening but not disturb during the night. Had a drink in the pub on the first night in the very comfortable surroundings and made to feel most welcome by the staff and locals.

As we were going to the NEC (11 miles away) we were given the best route and also the gate lock instructions etc. Would not be our choice of a holiday venue but certainly serves us well for a few days.

The complete outside is protected by security cameras. The homemade steak and ale pie and the gammon on our return from the NEC on the second night in the restaurant comes highly recommended. 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Stallardcon 3 reviews from this member

 I booked this site even though some of the previous reviews were not very good. But what a wonderful place to be, the pub was taken over by new people Sue and Dave on the day I called and they were so accommodating.

Nothing is too much trouble. They made us feel right at home and now we have some great new friends, we had a meal on the Sunday which was wonderful.

We will definitely be back soon. Sue and Dave are working very hard to improve everything. Well done to all of you. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Udale7 2 reviews from this member

 Just got back from a lovely Easter break here. The grass had been cut, lots of electric hook ups on the grass and the hard standing. Normal facilities (drinking water, chemical waste, toilets). Outside toilets aren't up to much but you can always use the ones inside the pub. Jakki & keith are lovely, so are the locals at the pub, they made us feel really welcome. At the moment no food available during the week, but 'oh my god' what I hidden gem, the Sunday Carvery is absolutely fabulous. Its set out inside the magnificent converted coach house and hay loft. You would never guess from the outside what was lurking inside. The food was superb, I would go so far as to say the best Sunday Carvery I have had for a long time. A 10 minute walk through the wood brings you to the White Hart and about 300 yards further the fabulous Church End Brewey. We are booking again in may. 


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Posie 8 reviews from this member

 Arrived around 2pm, the public house was shut up tried knocking on the door and windows no reply so telephoned the pub the landlord answered and directed us to the field at the side of the pub. We were instructed to pitch on any of the pitches (the field was empty so picked our pitch) We were told to pitch the caravan to the centre of the electric hook up which we thought was the A frame centre to the electric point, we hooked up put the water barrel on and erected our awning

Just as the last peg went in the landlord came out and said 'you cant leave your caravan there you need to move it as the electric hook up point needs to be level with the centre of your caravan' ie: half way down the length of your outfit! As by now we were cold and wet due to hail and rain and were not amused.

The facilities were very poor, outside toilets in poor repair, and not very clean. The public house only open in the evenings. We would not stay again. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Suziemitch 2 reviews from this member

 Where does one start. The pub is lovely when open. The waitress was great, steak was melt in the mouth lovely and the soup was incredible, we also had a carvery that was pretty good, picky me doesn't like hard brussels and the turkey wasn't as good as the beef however this is supposed to be about the campsite. Basic doesn't actually cover it, the grass is uncut and there are an awful lot of potholes (even more after I got off, the ground had no chance of drying as the grass was so long) Yes ok you get a 16v electric, which is switched off at exactly 11:30 on day of departure, but for 15 a night I would love a ladies loo that doesn't back up and over flow with just 5 women on site, lights for said loo that either come on at night or stay on. Mid use I had to open the door and wave my hand frantically at the sensor over the sink so the light in the loo came back on. And you try finding the lock and latch in the pitch black. Showers would be nice but hot water would also be a nice touch and would do! small village is about 10 mins down the road and they have a reasonable chippy. In a nut shell we wont be returning unless they make a load of improvements. My personal opinion is that the owners are running it at a loss, Easter weekend and all on site was our small group of friends and the rest of the site was empty. I feel that if we hadn't been there they wouldn't have anyone on site and by the looks of disdain from the landlady she would have been all the happier. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: AVON EAGLE 11 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 3 nights - wish we had chosen a different site. Althought the pub was good (when it was open) and the meals in the pub were good - the site needs money spending.

There is one loo for the ladies - to be shared with spiders etc and one for the gents - the light did not work in the gents. There are no showers and the loos looked like they may have been swept out once a week (perhaps)

Ok site for an emergency stop over - the area is good though. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sniffer 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from two nights at the Horse & Jockey and am feeling a little bit cheesed off.

I should of reaslied when I got charged and extra 1. 50 for an awning how the weekend was going to go.

Echoing a lot of previous comments regarding long grass, lack of facilities and poor outside toilets I really should learn to read these reviews before I book onto a site

Also were were victims of the power being switched off even after allegedly making 'Prior Arrangements' to stay for the day on Sunday as we only live 5 minutes away and were using this outing to test our new caravan, oh well, home by lunchtime it is then!

Needless to say we will not be revisiting this site - Avoid 


Previous     38 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Horse And Jockey child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Horse And Jockey?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is The Horse And Jockey dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Atherstone      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Warwickshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4022 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement